Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6-8, 10-12, 15 and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chinh (US 5928612).
As regarding claim 1, Chinh discloses the claimed invention for a downflow polymer product withdrawal system comprising: a withdrawal line (12) coupled to and downstream of the reactor outlet (fig. 1; no number) configured to collect and discharge a product comprising a powder and a carrier gas, the withdrawal line defining a downflow volume, the withdrawal line comprising at least one downward sloped (fig. 1) descending section, the withdrawal line being absent of any non-self draining regions; a lock hopper (14) coupled to and downstream of the withdrawal line, the lock hopper defining a chamber configured to receive at least a portion of the powder and the carrier gas from the withdrawal line; a fill valve (13) between the withdrawal line and the lock hopper; and a discharge valve (16) downstream of the lock hopper.
Ching does not disclose a reactor outlet valve coupled to a reactor outlet, wherein the reactor outlet valve is a ram valve.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide a reactor outlet valve coupled to a reactor outlet, wherein the reactor outlet valve is a ram valve in order to enhance system performance, since it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance, unless a new and unexpected result is produced, since it involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Chinh as modified does not disclose the claimed invention except for wherein the downflow volume is greater than 80% of a volume of the lock hopper. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the downflow volume is greater than 80% of a volume of the lock hopper in order to enhance system performance, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen volume or upon another variable recited in the claim, the applicant must show that the chosen volume is critical and unexpected results.
The recited limitation (“the withdrawal line is configured to accumulate a plug of the powder adjacent the fill valve when the fill valve is closed, the plug occupying a major fraction of a volume of the lock hopper when released into the lock hopper”) describes the functional result of operating the claimed system, namely, accumulation of a powder plug adjacent the fill valve when the fill valve is in the closed position and subsequent release of the plug into the lock hopper. The limitation does not recite any additional structural components or structural relationship beyond those already set forth in the claim. Rather, it pertains to the manner in which the disclosed downflow polymer product withdrawal system is operated and the resulting condition of the material being processed.
It is well established that the manner of operating a known apparatus generally does not further limit an apparatus claim unless the functional language imparts a structural distinction to the claimed apparatus. Likewise, the material or article being acted upon does not distinguish an apparatus claim absent a corresponding structural difference. In the present case, the recited functional language does not impose any additional structural limitation that distinguishes the claimed apparatus over the prior art. Therefore, this limitation does not render the claimed apparatus patentable over the applied references.
As regarding claim 4, Chinh discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Chin discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the at least one downward sloped descending section defines a slope relative to a vertical axis greater than or equal to 10 degrees. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the at least one downward sloped descending section defines a slope relative to a vertical axis greater than or equal to 10 degrees in order to enhance system performance, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
As regarding claim 6, Chinh as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Chinh as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the slope permits carrier gas in the withdrawal line to flow upward and above powder in the withdrawal line flowing downward from the reactor (12 of fig. 6c).
As regarding claim 7, Chinh as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Chin as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the downward sloped descending section is cylindrical (fig. 6a).
As regarding claim 8, Chinh as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Chin as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the withdrawal line consists of the downward sloped descending section (fig. 6a).
As regarding claim 10, Chinh as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Chin as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the lock hopper (14) comprises a cylindrical top section joined to a conical bottom section and defines an axis extending through both the cylindrical top section and the conical bottom section (fig. 5).
As regarding claim 11, Chinh as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Chin as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein one or more of the lock hopper axis, the fill valve, and the discharge valve extend along a vertical axis (fig. 5).
As regarding claim 12, Chinh as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Chin as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein a flow diameter of one or both of the fill valve and the discharge valve is greater than or equal to a flow diameter of the withdrawal line (fig. 6a-6d).
As regarding claim 15, Chinh as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Chin as modified discloses the claimed invention for a polymerization system (abstract) comprising: a polymerization reactor (1) having a reactor outlet configured to discharge a product comprising a powder and a carrier gas, wherein the powder comprises a polymer; and the downflow polymer product withdrawal system, coupled to the reactor outlet (fig. 1).
As regarding claims 21-24, the limitations recite properties, behavior, or quantities of the powder plug, which the material being worked upon, rather than structural limitations of the claimed system. The recited ‘plug’ characteristics (e.g., size, bulk density, solids concentration, immobility, and stabilization function) merely describe the results of operating the downflow polymer product withdrawal apparatus under particular conditions. These limitations neither require additional structural components nor define a different structural relationship among the claimed elements. Therefore, such functional and material-property limitations do not patentably distinguish the claimed apparatus over Chinh and should be accorded no patentable weight absent a demonstrated structural distinction.
Claim(s) 3, 5, 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chinh (US 5928612), as applied supra, and further in view of Yoshimura et al (US 20190062463; hereinafter Yoshimura).
As regarding claim 3, Chinh as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Chinh as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the withdrawal line is absent of any vertical sections. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the withdrawal line is absent of any vertical sections in order to enhance system performance, since it was known in the art as shown in Yoshimura (L5 of fig. 3).
As regarding claim 5, Chinh as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Chinh as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the slope is greater than one or both of an angle of repose of the polymer product or a critical chute angle. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the slope is greater than one or both of an angle of repose of the polymer product or a critical chute angle in order to enhance system performance, since it was known in the art as shown in Yoshimura (L5 of fig. 3, [0041]-[0042]).
Claims 9 and 13 are likewise rejected for reasons analogous to that outline with respect to claim 3 above.
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chinh (US 5928612), as applied supra, and further in view of Force et al (RU 2438771; hereinafter Force).
As regarding claim 14, Chinh discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Chin discloses the claimed invention except for an eructation tube configured to couple a top of the withdrawal line to an above-bed or lower pressure outlet of the reactor. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide an eructation tube configured to couple a top of the withdrawal line to an above-bed or lower pressure outlet of the reactor in order to enhance system performance, since it was known in the art as shown in Force (112bc, 109c of fig. 2B).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/15/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s remark argues that Chinh fails to disclose the claimed volumetric relationship and, in fact, teaches away from the claimed ratio because the largest conduit volume disclosed is approximately 50% of the lock hopper volume, whereas claim 1 requires a downflow volume greater than 80% of the lock hopper volume.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Chinh discloses a draw-off conduit having an internal volume of up to one-half of the lock hopper volume and does not criticize, discourage, or otherwise teach against using larger conduit volumes. Although the claimed ratio exceeds the upper end of the disclosed range, the reference identifies the conduit volume as a design parameter relative to the lock hopper volume. In the absence of evidence that increasing this parameter beyond the disclosed range would render the device inoperable or otherwise produce results contrary to the teachings of the reference, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the relative conduit volume, including increasing the ratio to the claimed value, as a matter of routine design choice to achieve the desired system performance.
Furthermore, Applicant has not provided persuasive evidence that the claimed volumetric relationship of greater than 80% yields critical and unexpected results sufficient to overcome the prima facie case of obviousness. Accordingly, the Examiner is not persuaded that the claimed volumetric limitation renders the claimed invention patentable over the applied prior art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUNG H BUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773