DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the filing on 3/12/2026. Since the previous filing, claims 1 and 5 have been amended, claims 18-22 have been added and no claims have been cancelled. Thus, claims 1, 3-6 and 18-22 are pending in the application.
In regards to the previous 103 Rejections, Applicant’s amendments do not overcome the previously applied prior art and the rejections are therefore maintained, modified for the amendments, below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramanan (US 2021/0251842).
In regards to claim 1, Ramanan discloses a gas-type massage apparatus to administer a massage to a human body using a high-pressure gas (compression therapy system 1000), wherein the gas-type massage apparatus comprises: wherein the gas-type massage device has a plurality of gas chambers (paragraph 189 and paragraph 257), and a gas supply/discharge system to supply a high-pressure gas to the plurality of gas chambers of the gas-type massage device and discharge a high-pressure gas from the plurality of gas chambers, the gas supply/discharge system comprising: a gas supply apparatus that supplies the high-pressure gas (compression pressure generator (CPG) device 1002, paragraph 110 and 115); a flow path switching apparatus that switches a flow path of the high-pressure gas (valve interface 1008); and a control apparatus communicatively coupled to the gas supply apparatus and the flow path switching apparatus, wherein the control apparatus controls operations of the gas supply apparatus and the flow path switching apparatus (control device 1010, paragraph 110), wherein the gas-type massage device is configured to be fitted to at least one part of upper limbs (Fig 12A and 12B) of the human body along an axial direction in which the one part extends so as to surround the one part in a peripheral direction to administer a massage to the human body using the high-pressure gas (paragraph 196), each of the plurality of gas chambers can receive and discharge a high-pressure gas to expand and contract mutually independently (paragraph 178 and 189 and 257), wherein the plurality of gas chambers comprises a first gas chamber group and a second gas chamber group configured to be provided at the at least one part of the upper limbs of the human body so as to be mutually adjacent in the axial direction (Fig 12A and 12B), wherein the first gas chamber group comprises a first gas chamber of the first group and a second gas chamber of first group along the peripheral direction (paragraph 205-207, Fig 13A), the first gas chamber of the first group and the second gas chamber of the first group being capable of expanding and contracting mutually independently (paragraph 178, 189 and 257), wherein the second gas chamber group comprises a first gas chamber of the second group and a second gas chamber of the second group along the peripheral direction (Fig 13A), the first gas chamber of the second group and the second gas chamber of the second group being capable of expanding and contracting mutually independently (paragraph 178, 189 and 257), the first gas chamber of first group and the first gas chamber of second group are provided so as to be mutually adjacent in the axial direction, and the second gas chamber of first group and the second gas chamber of second group are provided so as to be mutually adjacent in the axial direction (Fig 13A), wherein the control apparatus controls the gas supply apparatus and the flow path switching apparatus to supply a high-pressure gas to the plurality of gas chambers (paragraph 110 and 115).
While Ramanan does not explicitly disclose wherein the control apparatus controls the gas supply apparatus and the flow path switching apparatus to supply the high-pressure gas to the first gas chamber of the first group, the second gas chamber of the first group, the first gas chamber of the second group, and the second gas chamber of the second group in that order, or to supply the high-pressure gas the second gas chamber of the first group, the first gas chamber of the first group, the second gas chamber of the second group, and the first gas chamber of the second group in that order, it does teach wherein the activation order of the chambers may be adjusted or controlled to provide the desired force vectors and compression progress along the limb (paragraph 178 and 189).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ramanan wherein the control apparatus controls the gas supply apparatus and the flow path switching apparatus to supply the high-pressure gas to the first gas chamber of the first group, the second gas chamber of the first group, the first gas chamber of the second group, and the second gas chamber of the second group in that order, or to supply the high-pressure gas to the second gas chamber of the first group, the first gas chamber of the first group, the second gas chamber of the second group, and the first gas chamber of the second group in that order as this would provide a specific therapeutic application of pressure to the limb of the user as would best suit their needs (paragraph 256-257).
In regard to claim 4, Ramanan teaches the device of claim 1 and Ramanan further teaches wherein the gas-type massage device has a shape following at least a part of arms of the human body, and wherein the gas-type massage device is configured such that, when the gas-type massage device is fitted to the arms of the human body, the first gas chamber of the first group is positioned at a position corresponding to an anterior side of a forearm of the human body, the second gas chamber of the first group is positioned at a position corresponding to a posterior side of the forearm of the human body, the first gas chamber of the second group is positioned at a position corresponding to the anterior side of the upper arm of the human body, and the second gas chamber of the second group is positioned at a position corresponding to a posterior side of the upper arm of the human body (paragraph 204-206 and 214, Fig 13A-D and Fig 19).
In regards to claim 5, Ramanan discloses the device of claim 1 and Ramanan further teaches wherein the first gas chamber group further comprises a third gas chamber of the first group between the first gas chamber of the first group and the second gas chamber of the first group along the peripheral direction, the second gas chamber group further has a third gas chamber of the second group between the first gas chamber of the second group and the second gas chamber of the second group along the peripheral direction, and the third gas chamber of the first group and the third gas chamber of the second group are provided so as to be mutually adjacent in the axial direction (Fig 13A).
While Ramanan does not explicitly disclose wherein the control apparatus controls the gas supply apparatus and the flow path switching apparatus to supply the high-pressure gas to the third gas chamber of the first group, the first gas chamber of the first group, the second gas chamber of the first group, the third gas chamber of the second group, the first gas chamber of the second group, the second gas chamber of the second group in that order, or to supply the high-pressure gas to the third gas chamber of the first group, the second gas chamber of the first group, the first gas chamber of the first group, the third gas chamber of the second group, the second gas chamber of the second group, the first gas chamber of the second group in that order, it does teach wherein the activation order of the chambers may be adjusted or controlled to provide the desired force vectors and compression progress along the limb (paragraph 178 and 189 and 251).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ramanan wherein the control apparatus controls the gas supply apparatus and the flow path switching apparatus to supply the high-pressure gas to the third gas chamber of the first group, the first gas chamber of the first group, the second gas chamber of the first group, the third gas chamber of the second group, the first gas chamber of the second group, the second gas chamber of the second group in that order, or to the third gas chamber of the first group, the second gas chamber of the first group, the first gas chamber of the first group, the third gas chamber of the second group, the second gas chamber of the second group, the first gas chamber of the second group in that order as this would provide a specific therapeutic application of pressure to the limb of the user as would best suit their needs.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramanan (US 2021/0251842).
In regards to claim 1, Ramanan discloses a gas-type massage apparatus to administer a massage to a human body using a high-pressure gas (compression therapy system 1000), wherein the gas-type massage apparatus comprises: wherein the gas-type massage device has a plurality of gas chambers (paragraph 178 and paragraph 257), and a gas supply/discharge system to supply a high-pressure gas to the plurality of gas chambers of the gas-type massage device and discharge a high-pressure gas from the plurality of gas chambers, the gas supply/discharge system comprising: a gas supply apparatus that supplies the high-pressure gas (compression pressure generator (CPG) device 1002, paragraph 110 and 115); a flow path switching apparatus that switches a flow path of the high-pressure gas (valve interface 1008); and a control apparatus communicatively coupled to the gas supply apparatus and the flow path switching apparatus, wherein the control apparatus controls operations of the gas supply apparatus and the flow path switching apparatus (control device 1010, paragraph 110), wherein the gas-type massage device to be fitted to at least one part of lower limbs (Fig 56A and 56B) of the human body along an axial direction in which the one part extends so as to surround the one part in a peripheral direction to administer a massage to the human body using a high-pressure gas (paragraph 196), each of the plurality of gas chambers can receive and discharge a high-pressure gas to expand and contract mutually independently (paragraph 189 and 251-253, 257), the plurality of gas chambers comprise a first gas chamber group and a second gas chamber group being provided so as to be mutually adjacent in the axial direction (Fig 56A and 56B), wherein the control apparatus controls the gas supply apparatus and the flow path switching apparatus to supply a high-pressure gas to the plurality of gas chambers (paragraph 110 and 115).
While Ramanan does not explicitly teach wherein the first gas chamber group comprises a first gas chamber of a first group and a second gas chamber of the first group along the peripheral direction and wherein the second gas chamber group comprises a first gas chamber of a second group and a second gas chamber of the second group along the peripheral direction with respect to the lower limbs, it does teach it with respect to the upper limbs (paragraph 205-207, Fig 13B-13D) and that details pertaining to one embodiment may be applied to another (paragraph 341-342).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ramanan wherein the first gas chamber group comprises a first gas chamber of a first group and a second gas chamber of the first group along the peripheral direction and wherein the second gas chamber group comprises a first gas chamber of a second group and a second gas chamber of the second group along the peripheral direction with respect to the lower limbs as this would allow a more precise application of pressure to the lower limb of the user.
Further, while Ramanan does not explicitly disclose wherein the control apparatus controls the gas supply apparatus and the flow path switching apparatus to supply the high-pressure gas to the first gas chamber of the first group, the second gas chamber of the first group, the first gas chamber of the second group, and the second gas chamber of the second group in that order, or to supply the high-pressure gas to the second gas chamber of the first group, the first gas chamber of the first group, the second gas chamber of the second group, and the first gas chamber of the second group in that order, it does teach wherein the activation order of the chambers may be adjusted or controlled to provide the desired force vectors and compression progress along the limb (paragraph 189, 248 and 251-253, 257).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ramanan wherein the control apparatus controls the gas supply apparatus and the flow path switching apparatus to supply the high-pressure gas to the first gas chamber of the first group, the second gas chamber of the first group, the first gas chamber of the second group, and the second gas chamber of the second group in that order, or to supply the high-pressure gas to the second gas chamber of the first group, the first gas chamber of the first group, the second gas chamber of the second group, and the first gas chamber of the second group in that order as this would provide a specific therapeutic application of pressure to the limb of the user as would best suit their needs (paragraph 256-257).
In regards to claim 3, Ramanan teaches the device of claim 2 and Raman further teaches wherein the gas-type massage device has a shape following at least a part of legs of the human body (Fig 56A).
While Ramanan does not explicitly teach wherein the gas-type massage device is configured such that, when the gas-type massage device is fitted to the legs of the human body, the first gas chamber of the first group is positioned at a position corresponding to an outer side of a lower thigh of the human body, a second gas chamber of the first group is positioned at a position corresponding to an inner side of the lower thigh of the human body, the first gas chamber of the second group is positioned at a position corresponding to an outer side of an upper thigh of the human body, and the second gas chamber of the second group is positioned at a position corresponding to an inner side of the upper thigh of the human body, it does teach differing chamber configurations in the peripheral direction with respect to the upper limbs for a target application of pressure to a limb (paragraph 204-206) and that aligning chambers with key points on the body including those on the inner and outer thigh (paragraph 215-216, Fig 20). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ramanan wherein the gas-type massage device is configured such that, when the gas-type massage device is fitted to the legs of the human body, a first gas chamber of first group is positioned at a position corresponding to an outer side of the lower thigh of the human body, a second gas chamber of first group is positioned at a position corresponding to an inner side of the lower thigh of the human body, a first gas chamber of second group is positioned at a position corresponding to an outer side of the upper thigh of the human body, and a second gas chamber of second group is positioned at a position corresponding to an inner side of the upper thigh of the human body as this would allow the device to precisely apply pressure to the areas of the body as desired.
In regards to claim 5, Ramanan teaches the device of claim 1 and Ramanan further teaches wherein the first gas chamber group further comprises a third gas chamber of the first group between the first gas chamber of the first group and the second gas chamber of the first group along the peripheral direction, the second gas chamber group further comprises a third gas chamber of the second group between the first gas chamber of the second group and the second gas chamber of the second group along the peripheral direction, wherein the third gas chamber of the first group and the third gas chamber of the second group are provided so as to be mutually adjacent in the axial direction (Fig 56A).
While Ramanan does not explicitly disclose wherein the control apparatus controls the gas supply apparatus and the flow path switching apparatus to supply the high-pressure gas to the third gas chamber of the first group, the first gas chamber of the first group, the second gas chamber of the first group, the third gas chamber of the second group, the first gas chamber of the second group, the second gas chamber of the second group in that order, or to supply the high-pressure gas to the third gas chamber of the first group, the second gas chamber of the first group, the first gas chamber of the first group, the third gas chamber of the second group, the second gas chamber of the second group, the first gas chamber of the second group in that order, it does teach wherein the activation order of the chambers may be adjusted or controlled to provide the desired force vectors and compression progress along the limb (paragraph 178 and 189 and 251-253).
In regards to claim 6, Ramanan teaches the device of claim 5 and Ramanan further teaches wherein the gas-type massage device has a shape following at least a part of legs of the human body (Fig 56A).
While Ramanan does not explicitly teach wherein the gas-type massage device is configured such that, when the gas-type massage device is fitted to the legs of the human body, the first gas chamber of the first group is positioned at a position corresponding to an outer side of a lower thigh of the human body, the second gas chamber of the first group is positioned at a position corresponding to an inner side of the lower thigh of the human body, the third gas chamber of the first group is positioned at a position corresponding to a backside of the lower thigh of the human body, the first gas chamber of the second group is positioned at a position corresponding to an outer side of an upper thigh of the human body, the second gas chamber of the second group is positioned at a position corresponding to an inner side of the upper thigh of the human body, and the third gas chamber of the second group is positioned at a position corresponding to a backside of the upper thigh of the human body, it does teach differing chamber configurations in the peripheral direction with respect to the upper limbs for a target application of pressure to a limb (paragraph 204-206) and that aligning chambers with key points on the body including those on the inner and outer thigh (paragraph 215-216, Fig 20). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ramanan wherein the gas-type massage device is configured such that, when the gas-type massage device is fitted to the legs of the human body, the first gas chamber of first group is positioned at a position corresponding to an outer side of the lower thigh of the human body, the second gas chamber of first group is positioned at a position corresponding to an inner side of the lower thigh of the human body, the third gas chamber of first group is positioned at a position corresponding to a backside of the lower thigh of the human body, the first gas chamber of second group is positioned at a position corresponding to an outer side of the upper thigh of the human body, the second gas chamber of second group is positioned at a position corresponding to an inner side of the upper thigh of the human body, and the third gas chamber of second group is positioned at a position corresponding to a backside of the upper thigh of the human body as this would allow the device to precisely apply pressure to the areas of the body as desired.
Claim(s) 18-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramanan (US 2021/0251842) as applied above and in further view of Wright (US 2015/0224012).
In regards to claim 18, Ramanan teaches a method for administering a massage to a human body using the gas-type massage apparatus according to claim 1 (see Claim 1 Rejection), the method comprising: fitting the gas-type massage apparatus to the at least one part of upper limbs or lower limbs of the human body along the axial direction in which the one part extends so as to surround the one part in the peripheral direction to administer the massage to the human body using the high pressure gas (Fig 21 and 22).
While Ramanan does not disclose supplying the high-pressure gas to the first gas chamber of the first group, the second gas chamber of the first group, the first gas chamber of the second group, and the second gas chamber of the second group in that order, or supplying the high-pressure gas to the second gas chamber of the first group, the first gas chamber of the first group, the second gas chamber of the second group, and the first gas chamber of the second group in that order, it does teach directing gas flow to chambers in various sequences (paragraph 245-248) for the purpose facilitating Lymphatic drainage and fluid transport (paragraph 256-257).
Further, Wright teaches varying compression protocols including timing and location of applied compression (paragraph 60-79, Fig 5A-5G) for the purpose of facilitating fluid movement and decongestion in limbs (paragraph 60 and 77).
While the specific order of inflation is not disclosed, such sequence represents a variable that may be optimized through routine optimization. The sequence of inflation may be considered as representative of a results effective variable having the recognized result of facilitating lymphatic fluid drainage, and where there is a design need for such a results-effective variable to be optimized, alongside a finite number of solutions, under the KSR ruling, optimizing pertinent ranges would be "obvious to try," and therefore not patentably distinct over the prior art (MPEP 2144.05 II B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ramanan to supply the high-pressure gas to the first gas chamber of the first group, the second gas chamber of the first group, the first gas chamber of the second group, and the second gas chamber of the second group in that order, or supplying the high-pressure gas to the second gas chamber of the first group, the first gas chamber of the first group, the second gas chamber of the second group, and the first gas chamber of the second group in that order as this would be optimal sequencing to best facilitate lymphatic drainage from the users limbs.
In regards to claim 19, Ramanan in view of Wright teaches the method of claim 18.
While Ramanan does not explicitly teach wherein the gas-type massage device has a shape following at least a part of legs of the human body, and wherein, when the gas-type massage device is fitted to the legs of the human body, the first gas chamber of the first group is positioned at a position corresponding to an outer side of a lower thigh of the human body, the second gas chamber of the first group is positioned at a position corresponding to an inner side of the lower thigh of the human body, the first gas chamber of the second group is positioned at a position corresponding to an outer side of an upper thigh of the human body, and the second gas chamber of the second group is positioned at a position corresponding to an inner side of the upper thigh of the human body, it does teach differing chamber configurations in the peripheral direction with respect to the upper limbs for a target application of pressure to a limb (paragraph 204-206) and that aligning chambers with key points on the body including those on the inner and outer thigh (paragraph 215-216, Fig 20). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ramanan wherein the gas-type massage device has a shape following at least a part of legs of the human body, and wherein, when the gas-type massage device is fitted to the legs of the human body, the first gas chamber of the first group is positioned at a position corresponding to an outer side of a lower thigh of the human body, the second gas chamber of the first group is positioned at a position corresponding to an inner side of the lower thigh of the human body, the first gas chamber of the second group is positioned at a position corresponding to an outer side of an upper thigh of the human body, and the second gas chamber of the second group is positioned at a position corresponding to an inner side of the upper thigh of the human body as this would allow the device to precisely apply pressure to the areas of the body as desired.
In regards to claim 20, Ramanan in view of Wright teaches the method of claim 18 and Ramanan further teaches wherein the gas-type massage device has a shape following at least a part of arms of the human body, and wherein, when the gas-type massage device is fitted to the arms of the human body, the first gas chamber of the first group is positioned at a position corresponding to an anterior side of a forearm of the human body, the second gas chamber of the first group is positioned at a position corresponding to a posterior side of the forearm of the human body, the first gas chamber of the second group is positioned at a position corresponding to an anterior side of an upper arm of the human body, and the second gas chamber of the second group is positioned at a position corresponding to a posterior side of the upper arm of the human body (paragraph 204-206 and 214, Fig 13A-D and Fig 19).
In regards to claim 21, Ramanan in view of Wright teaches the method of claim 18 and Ramanan further teaches wherein the first gas chamber group further comprises a third gas chamber of the first group between the first gas chamber of the first group and the second gas chamber of the first group along the peripheral direction, wherein the second gas chamber group further comprises a third gas chamber of the second group between the first gas chamber of the second group and the second gas chamber of the second group along the peripheral direction, wherein the third gas chamber of the first group and the third gas chamber of the second group are provided so as to be mutually adjacent in the axial direction (Fig 56A).
The combination does not teach wherein the method comprises: supplying the high-pressure gas to the third gas chamber of the first group, the first gas chamber of the first group, the second gas chamber of the first group, the third gas chamber of the second group, the first gas chamber of the second group, and the second gas chamber of the second group in that order, or supplying the high-pressure gas to the third gas chamber of the first group, the second gas chamber of the first group, the first gas chamber of the first group, the third gas chamber of the second group, the second gas chamber of the second group, and the first gas chamber of the second group in that order.
While the specific order of inflation is not disclosed, such sequence represents a variable that may be optimized through routine optimization. The sequence of inflation may be considered as representative of a results effective variable having the recognized result of facilitating lymphatic fluid drainage, and where there is a design need for such a results-effective variable to be optimized, alongside a finite number of solutions, under the KSR ruling, optimizing pertinent ranges would be "obvious to try," and therefore not patentably distinct over the prior art (MPEP 2144.05 II B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ramanan to supply the high-pressure gas to the third gas chamber of the first group, the first gas chamber of the first group, the second gas chamber of the first group, the third gas chamber of the second group, the first gas chamber of the second group, and the second gas chamber of the second group in that order, or supplying the high-pressure gas to the third gas chamber of the first group, the second gas chamber of the first group, the first gas chamber of the first group, the third gas chamber of the second group, the second gas chamber of the second group, and the first gas chamber of the second group in that order as this would be optimal sequencing to best facilitate lymphatic drainage from the users limbs.
In regards to claim 22, Ramanan in view of Wright teaches the method of claim 22.
While Ramanan does not explicitly wherein the gas-type massage device has a shape following at least a part of legs of the human body, and wherein, when the gas-type massage device is fitted to the legs of the human body, the first gas chamber of the first group is positioned at a position corresponding to an outer side of a lower thigh of the human body, the second gas chamber of the first group is positioned at a position corresponding to an inner side of the lower thigh of the human body, the third gas chamber of the first group is positioned at a position corresponding to a backside of the lower thigh of the human body, the first gas chamber of the second group is positioned at a position corresponding to an outer side of an upper thigh of the human body, the second gas chamber of the second group is positioned at a position corresponding to an inner side of the upper thigh of the human body, and the third gas chamber of the second group is positioned at a position corresponding to a backside of the upper thigh of the human body, it does teach differing chamber configurations in the peripheral direction with respect to the upper limbs for a target application of pressure to a limb (paragraph 204-206) and that aligning chambers with key points on the body including those on the inner and outer thigh (paragraph 215-216, Fig 20). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ramanan wherein the gas-type massage device has a shape following at least a part of legs of the human body, and wherein, when the gas-type massage device is fitted to the legs of the human body, the first gas chamber of the first group is positioned at a position corresponding to an outer side of a lower thigh of the human body, the second gas chamber of the first group is positioned at a position corresponding to an inner side of the lower thigh of the human body, the third gas chamber of the first group is positioned at a position corresponding to a backside of the lower thigh of the human body, the first gas chamber of the second group is positioned at a position corresponding to an outer side of an upper thigh of the human body, the second gas chamber of the second group is positioned at a position corresponding to an inner side of the upper thigh of the human body, and the third gas chamber of the second group is positioned at a position corresponding to a backside of the upper thigh of the human body as this would allow the device to precisely apply pressure to the areas of the body as desired.
Response to Arguments
In regards to the arguments concerning the independent claim, these arguments are in regards to the new limitations are addressed in the modified rejections entered above. Specifically, Applicant argues that Ramanan does not teach a control apparatus or switching apparatus that directs gas to specific chambers. As the above modified rejections show, Ramanan does teach these features. Further arguments which cite elements of the instant Specification and not language found in the claims are not persuasive as the claimed limitations are generally evaluated on their own merit and not according to the contents of the Specification.
Arguments in regards to the new claims are addressed in the new rejections entered above.
Conclusion
/ARIELLE WOLFF/ Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/KENDRA D CARTER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785