DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15 have been presented for examination based on the amendment filed on 5/1/2026.
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-8, 11-13 are newly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. US 11128539 B1 by Gimza; Marek et al., in view of US Patent No. US 9489399 B1 by Laporte; Russell et al., further in view of in view of US PGPUB No. US 20190306665 A1 by Vissa; Sudhir C. et al.
Claim(s) 3-4 and 14-15 is/are newly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. US 11128539 B1 by Gimza; Marek et al., in view of US Patent No. US 9489399 B1 by Laporte; Russell et al., in view US PGPUB No. US 20190306665 A1 by Vissa; Sudhir C. et al. , further in view of US PGPUB No. US 20090072967 A1 by Campbell; Levi A. et al.
Claim(s) 81-10 is/are newly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. US 11128539 B1 by Gimza; Marek et al., in view of US Patent No. US 9489399 B1 by Laporte; Russell et al. in view of in view of US PGPUB No. US 20190306665 A1 by Vissa; Sudhir C. et al., further in view of US PGPUB No. US 20210028999 A1 by Balakrishnan; Ganesh et al.
This action is made Final.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments are considered, however new grounds of rejection with additional art presented by Vissa addresses all concerns as raised by applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-8, 11-13 are newly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. US 11128539 B1 by Gimza; Marek et al., in view of US Patent No. US 9489399 B1 by Laporte; Russell et al., further in view of in view of US PGPUB No. US 20190306665 A1 by Vissa; Sudhir C. et al.
Regarding Claim 1
Gizma teaches A computer implemented method (Gizma: Fig.2 Col.6 Lines 60 – Col.2 Lines 59)) comprising:
receiving, by one or more processors (Gimza: Fig.1 element 12 Col.4 Line 17—Col.5 Line 15), location information for a portable device located at a site having an information technology (IT) infrastructure with IT equipment (Gimza : Col.10 Lines 32-41 – cell phone having a camera application;Col.7 Lines 19-30 "...capturing images may include utilizing one or more cameras or video cameras located in a data center with the network system. The process 30 may further comprise the steps of recording location information pertaining to the location of each of the cameras or video cameras while the one or more visual representations are obtained and determining the identity of the one or more components based on the location information...." )
identifying, by the one or more processors, geo-location data for the site based on the location information (Gimza: scope here is broadened, CLLI location of camera at site is also location data for the site. Col.14 Lines 48-56 "... the system could use the CLLI information to associate that this camera feed is associated with a particular location, instead of using the IP address. Then, this information [camera location] can be associated with specific network elements. For example, Common Language, Location Identifier (CLLI) can do that...."; Col.7 Lines 19-30 "...capturing images may include utilizing one or more cameras or video cameras located in a data center with the network system. The process 30 may further comprise the steps of recording location information pertaining to the location of each of the cameras or video cameras while the one or more visual representations are obtained and determining the identity of the one or more components based on the location information...." )
receiving, by the one or more processors, IT equipment data generated by a machine learning (ML) model based on one or more images of the IT equipment (Gimza: Col.12 Lines 59-66 "... An intent of the present disclosure is to provide a system that uses ML technology to pick up images from a data center, which may include nodes, switches, routers, etc., where it is possible from a visual line of sight (e.g., from one or more cameras) to be able to see the LEDs on that node. Also, the cameras may see the different types of cards, the ports on those cards, or any physical inventory that is visible on that node. The image data obtained from these cameras may be stored in the memory device 14 or database 20...."); and
mapping, by the one or more processors, the IT equipment data to an IT record to update the IT record for the site and/or IT infrastructure (Gimza: : Col.14 Lines 48-56 "... the system could use the CLLI information to associate that this camera feed is associated with a particular location, instead of using the IP address. Then, this information [camera location] can be associated with specific network elements. For example, Common Language, Location Identifier (CLLI) [as geospatial location of each network element] can do that...."; Col.6 Lines 54-59 "... The monitoring system 10 can cause a reconciliation with an inventory application based on its evaluation such that the inventory application is updated based on discrepancies between the monitoring system 10 and data in the inventory application...." Col.12 Lines 64-66 "... The image data obtained from these cameras may be stored in the memory device 14 or database 20..." Col.13 Lines 36-54 "... The cameras can be used as a main source of the inventory for a certain duration of time when the connectivity to the devices is actually lost. As an augmentation monitoring system, it may be possible to achieve a broader coverage for different environmental conditions or situations...").
Gimza does not teach the crossed out limitations above.
Laporte teaches wherein the location information comprises GPS coordinates of the portable device (Laporte : Col.6 Line 59-Col.7 Line 13 "... In some embodiments, the virtual data center can be stored on an external server. Location logic 280 can determine the location of an IT component based on identification result 262 (e.g., location logic 280 can determine the location of an IT component based on the virtual representation of a data center). Location logic 280 can receive position tracking 285. In some embodiments, position tracking 285 can be position information from a GPS receiver and can provide the position of mobile computing device 200 [as portable device] ....");
identifying, by the one or more processors, geo-location data for the site based on the location information (Laporte : Abstract "... A location [geolocation] of the rack containing the target IT component in the data center based on the virtual representation of the data center is determined by the mobile computing device. A map of the data center, wherein the map of the data center includes first indicia of the location [location of the portable device] of the first identification marker and second indicia of the location [location of the IT equipment, like a rack] of the rack containing the target IT component, is displayed by the mobile computing device....")
Laporte also does not teach the crossed out limitations above.
Vissa teaches identifying, by the one or more processors, geo-location data for the site based on the location information by comparing the location information (Vissa: [0010] portable device as mobile phone device 104 also identified as entered in the geo-fenced data gets it own mobile location node 140; comparing aspect is taught as normalized coordinate system AAL where the location data of geo fenced site, mobile device and items in the geofenced are put in same coordinate system once it is determined that mobile device has entered geofenced area (comparison whether mobile device is in geo fenced area) – [0041]) to geofence data stored in a geospatial inventory database (Vissa: [0019] "... Generally, a mobile localization node is a small electronic tag or label that can process and/or store data and other information in memory on the mobile localization node, and the mobile localization node 108 can be associated with any type of object or item, such as by being placed in or affixed to an object for inventory tracking, item location, item recovery, and the like...." ; further such database implemented on server 126 would be clear as it tracks all geofenced items to have them displayed on the mobile phone ), the geofence data characterizing a plurality of geofences each corresponding to a respective site (Vissa: Vissa teaches one geo fenced data base and tracking of not only the mobile device 104/106 in it, but all the objects 110, 112, 118, 114 in it; Having plurality of geo-fenced location when the each component has its own location data (see Vissa [0021]); this would simply be duplication of parts as in In re Harza);
identifying the geo-location data for an IT record associated with the IT infrastructure and/or site in response to determining that the location information is within a geofence to the plurality of goeofences corresponding to the site(Vissa: Fig.1& 3, [0035], [0044] showing geo fenced data with location (GPS/ See Laporte) data in 3D including coordinates for mobile device as well as plurality of items in the geofenced area, being displayed on mobile device) .
It would have been obvious to one (e.g. a designer) of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Vissa (2018) to Laporte (2016) & Gimza (2021) complements Laporte & Gimza in equipment location identification and displaying the information on mobile device further complementing mobile device as not only a mapping tool, but also information providing tool (VissaL Fig.1 & 3; [0035]-[0044]; Laporte: Col.4 lines 55-62) . Vissa additionally provides other means to geolocation of items in the geofenced location (Vissa: [0027]). The motivation to combine would have been that Vissa, Gimza and Laporte are analogous art to the instant claim in the field of inventory location identification (Vissa: [0010] [0019]; Laporte: Abstract: Gimza: Abstract).
Regarding Claim 2
Teachings of Gimza are shown in parent claim 1.
Gimza does not explicitly teach IT drawing limitation.
Gimza & Laporte teaches the computer implemented method of claim 1, further comprising generating, by the one or more processors, an IT drawing based on the updated IT record (Gimza: Col.6 Line 51-59; Col.13 Lines 47-54 shows the updating the inventory; Laporte: teaches in Fig.4A Col.10 Lines 50-59, - IT drawing generated on the mobile device as map/virtual representation of data center).
Vissa also teaches further comprising generating, by the one or more processors, an IT drawing based on the updated record (Vissa: Fig.3 [0044])
It would have been obvious to one (e.g. a designer) of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Laporte (2016) to Gimza (2021) to complement Gimza in equipment location identification and displaying the information on mobile device further complementing mobile device as not only a mapping tool, but also information providing tool (Laporte: Col.4 lines 55-62) . The motivation to combine would have been that Gimza and Laporte are analogous art to the instant claim in the field of data center mapping and inventory location identification (Laporte: Abstract: Gimza: Abstract).
Motivation to combine Vissa is as in claim 1 and is incorporated herein.
Regarding Claim 5
Teachings of Gimza are shown in parent claim 1.
Gimza does not explicitly teach limitation of claim below.
Laporte teaches the computer implemented method of claim 1, further comprising causing, by the one or more processors, the geo-location data to be provided to the portable device (Laporte: Col.7 Lines 26-30 "... Location logic 280 can display on display 205 a map of a data center based on the virtual representation of the data center. Location logic 280 can cause indicia of the locations of IT components and/or the mobile computing device 200 to be displayed on the map of the data center...." – here geolocation data of the device is provided for the purposes of map creation on the portable device).
It would have been obvious to one (e.g. a designer) of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Laporte (2016) to Gimza (2021) to complement Gimza in equipment location identification and displaying the information on mobile device further complementing mobile device as not only a mapping tool, but also information providing tool (Laporte: Col.4 lines 55-62) . The motivation to combine would have been that Gimza and Laporte are analogous art to the instant claim in the field of data center mapping and inventory location identification (Laporte: Abstract: Gimza: Abstract).
Regarding Claim 6
Gimza teaches the computer implemented method of claim 5, wherein the portable device includes a camera to capture the one or more images of the IT equipment after receiving the geo-location data (Gimza: Col.7 Lines 19-30; Col.12 Lines 2-15).
Regarding Claim 7
Gizma teaches the computer implemented method of claim 6, further comprising processing the one or more images using the ML model to identify IT equipment information therein and generating the IT equipment data using the identified IT equipment information (Gizma: Col.12 Lines 59-67; Col.15 Lines 21-42) .
Regarding Claim 82
Teachings of Gizma and Laporte are shown in the parent claim 7.
While Lapoerte shows location logiv 280 for determining location for each IT device and displaying it (at least see Fig.2C, 3 and 4A), it does not disclose IT record stored with location information.
Vissa teaches the computer implemented method of claim 7, wherein the IT record is stored at a geospatial inventory database (Balakrishnan: [0022] "... As a software application, the location module 128 can be stored on computer-readable storage memory, or with any suitable memory device or electronic data storage implemented with the server computing device...."; [0012]-[0014] [0039] [0040] showing location module along with positioning module storing the x-y-z geospatial information).
Regarding Claim 11
Gimza teaches A system (Gimza : Fig.1 Col.4 Lines 17-Col.6 Line 59) comprising:
memory to store machine-readable instructions and data (Gimza: Fig.1 element 14 Col.5 Line 46-Col.6 Line 31) ; and
one or more processors to access the memory and execute the machine-readable instructions (Gimza: Fig.1 element 12 Col.4 Line 17—Col.5 Line 15) , the machine-readable instructions comprising:
a site surveyor (Gimza : as inventory evaluation module 24 in Fig.1 performing action as shown in Fig.2 Col.6 Line 41-50, Col.10-14 showing various use cases how the inventory evaluation module 24 is used) that:
causes a network interface of a portable device (Gimza : Col.10 Lines 32-41 – cell phone having a camera application) to communicate location information for the portable device to a geospatial inventory database hosted by a computing system (Gimza: Col.7 Lines 19-30 "...capturing images may include utilizing one or more cameras or video cameras located in a data center with the network system. The process 30 may further comprise the steps of recording location information pertaining to the location of each of the cameras or video cameras while the one or more visual representations are obtained and determining the identity of the one or more components based on the location information....") , the geospatial inventory database being configured to:
provide the site surveyor with geo-location data for an IT record associated with the IT infrastructure and/or site with IT equipment based on the location information of the portable device (Gimza: Col.14 Lines 48-56 "... the system could use the CLLI information to associate that this camera feed is associated with a particular location, instead of using the IP address. Then, this information [camera location] can be associated with specific network elements. For example, Common Language, Location Identifier (CLLI) [IT record] can do that....")
causes a camera of the mobile device to capture one or more images of the IT equipment (Gimza: Col.12 Lines 59-66 "... An intent of the present disclosure is to provide a system that uses ML technology to pick up images from a data center, which may include nodes, switches, routers, etc., where it is possible from a visual line of sight (e.g., from one or more cameras) to be able to see the LEDs on that node. Also, the cameras may see the different types of cards, the ports on those cards, or any physical inventory that is visible on that node. The image data obtained from these cameras may be stored in the memory device 14 or database 20....") ; and
an image processing database comprising a machine learning (ML) model (Gimza: Col.12 Lines 59-66 "... An intent of the present disclosure is to provide a system that uses ML technology to pick up images from a data center, which may include nodes, switches, routers, etc., where it is possible from a visual line of sight (e.g., from one or more cameras) to be able to see the LEDs on that node. Also, the cameras may see the different types of cards, the ports on those cards, or any physical inventory that is visible on that node. The image data obtained from these cameras may be stored in the memory device 14 or database 20....") that: processes the one or more images of the IT equipment to identify IT equipment information therein (Gimza: Col.12 Lines 59-66 "... An intent of the present disclosure is to provide a system that uses ML technology to pick up images from a data center, which may include nodes, switches, routers, etc., where it is possible from a visual line of sight (e.g., from one or more cameras) to be able to see the LEDs on that node. Also, the cameras may see the different types of cards, the ports on those cards, or any physical inventory that is visible on that node. The image data obtained from these cameras may be stored in the memory device 14 or database 20....");
generates IT equipment data using the identified IT equipment information (Gimza: Col.12 Line 59-Col.14 Line 2) ; and
causes the IT record of the geospatial inventory database for the site and/or IT infrastructure to be updated based on the IT equipment data (Gimza: Col.14 Lines 48-56 "... the system could use the CLLI information to associate that this camera feed is associated with a particular location, instead of using the IP address. Then, this information [camera location] can be associated with specific network elements. For example, Common Language, Location Identifier (CLLI) [as geospatial location of each network element] can do that...."; Col.6 Lines 54-59 "... The monitoring system 10 can cause a reconciliation with an inventory application based on its evaluation such that the inventory application is updated based on discrepancies between the monitoring system 10 and data in the inventory application...." Col.12 Lines 64-66 "... The image data obtained from these cameras may be stored in the memory device 14 or database 20..." Col.13 Lines 36-54 "... The cameras can be used as a main source of the inventory for a certain duration of time when the connectivity to the devices is actually lost. As an augmentation monitoring system, it may be possible to achieve a broader coverage for different environmental conditions or situations...") .
Gimza does not specifically teach (A) identify geo-location data for an information technology (IT) infrastructure and/or site with IT equipment by comparing the GPS coordinates for the portable device to geofence data stored in the geospatial inventory database, the geofence data characterizing a plurality of geofences each corresponding to a respective site; (B) provide IT record… in response to determining that the GPS coordinates of the portable device are within a geofence of the plurality of geofences corresponding to the site; (C) renders the geo-location data on a display of the portable device.
Laporte teaches
causes a network interface of a portable device to communicate location information comprising GPS coordinates for the portable device (Laporte : Col.6 Line 59-Col.7 Line 13 "... In some embodiments, the virtual data center can be stored on an external server. Location logic 280 can determine the location of an IT component based on identification result 262 (e.g., location logic 280 can determine the location of an IT component based on the virtual representation of a data center). Location logic 280 can receive position tracking 285. In some embodiments, position tracking 285 can be position information from a GPS receiver and can provide the position of mobile computing device 200 [as portable device] ....") to a geospatial inventory database hosted by a computing system (Laporte : Col.6 Line 59-Col.7 Line 13 "... In some embodiments, the virtual data center can be stored on an external server. Location logic 280 can determine the location of an IT component based on identification result 262 (e.g., location logic 280 can determine the location of an IT component based on the virtual representation of a data center…”), the geospatial inventory database being configured to:
identify geo-location data for an information technology (IT) infrastructure and/or site with IT equipment (Laporte : Abstract "... A location [geolocation] of the rack containing the target IT component in the data center based on the virtual representation of the data center is determined by the mobile computing device. A map of the data center, wherein the map of the data center includes first indicia of the location [location of the portable device] of the first identification marker and second indicia of the location [location of the IT equipment, like a rack] of the rack containing the target IT component, is displayed by the mobile computing device....")
renders the geo-location data on a display of the portable device (Laporte: Col.2 Lines 41-45 "... (10) In some embodiments, the method can include tracking, by the mobile computing device, a location of the mobile computing device in the data center and displaying, by the mobile computing device, the first indicia at the location of the mobile computing device...."; See Fig.3 element 330 and also Fig.4 showing indicia as 415 in front of the rack (IT equipment)) . Laporte also teaches using mobile device camera to capture location information (as in Gizma) (Laporte: Col.7 Lines 47-Col.8 Line 59).
Gizma and Laporte do not teach identify geo-location data for an information technology (IT) infrastructure and/or site with IT equipment by comparing the GPS coordinates of the portable device to geofence data stored in the geospatial inventory database, the geofence data characterizing a plurality of geofences each corresponding to a respective site; provide IT record… in response to determining that the GPS coordinates of the portable device are within a geofence of the plurality of geofences corresponding to the site (Bolded parts).
Vissa teaches identify geo-location data for an information technology (IT) infrastructure and/or site with IT equipment (Vissa : [0010][0012][0016] showing Items as IT equipment which are geo-fenced (“always aware location” (AAL) ) with their own coordinate system in the mobile localization node 108 ) by comparing the GPS coordinates of the portable device (Vissa: [0010] portable device as mobile phone device 104 also identified as entered in the geo-fenced data gets it own mobile location node 140; comparing aspect is taught as normalized coordinate system AAL where the location data of geo fenced site, mobile device and items in the geofenced are put in same coordinate system once it is determined that mobile device has entered geofenced area (comparison whether mobile device is in geo fenced area) – [0041]) to geofence data stored in the geospatial inventory database (Vissa: [0019] "... Generally, a mobile localization node is a small electronic tag or label that can process and/or store data and other information in memory on the mobile localization node, and the mobile localization node 108 can be associated with any type of object or item, such as by being placed in or affixed to an object for inventory tracking, item location, item recovery, and the like...." ; further such database implemented on server 126 would be clear as it tracks all geofenced items to have them displayed on the mobile phone) , the geofence data characterizing a plurality of geofences each corresponding to a respective site (Vissa: Vissa teaches one geo fenced data base and tracking of not only the mobile device 104/106 in it, but all the objects 110, 112, 118, 114 in it; Having plurality of geo-fenced location when the each component has its own location data (see Vissa [0021]); this would simply be duplication of parts as in In re Harza) ; provide IT record… in response to determining that the GPS coordinates of the portable device are within a geofence of the plurality of geofences corresponding to the site (Vissa: Fig.1& 3, [0035], [0044] showing geo fenced data with location (GPS/ See Laporte) data in 3D including coordinates for mobile device as well as plurality of items in the geofenced area, being displayed on mobile device) .
It would have been obvious to one (e.g. a designer) of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Laporte (2016) to Gimza (2021) to complement Gimza in equipment location identification and displaying the information on mobile device further complementing mobile device as not only a mapping tool, but also information providing tool (Laporte: Col.4 lines 55-62) . The motivation to combine would have been that Gimza and Laporte are analogous art to the instant claim in the field of data center mapping and inventory location identification (Laporte: Abstract: Gimza: Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one (e.g. a designer) of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Vissa (2018) to Laporte (2016) & Gimza (2021) complements Laporte & Gimza in equipment location identification and displaying the information on mobile device further complementing mobile device as not only a mapping tool, but also information providing tool (VissaL Fig.1 & 3; [0035]-[0044]; Laporte: Col.4 lines 55-62) . Vissa additionally provides other means to geolocation of items in the geofenced location (Vissa: [0027]). The motivation to combine would have been that Vissa, Gimza and Laporte are analogous art to the instant claim in the field of inventory location identification (Vissa: [0010] [0019]; Laporte: Abstract: Gimza: Abstract).
Regarding Claim 12
Gimza teaches the system of claim 11, wherein the geospatial inventory database is configured to map the IT equipment data to the IT record to update the IT record for the IT infrastructure and/or site (Gimza: Col.6 Lines 54-59 "... The monitoring system 10 can cause a reconciliation with an inventory application based on its evaluation such that the inventory application is updated based on discrepancies between the monitoring system 10 and data in the inventory application...." Col.12 Lines 64-66 "... The image data obtained from these cameras may be stored in the memory device 14 or database 20..." Col.13 Lines 36-54 "... The cameras can be used as a main source of the inventory for a certain duration of time when the connectivity to the devices is actually lost. As an augmentation monitoring system, it may be possible to achieve a broader coverage for different environmental conditions or situations...") . Laporte also teaches the geospatial inventory database, the geospatial inventory database to map the IT equipment data to the IT record to update the IT record for the IT infrastructure and/or site (Laporte: Col.6 Lines-Col.7 Line 30) .
Vissa also teaches reconciling moved items as shown in Fig.3 item 110.
Regarding Claim 13
Gimza & Laporte teaches the system of claim 11, wherein the geospatial inventory database is to generate an IT drawing based on the updated record (Gimza: Col.6 Line 51-59; Col.13 Lines 47-54 shows the updating the inventory; Laporte: teaches in Fig.4A Col.10 Lines 50-59, - IT drawing generated on the mobile device as map/virtual representation of data center).
---- This page is left blank after this line ----
Claim(s) 3-4 and 14-15 is/are newly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. US 11128539 B1 by Gimza; Marek et al., in view of US Patent No. US 9489399 B1 by Laporte; Russell et al., in view US PGPUB No. US 20190306665 A1 by Vissa; Sudhir C. et al. , further in view of US PGPUB No. US 20090072967 A1 by Campbell; Levi A. et al.
Regarding Claim 14 & 3
Teachings of Gimza, Laporte & Vissa are shown in the parent claim 12 & 1.
Laporte teaches location coordinates of the containers (such as racks and it contents (Laporte: Col.7 Lines 64-Col.8 Line.64). Vissa shows the 3D display in Fig.1 and 3 on mobile device (Vissa: [0044]).
Gimza and Laporte do not explicitly teach wherein the geospatial inventory database is to cause a printer to render the IT drawing on one or more papers.
Campbell teaches wherein the geospatial inventory database is to cause a printer to render the IT drawing on one or more papers (Campbell: Fig.3& [0026]-[0032] flow leading to automatically mapping the X-Y coordinates onto a map display (step 350); such coordinate information can be printed [0033] – i.e. rendered on paper).
Motivation to combine Vissa, Gizma and Laporte is incorporated from the respective parent claim.
It would have been obvious to one (e.g. a designer) of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Campbell to Laporte and Gizma to display the IT component/container location (as in Laporte above) automatically instead of manually performing CAD manipulation ([0016]). The motivation to combine would have been that Campbell complements Laporte to overcome the manual mapping limitation by automatically determine the physical X,Y location of electronics racks within a data center room without the need for manual mapping of the electronics racks by a facility manager, which may include recording the individual ID numbers and locations of electronics racks within the data center and then manually or otherwise correlating this information with Internet Protocol (IP) or Media Access Control (MAC) addresses (e.g., each time a data center undergoes reconfiguration) (Campbell: [0017]). X-y location can be perfprmed by Laporte via alternate camera based technology as mapped in parent claim 12. Further Campbell, Laporte and Gizma are analogous art to the instant claim in the field of mapping a data center (Campbell: Fig.3 & Abstract, Laporte: Fig.3 & 4A and Gizma: : Col.14 Lines 48-56 "... the system could use the CLLI information to associate that this camera feed is associated with a particular location, instead of using the IP address. Then, this information [camera location] can be associated with specific network elements. For example, Common Language, Location Identifier (CLLI) can do that....").
Regarding Claim 153 & 4
Laporte teaches wherein the IT drawing is a computer aided design (CAD) drawing (Laporte: Col.4 Lines 20-45).
---- This page is left blank after this line ----
Claim(s) 84-10 is/are newly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. US 11128539 B1 by Gimza; Marek et al., in view of US Patent No. US 9489399 B1 by Laporte; Russell et al. in view of in view of US PGPUB No. US 20190306665 A1 by Vissa; Sudhir C. et al., further in view of US PGPUB No. US 20210028999 A1 by Balakrishnan; Ganesh et al.
Regarding Claim 8
Teachings of Vissa, Gizma and Laporte are shown in the parent claim 7.
While Lapoerte shows location logic 280 for determining location for each IT device and displaying it (at least see Fig.2C, 3 and 4A), it does not disclose IT record stored with location information. Vissa teaches IT record part of the inventory (Vissa: [0010][0019]) which are stored using the positioning module and location module ; which are themselves stored [0022][0025][0036]).
Balakrishnan teaches the computer implemented method of claim 7, wherein the IT record is stored at a geospatial inventory database (Balakrishnan: Abstract Fig.4 & 6 [0039][0040][0052] "... Management application 930 may include a number of modules, including for example, a 3D model creation module 936 that receives data from a user and creates a 3D model of the data center, a code reading module 934 that receives codes from scanning device 940 and uses them to associate computing devices with locations in the data center, a status capture module 938 that captures status date from devices 310 via network 904 and stores that data to database 950...."5 , [0037] shows even bin location has x-y-z coordinates, such information would be more readily available from GPS teachings of Laporte and Vissa ).
It would have been obvious to one (e.g. a designer) of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Balakrishnan to Laporte and Gizma to store location information and keep it updated so as to plot in 3D view/mapping (Balakrishnan: See Fig.4 [0037]-[0040]) . The motivation to combine would have been that Balakrishnan, Laporte and Gizma are analogous art to the instant claim in the field of data center mapping (Balakrishnan, Laporte and Gizma: respective Abstract)
Regarding Claim 9
Balakrishnan teaches the computer implemented method of claim 7, wherein the geospatial inventory database is part of a geographic information system (GIS) (Balakrishnan teaches the: [0037]-[0039] GIS database as location database with X-y-Z coordinates related to bins/containers in Laporte) .
Regarding Claim 10
Balakrishnan teaches the computer implemented method of claim 9, wherein the mapping is based on a mapping model (Balakrishnan: [0042]-[0043] shows the data center model mapping as shown in Fig.5) .
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
---- This page is left blank after this line ----
Communication
AKASH SAXENA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2188
/AKASH SAXENA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2188 Wednesday, July 15, 2026
1 Claim 8 rejected twice.
2 US PGPUB No. US 20210028999 A1 by Balakrishnan; Ganesh et al. (Previously mapped) also teaches the computer implemented method of claim 7, wherein the IT record is stored at a geospatial inventory database (Balakrishnan: Abstract [0039][0040][0052] & Fig.4 & 6).
3 In alternate US 20190332730 A1 by AHMAD; Dilshad et al. [0043] creates a CAD model of data center from the conditioned space data (See Fig.3 flow and element 208) and using point coordinates (Fig.4 flow). This prior art is pertinent as it creates CAD model from ordinates data (Like Laporte and Campbell above) and may be used in future rejections.
4 Claim 8 rejected twice.
5 Addressing applicant’s arguments about storing location in database