DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 12/23/25, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 4-10, 13-19 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly cited portions of Teyeb (Pub No 20240187939) in view of newly cited Bagur (Pub No 20240172053) and Wang (Pub No 20140194120)
Regarding claim 1,
The applicant argues that the prior art does not teach the amended limitation.
The examiner relies on different portions of Tayeb in view of newly cited prior art Bagur and Wang to teach the amended limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 10, 14-15, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teyeb (Pub No 20240187939) in view of Bagur (Pub No 20240172053) and Wang (Pub No 20140194120)
Regarding claim 1 and 10 and 19,
Teyeb Embodiment A teaches a method comprising:
A non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to: (see para [0038])
a memory; and a processor communicatively coupled to the memory, the processor configured to: (see para [0038])
monitoring an traffic demand at a first access point (source node); and (interpreted as one or more thresholds associated with load conditions at the source and/or the target node, see para [0076])
based at least in part on the upstream traffic demand on the first access point (source node) exceeding a threshold communicating one or more messages that causes a mobile devices to: (interpreted as The WTRU may operate in a DAPS mode while the condition is valid or satisfied. For example, if a threshold of x MB is specified, the WTRU may initiate and/or operate (e.g., continue to operate) in the DAPS mode if (e.g., while) its total UL buffer size is above x MB, see para [0128])
disconnect, via a first radio of the mobile device, from the first access point; (interpreted as The target node may indicate to the source node that the handover has succeeded. The source node may stop sending and receiving data to/from the WTRU, for example, based on receiving an indication that the handover has succeeded, see para [0083])
connect, via a second radio of the mobile device, to a second access point to receive downstream messages from the second access point; and (interpreted as The HO complete message may include, for example, a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) status report for those DRBs configured for the DAPS HO. The target node may send (e.g., start to send) buffered DL data to the WTRU and may use status information (e.g., provided by the WTRU) to avoid sending duplicate packets (e.g., packets forwarded from the source node but now indicated to have been received by the WTRU) to the WTRU, see para [0082]).
reconnect, via the first radio of the mobile device and while the mobile device is connected to the second access network to the first access point to transmit upstream messages to the first access point. (interpreted as the WTRU may determine a second DAPS operation to apply based on the following: if the target connection is better than the source connection or better than a first threshold, the WTRU may release the source connection, see para [0152]. Also see The WTRU may be configured to, e.g., while the one or more DAPS operation are suspended, keep monitoring the conditions for DAPS operations, keep UL synchronization with the target node, and/or resume the one or more DAPS operation based on a determination that the conditions (e.g., one or more thresholds) for starting the DAPS operations are fulfilled again, see para [0159])
However Teyeb teaches connecting to the second access point while the mobile device is disconnected from the first access point.
Bagur teaches connecting to the second access point while the mobile device is disconnected from the first access point. (interpretd as client device 110 may receive improved service if the client device 110 disconnects from the first AP 120a and establishes a new connection with the second AP 120b, see para [0048])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the switching of AP and then disconnecting from the first AP taught by Teyeb with the switching of AP after disconnecting as taught by Bagur with the motivation of providing the same functionality of switching to a better service connection. However Teyeb in view of Bagur does not teach wherein the first access point is physically closer to the mobile device than the second access point;
Wang teaches wherein the first access point is physically closer to the mobile device than the second access point. (interpreted as The region 16 between the UL border and DL border 12 is referred to as the imbalanced region 16. In the imbalanced region, the UL from the UE 14 would generally be better served by the low-power node 4 (as it is closer to the UE 14 than the macrocell base station 6), but the DL to the UE 14 would be better served by the macrocell base station 6, see para [0006])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the access points taught by Teyeb in view of Bagur with the distance of the access points to the UE as taught by Wang since it would have been a design choice to have either the first tower or second tower closer to the UE.
Regarding claim 5 and 14,
Teyeb teaches The method of claim 1, however does not teach wherein the message causes the second access point to indicate to the mobile device that upstream traffic at the second access point is limited (interpreted as The configuration information may include one or more of the following: … one or more thresholds associated with load conditions at the source and/or the target node, one or more thresholds associated with an uplink (UL) buffer status, UL buffer occupancy, see para [0076])
Regarding claim 6 and 15,
Teyeb teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the upstream traffic demand on the first access point is based on a buffer status report from the mobile device. (interpreted as Buffer status reporting (BSR) (e.g., pre-emptive BSR) may be specified (e.g., configured), for example, where an IAB node may trigger a BSR to its parent node(s) (e.g., before data (e.g., new data) has arrived in its UL buffer), which may be based on a BSR that the IAB node has received from its child node(s) or WTRU(s) or may be based on scheduling grants the IAB node has provided to the child node(s) or WTRU(s) (e.g., which may serve as an indication of anticipated data), see para [0094])
Claim(s) 4 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teyeb (Pub No 20240187939) in view of Bagur (Pub No 20240172053), Wang (Pub No 20140194120), and Li (Pub No 20220256556)
Regarding claim 4 and 13,
Teyeb in view of Bagur and Wang teaches The method of claim 1, however does not teach wherein the one or more messages cause the second access point to limit a number of uplink transmission opportunities for the mobile device.
Li teaches wherein the message causes the second access point to limit a number of uplink transmission opportunities for the mobile device. (interpreted as In some aspects, the change of uplink data resources indicated by the GC-DCI may apply for a limited number of transmission opportunities, such that at an end of the limited number of transmission opportunities, a previous uplink data resource allocation may be applied or re-instated, see para [0076])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the congestion/overload taught by Teyeb in view of Bagur and Wang with the limited transmission opportunities as taught by Li with the motivation being to prevent congestion/overload in the network.
Claim(s) 7, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teyeb (Pub No 20240187939) in view of Bagur (Pub No 20240172053), Wang (Pub No 20140194120), and Ianev (Pub No 20170078867)
Regarding claim 7 and 16,
Teyeb in view of Wang teaches The method of claim 6, however does not teach wherein the upstream traffic demand on the first access point is further based on a weight based on a traffic type.
Ianev teaches wherein the upstream traffic demand on the first access point is further based on a weight based on a traffic type. (interpreted as weight factor corresponding to that traffic type set at a value that is not equal to zero—any other weight factors associated with that MME will be zero (in this case only one weight factor may be used for a specialized MME), see para [0079])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the threshold taught by Teyeb in view of Bagur and Wang with weighting factors by Ianev with the motivation being to determine the thresholds for congestion/overload by using the weights.
Claim(s) 8-9, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teyeb (Pub No 20240187939) in view of Bagur (Pub No 20240172053), Wang (Pub No 20140194120), and Li (Pub No 20200252813).
Regarding claim 8 and 17,
Teyeb teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising calculating a traffic demand based at least in part on the traffic demand at the first access point, wherein the message is communicated in response to determining that the traffic demand exceeds a threshold. (interpreted as one or more thresholds associated with load conditions at the source and/or the target node, see para [0076])
However Teyeb in view of Bagur and Wang does not teach aggregate upstream.
Li teaches aggregate upstream (interpreted as total aggregated uplink data rates, see para [0333])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the uplink data taught by Teyeb in view of Bagur and Wang with aggregated uplink as taught by Li with the motivation being to increase efficiency by aggregating the data transmissions.
Regarding claim 9 and 18,
Teyeb teaches The method of claim 8, further comprising, in response to determining that the aggregate traffic demand falls below the threshold, communicating a message that causes the mobile device to transmit messages to the first access point and to receive downstream messages from the first access point. (interpreted as the WTRU may release the DAPS operation (e.g., revert to a non-DAPS operation) if the load of the source drops below x %, see para [0120]. Also see Releasing the dual communication operation may include communicating with a single network entity (e.g., only with a single network entity), see para [0004])
However Teyeb in view of Bagur and Wang does not teach aggregate upstream.
Li teaches aggregate upstream (interpreted as total aggregated uplink data rates, see para [0333])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the uplink data taught by Teyeb in view of Wang with aggregated uplink as taught by Li with the motivation being to increase efficiency by aggregating the data transmissions.
Conclusion
/BAO G NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461