DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 1/20/2026 are acknowledged and accepted. Claims 8-9 are amended, Claims 1-7 are canceled, Claims 18-27 have been added and Claims 8-27 remain pending in the application.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-7 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/232025.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 12/01/2022 are acknowledged and accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sugiyama (US 20120307329 A1).
With respect to Claim 8, Sugiyama discloses a scanning optical device comprising:
a light source (Fig. 2-- element 20, light source unit; [0033]) configured to emit a light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]);
a polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) configured to deflect ([0040]) the light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]) emitted from the light source (Fig. 2-- element 20, light source unit; [0033]);
a motor ([0068]: the mirror rotates) configured to rotate the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) about a rotation axis parallel to a first direction (Fig. 1—the rotation axis is parallel to the up direction);
a first scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- first scanning optical system) located on one side of the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) at a distance from the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (Fig. 3-- first scanning optical system is located to the right of element 40), the first scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- first scanning optical system) being configured to receive the light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]) deflected by the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) and direct the light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]) from a first position (Fig. 3—element 75C is at the second position) toward a first image plane (Fig. 3-- element D that receives L3, photoconductive body; [0048]);
a second scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- second scanning optical system) located on the one side of the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) at a distance from the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) in the second direction (Fig. 3-- second scanning optical system is located to the right of element 40), the second scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- second scanning optical system) being configured to receive the light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]) deflected by the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) and direct the light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]) toward a second image plane (Fig. 3-- element D that receives L1, photoconductive body; [0048]), from a second position (Fig. 3—element 73A is at the second position) located closer, than the first position (Fig. 3—element 75C is at the second position), to the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]);
a third scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- third scanning optical system) located on another side of the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) at a distance from the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) in a direction opposite to the second direction (Fig. 3-- third scanning optical system is located to the left of element 40), the third scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- third scanning optical system) being configured to receive the light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]) deflected by the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) and direct the light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]) from a third position (Fig. 3—element 73B is located at the third position) toward a third image plane (Fig. 3-- element D that receives L2, photoconductive body; [0048]);
a fourth scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- fourth scanning optical system) located on the another side of the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) at a distance from the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) in the direction opposite to the second direction, the fourth scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- fourth scanning optical system) being configured to receive the light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]) deflected by the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) and direct the light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]) toward a fourth image plane (Fig. 3-- element D that receives L4, photoconductive body; [0048]), from a fourth position (Fig. 3—element 75D is located at the fourth position)located farther, than the third position (Fig. 3—element 73B is located at the third position), from the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]); and
a frame (Fig. 2-- element 100, casing; [0032]) to which the first scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- first scanning optical system), the second scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- second scanning optical system), the third scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- third scanning optical system), and the fourth scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- fourth scanning optical system) are fixed (Fig. 2 and [0049]—all scanning optical systems are fixed to element 100), the frame (Fig. 2-- element 100, casing; [0032]) comprising:
a base wall (Fig. 2-- element 110, supporting wall; [0050]) to which the motor ([006]: the mirror rotates) is fixed; and
a side wall (Fig. 2-- element 120, side wall; [0052]) protruding from the base wall (Fig. 2-- element 110, supporting wall; [0050]) in the first direction along an outer edge of the base wall (Fig. 2-- element 110, supporting wall; [0050]) to form a recess (Fig. 2—element 111 and 112—exposure opening; [0106]) that opens in the first direction; and
a cover ([0106]: the casing 100 may cover the exposure openings) configured to cover an opening of the recess (Fig. 2—element 111 and 112—exposure opening; [0106])
wherein each of the first scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- first scanning optical system), the second scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- second scanning optical system), the third scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- third scanning optical system), and the fourth scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- fourth scanning optical system) comprises:
a first scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 50, ftheta lens; [0041]) through which the light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]) deflected by the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) passes;
at least one reflecting mirror (Fig. 3-- elements 74D, 72B, 72A, 74C, reflecting mirrors; [0046]) arranged to reflect the light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]) having passed through the first scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 50, ftheta lens; [0041]); and
a second scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 60, cylindrical lenses; [0042]) through which the light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]) reflected by the at least one reflecting mirror (Fig. 3-- elements 74D, 72B, 72A, 74C, reflecting mirrors; [0046]) passes, and
wherein the second scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 60, cylindrical lenses; [0042]) is arranged apart from the base wall (Fig. 2-- element 110, supporting wall; [0050]) in the first direction to receive a light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]) traveling in a direction away from the base wall (Fig. 2-- element 110, supporting wall; [0050]) toward the second scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 60, cylindrical lenses; [0042]) (Fig.3—element 60 is arranged above element 110) and outputs the light beam through (Fig. 3-- element 60 directs light through elements 111 and 112 towards element D) the cover ([0106]: the casing 100 may cover the exposure openings) and toward a corresponding image plane (Fig. 3-- element D that receives L3, photoconductive body; [0048]), and
wherein the second scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 60, cylindrical lenses; [0042]) is positioned on an opposite side of the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) from the base wall (Fig. 2-- element 110, supporting wall; [0050]) in the first direction (Fig. 3—element 112 is arranged below element 40 and element 60 is arranged above element 40).
With respect to Claim 9, Sugiyama discloses the scanning optical device according to claim 8, and further discloses wherein the respective second scan lenses (Fig. 3-- element 60, cylindrical lenses; [0042]) of the first scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- first scanning optical system), the second scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- second scanning optical system), the third scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- third scanning optical system), and the fourth scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- fourth scanning optical system) are aligned along a straight line parallel to the second direction (Fig. 3—elements 60A and 60B are arranged in a line in the second direction, elements 60C and 60D are arranged in a line in the second direction), and
a distance from the second scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 60, cylindrical lenses; [0042]) of the first scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- first scanning optical system) to the first image plane (Fig. 3-- element D that receives L3, photoconductive body; [0048]) in the first direction, a distance from the second scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 60, cylindrical lenses; [0042]) of the second scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- second scanning optical system) to the second image plane (Fig. 3-- element D that receives L1, photoconductive body; [0048]) in the first direction, a distance from the second scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 60, cylindrical lenses; [0042]) of the third scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- third scanning optical system) to the third image plane (Fig. 3-- element D that receives L2, photoconductive body; [0048]) in the first direction, and a distance from the second scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 60, cylindrical lenses; [0042]) of the fourth scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- fourth scanning optical system) to the fourth image plane (Fig. 3-- element D that receives L4, photoconductive body; [0048]) in the first direction are equal (Fig. 3—the elements 60D and 60C are of equal distance to element D in the first direction, elements 60A and 60B are of equal distance to element D in the first direction).
With respect to Claim 10, Sugiyama discloses the scanning optical device according to claim 8, and further discloses wherein
the first scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 50, ftheta lens; [0041]) of the first scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- first scanning optical system) and the first scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 50, ftheta lens; [0041]) of the second scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- second scanning optical system) are comprised of a single common lens ([0041]: L1 and L3 pass through the same element 50), and
the first scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 50, ftheta lens; [0041]) of the third scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- third scanning optical system) and the first scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 50, ftheta lens; [0041]) of the fourth scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- fourth scanning optical system) are comprised of a single common lens ([0041]: L4 and L2 pass through the same element 50).
With respect to Claim 11, Sugiyama discloses the scanning optical device according to claim 8, and further discloses wherein the first scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 50, ftheta lens; [0041]) and the second scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 60, cylindrical lenses; [0042]), in at least one of the scanning optical systems, overlap each other as viewed in the first direction (Fig. 3— in the second scanning optical system, element 50 and element 60A are overlapped in the upwards direction) .
With respect to Claim 12, Sugiyama discloses the scanning optical device according to claim 8, and further discloses wherein
the at least one reflecting mirror (Fig. 3-- elements 74D, 72B, 72A, 74C, reflecting mirrors; [0046]) includes a first reflecting mirror (Fig. 3-- elements 72B, 72A, reflecting mirrors; [0046]) arranged to reflect a light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]) toward the second scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 60, cylindrical lenses; [0042]), and
in the second scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- second scanning optical system) and the third scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- third scanning optical system), the first scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 50, ftheta lens; [0041]) is located between the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) and a path of a light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]) traveling from the first reflecting mirror (Fig. 3-- elements 72B, 72A, reflecting mirrors; [0046]) toward the second scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 60, cylindrical lenses; [0042]) (Fig. 3—element 50 is disposed between element 40 and elements 74D and 74C).
With respect to Claim 13, Sugiyama discloses the scanning optical device according to claim 8, and further discloses wherein
each of the first scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- first scanning optical system) and the fourth scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- fourth scanning optical system) includes a single first reflecting mirror (Fig. 3-- elements 72B, 72A, reflecting mirrors; [0046]) as the at least one reflecting mirror (Fig. 3-- elements 74D, 72B, 72A, 74C, reflecting mirrors; [0046]), the first reflecting mirror (Fig. 3-- elements 72B, 72A, reflecting mirrors; [0046]) being arranged to reflect a light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]) toward the second scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 60, cylindrical lenses; [0042]), and
each of the second scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- second scanning optical system) and the third scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- third scanning optical system) includes a single first reflecting mirror (Fig. 3-- elements 74D, 74C, reflecting mirrors; [0046]) and a single second reflecting mirror (Fig. 3-- elements 75D, 75C, reflecting mirrors; [0046]), as the at least one reflecting mirror (Fig. 3-- elements 74D, 72B, 72A, 74C, reflecting mirrors; [0046]), the first reflecting mirror (Fig. 3-- elements 74D, 74C, reflecting mirrors; [0046]) being arranged to reflect a light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]) toward (Fig. 3—element 74D and 74C reflects light in the direction of element 60) the second scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 60, cylindrical lenses; [0042]), and the second reflecting mirror (Fig. 3-- elements 75D, 75C, reflecting mirrors; [0046]) being arranged to reflect the light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]) deflected by the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) toward the first reflecting mirror (Fig. 3-- elements 74D, 74C, reflecting mirrors; [0046]) (Fig. 3—element 75D and 75C reflects light downwards in the direction of element 74D and 74C).
With respect to Claim 14, Sugiyama discloses the scanning optical device according to claim 8, and further discloses wherein the frame (Fig. 2-- element 100, casing; [0032]) comprises a first wall (Fig. 3-- elements 161 and 162, reinforcing portions; [0049]) on which the second scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 60, cylindrical lenses; [0042]) is supported, the first wall (Fig. 3-- elements 161 and 162, reinforcing portions; [0049]) protruding from the base wall (Fig. 2-- element 110, supporting wall; [0050]) in the first direction (Fig. 1—elements 161 and 162 protrude from element 110 in the upwards direction).
With respect to Claim 15, Sugiyama discloses the scanning optical device according to claim 14, and further discloses wherein the frame (Fig. 2-- element 100, casing; [0032]) comprises a second wall (Fig. 3-- element 130, reflecting mirror supporting portion; [0049]) provided apart from each end of the second scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 60, cylindrical lenses; [0042]) in the longitudinal direction of the second scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 60, cylindrical lenses; [0042]) (Fig. 1—element 130 protrudes along the longitudinal direction of element 60).
With respect to Claim 16, Sugiyama discloses the scanning optical device according to claim 15, and further discloses wherein the frame (Fig. 2-- element 100, casing; [0032]) comprises a third wall (Fig. 3-- element 152, reinforcing walls; [0049]) extending in a direction perpendicular to the first direction to connect the first wall (Fig. 3-- elements 161 and 162, reinforcing portions; [0049]) and the second wall (Fig. 3-- element 130, reflecting mirror supporting portion; [0049]) (Fig. 1—element 152 extends perpendicularly to the first direction and connects element 130 to elements 161 and 162).
With respect to Claim 17, Sugiyama discloses the scanning optical device according to claim 14, and further discloses wherein the first wall (Fig. 3-- elements 161 and 162, reinforcing portions; [0049]) is configured to support a plurality of the second scan lenses (Fig. 3-- element 60, cylindrical lenses; [0042]) (Fig. 1-- elements 161 and 162 support all of element 60).
With respect to Claim 18, Sugiyama discloses a scanning optical device comprising:
a light source (Fig. 2-- element 20, light source unit; [0033]) configured to emit a light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]);
a polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) configured to deflect ([0040]) the light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]) emitted from the light source (Fig. 2-- element 20, light source unit; [0033]);
a motor ([0068]: the mirror rotates) configured to rotate the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) about a rotation axis parallel to a first direction (Fig. 1—the rotation axis is parallel to the up direction);
a first scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- first scanning optical system) located on one side of the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) at a distance from the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (Fig. 3-- first scanning optical system is located to the right of element 40), the first scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- first scanning optical system) being configured to receive the light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]) deflected by the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) and direct the light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]) from a first position (Fig. 3—element 75C is at the second position) toward a first image plane (Fig. 3-- element D that receives L3, photoconductive body; [0048]);
a second scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- second scanning optical system) located on the one side of the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) at a distance from the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) in the second direction (Fig. 3-- second scanning optical system is located to the right of element 40), the second scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- second scanning optical system) being configured to receive the light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]) deflected by the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) and direct the light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]) toward a second image plane (Fig. 3-- element D that receives L1, photoconductive body; [0048]), from a second position (Fig. 3—element 73A is at the second position) located closer, than the first position (Fig. 3—element 75C is at the second position), to the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]);
a third scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- third scanning optical system) located on another side of the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) at a distance from the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) in a direction opposite to the second direction (Fig. 3-- third scanning optical system is located to the left of element 40), the third scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- third scanning optical system) being configured to receive the light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]) deflected by the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) and direct the light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]) from a third position (Fig. 3—element 73B is located at the third position) toward a third image plane (Fig. 3-- element D that receives L2, photoconductive body; [0048]);
a fourth scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- fourth scanning optical system) located on the another side of the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) at a distance from the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) in the direction opposite to the second direction, the fourth scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- fourth scanning optical system) being configured to receive the light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]) deflected by the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) and direct the light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]) toward a fourth image plane (Fig. 3-- element D that receives L4, photoconductive body; [0048]), from a fourth position (Fig. 3—element 75D is located at the fourth position)located farther, than the third position (Fig. 3—element 73B is located at the third position), from the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]); and
a frame (Fig. 2-- element 100, casing; [0032]) to which the first scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- first scanning optical system), the second scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- second scanning optical system), the third scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- third scanning optical system), and the fourth scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- fourth scanning optical system) are fixed (Fig. 2 and [0049]—all scanning optical systems are fixed to element 100), the frame (Fig. 2-- element 100, casing; [0032]) comprising:
a base wall (Fig. 2-- element 110, supporting wall; [0050]) to which the motor ([006]: the mirror rotates) is fixed; and
a side wall (Fig. 2-- element 120, side wall; [0052]) protruding from the base wall (Fig. 2-- element 110, supporting wall; [0050]) in the first direction along an outer edge of the base wall (Fig. 2-- element 110, supporting wall; [0050]) to form an open side of the frame (Fig. 2-- element 100, casing; [0032]) that opens in the first direction (Fig. 2—element 110 protrudes from element 120 in the upwards direction and defines an open face in the upwards direction); and
wherein each of the first scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- first scanning optical system), the second scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- second scanning optical system), the third scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- third scanning optical system), and the fourth scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- fourth scanning optical system) comprises:
a first scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 50, ftheta lens; [0041]) through which the light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]) deflected by the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) passes;
at least one reflecting mirror (Fig. 3-- elements 74D, 72B, 72A, 74C, reflecting mirrors; [0046]) arranged to reflect the light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]) having passed through the first scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 50, ftheta lens; [0041]); and
a second scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 60, cylindrical lenses; [0042]) through which the light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]) reflected by the at least one reflecting mirror (Fig. 3-- elements 74D, 72B, 72A, 74C, reflecting mirrors; [0046]) passes, and
wherein the second scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 60, cylindrical lenses; [0042]) is arranged apart from the base wall (Fig. 2-- element 110, supporting wall; [0050]) in the first direction to receive a light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]) traveling in a direction away from the base wall (Fig. 2-- element 110, supporting wall; [0050]) toward the second scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 60, cylindrical lenses; [0042]) (Fig.3—element 60 is arranged above element 110) wherein the base wall (Fig. 2-- element 110, supporting wall; [0050]) has openings that extend in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and to the second direction, each of the openings expose a reflecting surface (Fig. 3—elements 74D, 72B, 72A, 74C reflect light directly through elements 111-114) of a corresponding one of the reflecting mirrors (Fig. 3-- elements 74D, 72B, 72A, 74C, reflecting mirrors; [0046]) toward the open side (Fig. 2—element 111 and 112—exposure opening; [0106]) of the frame (Fig. 2-- element 100, casing; [0032]), and
wherein the second scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 60, cylindrical lenses; [0042]) is positioned on an opposite side of the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) from the base wall (Fig. 2-- element 110, supporting wall; [0050]) in the first direction (Fig. 3—element 112 is arranged below element 40 and element 60 is arranged above element 40).
With respect to Claim 19, Sugiyama discloses the scanning optical device according to claim 18, and further discloses wherein the respective second scan lenses (Fig. 3-- element 60, cylindrical lenses; [0042]) of the first scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- first scanning optical system), the second scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- second scanning optical system), the third scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- third scanning optical system), and the fourth scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- fourth scanning optical system) are aligned along a straight line parallel to the second direction (Fig. 3—elements 60A and 60B are arranged in a line in the second direction, elements 60C and 60D are arranged in a line in the second direction), and
a distance from the second scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 60, cylindrical lenses; [0042]) of the first scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- first scanning optical system) to the first image plane (Fig. 3-- element D that receives L3, photoconductive body; [0048]) in the first direction, a distance from the second scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 60, cylindrical lenses; [0042]) of the second scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- second scanning optical system) to the second image plane (Fig. 3-- element D that receives L1, photoconductive body; [0048]) in the first direction, a distance from the second scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 60, cylindrical lenses; [0042]) of the third scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- third scanning optical system) to the third image plane (Fig. 3-- element D that receives L2, photoconductive body; [0048]) in the first direction, and a distance from the second scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 60, cylindrical lenses; [0042]) of the fourth scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- fourth scanning optical system) to the fourth image plane (Fig. 3-- element D that receives L4, photoconductive body; [0048]) in the first direction are equal (Fig. 3—the elements 60D and 60C are of equal distance to element D in the first direction, elements 60A and 60B are of equal distance to element D in the first direction).
With respect to Claim 20, Sugiyama discloses the scanning optical device according to claim 18, and further discloses wherein
the first scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 50, ftheta lens; [0041]) of the first scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- first scanning optical system) and the first scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 50, ftheta lens; [0041]) of the second scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- second scanning optical system) are comprised of a single common lens ([0041]: L1 and L3 pass through the same element 50), and
the first scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 50, ftheta lens; [0041]) of the third scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- third scanning optical system) and the first scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 50, ftheta lens; [0041]) of the fourth scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- fourth scanning optical system) are comprised of a single common lens ([0041]: L4 and L2 pass through the same element 50).
With respect to Claim 21, Sugiyama discloses the scanning optical device according to claim 18, and further discloses wherein the first scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 50, ftheta lens; [0041]) and the second scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 60, cylindrical lenses; [0042]), in at least one of the scanning optical systems, overlap each other as viewed in the first direction (Fig. 3— in the second scanning optical system, element 50 and element 60A are overlapped in the upwards direction) .
With respect to Claim 22, Sugiyama discloses the scanning optical device according to claim 18, and further discloses wherein
the at least one reflecting mirror (Fig. 3-- elements 74D, 72B, 72A, 74C, reflecting mirrors; [0046]) includes a first reflecting mirror (Fig. 3-- elements 72B, 72A, reflecting mirrors; [0046]) arranged to reflect a light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]) toward the second scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 60, cylindrical lenses; [0042]), and
in the second scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- second scanning optical system) and the third scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- third scanning optical system), the first scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 50, ftheta lens; [0041]) is located between the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) and a path of a light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]) traveling from the first reflecting mirror (Fig. 3-- elements 72B, 72A, reflecting mirrors; [0046]) toward the second scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 60, cylindrical lenses; [0042]) (Fig. 3—element 50 is disposed between element 40 and elements 74D and 74C).
With respect to Claim 23, Sugiyama discloses the scanning optical device according to claim 18, and further discloses wherein
each of the first scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- first scanning optical system) and the fourth scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- fourth scanning optical system) includes a single first reflecting mirror (Fig. 3-- elements 72B, 72A, reflecting mirrors; [0046]) as the at least one reflecting mirror (Fig. 3-- elements 74D, 72B, 72A, 74C, reflecting mirrors; [0046]), the first reflecting mirror (Fig. 3-- elements 72B, 72A, reflecting mirrors; [0046]) being arranged to reflect a light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]) toward the second scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 60, cylindrical lenses; [0042]), and
each of the second scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- second scanning optical system) and the third scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- third scanning optical system) includes a single first reflecting mirror (Fig. 3-- elements 74D, 74C, reflecting mirrors; [0046]) and a single second reflecting mirror (Fig. 3-- elements 75D, 75C, reflecting mirrors; [0046]), as the at least one reflecting mirror (Fig. 3-- elements 74D, 72B, 72A, 74C, reflecting mirrors; [0046]), the first reflecting mirror (Fig. 3-- elements 74D, 74C, reflecting mirrors; [0046]) being arranged to reflect a light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]) toward (Fig. 3—element 74D and 74C reflects light in the direction of element 60) the second scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 60, cylindrical lenses; [0042]), and the second reflecting mirror (Fig. 3-- elements 75D, 75C, reflecting mirrors; [0046]) being arranged to reflect the light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]) deflected by the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) toward the first reflecting mirror (Fig. 3-- elements 74D, 74C, reflecting mirrors; [0046]) (Fig. 3—element 75D and 75C reflects light downwards in the direction of element 74D and 74C).
With respect to Claim 24, Sugiyama discloses a scanning optical device comprising:
a light source (Fig. 2-- element 20, light source unit; [0033]) configured to emit a light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]);
a polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) configured to deflect ([0040]) the light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]) emitted from the light source (Fig. 2-- element 20, light source unit; [0033]);
a motor ([0068]: the mirror rotates) configured to rotate the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) about a rotation axis parallel to a first direction (Fig. 1—the rotation axis is parallel to the up direction);
a first scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- first scanning optical system) located on one side of the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) at a distance from the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (Fig. 3-- first scanning optical system is located to the right of element 40), the first scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- first scanning optical system) being configured to receive the light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]) deflected by the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) and direct the light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]) from a first position (Fig. 3—element 75C is at the second position) toward a first image plane (Fig. 3-- element D that receives L3, photoconductive body; [0048]);
a second scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- second scanning optical system) located on the one side of the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) at a distance from the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) in the second direction (Fig. 3-- second scanning optical system is located to the right of element 40), the second scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- second scanning optical system) being configured to receive the light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]) deflected by the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) and direct the light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]) toward a second image plane (Fig. 3-- element D that receives L1, photoconductive body; [0048]), from a second position (Fig. 3—element 73A is at the second position) located closer, than the first position (Fig. 3—element 75C is at the second position), to the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]);
a third scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- third scanning optical system) located on another side of the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) at a distance from the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) in a direction opposite to the second direction (Fig. 3-- third scanning optical system is located to the left of element 40), the third scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- third scanning optical system) being configured to receive the light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]) deflected by the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) and direct the light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]) from a third position (Fig. 3—element 73B is located at the third position) toward a third image plane (Fig. 3-- element D that receives L2, photoconductive body; [0048]);
a fourth scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- fourth scanning optical system) located on the another side of the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) at a distance from the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) in the direction opposite to the second direction, the fourth scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- fourth scanning optical system) being configured to receive the light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]) deflected by the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) and direct the light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]) toward a fourth image plane (Fig. 3-- element D that receives L4, photoconductive body; [0048]), from a fourth position (Fig. 3—element 75D is located at the fourth position)located farther, than the third position (Fig. 3—element 73B is located at the third position), from the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]); and
a frame (Fig. 2-- element 100, casing; [0032]) to which the first scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- first scanning optical system), the second scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- second scanning optical system), the third scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- third scanning optical system), and the fourth scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- fourth scanning optical system) are fixed (Fig. 2 and [0049]—all scanning optical systems are fixed to element 100), the frame (Fig. 2-- element 100, casing; [0032]) comprising:
a base wall (Fig. 2-- element 110, supporting wall; [0050]) to which the motor ([006]: the mirror rotates) is fixed; and
a side wall (Fig. 2-- element 120, side wall; [0052]) protruding from the base wall (Fig. 2-- element 110, supporting wall; [0050]) in the first direction along an outer edge of the base wall (Fig. 2-- element 110, supporting wall; [0050]) to form an open side of the frame (Fig. 2-- element 100, casing; [0032]) that opens in the first direction (Fig. 2—element 110 protrudes from element 120 in the upwards direction and defines an open face in the upwards direction); and
wherein each of the first scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- first scanning optical system), the second scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- second scanning optical system), the third scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- third scanning optical system), and the fourth scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- fourth scanning optical system) comprises:
a first scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 50, ftheta lens; [0041]) through which the light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]) deflected by the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) passes;
at least one reflecting mirror (Fig. 3-- elements 74D, 72B, 72A, 74C, reflecting mirrors; [0046]) arranged to reflect the light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]) having passed through the first scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 50, ftheta lens; [0041]); and
a second scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 60, cylindrical lenses; [0042]) through which the light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]) reflected by the at least one reflecting mirror (Fig. 3-- elements 74D, 72B, 72A, 74C, reflecting mirrors; [0046]) passes, and
wherein the second scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 60, cylindrical lenses; [0042]) is arranged apart from the base wall (Fig. 2-- element 110, supporting wall; [0050]) in the first direction to receive a light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]) traveling in a direction away from the base wall (Fig. 2-- element 110, supporting wall; [0050]) toward the second scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 60, cylindrical lenses; [0042]) (Fig.3—element 60 is arranged above element 110),
the respective second scan lenses (Fig. 3-- element 60, cylindrical lenses; [0042]) of the first scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- first scanning optical system), the second scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- second scanning optical system), the third scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- third scanning optical system), and the fourth scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- fourth scanning optical system) are aligned along a straight line parallel to the second direction (Fig. 3—elements 60A and 60B are arranged in a line in the second direction, elements 60C and 60D are arranged in a line in the second direction), and
a distance from the second scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 60, cylindrical lenses; [0042]) of the first scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- first scanning optical system) to the first image plane (Fig. 3-- element D that receives L3, photoconductive body; [0048]) in the first direction, a distance from the second scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 60, cylindrical lenses; [0042]) of the second scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- second scanning optical system) to the second image plane (Fig. 3-- element D that receives L1, photoconductive body; [0048]) in the first direction, a distance from the second scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 60, cylindrical lenses; [0042]) of the third scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- third scanning optical system) to the third image plane (Fig. 3-- element D that receives L2, photoconductive body; [0048]) in the first direction, and a distance from the second scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 60, cylindrical lenses; [0042]) of the fourth scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- fourth scanning optical system) to the fourth image plane (Fig. 3-- element D that receives L4, photoconductive body; [0048]) in the first direction are equal (Fig. 3—the elements 60D and 60C are of equal distance to element D in the first direction, elements 60A and 60B are of equal distance to element D in the first direction).
With respect to Claim 25, Sugiyama discloses the scanning optical device according to claim 24, and further discloses wherein
the first scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 50, ftheta lens; [0041]) of the first scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- first scanning optical system) and the first scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 50, ftheta lens; [0041]) of the second scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- second scanning optical system) are comprised of a single common lens ([0041]: L1 and L3 pass through the same element 50), and
the first scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 50, ftheta lens; [0041]) of the third scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- third scanning optical system) and the first scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 50, ftheta lens; [0041]) of the fourth scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- fourth scanning optical system) are comprised of a single common lens ([0041]: L4 and L2 pass through the same element 50).
With respect to Claim 26, Sugiyama discloses the scanning optical device according to claim 24, and further discloses wherein the first scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 50, ftheta lens; [0041]) and the second scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 60, cylindrical lenses; [0042]), in at least one of the scanning optical systems, overlap each other as viewed in the first direction (Fig. 3— in the second scanning optical system, element 50 and element 60A are overlapped in the upwards direction) .
With respect to Claim 27, Sugiyama discloses the scanning optical device according to claim 24, and further discloses wherein
each of the first scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- first scanning optical system) and the fourth scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- fourth scanning optical system) includes a single first reflecting mirror (Fig. 3-- elements 72B, 72A, reflecting mirrors; [0046]) as the at least one reflecting mirror (Fig. 3-- elements 74D, 72B, 72A, 74C, reflecting mirrors; [0046]), the first reflecting mirror (Fig. 3-- elements 72B, 72A, reflecting mirrors; [0046]) being arranged to reflect a light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]) toward the second scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 60, cylindrical lenses; [0042]), and
each of the second scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- second scanning optical system) and the third scanning optical system (See annotated Fig. 3-- third scanning optical system) includes a single first reflecting mirror (Fig. 3-- elements 74D, 74C, reflecting mirrors; [0046]) and a single second reflecting mirror (Fig. 3-- elements 75D, 75C, reflecting mirrors; [0046]), as the at least one reflecting mirror (Fig. 3-- elements 74D, 72B, 72A, 74C, reflecting mirrors; [0046]), the first reflecting mirror (Fig. 3-- elements 74D, 74C, reflecting mirrors; [0046]) being arranged to reflect a light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]) toward (Fig. 3—element 74D and 74C reflects light in the direction of element 60) the second scan lens (Fig. 3-- element 60, cylindrical lenses; [0042]), and the second reflecting mirror (Fig. 3-- elements 75D, 75C, reflecting mirrors; [0046]) being arranged to reflect the light beam (Fig. 2-- elements L1-L4, laser beams; [0033]) deflected by the polygon mirror (Fig. 2-- element 40, polygon mirror; [0038]) toward the first reflecting mirror (Fig. 3-- elements 74D, 74C, reflecting mirrors; [0046]) (Fig. 3—element 75D and 75C reflects light downwards in the direction of element 74D and 74C).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/20/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s argument that element 60A of Sugiyama does not output the light beam L1 towards the photoconductive body D. fig. 3 of Sugiyama discloses that element 60A directs light L1 towards element D along the optical path.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MACKENZI BOURQUINE/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872