DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2,4-6, 8-10, 12-14, 16-19, and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US-20180316070-A1) with evidence from Filter et al. (US-20200006827-A1) in view of Cheon (US-20210210809-A1).
Regarding Claim 1 and Claim 4, Lee teaches with the following modification in view of Cheon:
An apparatus, comprising (a battery pack 10, see [0032]):
a space between a first battery cell and a second battery cell (see annotated Fig. 2 below);
a closure to at least partially surround the space (the pack casing 200 is shown in Fig. 2 to at least partially surround the space),
the closure including an end cap (A coolant supply and circulation unit 300 is shown to be on an end of the pack casing 200, see Fig. 3. The end cap is interpreted to include the coolant supply and circulation unit 300 and the wall of the pack casing 200 on which the coolant supply and circulation unit 300 is in direct physical contact with.)
However, Lee is silent toward the structure for the electrically connecting the batteries between the battery cell assemblies 100, see [0035]. Therefore, Lee does not teach:
an end cap having an electrical connection component
the end cap includes a busbar that is independent from the channel (per Claim 4)
To solve the same problem of designing a battery module with coolant (see Abstract), Cheon teaches providing a bus bar 839 (i.e. an electrical component) on the coolant inlet/outlet manifold 832 independent from the coolant inlet/outlet, see [0085] and Figs. 20A and 20C. Cheon further teaches the bus bar 839 is configured in such a manner in order to couple battery terminals and provide higher amperage, see [0085].
Absent a showing of persuasive secondary considerations, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have provided a bus bar on the coolant supply and circulation unit 300, as taught by Cheon, to couple battery terminals and provide higher amperage.
and a fluid channel (The coolant supply and circulation unit 300 is connected to communicate with the input port 211 (i.e., a fluid channel) to supply and circulate the coolant into the pack casing 200, see [0038].),
the end cap to at least partially seal the space between the first battery cell and the second battery cell (Fig. 2 shows the wall of the pack casing 200 on which the coolant supply and circulation unit 300 is in direct physical contact with at least partially seal the space between the first battery cell and the second battery cell.);
and the space configured to receive a coolant from the fluid channel of the end cap (The pack casing 200 accommodates the battery cell assembly 100 and the coolant, see [0037]. The coolant supply and circulation unit 300 is connected to communicate with the input port 211 (i.e., fluid channel) to supply and circulate the coolant into the pack casing 200, see [0038]),
the coolant configured to contact at least a portion of the first battery cell and at least a portion of the second battery cell (“each battery cell 110 is cooled in contact with the coolant,” see [0034]).
Regarding Claim 2, Lee discloses:
the coolant further configured to contact at least a portion of the closure (the pack casing 200 accommodates the battery cell assembly 100 and the coolant, see [0037]),
wherein the closure contacts at least a portion of the first battery cell and at least a portion of the second battery cell to regulate temperature of the first battery cell and the second battery cell (the casing cover 230 is shown in Figs. 2 and 3 to contact the battery cell assemblies 100 therein and prevents the coolant from leaking out, thereby, aiding in the cooling of the battery cells 110, see also [0042]).
Regarding Claim 5, Lee discloses:
the end cap includes a first end cap disposed on a first end of the closure (A coolant supply and circulation unit 300 is shown to be on an end of the pack casing 200, see Fig. 3. The end cap is interpreted to include the coolant supply and circulation unit 300 and the wall of the pack casing 200 on which the coolant supply and circulation unit 300 is in direct physical contact with. The coolant supply and circulation unit 300 is connected to communicate with the input port 211 (i.e., a fluid channel) to supply and circulate the coolant into the pack casing 200, see [0038].);
and the closure includes a second end cap disposed on a second end of the closure, the second end cap having a second channel to receive the coolant from the space (see annotated Fig. 6 below, the arrows indicate direction of coolant flow through 215, see also [0050]).
Regarding Claim 6, Lee with evidence from Filter discloses:
the coolant to flow under pressure within the space between the first battery cell and the second battery cell. (Lee teaches the coolant is circulated, see [0011] and Fig. 6. As evidenced by Filter, “the coolant fluid may be pressurized, meaning that the coolant fluid flow is pumped or otherwise actively forced to flow through the energy-storage module.” Therefore, because Lee explicitly teaches the coolant is circulated (i.e. actively forced to flow) the coolant has flow under pressure.)
Regarding Claim 8, Lee discloses:
the closure comprises at least one flange that extends at least partially away from the space (annotated Fig. 3 below shows the indicated flange portion extends at least partially away from the space).
`
Regarding Claim 9 and 12, Lee teaches with modification in view of Cheon:
A method, comprising (battery pack 10 is provided, see [0033]):
enclosing, by a closure, a first battery cell and a second battery cell positioned apart from the first battery cell to define a space between the first battery cell and the second battery cell (the pack casing 200 is shown in annotated Fig. 2 above to enclose the indicated first and second battery cell);
the closure including an end cap (A coolant supply and circulation unit 300 is shown to be on an end of the pack casing 200, see Fig. 3. The end cap is interpreted to include the coolant supply and circulation unit 300 and the wall of the pack casing 200 on which the coolant supply and circulation unit 300 is in direct physical contact with.)
However, Lee is silent toward the structure for the electrically connecting the batteries between the battery cell assemblies 100, see [0035]. Therefore, Lee does not teach:
an end cap having an electrical connection component
the end cap includes a busbar that is independent from the channel (per Claim 12)
To solve the same problem of designing a battery module with coolant (see Abstract), Cheon teaches providing a bus bar 839 (i.e. an electrical component) on the coolant inlet/outlet manifold 832 independent from the coolant inlet/outlet, see [0085] and Figs. 20A and 20C. Cheon further teaches the bus bar 839 is configured in such a manner in order to couple battery terminals and provide higher amperage, see [0085].
Absent a showing of persuasive secondary considerations, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have provided a bus bar on the coolant supply and circulation unit 300, as taught by Cheon, to couple battery terminals and provide higher amperage.
and a fluid channel (The coolant supply and circulation unit 300 is connected to communicate with the input port 211 (i.e., a fluid channel) to supply and circulate the coolant into the pack casing 200, see [0038].),
the end cap to at least partially seal the space between the first battery cell and the second battery cell (Fig. 2 shows the wall of the pack casing 200 on which the coolant supply and circulation unit 300 is in direct physical contact with at least partially seal the space between the first battery cell and the second battery cell.);
and the space configured to receive a coolant (The pack casing 200 accommodates the battery cell assembly 100 and the coolant, see [0037]. The coolant supply and circulation unit 300 is connected to communicate with the input port 211 (i.e., fluid channel) to supply and circulate the coolant into the pack casing 200, see [0038]),
providing a coolant to the space between the first battery cell and the second battery cell (the pack casing 200 accommodates the battery cell assembly 100 and the coolant, see [0037]);
and the coolant to contact at least a portion of the first battery cell and at least a portion of the second battery cell (“each battery cell 110 is cooled in contact with the coolant,” see [0034]).
Regarding Claim 10, Lee discloses:
providing the coolant to contact at least a portion of the closure (the pack casing 200 accommodates the battery cell assembly 100 and the coolant, see [0037]),
wherein the closure contacts at least a portion of the first battery cell and at least a portion of the second battery cell (the casing cover 230 is shown in Figs. 2 and 3 to contact the battery cell assemblies 100).
Regarding Claim 13, Lee discloses:
the end cap includes a first end cap disposed on a first end of the closure (A coolant supply and circulation unit 300 is shown to be on an end of the pack casing 200, see Fig. 3. The end cap is interpreted to include the coolant supply and circulation unit 300 and the wall of the pack casing 200 on which the coolant supply and circulation unit 300 is in direct physical contact with. The coolant supply and circulation unit 300 is connected to communicate with the input port 211 (i.e., a fluid channel) to supply and circulate the coolant into the pack casing 200, see [0038].);
and the closure includes a second end cap disposed on a second end of the closure, the second end cap having a second channel to receive the coolant from the space (see annotated Fig. 6 above, the arrows indicate direction of coolant flow through 215, see also [0050]).
Regarding Claim 14, Lee with evidence from Filter discloses:
the coolant to flow under pressure within the space between the first battery cell and the second battery cell (Lee teaches the coolant is circulated, see [0011] and Fig. 6. As evidenced by Filter, “the coolant fluid may be pressurized, meaning that the coolant fluid flow is pumped or otherwise actively forced to flow through the energy-storage module.” Therefore, because Lee explicitly teaches the coolant is circulated (i.e. actively forced to flow) the coolant has flow under pressure.)
Regarding Claim 16, Lee discloses:
the closure comprises at least one flange that extends at least partially away from the space (annotated Fig. 3 above shows the indicated flange portion extends at least partially away from the space).
Regarding Claim 17, Lee discloses:
A battery, comprising (a battery pack 10, see [0032]):
a first battery cell positioned apart from a second battery cell to define a space between the first battery cell and the second battery cell (see annotated Fig. 2 above);
a closure to at least partially contact at least a portion the first battery cell and at least a portion of the second battery cell so as to at least partially enclose the space (the pack casing 200 which includes the casing cover 230 is shown in Figs. 2 and 3 to contact the battery cell assemblies 100 and to at least partially enclose the space);
the closure including an end cap (A coolant supply and circulation unit 300 is shown to be on an end of the pack casing 200, see Fig. 3. The end cap is interpreted to include the coolant supply and circulation unit 300 and the wall of the pack casing 200 on which the coolant supply and circulation unit 300 is in direct physical contact with.)
However, Lee is silent toward the structure for the electrically connecting the batteries between the battery cell assemblies 100, see [0035]. Therefore, Lee does not teach:
an end cap having an electrical connection component
To solve the same problem of designing a battery module with coolant (see Abstract), Cheon teaches providing a bus bar 839 (i.e. an electrical component) on the coolant inlet/outlet manifold 832 independent from the coolant inlet/outlet, see [0085] and Figs. 20A and 20C. Cheon further teaches the bus bar 839 is configured in such a manner in order to couple battery terminals and provide higher amperage, see [0085].
Absent a showing of persuasive secondary considerations, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have provided a bus bar on the coolant supply and circulation unit 300, as taught by Cheon, to couple battery terminals and provide higher amperage.
and a fluid channel (The coolant supply and circulation unit 300 is connected to communicate with the input port 211 (i.e., a fluid channel) to supply and circulate the coolant into the pack casing 200, see [0038].),
the end cap to at least partially seal the space between the first battery cell and the second battery cell (Fig. 2 shows the wall of the pack casing 200 on which the coolant supply and circulation unit 300 is in direct physical contact with at least partially seal the space between the first battery cell and the second battery cell.);
and the space configured to receive a coolant from the fluid channel of the end cap to cool at least the portion of the first battery cell and at least the portion of the second battery cell (The pack casing 200 accommodates the battery cell assembly 100 and the coolant, see [0037]. The coolant supply and circulation unit 300 is connected to communicate with the input port 211 (i.e., fluid channel) to supply and circulate the coolant into the pack casing 200, see [0038]. “Each battery cell 110 is cooled in contact with the coolant,” see [0034]).),
Regarding Claim 18, Lee discloses:
the coolant further configured to contact the first battery cell and the second battery cell (“each battery cell 110 is cooled in contact with the coolant,” see [0034]).
Regarding Claim 19, Lee discloses:
the end cap includes a first end cap disposed on a first end of the closure (A coolant supply and circulation unit 300 is shown to be on an end of the pack casing 200, see Fig. 3. The end cap is interpreted to include the coolant supply and circulation unit 300 and the wall of the pack casing 200 on which the coolant supply and circulation unit 300 is in direct physical contact with. The coolant supply and circulation unit 300 is connected to communicate with the input port 211 (i.e., a fluid channel) to supply and circulate the coolant into the pack casing 200, see [0038].);
and the closure includes a second end cap disposed on a second end of the closure, the second end cap having a second channel to receive the coolant from the space (see annotated Fig. 6 above, the arrows indicate direction of coolant flow through 215, see also [0050]).
Regarding Claim 21, modified Lee in view of Cheon teaches:
the electrical connection component to contact a terminal of the first battery cell to create an electrical connection between the first battery cell and the end cap (The bus bar 839 is configured in such a manner in order to couple battery terminals and provide higher amperage, see [0085]. Because Cheon teaches the battery terminals are coupled together with the busbar meaning there is an electrical connection to the first battery cell and end cap as rendered obvious above. ).
Regarding Claim 22, modified Lee in view of Cheon teaches:
comprising: the electrical connection component to contact a terminal of the first battery cell to create an electrical connection between the first battery cell and the end cap (The bus bar 839 is configured in such a manner in order to couple battery terminals and provide higher amperage, see [0085]. Because Cheon teaches the battery terminals are coupled together with the busbar meaning there is an electrical connection to the first battery cell and end cap as rendered obvious above.).
Claim(s) 7, 15, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US-20180316070-A1) in view of Cheon (US-20210210809-A1) as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Koller (DE-102013218489-A1 with citations from provided translation).
Regarding Claim 7, Lee teaches the following limitations with the following modification in view of Koller:
and the tab to protrude into a portion of the space between the first battery cell and the second battery cell ( “the electrode assembly and an electrode lead protruding out of the battery case and electrically connected to the electrode assembly,” see [0035] and Fig. 3).
Lee is silent toward:
a tab coupled with the closure;
To solve the same problem of designing a battery with a liquid coolant (see [0031]), Koller teaches an electrical connector 32 traverses the housing wall 14 in order to electrically interconnected individual battery modules 10 to form a battery pack 66, see Fig. 2 and [0031].
Absent a showing of persuasive secondary considerations, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have provided an electrical connector 32, taught by Koller, which traverses the pack casing 200 in order to electrically interconnected individual battery cell assemblies 100 to form the battery pack 10 of Lee.
Regarding Claim 15, Lee teaches the following limitations with the following modification in view of Koller:
and the tab to protrude into a portion of the space between the first battery cell and the second battery cell ( “the electrode assembly and an electrode lead protruding out of the battery case and electrically connected to the electrode assembly,” see [0035] and Fig. 3).
Lee is silent toward:
a tab coupled with the closure;
To solve the same problem of designing a battery with a liquid coolant (see [0031]), Koller teaches an electrical connector 32 traverses the housing wall 14 in order to electrically interconnected individual battery modules 10 to form a battery pack 66, see Fig. 2 and [0031].
Absent a showing of persuasive secondary considerations, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have provided an electrical connector 32, taught by Koller, which traverses the pack casing 200 in order to electrically interconnected individual battery cell assemblies 100 to form the battery pack 10 of Lee.
Regarding Claim 20, Lee teaches the following limitations with the following modification in view of Koller:
and the tab to protrude into a portion of the space between the first battery cell and the second battery cell ( “the electrode assembly and an electrode lead protruding out of the battery case and electrically connected to the electrode assembly,” see [0035] and Fig. 3).
Lee is silent toward:
a tab coupled with the closure;
To solve the same problem of designing a battery with a liquid coolant (see [0031]), Koller teaches an electrical connector 32 traverses the housing wall 14 in order to electrically interconnected individual battery modules 10 to form a battery pack 66, see Fig. 2 and [0031].
Absent a showing of persuasive secondary considerations, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have provided an electrical connector 32, taught by Koller, which traverses the pack casing 200 in order to electrically interconnected individual battery cell assemblies 100 to form the battery pack 10 of Lee.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/20/2025 have been fully considered and are addressed below:
Rejections under U.S.C. 35 §102
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6-7, with respect to the rejection under U.S.C. 35 §102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection under U.S.C. 35 §102 of Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-11, 13-14, and 16-20 has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Cheon.
Rejections under U.S.C. 35 §103
After further consideration of the art of record, specifically, the combination of Lee in view of Cheon previously applied to Claims 4 and 12 teach the limitations of amended independent Claims 1, 9, and 17 and new claims 21-22 as given above.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chung et al (US-20140057151-A1). Chung teaches “the battery pack in a state in which a spacing distance for coolant flow is provided between the respective unit cells to constitute a battery module,” see Abstract.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.E.C./
Kayla E. ClaryExaminer, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721