DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-32, 34-36, 38, 40-43, 46-47, and 56-67 have been canceled. Claims 33, 37, 39, 44-45, and 48-55 are pending, Claims 37, 39, 44-45, and 54 have been withdrawn, and Claims 33, 48-53, and 55 have been considered on the merits, insofar as they read on the elected species of P. goldsteinii and an enteric coating. All arguments have been fully considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 33, 48, 50-53, and 55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grant et al (WO 2016/203220 A1; 12/22/2016. Cited on IDS) in view of Sanz Herranz et al (US 8,501,169 B2, 8/6/2013. Cited on IDS).
The instant claims recite a pharmaceutical or probiotic composition for delivery to the gastrointestinal system comprising a therapeutically effective amount of inactivated Parabacteroides goldsteinii and an excipient, wherein the composition comprises Lactobacillus gasseri, Lactobacillus reuteri, or heat-inactivated Parabacteroides goldsteinii.
Grant teaches a composition comprising a therapeutically effective amount (p.24 line 25) of a bacterial strain of the genus Parabacteroides (Title, p.8 line 26) and one or more excipients (p.4 line 26-27) for delivery to the gastrointestinal system (p.22 line 30, p.24 line 10), wherein the Parabacteroides species includes Parabacteroides goldsteinii (p.8 line 31), the bacterial strain may be inactivated (p.28 line 12), and said composition is a pharmaceutical product (p.24 line 23) or a probiotic composition (p.24 line 24). The composition is formulated in freeze-dried form (p.24 line 3). The composition is administered orally and in the form of a tablet or capsule (p.24 line 18). The composition comprises citrus fibers (a plant fiber, an enteric coating) (p.25 line 12).
Grant does not teach heat-inactivated Parabacteroides goldsteinii (claim 33).
However, Grant does teach the composition comprises Parabacteroides strains that may be useful for modulating a patient’s immune system (p.16 line 18), wherein said Parabacteroides strains include Parabacteroides goldsteinii that may be inactivated (p.28 line 12). Sanz Herranz teaches non-viable microorganisms inactivated by different procedures including heat continue to be useful for therapeutic or preventive purposes such as immunomodulatory purposes (col.11 line 22-26), wherein said microorganisms include Parabacteroides spp. (col.7 line 50).
Thus, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate heat-inactivated Parabacteroides goldsteinii, since Grant discloses compositions comprise inactivated bacterial strains including Parabacteroides goldsteinii may be useful for modulating a patient’s immune system, and Sanz Herranz discloses that heat-inactivated microorganisms continue to be useful for therapeutic or preventive purposes such as immunomodulatory purposes, wherein said microorganisms include Parabacteroides spp.. Moreover, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the cited reference to incorporate heat-inactivated Parabacteroides goldsteinii, with a reasonable expectation for successfully obtaining a composition.
The limitation of “wherein the pharmaceutical or probiotic composition is resistant to degradation in the stomach but releases bacteria in the small intestine and/or large intestine of the subject” in claim 51 is regarded as intended use. The claiming of a new use, function or unknown property does not necessarily make the composition patentable. The intended use of the claimed composition does not patentably distinguish the composition, per se, since such undisclosed use is inherent in the reference composition. In order to be limiting, the intended use must create a structural difference between the claimed composition and the composition of the prior art. In the instant case, the intended use fails to create a structural difference, thus, the intended use is not limiting. Please note that when applicant claims a composition in terms of function, and the composition of the prior art appears to be the same, the Examiner may make rejections under both 35 U.S.C 102 and 103. (MPEP 2112)
Claim 49 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grant et al (WO 2016/203220 A1; 12/22/2016. Cited on IDS) in view of Sanz Herranz et al (US 8,501,169 B2, 8/6/2013. Cited on IDS) as applied to claims 33, 48, 50-53, and 55 above, further in view of György et al (Rev Pharmacol Toxicol. 2015;55:439-464.).
References cited above do not teach extracellular vesicles from Parabacteroides goldsteinii (claim 49).
However, Grant does teach compositions comprise Parabacteroides strains including Parabacteroides goldsteinii (p.8 line 31) for therapeutic uses (p.11 line 32). György teaches that the therapeutic potential of extracellular vesicles (EVs) presents exciting new avenues for intervention in many diseases. Promising aspects of EVs include the ability of EVs to transport genetic information, as well as drugs and proteins, to target specific cell types and to increase the stability of therapeutic cargoes in vivo (p.17 last para).
Thus, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate extracellular vesicles from Parabacteroides goldsteinii, since Grant discloses compositions comprise Parabacteroides strains including Parabacteroides goldsteinii for therapeutic uses, and György discloses that extracellular vesicles have beneficial effects and therapeutic potential. Moreover, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the cited reference to incorporate extracellular vesicles from Parabacteroides goldsteinii, with a reasonable expectation for successfully obtaining a composition.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that cited references do not teach the instant amendments. However, these arguments are moot in light of the new rejections above in view of applicant’s amendments.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Contact Information
/Lynn Y Fan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759