571DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
Please see below the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 18-22 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam 20220368487 in view of Ang 20200221384.
As to claim 1, Nam discloses an apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) [115,805] comprising: a processor [840]; memory [830] coupled with the processor (see par. 0007, 0122); and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
receive control signaling indicating one or more parameters for a wakeup signal associated with a sensing reference signal [410] (see par. 0097);
receive, while operating in an idle mode, the wakeup signal based at least in part on the one or more parameters, the wakeup signal indicating for the UE to wake up [415,425] (see par. 0005-0006, 0098); and
communicate the sensing reference signal based at least in part on reception of the wakeup signal [440] (see par. 0084, 0097, 0099).
Nam fails to disclose the intended use to communicate the sensing reference signal. In an analogous art, Ang discloses the wakeup signal indicating for the UE to wake up to communicate the sensing reference signal (see par. 0071). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the at before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine the teachings for the simple purpose of improving power efficiency of the DRX cycle while assist in measurement and/or feedback of channel and improve the communication (see par. 0007).
As to claim 2, Nam discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
monitor for the wakeup signal during one or more sensing wakeup signal monitoring occasions, wherein the one or more parameters for the wakeup signal indicates the one or more sensing wakeup signal monitoring occasions (see par. 0006, 0010, 0040).
As to claim 3, Nam discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein: the one or more sensing wakeup signal monitoring occasions are periodic or semi-persistent (see par. 0011).
As to claim 4, Nam discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the one or more sensing wakeup signal monitoring occasions correspond to synchronization signal block occasions, paging occasions, portions of a discontinuous reception cycle, or wakeup signal monitoring occasions, or any combination thereof (see par. 0040).
As to claim 5, Nam discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
receive a control message activating the one or more sensing wakeup signal monitoring occasions, wherein monitoring for the wakeup signal is based at least in part on the control message activating the one or more sensing wakeup signal monitoring occasions (see par. 0040, 0077, 0082-0083).
As to claim 18, Nam discloses an apparatus [105,805] for wireless communications at a network entity, comprising: a processor [840]; memory [830] coupled with the processor (see par. 0018, 0122); and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
transmit control signaling indicating one or more parameters for a wakeup signal associated with a sensing reference signal [410] (see par. 0097);
transmit, to a user equipment (UE) operating in an idle mode, the wakeup signal based at least in part on the one or more parameters, the wakeup signal indicating for the UE to wake up [415,425] (see par. 0005-0006, 0098); and
communicate the sensing reference signal based at least in part on transmission of the wakeup signal [440] (see par. 0084, 0097, 0099).
Nam fails to disclose the intended use to communicate the sensing reference signal. In an analogous art, Ang discloses the wakeup signal indicating for the UE to wake up to communicate the sensing reference signal (see par. 0071). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the at before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine the teachings for the simple purpose of improving power efficiency of the DRX cycle while assist in measurement and/or feedback of channel and improve the communication (see par. 0007).
As to claim 19, Nam discloses the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the instructions to transmit the wakeup signal are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit the wakeup signal during one or more sensing wakeup signal monitoring occasions, wherein the one or more parameters for the wakeup signal indicates the one or more sensing wakeup signal monitoring occasions (see par. 0006, 0010, 0040).
As to claim 20, Nam discloses the apparatus of claim 19, wherein: the one or more sensing wakeup signal monitoring occasions are periodic or semi-persistent (see par. 0011).
As to claim 21, Nam discloses the apparatus of claim 19, wherein the one or more sensing wakeup signal monitoring occasions correspond to synchronization signal block occasions, paging occasions, portions of a discontinuous reception cycle, or wakeup signal monitoring occasions, or any combination thereof (see par. 0040).
As to claim 22, Nam discloses the apparatus of claim 19, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit a control message activating the one or more sensing wakeup signal monitoring occasions at the UE, wherein transmitting the wakeup signal is based at least in part on the control message activating the one or more sensing wakeup signal monitoring occasions (see par. 0040, 0077, 0082-0083).
Regarding claims 29-30, they are the corresponding method claims of device claims 1 and 18. Therefore, claims 29-30 are rejected for the same reason as shown above.
Claim(s) 6 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam in view of Ang and further in view of Feng 20250024376.
As to claim 6, Nam discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions to receive the wakeup signal are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive the wakeup signal based at least in part on a waveform and/or configuration, wherein the one or more parameters for the wakeup signal includes the waveform and/or configuration (see par. 0040, 0054, 0097). Nam fails to disclose sensing wakeup signal. In an analogous art, Feng discloses a sensing wakeup signal (see par. 0220). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention that a wakeup signal is a sensing signal; thereby, a sensing wakeup signal and permitting the detection of the signal.
As to claim 23, Nam discloses the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the instructions to transmit the wakeup signal are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit the wakeup signal with a waveform and/or configuration, wherein the one or more parameters for the wakeup signal includes the waveform and/or configuration (see par. 0040, 0054, 0097). Nam fails to disclose sensing wakeup signal. In an analogous art, Feng discloses a sensing wakeup signal (see par. 0220). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention that a wakeup signal is a sensing signal; thereby, a sensing wakeup signal and permitting the detection of the signal.
Conclusion
MARCOS L. TORRES
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2647
/MARCOS L TORRES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647