DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the RCE filed on 03/09/2026. Claims 1-13 and 15-20 are pending. Claims 1, 17, and 20 are independent. Claim 20 is withdrawn. Claim 14 is canceled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
Currently, none of the limitations are considered under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the collapsed configuration and the expanded use configuration” in line 9 of the claim. However, claim 1 recites “a collapsed configuration and an expanded use configuration” for each of the first occluding member and the second occluding member in lines 3-6 of the claim. It is unclear which of the collapsed configuration and the expanded use configuration that “the collapsed configuration and the expanded use configuration” is referring to. For the purpose of examination, the limitation “the collapsed configuration and the expanded use configuration” in line 9 of claim is interpreted to be ““the collapsed configuration and the expanded use configuration of the first occluding member.
Claim 1 recites “the collapsed configuration and the expanded use configuration” in line 10 of the claim. However, claim 1 recites “a collapsed configuration and an expanded use configuration” for each of the first occluding member and the second occluding member in lines 3-6 of the claim. It is unclear which of the collapsed configuration and the expanded use configuration that “the collapsed configuration and the expanded use configuration” is referring to. For the purpose of examination, the limitation “the collapsed configuration and the expanded use configuration” in line 10 of the claim is interpreted to be ““the collapsed configuration and the expanded use configuration of the second occluding member.
Claim 17 recites “the collapsed configuration and the expanded use configuration” in lines 10-11 of the claim. However, claim 17 recites “a collapsed configuration and an expanded use configuration” for each of the first occluding member and the second occluding member in lines 4-8 of the claim. It is unclear which of the collapsed configuration and the expanded use configuration that “the collapsed configuration and the expanded use configuration” is referring to. For the purpose of examination, the limitation “the collapsed configuration and the expanded use configuration” in lines 10-11 of the claim is interpreted to be ““the collapsed configuration and the expanded use configuration of the first occluding member.
Claim 17 recites “the collapsed configuration and the expanded use configuration” in lines 11-12 of the claim. However, claim 17 recites “a collapsed configuration and an expanded use configuration” for each of the first occluding member and the second occluding member in lines 4-8 of the claim. It is unclear which of the collapsed configuration and the expanded use configuration that “the collapsed configuration and the expanded use configuration” is referring to. For the purpose of examination, the limitation “the collapsed configuration and the expanded use configuration” in lines 11-12 of the claim is interpreted to be ““the collapsed configuration and the expanded use configuration of the second occluding member.
The art rejection(s) is/are made as best understood by the examiner because of the 35 U.S.C. 112 issue(s) stated above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13, and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weishaupt et al. (US Pub. No.: 2014/0155932) in view of Callaghan (US Pub. No.: 2007/02244517).
Regarding claims 1-13, 15, and 16, Weishaupt discloses [claim 1] a medical device for treating an atrial septal defect (ASD) at a target site, the medical device (the occluder shown in Figs. 1-9 and 12) comprising: a first occluding member (combination of 4 and 6, Figs. 4 and 6) having a collapsed configuration (Fig. 4) and an expanded use configuration (Fig. 3); a second occluding member (combination of 5 and 7, Figs. 4 and 6) disposed in opposition to the first occluding member, the second occluding member having a collapsed configuration (Fig. 4) and an expanded use configuration (Fig. 2); and an elongate shaft (combination of 3, 2 with its locking stem 20, and the shaft portion shown in the Figure below, Figs. 3 and 12) extending through and between both the first occluding member in at least the expanded use configuration and the second occluding member in at least the expanded use configuration (Fig. 3), the first occluding member being foldable to expand and collapse relative to the second occluding member (Figs. 3-4 and Paras. [0053]-[0057]), the second occluding member being foldable to expand and collapse relative to the first occluding member, wherein the at least one elongate shaft comprises: an outer shaft (3, Fig. 3); and an inner shaft (combination of 20 shown in Fig. 3 and the shaft extending into the first occluding member shown in Fig. 12 and as shown in the Figure below) disposed within the outer shaft and extending in axial alignment with the outer shaft (Fig. 3), wherein the inner shaft and the outer shaft are axially translatable relative to one another (Figs. 2-4 and Para. [0056]); whereby in operation, at least one of the first occluding member and the second occluding member is configured to expand relative to the other of the first occluding member and the second occluding member to treat the ASD at the target site (Figs. 3-4 and Paras. [0052]-[0057]); [claim 2] wherein the first occluding member includes a first outer portion (6, Fig. 2) and a first inner portion (4, Fig. 2) coupled to an inner surface of the first outer portion (the inner portion 4 is coupled to an inner surface of the outer portion at the sewing seam 60, Figs. 2 and 4 and Para. [0063]), and the first outer portion and the first inner portion are configured to expand and collapse in cooperation with one another (Figs. 2 and 4, outer portion and the inner portion are configured to expand and collapse in cooperation with one another because they are fixedly connected with a sewing seam 60); [claim 3] wherein the first outer portion and the first inner portion are cooperatively foldable (Figs. 2 and 4 and Paras. [0052]-[0057]); [claim 4] wherein the first outer portion defines a first radial edge (Fig. 2, the outer portion 6 defines a first radial edge at 60), and the first inner portion defines a second radial edge (Fig. 4, the inner portion 4 defines a second radial edge at 40), and the first radial edge is radially outward of the second radial edge (Figs. 2 and 4, in expanded and collapsed configurations, the first radial edge at 60 is radially outward of the second radial edge at 40); [claim 5] wherein the first radial edge is radially outward of the second radial edge both when the first occluding member is in the expanded use configuration and when the first occluding member is in the collapsed configuration 20 (Figs. 2 and 4, in expanded and collapsed configurations, the first radial edge at 60 is radially outward of the second radial edge at 40); [claim 6] wherein the first outer portion defines a first radial edge (Fig. 2, the outer portion 6 defines a first radial edge at 60), the first inner portion defines a second radial edge (Fig. 2, the inner portion 40 defines a second radial edge at 60), and the first radial edge is radially co-located with the second radial edge (Fig. 2); [claim 7] wherein the first outer portion and the first inner portion each defines a respective plurality of radially extending folds (the outer portion and the inner portion each define a respective plurality of radially extending folds as shown in Fig. 4), and each of the plurality of radially extending folds further defines an alternating series of circumferential apices (each of the plurality of radially extending folds further defines an alternating series of circumferential apices as shown in Fig. 4); [claim 8] wherein the second occluding member includes a second outer portion (7, Figs. 2 and 4) and a second inner portion (5, Figs. 2 and 4) coupled to an inner surface of the second outer portion (the inner portion 5 is coupled to an inner surface of the outer portion 7 at sewing seam 70, Figs. 2 and 4 and Para. [0063]), and the second outer portion and the second inner portion are configured to expand and collapse in cooperation with one another (Figs. 2 and 4 and Paras. [0052]-[0057]); [claim 9] wherein the second outer portion and the second inner portion are cooperatively foldable (Figs. 2 and 4 and Paras. [0052]-[0057]); [claim 10] wherein the second outer portion defines a first radial edge (Fig. 2, the outer portion 7 defines a first radial edge at 70), the second inner portion defines a second radial edge (the inner portion 5 defines a second radial edge at 50, Figs. 2-5 and Para. [0058]), and the first radial edge of the second outer portion is radially outward of the second radial edge of the second inner portion (Figs. 2-6); [claim 11] wherein the first radial edge of the second outer portion is radially outward of the second radial edge of the second inner portion both when the second occluding member is in the expanded use configuration and when the second occluding member is in the collapsed configuration (Figs. 2-6); [claim 12] wherein the second outer portion defines a first radial edge (Fig. 2, the outer portion 7 defines a first radial edge at 70), the second inner portion defines a second radial edge (the inner portion 5 defines a second radial edge at 70, Figs. 2 and 4), and the first radial edge is radially co-located with the second radial edge (Fig. 2 and 4); [claim 13] wherein the second outer portion and the second inner portion each defines a respective plurality of radially extending folds (the outer portion and the inner portion each define a respective plurality of radially extending folds as shown in Figs. 4), and each of the plurality of radially extending folds further defines an alternating series of circumferential apices (each of the plurality of radially extending folds further defines an alternating series of circumferential apices as shown in Fig. 4); [claim 15] wherein the first occluding member is coupled to the inner shaft (Figs. 2-4), and when the inner shaft is translated relative to the outer shaft, the first occluding member expands and collapses (Fig. 2-4 and Para. [0056]); [claim 16] wherein the second occluding member is coupled to the outer shaft (Figs. 2-4), and when the outer shaft is translated relative to the inner shaft, the second occluding member expands and collapses (Fig. 2-4 and Para. [0056]). However, Weishaupt does not specifically describe that the elongate shaft with the shaft portion indicated in the figure below extending through and between both the first occluding member and second occluding member in the collapsed configuration (although it’s pretty obvious as shown in the figure and the specification described in Para. [0056] that the locking stem 20 is brought in engagement with the second holder 3).
Callaghan teaches, in the same field of endeavor (delivery system for deploying a medical device), an elongate shaft (combination of cylindrical catch and shaft portion 346, Figs. 19 and 22) extending through and between both the first occluding member and second occluding member in the collapsed configuration (Figs. 19 and 22).
Before the effectively filing date of the claim invention, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the medical device of Weishaupt to include the elongate shaft, such as having a shaft portion 346 for moving the cylindrical catch/stem, extending through and between both the first occluding member and second occluding member in also the collapsed configuration as taught by Callaghan in order to obtain the advantage of facilitate the deployment and/or recovery of the medical device (Callaghan, Paras. [0057] and [0068]).
Regarding claims 17-19, Weishaupt discloses [claim 17] a delivery system for deploying a medical device to a target site, the delivery system comprising: a medical device (the occluder shown in Figs. 1-9 and 12) comprising: a first occluding member (combination of 4 and 6, Figs. 4 and 6) having a collapsed configuration (Fig. 4) and an expanded use configuration (Fig. 3); a second occluding member a second occluding member (combination of 5 and 7, Figs. 4 and 6) disposed in opposition to the first occluding member, the second occluding member having a collapsed configuration (Fig. 4) and an expanded use configuration (Fig. 2); and an elongate shaft (combination of 3, 2 with its locking stem 20, and the shaft portion shown in the Figure above, Figs. 3 and 12) extending through and between both the first occluding member in at least the expanded use configuration and the second occluding member in at least the expanded use configuration (Fig. 3), the first occluding member being foldable to expand and collapse relative to the second occluding member, the second occluding member being foldable to expand and collapse relative to the first occluding member (Figs. 3-4 and Paras. [0052]-[0057]), wherein the at least one elongate shaft comprises: an outer shaft (3, Fig. 3); and an inner shaft (combination of 20 shown in Fig. 3 and the shaft extending into the first occluding member shown in Fig. 12 and as shown in the Figure above) disposed within the outer shaft and extending in axial alignment with the outer shaft (Fig. 3), wherein the inner shaft and the outer shaft are axially translatable relative to one another (Figs. 2-4 and Para. [0056]); [claim 18] wherein the first occluding member includes an outer portion (6, Fig. 2) and an inner portion (4, Fig. 2) coupled to an inner surface of the outer portion (the inner portion 4 is coupled to an inner surface of the outer portion at the sewing seam 60, Figs. 2 and 4 and Para. [0063]), and the outer portion and the inner portion are configured to expand and collapse in cooperation with one another (Figs. 3-4 and Paras. [0052]-[0057]); [claim 19] wherein the outer portion and the inner portion each define a respective plurality of radially extending folds (the outer portion and the inner portion each define a respective plurality of radially extending folds as shown in Fig. 4), and each of the plurality of radially extending folds further defines an alternating series of circumferential apices (each of the plurality of radially extending folds further defines an alternating series of circumferential apices as shown in Fig. 4). However, Weishaupt does not specifically describe that the elongate shaft with the shaft portion indicated in the figure below extending through and between both the first occluding member and second occluding member in the collapsed configuration (although it’s pretty obvious as shown in the figure and the specification described in Para. [0056] that the locking stem 20 is brought in engagement with the second holder 3) and does not explicitly disclose a delivery device comprising: a delivery catheter; a delivery cable within the delivery catheter and translatable with respect to the delivery catheter; and a coupling member configured to couple the medical device to the delivery cable for facilitating deployment of the medical device at the target site.
Callaghan teaches, in the same field of endeavor (delivery system for deploying a medical device), an elongate shaft (combination of cylindrical catch and shaft portion 346, Figs. 19 and 22) extending through and between both the first occluding member and second occluding member in the collapsed configuration (Figs. 19 and 22); and a delivery device (combination of 342 and 356, Figs.19 and 20) comprising: a delivery catheter (342, Figs. 19 and 20); a delivery cable (356, Fig. 24) within the delivery catheter and translatable with respect to the delivery catheter; and a coupling member (threads / threaded connection member at the end of 356, Fig. 15 and Para. [0068]) configured to couple a medical device to the delivery cable for facilitating deployment of the medical device at the target site (Para. [0068]).
Before the effectively filing date of the claim invention, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the medical device of Weishaupt to include the elongate shaft, such as having a shaft portion 346 for moving the cylindrical catch/stem, extending through and between both the first occluding member and second occluding member in also the collapsed configuration; and a delivery device comprising: a delivery catheter; a delivery cable within the delivery catheter and translatable with respect to the delivery catheter; and a coupling member configured to couple the medical device to the delivery cable for facilitating deployment of the medical device at the target site as taught by Callaghan in order to facilitate the deployment and/or recovery of the medical device as taught by Callaghan in order to obtain the advantage of facilitate the deployment and/or recovery of the medical device (Callaghan, Paras. [0057] and [0068]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-13 and 15-19 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection.
In response to the argument(s) on pages 7-8 of the remarks, Weishaupt discloses [claim 1] a medical device for treating an atrial septal defect (ASD) at a target site, the medical device (the occluder shown in Figs. 1-9 and 12) comprising: a first occluding member (combination of 4 and 6, Figs. 4 and 6) having a collapsed configuration (Fig. 4) and an expanded use configuration (Fig. 3); a second occluding member (combination of 5 and 7, Figs. 4 and 6) disposed in opposition to the first occluding member, the second occluding member having a collapsed configuration (Fig. 4) and an expanded use configuration (Fig. 2); and an elongate shaft (combination of 3, 2 with its locking stem 20, and the shaft portion shown in the Figure below, Figs. 3 and 12) extending through and between both the first occluding member in at least the expanded use configuration and the second occluding member in at least the expanded use configuration (Fig. 3), the first occluding member being foldable to expand and collapse relative to the second occluding member (Figs. 3-4 and Paras. [0053]-[0057]), the second occluding member being foldable to expand and collapse relative to the first occluding member, wherein the at least one elongate shaft comprises: an outer shaft (3, Fig. 3); and an inner shaft (combination of 20 shown in Fig. 3 and the shaft extending into the first occluding member shown in Fig. 12 and as shown in the Figure below) disposed within the outer shaft and extending in axial alignment with the outer shaft (Fig. 3), wherein the inner shaft and the outer shaft are axially translatable relative to one another (Figs. 2-4 and Para. [0056]); whereby in operation, at least one of the first occluding member and the second occluding member is configured to expand relative to the other of the first occluding member and the second occluding member to treat the ASD at the target site (Figs. 3-4 and Paras. [0052]-[0057]). However, Weishaupt does not specifically describe that the elongate shaft with the shaft portion indicated in the figure below extending through and between both the first occluding member and second occluding member in the collapsed configuration (although it’s pretty obvious as shown in the figure and the specification described in Para. [0056] that the locking stem 20 is brought in engagement with the second holder 3).
Callaghan teaches, in the same field of endeavor (delivery system for deploying a medical device), an elongate shaft (combination of cylindrical catch and shaft portion 346, Figs. 19 and 22) extending through and between both the first occluding member and second occluding member in the collapsed configuration (Figs. 19 and 22).
Before the effectively filing date of the claim invention, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the medical device of Weishaupt to include the elongate shaft, such as having a shaft portion 346 for moving the cylindrical catch/stem, extending through and between both the first occluding member and second occluding member in also the collapsed configuration as taught by Callaghan in order to obtain the advantage of facilitate the deployment and/or recovery of the medical device (Callaghan, Paras. [0057] and [0068]).
Weishaupt discloses [claim 17] a delivery system for deploying a medical device to a target site, the delivery system comprising: a medical device (the occluder shown in Figs. 1-9 and 12) comprising: a first occluding member (combination of 4 and 6, Figs. 4 and 6) having a collapsed configuration (Fig. 4) and an expanded use configuration (Fig. 3); a second occluding member a second occluding member (combination of 5 and 7, Figs. 4 and 6) disposed in opposition to the first occluding member, the second occluding member having a collapsed configuration (Fig. 4) and an expanded use configuration (Fig. 2); and an elongate shaft (combination of 3, 2 with its locking stem 20, and the shaft portion shown in the Figure above, Figs. 3 and 12) extending through and between both the first occluding member in at least the expanded use configuration and the second occluding member in at least the expanded use configuration (Fig. 3), the first occluding member being foldable to expand and collapse relative to the second occluding member, the second occluding member being foldable to expand and collapse relative to the first occluding member (Figs. 3-4 and Paras. [0052]-[0057]), wherein the at least one elongate shaft comprises: an outer shaft (3, Fig. 3); and an inner shaft (combination of 20 shown in Fig. 3 and the shaft extending into the first occluding member shown in Fig. 12 and as shown in the Figure above) disposed within the outer shaft and extending in axial alignment with the outer shaft (Fig. 3), wherein the inner shaft and the outer shaft are axially translatable relative to one another (Figs. 2-4 and Para. [0056])
However, Weishaupt does not specifically describe that the elongate shaft with the shaft portion indicated in the figure below extending through and between both the first occluding member and second occluding member in the collapsed configuration (although it’s pretty obvious as shown in the figure and the specification described in Para. [0056] that the locking stem 20 is brought in engagement with the second holder 3) and does not explicitly disclose a delivery device comprising: a delivery catheter; a delivery cable within the delivery catheter and translatable with respect to the delivery catheter; and a coupling member configured to couple the medical device to the delivery cable for facilitating deployment of the medical device at the target site.
Callaghan teaches, in the same field of endeavor (delivery system for deploying a medical device), an elongate shaft (combination of cylindrical catch and shaft portion 346, Figs. 19 and 22) extending through and between both the first occluding member and second occluding member in the collapsed configuration (Figs. 19 and 22); and a delivery device (combination of 342 and 356, Figs.19 and 20) comprising: a delivery catheter (342, Figs. 19 and 20); a delivery cable (356, Fig. 24) within the delivery catheter and translatable with respect to the delivery catheter; and a coupling member (threads / threaded connection member at the end of 356, Fig. 15 and Para. [0068]) configured to couple a medical device to the delivery cable for facilitating deployment of the medical device at the target site (Para. [0068]).
Before the effectively filing date of the claim invention, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the medical device of Weishaupt to include the elongate shaft, such as having a shaft portion 346 for moving the cylindrical catch/stem, extending through and between both the first occluding member and second occluding member in also the collapsed configuration; and a delivery device comprising: a delivery catheter; a delivery cable within the delivery catheter and translatable with respect to the delivery catheter; and a coupling member configured to couple the medical device to the delivery cable for facilitating deployment of the medical device at the target site as taught by Callaghan in order to facilitate the deployment and/or recovery of the medical device as taught by Callaghan in order to obtain the advantage of facilitate the deployment and/or recovery of the medical device (Callaghan, Paras. [0057] and [0068]).
Conclusion
/JING RUI OU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771