DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-9, 19-20 in the reply filed on 12/18/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no undue search burden on the Examiner. This is not found persuasive because applicant’s argument is unsupported by probative evidence, and therefore deemed purely speculative. Given the distinct nature of inventions, it is likely that the search for each invention would require different fields of search, require application of different prior art, and also raise different non-prior art issues under 35 USC 101 and/or 35 USC 112, first paragraph.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 10-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-9, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (KR1020140082504).
Lee teaches a toothpaste composition comprising “silicon dioxide 1.0 weight%, sodium monofluorophosphate 0.37 weight%, D- sorbitol liquid 63 weight%, glycerine 0.8~1.2 weight%, polyethylene glycol (PEG-1500) 1.5~2.5 weight%, carboxymethylcellulose sodium 0.8~1.5 weight%, hydrated silicic acid 3.5~4.5 weight%, xylitol 0.2~1.2 weight%, steviol glycoside 0.1~1 weight%, green tea extract 0.1~1.5 weight%, sage extract 0.1~1.5 weight%, ginseng extract 0.5~1.5 weight%, propolis extract 0.1~1.5 weight%, oyster 0.1~1 weight%, (L) - menthol 0.1~2 weight%, call mint odor (HF-61399) 0.2~1.5 weight%, combination perfume (apple essence) (HF-30630) 0.1~1.5 weight% and purified water 25~35 weight%” (Abstract).
The prior art is anticipatory insofar as it teaches a composition comprising steviol glycoside 0.1-1 wt% (clm 2), which suffices as an agent, i.e. a natural high-intensity sweetener, that regulates a cooling effect or taste, wherein the amount is sufficient to regulate a cooling effect or taste, especially in view of the instant claim 7.
The prior art composition further comprises menthol, as per claim 5, mint odor or xylitol, which suffices as a flavoring substance, as per claim 6, sage extract, which suffices as a bitter substance, as per claim 9. The prior art toothpaste is a consumable product, as per claims 8-9 insofar as it is an oral hygiene product (see Specification at p. 29, [0126-0127]).
The prior art composition is a flavor or sweetening composition as per claims 19-20 insofar as it comprises a high intensity sweetener and glycerin, wherein the weight ratio of glycerin to high intensity sweetener is, at the low end of the prior art ranges for each, 0.8 to 0.1 or 8/1, which falls within the claimed range of 99:1 to 1:99. As a consumable product, it is capable of performing the intended use of claims 19-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR1020140082504) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Miyake (US 4,219,571).
Lee, which is taught above, differs from claims 3-4 insofar as it does not teach a glycosylated stevia glycoside.
Miyake teaches that steviol glycoside a.k.a stevioside, is known for imparting “bitterness and astringency” in addition to being sweet (col. 2, lines 1-9). Miyake teaches an alternative steviol glycoside, i.e., “alpha-glycosyl stevioside” (a glycosylated stevia glycoside) (Abstract), which “[p]ossesses neither of the bitterness nor astringency”, and has been associated with steviol glycoside, and “[p]ossesses a substantially and desirably improved water solubility” (col. 2, lines 32-37).
In both the syrup and powder from, the new sweetener comprises “unreacted stevioside” (SG), as per claim 4 (col. 6, lines 43-50).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to use glycosylated stevia glycoside in the compositions of Lee for the advantage of the desirable improved water solubility as well as avoiding the bitterness and astringency associated with stevia glycoside.
Conclusion
Walter E. Webb
/WALTER E WEBB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612