DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 03/01/2025 has been entered and considered by Examiner. Claims 1-14, and 21 - 25 are presented for examination. Claims 1-14 are withdrawn. This Action is made FINAL.
Specification
The title of the invention is objected for not being descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shoemake et al. (US Pub. 20200012174 A1).
For claim 21, Shoemake discloses a smartphone comprising:
a light source positioned along a side edge of the smartphone and configured to project light forward when the smartphone is held in a natural hand position (Para. (0154), the light covers 20 are preferably disposed along the length of the side surfaces 90 but may fully encircle the case 55; Para. [0153], each of the light covers 20 are designed to permit light to be emitted outwards from the illumination device 1 along at least a 180° arc. This is due to the fact the light covers 20 are generally shaped to cover the area above the light source 10 and on each side of the light source 10 to the point at which the light source 10 terminate at the device; hence, the light from the light source 10 may be projected perpendicular to the side surface 90; Figs. 9-12).
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shoemake et al. (US Pub. 20200012174 A1) in view of Pujol (US Pub. 20110164416 A1).
For claim 22, Shoemake discloses all limitations this claim depended on.
But Shoemake doesn’t explicitly disclose the following limitation taught by Pujol.
Pujol discloses an optical component associated with the light source configured to enhance beam projection [0022].
Since, all are analogous arts addressing various sensors used in an optical device; Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Shoemake with Pujol to enhance light projection using physical optic elements.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shoemake et al. (US Pub. 20200012174 A1) in view of Martin (US Pub. 20030048599 A1).
For claim 23, Shoemake discloses all limitations this claim depended on.
But Shoemake doesn’t explicitly disclose the following limitation taught by Martin.
Martin discloses the light source is controllable by a button on the side edge of the smartphone [0017] (Page 4, Claim 20),
Since, all are analogous arts addressing various sensors used in a mobile device; Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Shoemake with Martin to enhance user friendliness of the physical configuration of essential functions.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shoemake et al. (US Pub. 20200012174 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US Pub. 20180293420 A1).
For claim 24, Shoemake discloses all limitations this claim depended on.
But Shoemake doesn’t explicitly disclose the following limitation taught by Kim.
Kim discloses a biometric sensor positioned on an external surface of the smartphone [0008, 0059, 0109].
Since, all are analogous arts addressing various sensors used in a mobile device; Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Shoemake with Kim to enhance user friendliness of the physical configuration of essential functions.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shoemake et al. (US Pub. 20200012174 A1) in view of Vidal et al. (US Pub. 20150085184 A1).
For claim 25, Shoemake discloses all limitations this claim depended on.
But Shoemake doesn’t explicitly disclose the following limitation taught by Vidal.
Vidal discloses a camera positioned on the side edge of the smartphone [0034-35].
Since, all are analogous arts addressing various sensors used in a mobile device; Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Shoemake with Vidal to enhance user friendliness of the physical configuration of essential functions.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to all the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
In view of amendment, new references has been used for new ground of rejections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiries
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Armouche, Hadi can be reached on 571-270-3618. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/PAKEE FANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409