DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim(s) 55-67, 69-70, and 73-76 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(e) as being anticipated by Yassinzadeh et al. (2010/0168767).
Yassinzadeh discloses the following claimed limitations:
Claim 55: An apparatus for deploying a sealant in a puncture through a patient's tissue adjacent a blood vessel (Fig. 9a-c), comprising: a tubular member (152) (Fig. 9a-c and [0047]) comprising a proximal end (Fig. 9a-c), a distal end (Fig. 9a-c) and a lumen (Fig. 9a-c) extending from the proximal end to the distal end (Fig. 9a-c), wherein the distal end of the tubular member includes a slitted distal tip (158) (Fig. 9a-c and [0047]); a sealant (121) (Fig. 9a-c, [0041], and [0047]) disposed within the lumen of the tubular member near the slitted distal tip (Fig. 9a-c, [0041], and [0047]), wherein the slitted distal tip is configured to open upon expansion of the sealant (Fig. 9a-c, [0041], and [0047]); and an advancer member (127) disposed within the lumen of the tubular member adjacent the sealant for exposing the sealant distally from the lumen of the tubular member when the tubular member is retracted proximally relative to the advancer member (Fig. 9a-c, [0044], and [0047]); and, a sleeve (40) (Fig. 8a and [0045]) slidably disposed over the slitted distal tip of the tubular member (Fig. 8a-i), wherein the sleeve comprises a proximal diameter (diameter at the proximal end in Fig. 8a) and a distal diameter (diameter at the distal end in Fig. 8a) and wherein the proximal diameter of the sleeve is configured to have a larger diameter than the distal diameter (Fig. 8a).
Claim 56: wherein expansion of the sealant occurs upon hydration of the sealant ([0041]).
Claim 57: wherein the advancer member is disposed within the lumen of the tubular member adjacent the sealant to maintain the sealant in the puncture adjacent the blood vessel and to expose the sealant distally from the lumen of the tubular member when the tubular member is retracted proximally relative to the advancer member (Fig. 9a-c, [0044], and [0047]).
Claim 59: a positioning element (90), wherein the sealant is compressed between against the positioning element when the advancer member is advanced distally (Fig. 8a-h and 10a-c )
Claim 60: wherein the slitted distal tip comprises a slit having a length longer than a length of the sealant to facilitate opening the slitted distal tip upon expansion of the sealant (Fig. 9c).
Claim 61: wherein the slitted distal tip is configured to reduce the sealant from binding up within the lumen of the tubular member near the slitted distal tip (Fig. 9a-c where it is capable of performing this function).
Claim 63: wherein the slitted distal tip is configured to accommodate expansion of the sealant prior to exposing the sealant from the tubular member (Fig. 9a-c where it is capable of performing this function).
Claim 64: wherein the slitted distal tip comprises a single longitudinal slit (Fig. 9a-c and [0047]).
Claim 65: wherein the single longitudinal slit extends proximally from the distal tip (Fig. 9a-c and [0047])
Claim 66: wherein the slitted distal tip is configured to provide flexibility to the distal end of the tubular member to facilitate retraction of the tubular member relative to the sealant (Fig. 9a-c and [0047] where it is capable of performing this function).
Claim 67: wherein the slitted distal tip is configured to pre-hydrate the sealant ([0041] where it is capable of performing this function)
Claim 69: wherein the sleeve is a cover (Fig. 9a-c and [0047]).
Claim 70: wherein the sleeve is configured to prevent the slitted distal tip from opening before the slitted distal end is exposed from the sleeve (Fig. 9a-c and [0047]).
Claim 73: wherein the sleeve is configured to provide a different frictional interference with an outer surface of the tubular member ([0047]).
Claim 74: wherein the sleeve further comprises a lumen which is configured to allow the sleeve to slide over the tubular member (Fig. 9a-c and [0047]).
Claims 75 and 76: See rejections above specifically the rejection of claim 55 and 59
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 55-58, 61-67, and 72 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Rudnick (5,320,639) in view of Pai et al. (2006/0100664).
Rudnick discloses the following claimed limitations:
Claim 55:
Rudnik discloses an apparatus for deploying a sealant in a puncture through a patient's tissue adjacent a blood vessel (Abstract and Fig. 5-8), comprising: a tubular member (20) (Fig. 1-3 and Col. 3 Lines 60-67) comprising a proximal end (Fig. 3), a distal end (Fig. 3) and a lumen (lumen where all the parts enter as seen in Fig. 1-3) extending from the proximal end to the distal end (Fig. 3), wherein the distal end of the tubular member includes a slitted distal tip (26) (Fig. 1 and 3 and Col. 4 Lines 14-35); a sealant (18) (Fig. 1-3 and Col. 4 Lines 3-14) disposed within the lumen of the tubular member near the slitted distal tip (Fig. 1-3), wherein the slitted distal tip is configured to open upon expansion of the sealant (Fig. 5-8 where the slitted distal tip is capable of opening if the sealant is expanded); and an advancer member (22) (Fig. 1-3) disposed within the lumen of the tubular member adjacent the sealant for exposing the sealant distally from the lumen of the tubular member when the tubular member is retracted proximally relative to the advancer member (Fig. 1-8).
Rudnik teaches all the claimed limitations discussed above however, Rudnik does not disclose the sleeve as claimed.
Pai discloses an apparatus for deploying a sealant (2) comprising a tubular member (120) (Fig. 1); a sealant (2) (Fig. 1) disposed within the lumen of the tubular member near the distal tip (Fig. 1), and an advancer member (130) (Fig. 1) disposed within the lumen of the tubular member adjacent the sealant for exposing the sealant distally from the lumen of the tubular member (Fig. 1 and 5a-f); and, a sleeve (20) (Fig. 1) slidably disposed over the distal tip of the tubular member (Fig. 1 and 5a-f), wherein the sleeve comprises a proximal diameter (diameter at 23 in Fig. 1 or diameter at 24 in Fig. 1) and a distal diameter (diameter at 25 in Fig. 1) and wherein the proximal diameter of the sleeve is configured to have a larger diameter than the distal diameter (Fig. 1 and [0027]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide Rudnik with a sleeve as claimed in view of the teachings of Pai, in order to provide an introducer sleeve that can facilitate advancement through a puncture as well as providing hemostatic seals that prevent proximal flow of blood or other fluids but allows insertion of one or more instruments such as the tubular member ([0027]). The sleeve will provide access into the vessel for one or more instruments, and/or allow one or more diagnostic and/or interventional procedures to be performed via the vessel ([0060]).
Rudnick further discloses the following claimed limitations:
Claim 56: wherein expansion of the sealant occurs upon hydration of the sealant (Col. 4 Lines 6-8).
Claim 57: wherein the advancer member is disposed within the lumen of the tubular member adjacent the sealant to maintain the sealant in the puncture adjacent the blood vessel and to expose the sealant distally from the lumen of the tubular member when the tubular member is retracted proximally relative to the advancer member (Fig. 1-8 and Col. 4 Lines 36-46).
Claim 58: wherein the advancer member tamps the sealant against the blood vessel when the advancer member is advanced distally (Fig. 5-8 and Col. 5 Line 60 – Col. 6 Line 19).
Claim 61: wherein the slitted distal tip is configured to reduce the sealant from binding up within the lumen of the tubular member near the slitted distal tip (Fig. 5-8 where it is capable of performing this function).
Claim 62: wherein the slitted distal tip comprises one or more slits (Fig. 1-3).
Claim 63: wherein the slitted distal tip is configured to accommodate expansion of the sealant prior to exposing the sealant from the tubular member (Fig. 5-8 where it is capable of performing this function).
Claim 64: wherein the slitted distal tip comprises a single longitudinal slit (one of the slits in Fig. 1-3).
Claim 65: wherein the single longitudinal slit extends proximally from the distal tip (Fig. 1-3).
Claim 66: wherein the slitted distal tip is configured to provide flexibility to the distal end of the tubular member to facilitate retraction of the tubular member relative to the sealant (Fig. 5-8 where it is capable of performing this function).
Claim 67: wherein the slitted distal tip is configured to pre-hydrate the sealant (Col. 4 Lines 6-8 where it is capable of performing this function)
Claim 72: wherein the sleeve is configured to have a length which is shorter than a length of the tubular member (Fig. 5d where the tubular member extends past the larger diameter area 23 of the sleeve)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 9/29/25 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art appears to teach the claimed limitations.
/DIANNE DORNBUSCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771