DETAILED ACTION
Applicants' arguments, filed 04/29/2026, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103—New by Amendment
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8-9, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Shi et al., (WO2019/217269).
Shi et al. teaches “products, uses thereof, compositions thereof, and methods to prepare products formed from Maillard reaction products from a sugar donor and/or sweet tea extracts, stevia extracts, swingle (mogroside) extracts, one or more sweet tea extract components, one or more steviol glycosides, one or more mogrosides, one or more glycosylated sweet tea glycosides, one or more glycosylated steviol glycosides or one or more glycosylated mogrosides and an amine donor/reactant” (Abstract).
Shi et al. further teaches, “Maillard reactions create unique orthonasal and retronasal taste(s). The typically associated off-taste of stevia glycosides is either removed or masked with MRPs added to the stevia glycoside(s) and creates an overall good smell and taste of the resulting composition. MRPs increase the bitterness threshold to stevia glycosides and enhance intensity of sweetness, thus making stevia glycosides useful for sugar replacement or sugar reduction in a product. The inventors have surprisingly found the flavor of compositions herein, are the result of the process not only characterized by Maillard reaction between sugar donor and amine donor, but also is synergized by different groups of stevia glycosides with or without non-stevia glycosides substances. . . The initial SGs’ typical undesired taste features are thus concealed by the process . . .” (p. 5, para. [0020]).
The prior art teaches a generic embodiment of “A sweetener or flavoring composition comprising: (1) a first component comprising a Maillard reaction product (MRP) composition formed from a reaction mixture comprising: (a) one or more Stevia-related components selected from the group consisting of Stevia extracts, glycosylated Stevia extracts, steviol glycosides, and glycosylated steviol glycosides, and . . .wherein the first and second components are present in the sweetener composition in a concentration range of 1-100 wt% of the sweetener composition” (p. 435-436, paras. [003877]-[003882).
The prior art teaches specific embodiment of a “dairy product” (consumable; clm. 8), “wherein the first and second components are present in the dairy product in a concentration of 0.01-1% wt % of the dairy product” (p. 440, para. [003934]).
Accordingly, the prior art anticipates the claimed range of 0.001-25 wt% for the agent.
The compositions are also taught to comprise “unreacted reducing sugar(s) and/or a portion of unreacted amine donor(s)”, including “unreacted GSG” (p. 428, para. [003792]), as per claim 4.
The prior art composition further comprises flavoring agents such as “menthol” (p. 91, para. [00515]), as per claims 5-6, “bitter almonds” (p. 42, para. [00374]), which suffices as a bitter substance, as per claim 9.
The prior art is anticipatory insofar as it teaches a composition comprising an MRP-glycosylated stevia glycoside steviol glycoside (GSG-MRPs) within the claimed range of 0.001-25 wt% (clm 2), which is suitable to regulate a cooling effect or taste. Assuming, purely arguendo, that the prior art teaching is not specific enough to give rise to anticipation it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to provide a composition comprising MRP of stevia related components, e.g., GSG-MRPs, within the claimed range in view of the teaching of Shi et al. above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103—New by Amendment
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8-9, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR1020140082504) in view of Shi et al., (WO2019/217269).
Lee teaches a toothpaste composition comprising “silicon dioxide 1.0 weight%, sodium monofluorophosphate 0.37 weight%, D- sorbitol liquid 63 weight%, glycerine 0.8~1.2 weight%, polyethylene glycol (PEG-1500) 1.5~2.5 weight%, carboxymethylcellulose sodium 0.8~1.5 weight%, hydrated silicic acid 3.5~4.5 weight%, xylitol 0.2~1.2 weight%, steviol glycoside 0.1~1 weight%, green tea extract 0.1~1.5 weight%, sage extract 0.1~1.5 weight%, ginseng extract 0.5~1.5 weight%, propolis extract 0.1~1.5 weight%, oyster 0.1~1 weight%, (L) - menthol 0.1~2 weight%, call mint odor (HF-61399) 0.2~1.5 weight%, combination perfume (apple essence) (HF-30630) 0.1~1.5 weight% and purified water 25~35 weight%” (Abstract).
The one or more steviol glycosides “can make up 1%” of the compositions (p. 74, para. [00488]).
The prior art composition further comprises menthol, as per claim 5, mint odor or xylitol, which suffices as a flavoring substance, as per claim 6, sage extract, which suffices as a bitter substance, as per claim 9. The prior art toothpaste is a consumable product, as per claims 8-9 insofar as it is an oral hygiene product (see Specification at p. 29, [0126-0127]).
Lee does not teach a Maillard Reaction Product of stevia glycoside.
Shi et al. teaches products, uses thereof, compositions thereof, and methods to prepare products formed from Maillard reaction products from a sugar donor and/or sweet tea extracts, stevia extracts, swingle (mogroside) extracts, one or more sweet tea extract components, one or more steviol glycosides, one or more mogrosides, one or more glycosylated sweet tea glycosides, one or more glycosylated steviol glycosides or one or more glycosylated mogrosides and an amine donor/reactant” (Abstract).
Shi et al. further teaches the advantage of providing a Maillared reaction product, i.e., “Maillard reactions create unique orthonasal and retronasal taste(s). The typically associated off-taste of stevia glycosides is either removed or masked with MRPs added to the stevia glycoside(s) and creates an overall good smell and taste of the resulting composition. MRPs increase the bitterness threshold to stevia glycosides and enhance intensity of sweetness, thus making stevia glycosides useful for sugar replacement or sugar reduction in a product. The inventors have surprisingly found the flavor of compositions herein, are the result of the process not only characterized by Maillard reaction between sugar donor and amine donor, but also is synergized by different groups of stevia glycosides with or without non-stevia glycosides substances. . . The initial SGs’ typical undesired taste features are thus concealed by the process . . .” (p. 5, para. [0020]).
The compositions are also taught to comprise “unreacted reducing sugar(s) and/or a portion of unreacted amine donor(s)”, including “unreacted GSG” (p. 428, para. [003792]), as per claim 4, as part of the sweetening composition.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to use e.g. MRP glycosylated stevia glycoside as the stevia glycoside sweetener in the compositions of Lee for the advantage of avoiding the off-taste of stevia creating an overall good smell and taste for the resulting composition, as taught by Shi et al.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues for withdrawal of the prior art in view of the amended claims. However, a new ground of rejection was made in response to the amended claims. Accordingly, Applicant’s argument is moot at this time in view of the new ground of rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Walter E. Webb
/WALTER E WEBB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612