DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Para [0015] discusses layer 404, which is not shown in the drawings.
Para [0024] states the conductive element is both 214 and 314.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shin et al. (US 2023/0161007).
In re. claim 1, Shin teaches a lidar sensor assembly comprising: a housing (80) having a window (20) (Fig. 5); a light source (11) disposed within said housing and configured to generate light which is directed through said window (fig. 7) (para [0067]); a detector array (12) disposed within said housing and configured to detect light generated by said light source and reflected off at least one object (100) (fig. 7) (para [0065]); and a controller (70) in communication with said light source to control operation of said light source (by sending signal to vehicle instrument panel) (para [0076]); and a strain gauge in communication with said controller and including a conductive element (60) disposed on said window (understood to be conductive based on change in resistance detected) (para [0056])); said controller configured to deactivate said light source in response to said strain gauge indicating damage to said window (immediate stoppage required) (para [0076]).
In re. claim 6, Shin teaches the lidar sensor assembly as set forth in claim 1 wherein said strain gauge is configured to sense a resistance of the conductive element (para [0056]).
In re. claim 7, Shin teaches the lidar sensor assembly as set forth in claim 6 wherein said controller is configured to compare the sensed resistance to a predetermined resistance to determine whether damage has occurred to said window (change in resistance as compared to no change in resistance) (para [0056).
In re. claim 8, Shin teaches a method of detecting damage to a window of lidar sensor assembly, wherein the lidar sensor assembly includes a housing (80) defining an opening, the window (20) disposed in the opening (fig. 5), a light source (11) disposed within the housing and configured to generate light which is directed through the window (para [0065]), a detector array (12) disposed within the housing and configured to detect light generated by the light source and reflected off at least one object (para [0065]), said method comprising: disposing a conductive element (60) disposed on the window (understood to be conductive based on change in resistance detected) (para [0056])); sensing a resistance of the conductive element as part of a strain gauge (para [0056]); and determining whether damage has occurred to the window based on the sensed resistance of the conductive element (immediate stoppage required) (para [0076]).
In re. claim 9, Shin teaches the method as set forth in claim 8 further comprising deactivating said light source in response to said strain gauge indicating damage to said window (immediate stoppage required) (para [0076]).
In re. claim 10, Shin teaches the method as set forth in claim 8 wherein sensing the resistance of the conductive element is further defined as sensing the resistance of the conductive element over time (time required for damage to change resistive value) (para [0076]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Varga et al. (US 2021/0271343), hereinafter Varga.
In re. claim 2, Shin fails to disclose said window includes a first pane and a second pane and wherein said conductive element is sandwiched between said first pane and said second pane.
Varga teaches a window includes a first pane (3a) and a second pane (3b) and wherein said conductive element (7a, 7b) is sandwiched between said first pane and said second pane (fig. 1) (para [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Shin to incorporate the teachings of Varga to have the recited window arrangement, for the predictable result of providing an increased layer of protection for the window in the form of a composite glass pane.
In re. claim 3, Shin as modified by Varga (see Varga) teach the lidar sensor assembly as set forth in claim 2 wherein said window further includes polyvinyl butyral (5) sandwiched between said first pane and said second pane (fig. 1) (para [0024]).
In re. claim 4, Shin as modified by Varga (see Varga) teach the lidar sensor assembly as set forth in claim 2 wherein said first pane and said second pane are formed of glass (para [0024]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kurtz (US 4,327,359).
In re. claim 5, Shin fails to disclose said strain gauge further includes a Wheatstone bridge electrically connected to said conductive element.
Kurtz teaches a strain gauge further includes a Wheatstone bridge (in alarm control (14)) (fig. 6) (col. 5, ln. 20-24) electrically connected to said conductive element (11) (fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Shin to incorporate the teachings of Kurtz to have the recited strain gauge arrangement, for the purpose of associating the force capable of breaking the glass, providing increased control of the sensor (Kurtz; col. 6, ln. 7-15).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/C.D.H./
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3647
/Christopher D Hutchens/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3647