DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Examiner recommendation: kindly augment the labeling of the figures to include the corresponding names from the specification, as feasible. For example, in Fig. 9, items 19a-19d could be labelled “cable bushings 19a-19d”. This will assist searchers of the patent data base to quickly grasp the inventive concept of applicant’s disclosure. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-10 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaw, GB 2436864 in view of Ettinger et al. US 7271346 in further view of Meister DE 102016115422 [see machine translation, doc code FOR].
Regarding claim 1, Shaw discloses a window [Figs. 5, 7 (reproduced) see window. Abstract], comprising:
a frame [Fig. 7, see window frame]; and
Shaw does not disclose: a pivot frame arranged in the frame and hinge mounted on the frame; and to receive at least one cable extending from one frame side to the opposite frame side.
Ettinger discloses: to receive at least one cable [Figs. 1, electrical cord 16] extending from one frame side [Fig. 15 (see reproduced), window 48 + fame 50] to the opposite frame side [electrical cord 16 is accommodated through plug 62 (a bushing) in order to be inserted through raceway hole 14, in seal 12 installed in the window, see Figs. 1, 15. Col. 4 lines 15-20, col. 6 lines 20-31, lines 50-67].
Shaw and Ettinger are analogous windows with passageways through them. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing to utilize an electrical cord (as disclosed as passing through a raceway hole), as taught by Ettinger, with Shaw’s plastic-insert-tube through-holes in the window frame, in order to pass the electrical cord 16 directly through the window frame to advantageously make use of holes that may already exist for ventilation purposes, such as Shaw’s through-holes.
The combination window-electrical cord of Shaw and Ettinger is silent regarding: a pivot frame arranged in the frame and hinge mounted on the frame.
Meister discloses: a pivot frame arranged in the frame and hinge mounted on the frame [abstract].
Shaw, Ettinger and Meister are analogous windows with passageways through them. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing to apply the advantages of an electrical cord passed through a raceway hole in a window frame, as taught by the combination of Shaw and Ettinger, with Meister’s tiltable window, in order to bring the convenience of easy cord access to a modern tiltable window.
Regarding claim 2, Shaw discloses: wherein, multiple cable bushings [Fig. 7, plastic surround placed through window frame. Abstract: multiple tube shaped inserts are installed through holes drilled into the frame of a window] are provided.
Regarding claim 8, Shah discloses a system, comprising:
a window installed in the window opening [Figs. 5, 7 (reproduced) see window and opening. Abstract];
wherein the window includes a frame [Fig. 7, see window frame] and
Shaw does not disclose: masonry; a pivot frame arranged in the frame and hinge mounted on the frame; and a cable is led from one side of the masonry to the other side of the masonry through the cable bushing.
Ettinger discloses: a cable [Figs. 1, electrical cord 16] is led from one side of the window [Fig. 15 (see reproduced), window 48 + fame 50] to the other side [electrical cord 16 is accommodated through plug 62 (a bushing) in order to be inserted through raceway hole 14, in seal 12 installed in the window, see Figs. 1, 15. Col. 4 lines 15-20, col. 6 lines 20-31, lines 50-67].
Shaw and Ettinger are analogous windows with passageways through them. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing to utilize an electrical cord (as disclosed as passing through a raceway hole), as taught by Ettinger, with Shaw’s plastic-insert-tube through-holes in the window frame, in order to pass the electrical cord 16 directly through the window frame to advantageously make use of holes that may already exist for ventilation purposes, such as Shaw’s through-holes.
The combination window-electrical cord of Shaw and Ettinger is silent regarding: the window mounted on masonry; and a pivot frame arranged in the frame and hinge mounted on the frame.
Meister discloses: the window is mounted on masonry [see numbered lines 167-171]; and a pivot frame arranged in the frame and hinge mounted on the frame [see abstract].
Shaw, Ettinger and Meister are analogous windows with passageways through them. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing to apply the advantages of an electrical cord passed through a raceway hole in a window frame, as taught by the combination of Shaw and Ettinger, with Meister’s tiltable window mounted in masonry, in order to bring the convenience of easy cord access to a modern tiltable window in stalled in brick homes.
Regarding claim 3, the combination including Shaw discloses: wherein, the multiple cable bushings have different cross sectional areas and/or different cross sectional shapes [see Figs. 1 and 3 for tube and slot shaped].
Regarding claims 4, 10, the combination including Shaw discloses: wherein, the cable bushing is closed with a removable closure element [see Fig. 7, filler material].
Regarding claim 6, the combination including Meister discloses: wherein, the frame is outfitted for direct mounting in a soffit of a masonry [see numbered lines 167-171].
Regarding claim 7, the combination including Meister discloses: wherein, the frame has at least two hinge elements on one frame side and on the other frame side it has at least one locking element, the hinge elements being adapted to connect with hinge elements of an existing frame [abstract] on the masonry side and the locking element for locking to the frame on the masonry side [see numbered lines 167-171].
Regarding claim 9, the combination including Shaw discloses: wherein, the frame of the window is installed directly in a soffit bordering on the window opening, or the frame of the window is installed in a base frame installed in the window opening and fastened to it [this is standard installation of a window done on a wooden base fame].
Regarding claim 13, the combination discloses: a charging layout for charging of an energy accumulator of a motor vehicle [an EV can be powered by the electrical cord that extends through the window hole as provided for in the combination] comprising: a charging device [the charging circuitry of the EV or separate adapter as needed] situated outside a building for removable connecting to a charging terminal [the charging port] of the motor vehicle, at least one cable running from the inside of the building to the charging device, and a system according to claim 9, provided at the building side.
Examiner takes Official Notice, IAW MPEP 2144.03, as to the common knowledge of the recited subject matter.
Charging an EV with a power cord outside a residential home or apartment (with windows) is well-known in the art of battery charging.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing to utilize a power cord as provided in the combination of Shaw, Ettinger and Meister to power an EV directly, or power equipment for connected to an EV to provide charging. Using a power cord in this manner is advantageous for apartment dwellers or home-owners who may not have access to garage parking with installed EV chargers.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaw, GB 2436864 in view of Ettinger et al. US 7271346 in further view of Meister DE 102016115422 [see machine translation, doc code FOR], in further view of Ness US 5803764.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Shaw, Ettinger and Meister disclose the system according to claim 10, but is silent regarding: wherein, the closure serves as a tension relief for the cable.
Ness discloses: wherein, the closure [Fig. 4, trumpet bell form lips 42] serves as a tension relief for the cable [Fig. 2, equivalently 16. Col. 1 lines 67 - col. 2 line 6, col. 5 lines 55-63].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art does not disclose or suggest: “5. The window according to claim 4, wherein, the closure element is designed such that its heat transfer coefficient corresponds substantially to the heat transfer coefficient of the frame”.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art does not disclose or suggest: “11. The system according to claim 10, wherein, the closure is chosen such that the heat transfer coefficient in the area of the closure corresponds substantially to the heat transfer coefficient of the frame.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 8604343 discloses a device that supplies electrical current to various outdoor locations via through-hole areas of building structures, such as window frames, door openings, etc. which includes a flatten portion with a male electrical outlet plug coupled to one end and one or more female electrical outlet(s) coupled to the other end. The male electrical outlet plug and/or the one or more female electrical outlet(s) can be coupled to the flattened portion by an electrical cord. The flattened portion includes two or more flat electrical conductors. A further embodiment is built into the structure of a window or the structure of a window frame and provides an interior accessible male electrical outlet plug (or electrical cord) and an accessible exterior female electrical outlet that are coupled together by wiring that extends through the window or window frame and optionally through a tube.
unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Drew Dunn can be contacted at 571-272-2312. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
RICHARD V. MURALIDAR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/RICHARD V MURALIDAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859