DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 14-19, 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Talbert et al. US2021/0274076 and further in view of Kojima US2022/0133140.
For claim 1, Talbert discloses “A system comprising:
an emitter (102; fig 1, 7E; 0062) comprising a plurality of electromagnetic sources that are emitted according to a variable pulse cycle (fig 7E shows variable pulses Pulse 1-4; embodiment described at 0171);
an image sensor (122; fig 1; 0064) comprising a pixel array that detects electromagnetic radiation;
a controller (124; fig 1; 0070) that synchronizes operations of the emitter and the image sensor;
wherein the controller instructs the image sensor to accumulate electromagnetic radiation and read out data according to a variable frame cycle comprising a plurality of frame periods (fig 4B, 7E; 0041, 0073), wherein the controller adjusts a duration of a blanking period and a duration of a readout period corresponding to the variable frame cycle (fig 4B; 0097 illustrates the varying of the pulse width and amplitude resulting in the varying of the blanking and readout periods); and
wherein a duration of the plurality of frame periods is adjustable on a per-frame basis (fig 4B, 7E; 0171)”.
wherein the controller provides data (“provides data” is considered to read on and include the recitation of dependent claim “the data that microcontroller writes”) regarding the variable frame cycle, wherein the data is determined based upon the variable pulse cycle of the emitter (fig 7E shows the variable frame cycle; 0172-0173 describes the variable emitter and corresponding sensor cycles, including the sensor being adjusted, i.e. provided a control signal via the controller);
wherein the duration of the plurality of frame periods are dynamically adjusted based on a change in wavelength of electromagnetic radiation emitted by the emitter (0176 describes adjusting the intensity of light based on the wavelength of the light, where intensity encompasses both amplitude and duration).
Talbert does not disclose:
“a microcontroller”
wherein the controller provides data “to the microcontroller” regarding the variable frame cycle, wherein the data is determined based upon the variable pulse cycle of the emitter (see f. above);
“wherein the microcontroller provides instructions to the image sensor on a per-frame-basis to dynamically adjust a duration of the plurality of frame periods in the variable frame cycle”.
Kojima teaches in the same field of endeavor, a medical observation system which variably controls light emission duration and corresponding image sensor frames on a frame-by-frame basis (fig 6; 0083). Kojima also teaches this device as a modular system with attachable and detachable components (fig 1), including a camera head 5 with an imaging section 502 and camera head control section 504 as the claimed “microcontroller” (fig 2). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the modification of Kojima into the invention of Talbert in order to configure the system e.g. as claimed, in particular providing a microcontroller for the imaging section in the context of a modular system because it provides the added functionality of a modular system allowing separate components to be replaced independently if needed.
For claim 2, Talbert discloses “The system of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of frame periods comprises: the blanking period wherein the pixel array accumulates the electromagnetic radiation; and the readout period wherein the pixel array reads out data for generating a data frame (fig 7E; 0073, 0090)”.
For claim 3, Talbert discloses “The system of claim 2, wherein the controller instructs the emitter to actuate the plurality of electromagnetic sources to pulse according to a variable illumination cycle comprising independent pulses of two or more different wavebands of electromagnetic radiation (fig 7E; 0061, 0171);
wherein each pulse within the variable illumination cycle of the emitter corresponds with a frame period of the plurality of frame periods of the image sensor (fig 7E; 0103); and
wherein the controller determines the pixel array’s efficiency in detecting the two or more different wavebands of electromagnetic radiation that are pulsed in the variable illumination cycle (fig 4B, 7E; 0169-0171)”.
For claim 4, Talbert discloses “The system of claim 3, wherein the controller calculates an optimized blanking period duration for each of the plurality of frame periods based on the corresponding pulse within the variable illumination cycle and the pixel array’s efficiency in detecting a waveband of the corresponding pulse (fig 4B, 7E; 0097, 0171)”.
For claim 5, Talbert discloses “The system of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to synchronize the operations of the emitter and the image sensor by: instructing the emitter to pulse a first waveband of electromagnetic radiation during a first blanking period of the pixel array; and optimizing the duration of the first blanking period of the pixel array based on the pixel array’s efficiency in detecting the first waveband of electromagnetic radiation (fig 4B, 7E; 0097, 0171)”.
For claim 6, Talbert discloses “The system of claim 5, wherein the controller optimizes the duration of the first blanking period to enable the pixel array to accumulate a sufficient amount of energy to output data for generating a first data frame that corresponds with the first waveband of electromagnetic radiation such that the first data frame comprises a threshold degree of exposure for visualizing a scene (fig 4B, 7E; 0097, 0171)”.
For claim 7, Talbert discloses “The system of claim 1, wherein the controller instructs the emitter to pulse a first waveband of electromagnetic radiation during a first blanking period of the pixel array, and wherein: the controller lengthens a duration of the first blanking period if the pixel array’s sensitivity to the first waveband of electromagnetic radiation falls below a threshold efficiency; and the controller shortens a duration of the first blanking period if the pixel array’s sensitivity to the first waveband of electromagnetic radiation exceeds the threshold efficiency (fig 4B, 7E; 0097, 0171)”.
For claim 8, Talbert discloses “The system of claim 1, wherein the controller adjusts the duration of at least a portion of the plurality of frame periods to compensate for the pixel array comprising varying sensitivity to detecting different wavelengths of electromagnetic radiation emitted by the emitter (fig 4B, 7E; 0097, 0171)”.
For claim 9, Talbert discloses “The system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of electromagnetic sources comprises a visible source that pulses a visible wavelength of electromagnetic radiation, and wherein the visible source comprises one or more of: a white light source; or a red light source, a green light source, and a blue light source that are pulsed simultaneously or sequentially (fig 2; 0061, 0064, 0070-0071)”.
For claim 10, Talbert discloses “The system of claim 1,
wherein the plurality of electromagnetic sources comprises a multispectral source that pulses a spectral waveband of electromagnetic radiation, and wherein the multispectral source comprises (fig 1; 0064):
a first multispectral source that pulses electromagnetic radiation within a first narrowband of a visible waveband of the electromagnetic spectrum, wherein the first narrowband is 20 nm wide or less (0069 describes RGB pulses, i.e. red; 0071, 0135);
a second multispectral source that pulses electromagnetic radiation within a second narrowband of the visible waveband of the electromagnetic spectrum, wherein the second narrowband is 20 nm wide or less (0069 describes RGB pulses, i.e. green; 0071, 0135); and
a third multispectral source that pulses electromagnetic radiation within a near infrared waveband of the electromagnetic spectrum (0247 describes near IR emitter; 0071, 0135)”
a fluorescence source (0071 describes emitter 202 may be used to emit any wavelength of electromagnetic energy including fluorescence excitation wavelengths, e.g. 0120 lists some suitable wavelengths) that pulses a fluorescence excitation wavelength of electromagnetic radiation comprising one or more of:
a first fluorescence source that pulses electromagnetic radiation within a waveband from about 770 nm to about 795 nm (0071 describes emitter 202 may be used to emit any wavelength of electromagnetic energy including fluorescence excitation wavelengths, e.g. 0120 lists some suitable wavelengths, including 770 nm and 790 nm); or
a second fluorescence source that pulses electromagnetic radiation within a waveband from about 790 nm to about 815 nm (0071 describes emitter 202 may be used to emit any wavelength of electromagnetic energy including fluorescence excitation wavelengths, e.g. 0120 lists some suitable wavelengths, including 790 nm and 815 nm); and
a mapping source (0235, 0252 describes a laser scanning emitter for mapping) that pulses electromagnetic radiation in a mapping pattern, wherein the pixel array detects reflected electromagnetic radiation and outputs mapping data in response to the emitter pulsing the mapping pattern, and wherein the mapping data comprises information for determining one or more of a topographical map of a scene, a dimension of one or more objects within the scene, or a distance.
For claim 14, Talbert discloses “The system of claim 1, wherein the controller instructs the emitter to selectively cycle the plurality of electromagnetic sources according to a variable illumination cycle, and wherein the variable illumination cycle is adjustable based on user input (0109)”.
For claim 15, Talbert discloses “The system of claim 14, wherein the user input comprises an indication the image sensor should output color imaging and machine vision imaging, and wherein the controller adjusts the variable illumination cycle to comprise a pattern comprising: a plurality of pulses of a visible wavelength of electromagnetic radiation, wherein the image sensor outputs color imaging data in response to the emitter pulsing the visible wavelength of electromagnetic radiation; and a plurality of pulses of a machine vision emission, wherein the image sensor outputs machine vision imaging data in response to the emitter pulsing the machine vision emission (0109)”.
For claim 16, Talbert discloses “The system of claim 15, wherein the machine vision imaging comprises one or more of multispectral imaging, fluorescence imaging, or topographical mapping, and wherein the machine vision emission comprises a wavelength or pattern selected for the one or more of the multispectral imaging, the fluorescence imaging, or the topographical mapping (0109)”.
For claim 17, Talbert discloses “The system of claim 1, wherein the controller reprograms the image sensor prior to each frame period of the plurality of frame periods to set a blanking period duration for an upcoming frame period (0171, 0263)”.
For claim 18, Talbert discloses “The system of claim 1, further comprising a memory buffer (1504; fig 15; 0212), and wherein:
the image sensor outputs a plurality of datasets corresponding with the plurality of frame periods (fig 1; 0067-0070), and wherein each of the plurality of datasets comprises information for generating a data frame (0067);
two or more of the plurality of frame periods of the frame cycle comprise different blanking period durations (316; fig 7E; 0103, 0171); and
the image sensor outputs the plurality of datasets to the memory buffer at irregular intervals due to the frame cycle comprising the different blanking period durations (126; fig 1; and blanking period 316; fig 7E; 0103, 0171, 0067-0070)”.
For claim 19, Talbert discloses “The system of claim 18, further comprising an image processing pipeline that receives the plurality of datasets stored in the memory buffer and processes the plurality of datasets at regular intervals (316; fig 7E; 0067-0070, 0103, 0171).
For claim 21, modified Talbert discloses “The system of claim 1, wherein the data that the image sensor receives from the microcontroller (Kojima: camera head control section 504; fig 2) is used to set the duration for an upcoming frame period of the plurality of frame periods (Talbert: fig 7E shows the variable frame cycle; 0172-0173 describes the variable emitter and corresponding sensor cycles, including the sensor being adjusted, i.e. provided a control signal via the controller)”.
For claim 22, modified Talbert discloses “The system of claim 1, wherein the data the microcontroller (Kojima: camera head control section 504; fig 2) writes (writing the data is considered to read on the parent claim recitation of “provides data” and vice versa, otherwise the writing of the data would lack antecedent basis) to the image sensor is based at least in part on a type of an upcoming data frame (Talbert: fig 4B, 7E shows the variable frame cycle; 0041, 0073, 0172-0173 describes the variable emitter and corresponding sensor cycles, including the sensor being adjusted, i.e. provided a control signal via the controller, i.e. “the sensor and/or emitter are adjusted to compensate for differences in energy values for the pulsed partitioned spectrums of light”)”.
For claim 23, modified Talbert discloses “The system of claim 1, wherein the data the microcontroller writes (writing the data is considered to read on the parent claim recitation of “provides data” and vice versa, otherwise the writing of the data would lack antecedent basis) to the image sensor is based at least in part on feedback analyzed from a previously read out data frame (Talbert: 0173 describes adjusting the sensor and recording a frame based on readings from the adjusted sensor, i.e. a histogram of a previous frame is obtained at 902 in fig 9, and the sensor is adjusted based on sensitivity)”.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Talbert and Kojima as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Choi et al. US2021/0068975.
For claim 20, Talbert does not disclose “The system of claim 1, wherein the microcontroller writes data to the image sensor to set a blanking period duration for each of the plurality of frame periods, and wherein two or more of the plurality of frame periods comprise a different blanking period duration”, but does disclose various computer storage media types used in the device [0075], including RAM, ROM, and “other types of memory”, not specifying sensor registers; while [0172] describes the control/adjustment of the sensor which requires transmission of instructions and data for changing the frame periods. Additionally, Kojima discloses the microcontroller for the image sensor (fig 6; 0083). Choi teaches in the same field of endeavor, computer memory for storing instructions and data can comprise RAM, various caches, and registers [0071]. Since Talbert fails to disclose the nature of the computer memory as a register but allows for “other types of memory”, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used any suitable computer memory known in the art, including the one taught by Choi, to achieve the predictable result of storing and retrieving computer data.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that a single phrase within Talbert 0171, specifically “able to program different blanking periods with a repeating pattern” does not disclose the newly amended claim subject matter. Applicant is apparently asserting that this is the only relevant section of cited para 0171 and that the rejection is solely based on this phrase. Additionally applicant does not address other cited paragraphs or viewing the cited paragraphs in light of the reference as a whole. The rejection has provided other relevant sections to teach the claimed subject matter, e.g. at para d. in the office action stating: wherein the controller adjusts a duration of a blanking period and a duration of a readout period corresponding to the variable frame cycle (fig 4B; 0097 illustrates the varying of the pulse width and amplitude resulting in the varying of the blanking and readout periods). As such, applicant’s arguments are too narrowly interpreting not only the cited paragraphs, but also the cited paragraphs in light of the reference as a whole. Additionally, applicant attacks the Kojima reference with respect to the claimed subject matter at hand, but this amounts to a piecemeal attack of the reference, in that Talbert has been relied upon for the relevant teaching and not Kojima. As such, applicant’s arguments in totality are considered not persuasive.
Conclusion
/Jae Woo/Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/ANH TUAN T NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795
5/20/26