DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the Remark filed on 7/7/26.
Claims 1, 13, 16 & 28 are amended.
Claim(s) 1, 4-13, 16, 19-36 is/are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 9-13, 16, 19-20, 24-27, 31 & 35-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hao, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2021/0126739 A1 in view of Liu, US 2021/0212071 A1, and further in view of Ma, US 2021/0258897 A1.
As to claim 1, Hao teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
a memory; and
at least one processor coupled to the memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the memory, the at least one processor is configured to:
receive multiple user-multiple input multiple output (MU-MIMO) communication, wherein the MU-MIMO communication (Hao, figure 3 & 7; page 1, paragraph 6; page 4, paragraph 44; page 5, paragraph 50-52; i.e., [0050] Thus, performance of MU-MIMO) that includes the common codeword that is common to multiple UEs and the private codeword for the UE, wherein the common rate matching information for the common codeword for the rate-splitting MU-MIMO communication and UE-specific rate matching information for the private codeword of the rate-splitting MU-MIMO communication (Hao, figure 3 & 7; page 4, paragraph 44; page 5, paragraph 50-52; page 6, paragraph 55-57; page 10, paragraph 97 & 101; i.e., [0050] decode (e.g., a common part), that only a corresponding UE is to decode (e.g., a private part or a UE-specific part). Thus, performance of MU-MIMO; [0051] provide the signaling of such information and/or for rate matching and/or decoding of signals by the UE; [0052] As used herein, "bit" or "codeword" may refer to a coded code block or codeword or an uncoded codeblock or codeword; [0097] perform rate matching or decoding of the communication. For example, the UE 120 may determine the mapping of codewords to layers. the UE 120 is to rate match and/or decode. the UE 120 may determine rates of first layers and/or second layers); and
wherein the common rate matching information for the common codeword for the rate-splitting MU-MIMO communication and UE-specific rate matching information for the private codeword of the rate-splitting MU-MIMO communication (Hao, figure 3 & 7; page 4, paragraph 44; page 5, paragraph 50-52; page 6, paragraph 55-57; page 10, paragraph 97 & 101; i.e., [0050] decode (e.g., a common part), that only a corresponding UE is to decode (e.g., a private part or a UE-specific part). Thus, performance of MU-MIMO; [0051] rate matching or decoding of such signals. [0052] As used herein, "bit" or "codeword" may refer to a coded code block or codeword or an uncoded codeblock or codeword; [0097] As shown by reference number 735, the UE 120 may perform rate matching or decoding of the communication. For example, the UE 120 may determine the mapping of codewords to layers. the UE 120 is to rate match and/or decode. Additionally, or alternatively, the UE 120 may determine rates of first layers and/or second layers);
decode the common codeword of the rate-splitting MU-MIMO communication based on the first precoder and the first rate matching indicated by the common rate matching information (Hao, figure 3 & 7; page 1, paragraph 6; page 4, paragraph 44; page 5, paragraph 50-52; i.e., [0050] Thus, performance of MU-MIMO); and
decode the private codeword of the rate-splitting MU-MIMO communication based on the second precoder and the second rate matching by the UE-specific rate matching information (Hao, figure 3 & 7; page 1, paragraph 6; page 4, paragraph 44; page 5, paragraph 50-52; i.e., [0050] Thus, performance of MU-MIMO).
But Hao failed to teach the claim limitation wherein receive separate rate matching information for a common codeword and a private codeword for a rate-splitting; the common codeword that is common to multiple UEs, wherein the common codeword is precoded with a first precoder and is rate matched based on a first rate matching pattern; and the private codeword for the UE, wherein the private codeword is precoded with a second precoder and is rate matched based on a second rate matching pattern; wherein the separate rate matching information received by the UE includes common rate matching information that indicates the first rate matching pattern for the common codeword for the rate-splitting and UE-specific rate matching information that indicates a first rate matching pattern for the private codeword of the rate-splitting; the first rate matching pattern indicated by the common rate matching information; the second rate matching pattern indicated by the UE-specific rate matching information.
However, Liu teaches the limitation wherein receive separate rate matching information for a common codeword and a private codeword for a rate-splitting splitting (Liu, page 12, paragraph 263; page 16, paragraph 291; page 21, paragraph 347; i.e., [0347] the rate matching resource (the first resource set) common to the N codewords and the rate matching resource (the second resource set) dedicated to the part of the N codewords are configured, and the common rate matching resource and the dedicated rate matching resource. Therefore, repetition of indicating a same rate matching resource for the N codewords can be reduced, and a quantity of bits of an indication field used to indicate a rate matching resource during CoMP transmission can be reduced, thereby reducing overheads of indication information used to indicate the rate matching resource); the common codeword that is common to multiple UEs, wherein the common codeword is precoded with a first precoder and is rate matched based on a first rate matching pattern; and the private codeword for the UE, wherein the private codeword is precoded with a second precoder and is rate matched based on a second rate matching pattern splitting (Liu, page 12, paragraph 263; page 16, paragraph 291; page 21, paragraph 347; i.e., [0291] precoding weighting is performed and that is configured for the serving base station, the codeword sent by the coordinated base station (that is, the base station B). The reference signal on which precise precoding weighting is performed may be a CSI-RS or the like used for CSI feedback; [0347] the rate matching resource (the first resource set) common to the N codewords and the rate matching resource (the second resource set) dedicated to the part of the N codewords are configured, and the common rate matching resource and the dedicated rate matching resource. Therefore, repetition of indicating a same rate matching resource for the N codewords indicate a rate matching resource during CoMP transmission can be reduced, thereby reducing overheads of indication information used to indicate the rate matching resource); wherein the separate rate matching information received by the UE includes common rate matching information that indicates the first rate matching pattern for the common codeword for the rate-splitting and UE-specific rate matching information that indicates a first rate matching pattern for the private codeword of the rate-splitting (Liu, page 12, paragraph 263; page 16, paragraph 291; page 21, paragraph 347; i.e., [0263] the codeword 0 and the ZP CSI-RS resource sets corresponding to the codeword 1. the state value indicates that the ZP CSI-RS resource set 2 is triggered for rate matching of the codeword 0. the state value indicates that the ZP CSI-RS resource set 3 is triggered for rate matching of the codeword 0. A state value of the other field indicates a triggered ZP CSI-RS resource set used for rate matching of the codeword 1; [0347] the rate matching resource (the first resource set) common to the N codewords and the rate matching resource (the second resource set) dedicated to the part of the N codewords are configured, and the common rate matching resource and the dedicated rate matching resource. Therefore, repetition of indicating a same rate matching resource for the N codewords can be reduced, and a quantity of bits of an indication field used to indicate a rate matching resource during CoMP transmission can be reduced, thereby reducing overheads of indication information used to indicate the rate matching resource).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Hao to substitute sharing available resource from Sahin for power from Hao to improved mobile broadband communication as compared to existing radio access technology (RAT) (Sahin, page 1, paragraph 3).
However, Ma teaches the limitation wherein the first rate matching pattern indicated by the common rate matching information; the second rate matching pattern indicated by the UE-specific rate matching information (Ma, page 8, paragraph 90-96; i.e., [0090] a common SIB message wherein each configuration of the N rate matching configurations defines one beam-specific rate matching pattern; [0094] In an aspect, a beam-specific SIB message may be transmitted. The SIB message may include the rate matching configuration [0096] a pair of bitmaps ( e.g., bitmaps IE of the RateMatchPattern IE) may be used to specify the rate match regions. The bitmaps IE may indicate rate matching patterns).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Hao to substitute transmission resources from Ma for power from Hao to improving spectral efficiency, lowering
costs, improving services (Ma, page 1, paragraph 4).
As to claim 4, Hao-Liu-Ma teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 1, wherein to receive the common rate matching information, the at least one processor is configured to:
receive one or more rate matching configurations (Hao, figure 3 & 7; page 1, paragraph 6; page 4, paragraph 44; page 5, paragraph 50-52; i.e., [0006] performing rate matching or decoding based at least in part on the information identifying the mapping; [0051] provide the signaling of such information and/or for rate matching and/or decoding of signals by the UE. rate matching or decoding of such signals); and
receive an indication of a common rate matching configuration from the one or more rate matching configurations previously received by the UE (Hao, figure 3 & 7; page 1, paragraph 6; page 4, paragraph 44; page 5, paragraph 50-52; page 6, paragraph 55-57; i.e., [0051] provide the signaling of such information and/or for rate matching and/or decoding of signals by the UE. configuration of rate matching or decoding of such signals).
As to claim 5, Hao-Liu-Ma teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 1, wherein the common rate matching information is comprised in one or more of a radio resource control (RRC) message, a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE), or downlink control information (DCI) (Hao, page 8, paragraph 88; i.e., [0088] radio resource control (RRC) signal, a media access control (MAC) control element (CE) (MACCE)).
As to claim 9, Hao-Liu-Ma teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 1, wherein the common rate matching information includes a non-zero power channel state information reference signal (non-ZP CSI) configuration associated with a common message comprising the common codeword that is common to UEs to which the rate-splitting MU-MIMO communication is directed (Hao, page 3, paragraph 33; i.e., [0033] different types of BSs may have different transmit power levels, different coverage areas, and different impact on interference in wireless network 100. For example, macro BSs may have a high transmit power level ( e.g., 5 to 40 Watts) whereas pico BSs, femto BSs, and relay BSs may have lower transmit power levels (e.g., 0.1 to 2 Watts)).
As to claim 10, Hao-Liu-Ma teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 9, wherein receive the non-ZP CSI configuration from a network node (Hao, page 3, paragraph 33; i.e., [0033] different types of BSs may have different transmit power levels, different coverage areas, and different impact on interference in wireless network 100. For example, macro BSs may have a high transmit power level ( e.g., 5 to 40 Watts) whereas pico BSs, femto BSs, and relay BSs may have lower transmit power levels (e.g., 0.1 to 2 Watts)).
As to claim 11, Hao-Liu-Ma teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 1, wherein the common rate matching information includes a zero power channel state information reference signal (ZP CSI) configuration that is common to UEs to which the rate-splitting MU-MIMO communication is directed (Hao, page 5, paragraph 48; i.e., [0048] the channel state information (CSI). In some aspects, a MUMIMO signal may be constructed through superposition coding).
As to claim 12, Hao-Liu-Ma teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 1, further comprising a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor, the transceiver being configured to at least receive the common rate matching information for the common codeword (Hao, figure 3 & 7; page 1, paragraph 6; page 4, paragraph 44; page 5, paragraph 50-52; i.e., [0050] decode (e.g., a common part), and at least one second layer, transmitted via interference rejection, that only a corresponding UE is to decode (e.g., a private part or a UE-specific part); [0051] provide the signaling of such information and/or for rate matching and/or decoding of signals by the UE based at least in part on such information. rate matching or decoding of such signals. [0052] As used herein, "bit" or "codeword" may refer to a coded code block or codeword or an uncoded codeblock or codeword).
Claim(s) 13 & 16 is/are directed to a method and system claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 1. Therefore, claim(s) 13 & 16 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 1.
Claim(s) 19-20, 24-27 is/are directed to a system claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 4-5, 9-12. Therefore, claim(s) 19-20, 24-27 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 4-5, 9-12.
Claim(s) 31, 35 & 36 is/are directed to a system claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 4, 9 & 11. Therefore, claim(s) 31, 35 & 36 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 4, 9 & 11.
Claim(s) 6-8, 21-23, 28-30 & 32-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hao, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2021/0126739 A1 in view of Liu, US 2021/0212071 A1, and Ma, US 2021/0258897 A1, and further in view of Xu, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2021/0282055 A1.
As to claim 6, Hao-Liu-Ma teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 1. But Hao-Liu-Ma failed to teach the claim limitation wherein receive a joint indication that indicates a common rate matching pattern and a UE-specific rate matching pattern.
However, Xu teaches the limitation wherein receive a joint indication that indicates a common rate matching pattern and a UE-specific rate matching pattern (Xu, figure 17-18; page 2, paragraph 20; i.e., [0020] the first rate matching resource that may be included within a first rate matching pattern also dynamically indicates a third rate matching resource included within a second rate matching pattern group that overlaps the first rate matching resource and the second rate matching resource by the at least one resource element, and identifying that the second rate matching resource indication indicates that the second rate matching resource may be not included in any rate matching pattern groups for the UE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Hao-Liu-Ma to substitute system resource from Xu for power from Hao to supporting communication for multiple communication devices (Xu, page 1, paragraph 3).
As to claim 7, Hao-Liu-Ma teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 1. But Hao-Liu-Ma failed to teach the claim limitation wherein receive a control message that comprises a first indication of a common rate matching pattern and a second indication of a UE-specific rate matching pattern.
However, Xu teaches the limitation wherein receive a control message that comprises a first indication of a common rate matching pattern and a second indication of a UE-specific rate matching pattern (Xu, figure 17-18; page 2, paragraph 20; i.e., [0020] the first rate matching resource that may be included within a first rate matching pattern also dynamically indicates a third rate matching resource included within a second rate matching pattern group that overlaps the first rate matching resource and the second rate matching resource by the at least one resource element, and identifying that the second rate matching resource indication indicates that the second rate matching resource may be not included in any rate matching pattern groups for the UE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Hao-Liu-Ma to substitute system resource from Xu for power from Hao-Liu-Ma to supporting communication for multiple communication devices (Xu, page 1, paragraph 3).
As to claim 8, Hao-Liu-Ma teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 1. But Hao-Liu-Ma failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the common rate matching information indicates a pair of a common rate matching pattern and a UE-specific rate matching pattern from a set of rate matching pairs.
However, Xu teaches the limitation wherein the common rate matching information indicates a pair of a common rate matching pattern and a UE-specific rate matching pattern from a set of rate matching pairs (Xu, figure 17-18; page 2, paragraph 20; i.e., [0020] the first rate matching resource that may be included within a first rate matching pattern also dynamically indicates a third rate matching resource included within a second rate matching pattern group that overlaps the first rate matching resource and the second rate matching resource by the at least one resource element, and identifying that the second rate matching resource indication indicates that the second rate matching resource may be not included in any rate matching pattern groups for the UE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Hao-Liu-Ma to substitute system resource from Xu for power from Hao-Liu-Ma to supporting communication for multiple communication devices (Xu, page 1, paragraph 3).
As to claim 29, Hao-Liu-Ma teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 28, wherein the first rate matching pattern comprises at least one of a first non-zero power channel state information reference signal (non-ZP CSI-RS) configuration or a first zero power channel state information reference signal (ZP CSI-RS) configuration, and the second rate matching pattern comprises at least one of a second non-ZP CSI-RS configuration or a second ZP CSI-RS configuration (Hao, page 3, paragraph 33; i.e., [0033] different types of BSs may have different transmit power levels, different coverage areas, and different impact on interference in wireless network 100. For example, macro BSs may have a high transmit power level ( e.g., 5 to 40 Watts) whereas pico BSs, femto BSs, and relay BSs may have lower transmit power levels (e.g., 0.1 to 2 Watts)).
As to claim 30, Hao-Liu-Ma teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 28, further comprising a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor, the transceiver being configured to at least provide the rate-splitting MU-MIMO communication (Hao, figure 3 & 7; page 1, paragraph 6; page 4, paragraph 44; page 5, paragraph 50-52; i.e., [0006] performing rate matching or decoding based at least in part on the information identifying the mapping; [0050] decode (e.g., a common part), and at least one second layer, transmitted via interference rejection, that only a corresponding UE is to decode (e.g., a private part or a UE-specific part). Thus, performance of MU-MIMO; [0051] provide the signaling of such information and/or for rate matching and/or decoding of signals by the UE based at least in part on such information. rate matching or decoding of such signals. [0052] As used herein, "bit" or "codeword" may refer to a coded code block or codeword or an uncoded codeblock or codeword).
Claim(s) 21-23 & 32-34 is/are directed to a system and method claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 6-8. Therefore, claim(s) 21-23 & 32-34 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 6-8.
Claim(s) 28 is/are directed to the apparatus claim and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 1. Therefore, claim(s) 28 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 4-13, 16, 19-36 has/have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Applicant’s arguments include the failure of previously applied art to expressly disclose “common rate matching information that indicates a first rate matching pattern; UE-specific rate matching information that indicates a first rate matching pattern; the first rate matching pattern indicated by the common rate matching information; the first rate matching pattern indicated by the UE-specific rate matching information” (see Applicant’s response, 12/17/25, page 10-11). It is evident from the detailed mappings found in the above rejection(s) that Ma disclosed this functionality (see Ma, page 8, paragraph 90-96). Further, it is clear from the numerous teachings (previously and currently cited) that the provision for “common rate matching information that indicates a first rate matching pattern; UE-specific rate matching information that indicates a first rate matching pattern; the first rate matching pattern indicated by the common rate matching information; the first rate matching pattern indicated by the UE-specific rate matching information” was widely implemented in the networking art. Thus, Applicant’s arguments drawn toward distinction of the claimed invention and the prior art teachings on this point are not considered persuasive.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 4-13, 16, 19-36 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Listing of Relevant Arts
Ma, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20210258897 A1 discloses rate matching and specific message.
Suh, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20220400475 A1 discloses common and private message associated with rate splitting.
Contact Information
THUONG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-3864. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9:00-6:00.
/THUONG NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416