DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, encompassing claims 1-11, in the reply filed on 12/31/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that search and examination can be made without serous burden because Group I and III are directed to a single inventive concept and are clearly similar and overlapping. This is not found persuasive because
(i) this application is not a national stage application that shall relate to one invention only or to a group of inventions so linked as to form a single general inventive concept; and
(ii) as noted by the applicant, Group I and III are different inventions. Each invention requires a different field of search. Applicants’ attention is drawn to the fact that the inventions in Group I and III are independent and distinct and require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries); and/or the prior art applicable to one invention would not likely be applicable to another invention, which introduces additional search and examination burden.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Thus, claims 1-11 are examined on the merits and claims 12-20 are withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation: “a trigger mechanism that activates a cleaning cycle by activating the one or more light sources” in claim 1.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: a controller (paragraph [0046]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mounier et al (WO 2020/104734, see the attached machine translation) in view of Shatalov et al (PG-PUB US 2019/0299260).
Regarding claim 1, Mounier et al disclose an air treatment device for a seat (ABSTRACT & Figure 5, page 8). The apparatus comprises
(1) a flexible sheet 9 coupled to photocatalytic material 3 thereupon (i.e., a cover layer with a photocatalyst, Figures 1-3, & 7-9, page 6 & page 10); and
(2) a light device 7 in UV spectrum including flexible optical fiber ( i.e., light emitting fiber layer, Figures 1-3, & 7-9, page 5, page 6, & page 9).
Mounier does not teach a light diffusing layer between the flexible layer and the light device or a trigger mechanism for activate the light source. However, Shatalov et al disclose an air treatment device (ABSTRACT & paragraph [0005]). Shatalov teaches that the apparatus comprises (i) a UV light source 16 covered with a diffusive material 32 for uniformly irradiate the UV light to the treatment region and (ii) a control component 20 (i.e., a trigger mechanism) to activate the light source 16 for the treatment in the treatment region (Figures 1, 3a & 3B, paragraphs [0034] – [0036], & [0046] –[0047]). Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to cover the light source with a diffusive material and to include a control unit as suggested by Shatalov in order to uniformly irradiate the UV light to the treatment region and activate the light source for the treatment within the device of Mounier.
As such, the diffusive material is provided between the flexible structure 9 and the light source having the optical fiber.
Regarding claim 2, Mounier teaches that a porous substrate 5 is provided to support the components and to attach the seat (Figure 5, pages 7-8).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Mounier teaches that the porous substrate 5 may comprises silicone (page 7-8). Shatalov teaches that the components may be supported on a moldable silicone (paragraph [0026]).
Regarding claim 5, Shatalov teaches that a reflector 38 is provided for reflecting the UV light to the treatment region 12 (Figure 3C, paragraph [0049]). Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to include a reflector as suggested by Shatalov in order to reflect the UV light to the treatment region within the device of Mounier/Shatalov.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Shatalov teaches that the light source may be toward or away from the diffusive layer and the reflector (Figures 3).
Regarding claim 8, Shatalov teaches that the diffusive cover 32 comprises a first/upper layer and a second/lower layer to surround the light source 16 and the reflector is provided (Figures 3A, 3B & 3C).
Regarding claim 9, Shatalov teaches that a heat sink/heat extraction module may be attached to the light source 16 (paragraph [0036]).
Regarding claim 10, Mounier teaches that the light sources 7 are connected in series and to conductive circuit 90 through cables 11 (Figures 1-2, page 7). Shatalov teaches that the control component 20 is connected to the light source 16 for controlling the operation of the light source 16 (Figure 1, paragraph [0034]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mounier et al (WO 2020/104734) and Shatalov et al (PG-PUB US 2019/0299260) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Farnworth et al (PB-PUB US 2009/0151058).
Regarding claim 11, Shatalov teaches that the diffusive covering material may comprises fluoropolymer (paragraph [0047]), but Mounier/Shatalov does not teach the diffusive covering material comprising polyester. However, Farnworth et al disclose diffusive protective material (ABSTRACT). Farnworth teaches that the diffusive protective material may comprises fluoropolymer or polyester (paragraphs [0022] -[0023]). The teaching of Farnworth shows that polyester is an equivalent diffusive material. Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to utilize a diffusive material comprising polyester because it is an art-recognized equivalent.
Furthermore, the claimed limitations are obvious because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results (MPEP 2143A).
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 10, and 21-23 of U.S. Patent No. 12,144,902. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claims an apparatus comprises substantially the same elements as that of the issued patent.
Conclusion
Claims 1-11 are rejected. Claims 12-20 are withdrawn.
/XIUYU TAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795