DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, claims 1-10, in the reply filed on 06/12/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 11-16 have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regards to claims 1 and 2, the claim establishes in the preamble that the solid state battery includes “an” electrode layer composed of “a positive electrode layer and a negative electrode layer”. This appears to be incongruent with both the generally accepted meaning of “a layer” and applicant’s specification. A layer, as defined in Merriam Webster, is “one thickness, course, or fold laid or lying over or under another”. The singularity of layer is well understood and is synonymous with stratum or ply or lamina. The disclosure of applicant’s demonstrates a common arrangement in a solid state battery in which a positive electrode layer and a negative electrode layer are separated by a solid electrolyte layer. Each of these is a layer as they are each a thickness and represent a lamina in the overall laminate. What is not shown in Figure 1 is an electrode layer (single thickness) that is comprised of a negative electrode layer and a positive electrode layer. The positive and negative electrode layers are separated by a solid electrolyte layer which is well understood in the battery art. This introduces ambiguity into the claim. For the purposes of examination the claim will be interpreted as including an electrode layer composed of either a positive or a negative electrode layer. This is consistent with applicant’s specification as the second pressing step (demonstrated at Roll numbered 8 in Fig. 2) presses the positive electrode layer 30 and the roughened electrolyte layer 40 together to produce a new laminate. The other ambiguity introduced by applicant’s current claim language is that the electrode layer as currently claimed is two layers and thus it is unclear which layer is pressed when referencing “the electrode layer” later in the claims.
Claims 3-10 depend upon claim 1 and are therefore also rejected.
With regards to claim 2, the claim recites “a densification/irregularity-forming pressing step” rendering the claim indefinite. It is not clear if the “/” character is intended to differentiate between an option of either a densification step or an irregularity forming step. Alternatively the “/” may be presenting densification and irregularity as different effects of the same step or lastly as synonyms. For the purposes of examination the “/” will be interpreted as presenting an option between a densification or an irregularity forming step.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Suzuki (WO 2020/067107, cited in IDS filed 12/19/24, translation provided for citation).
With regards to claims 1 and 2, Suzuki teaches a method of making a solid state battery (Abstract) the finish product of which includes a positive electrode current collector (5) and active material (4), a solid electrolyte layer (3) and a negative electrode current collector (1) and active material (2) (Fig. 1). Suzuki teaches the method comprises a first pressing step of pressing a layer including at least the solid electrolyte (22) as seen in Fig. 3 (¶ 0192), an irregularity forming step of forming irregularities on a surface of the solid electrolyte layer as seen in Fig. 4 (¶ 0195) and a second pressing step of pressing the solid electrolyte layer, the positive electrode layer and the negative electrode layer to produce a laminate (Fig. 5) (¶ 0200).
With regards to claim 10, as demonstrated in the annotated figure below, the solid electrolyte layer (22a) includes a first region above the dashed line and a second region below the dashed line in which the irregularities on the surface of the solid electrolyte layer are only in the first region.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-6, 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (WO 2020/067107, translation provided for citation) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Marchetti (US 5716664) and Oshima (DE 4011748 A1).
With regards to claim 3, Suzuki discusses the reason for introducing irregularities in the solid electrolyte and teaches that the particular shape of the uneven surface is not limited, but rather what is important is an uneven and non-flat surface to allow for good interlayer adhesion with the other active material is press bonded to the solid electrolyte (¶ 0198-0202). Suzuki teaches that the uneven surface is formed by removal of some solid electrolyte material from the layer (¶ 0196), but does not teach forming the irregularities or uneven surface using a press machine having projections on a contact portion that come into contact with the solid layer.
Marchetti teaches that an alternative method for roughening the surface of a layer in an electrochemical cell in order to provide improved bonding with another layer pressed into it is to roughen the surface by pressing with a sandpaper grit surface (Abstract, col 4 ln 24-34, col 4 ln 61-col 5 ln 9). This technique of using sandpaper to roughen a surface of material is not unique to fuel cells or batteries, but rather is a common continuous film roughening technique as discussed in Oshima (Fig 2, Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use sandpaper pressing in the alternative to or in addition to the peeling method of Suzuki to provide for an uneven surface to improve bonding as both methods provide for a textured, roughened, uneven surface in a layer of material presenting a reasonable expectation of success, and doing so presents a simple substitution of one known prior art roughening method for another yielding predictable results.
With regards to claims 4-6 and 8, as seen in Oshima it was commonly known to utilize a sandpaper band mounted on a roll with an opposing roller through which the material is passed in order to roughen the surface with sandpaper (Fig. 2).
With regards to claim 9, the mere duplication of parts such as a repeated roughening step without more presents a case of prima facie obviousness in the absence of new or unexpected results. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to utilize multiple passes of rollers to control the degree of roughening of the surface or provide redundancy when the sandpaper needs to be replaced.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (WO 2020/067107, translation provided for citation) in view of Marchetti (US 5716664) and Oshima (DE 4011748 A1) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Mashimo et al. (Pub No 2022/0293905).
With regards to claim 7, Suzuki as modified above teaches using a roll but does not specify that the roll is a zirconia roll.
In the same field of endeavor Mashimo teaches that it was known to make rolls for working on battery materials from zirconia (Abstract, ¶ 0064).
Barring a showing of unexpected results it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to utilize a zirconia roll as such is a known material for a roller presenting a reasonable expectation of success, and doing so presents a simple substitution for a metal roller in the art yielding predictable results.
Conclusion
/GALEN H HAUTH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1743