DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments—set forth at pp. 7-9 in the Remarks with respect to independent claims 1, 9, and 15—have been fully considered but are moot because the new grounds of rejection relies on one or more reference not applied in the prior rejection of record for some teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 9, 10, 12, 15, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0295640 (hereinafter, “ZOU”) in view of US 2022/0330367 (hereinafter, “INOHIZA”).
Regarding claim 1, ZOU discloses:
A link selection method, for a wireless local area network (¶ 0005: mobile network, e.g., 4G), the method comprising:
obtaining, by a station (STA) (mobile terminal 100), information for link selection; and (¶ 0075: An application may be installed on the mobile terminal. When the application starts, the application may perform the data acquisition on the service types configured for the application, to obtain data information. The scheduling mechanism may determine the addresses of the first target service nodes based on the data information)
sending, by the STA, a link selection indication to an access point (AP) (¶ 0060: access points), the STA being wirelessly connected to the AP, (¶ 0074: In step S101, the mobile terminal may [the] send data information to the scheduling mechanism)
the wireless local area network comprising a plurality of links between the STA and the AP (¶¶ 0005: [A] mobile network has complex environment, 2G, 2.5G, 3G, 4G, and WiFi, and each standard includes many types based on different carriers, for example 3G includes WCDMA, CDMA2000, TD-SCDMA, etc.), . . . ,
the link selection indication being indicative of a target link corresponding to a target service type, (¶¶ 0077-0078: In step S102, the mobile terminal may receive the address of the first target service node. [0078] The mobile terminal may receive the addresses of the first target service nodes allocated by the scheduling mechanism) the target link comprising at least one of the plurality of links, and (¶ 0081: [T]he mobile terminal receiving response information, where the response information may include the information of response time using the path between a first target service node and the desired domain name; the mobile terminal sending the response information to the scheduling mechanism; and the mobile terminal obtaining a first target link, where the first target link may be a path determined by the scheduling mechanism based on the response information)
the link selection indication comprising first information indicating the target service type and second information indicating the target link. (¶ 0081: The mobile terminal directing the application traffic to the first target service nodes based on the address of the service node and the service type of the application traffic may include: based on the first target link and the service type of the application traffic, directing the application traffic to the first target service node; ¶ 0084: In step S105, the mobile terminal may direct the application traffic to the first target service nodes based on the addresses of the service nodes and the service types of the application traffic)
ZOU does not explicitly disclose:
the plurality of links being on different channels,
In the same field of endeavor, however, INOHIZA teaches:
the plurality of links being on different channels, (¶¶ 0006-0007: [A] technique for establishing a plurality of links between an access point (AP) and a station (STA) via a plurality of different frequency channels to perform communication . . . in the IEEE 802.11be standard, multi-link communication in which an AP and an STA establish a plurality of links on different frequency channels and communicate in parallel)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ZOU’s mobile terminal traffic processing procedure to provide a plurality of links between an access point (AP) and a station (STA) via a plurality of different frequency channels as taught by INOHIZA so as to enable use of an appropriate MAC frame to communicate information about communication via a plurality of links compliant with an IEEE 802.11 series standard to be established with a partner apparatus on a plurality of different frequency channels, so as to provide even higher throughput and improved frequency use efficiency. See INOHIZA, at ¶¶ 0006-0008.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of ZOU and INOHIZA, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. ZOU further discloses:
wherein obtaining, by the STA, the information for link selection comprises:
receiving, by the STA, a link selection request sent by the AP, wherein the link selection request requests the STA to send the link selection indication;
or
obtaining, by the STA, data to be transmitted, wherein the data to be transmitted belongs to the target service type. (¶ 0075: An application may be installed on the mobile terminal. When the application starts, the application may perform the data acquisition on the service types configured for the application, to obtain data information. The scheduling mechanism may determine the addresses of the first target service nodes based on the data information)
Regarding claim 9, ZOU discloses:
A station (STA) (mobile terminal 100), comprising a processor (¶ 0137: processing unit) and a transceiver (first sending unit 10, first receiving unit 20), wherein the transceiver operates . . . ; and
the transceiver is configured to:
perform receiving and sending actions . . . under the control of the processor;
obtain information for link selection; and (¶ 0075: An application may be installed on the mobile terminal. When the application starts, the application may perform the data acquisition on the service types configured for the application, to obtain data information. The scheduling mechanism may determine the addresses of the first target service nodes based on the data information)
send a link selection indication to an access point (AP) (¶ 0060: access points), the STA being wirelessly connected to the AP, (¶ 0074: In step S101, the mobile terminal may [the] send data information to the scheduling mechanism)
a wireless local area network comprising a plurality of links between the STA and the AP (¶ 0005: multi-link operations; ¶ 0031: [M]ulti-band cooperative AP 105 and the multi-band cooperative STA 155 have simultaneous transmission and reception capability for communicating using different wireless bands), . . .
the link selection indication being indicative of a target link corresponding to a target service type, (¶¶ 0077-0078: In step S102, the mobile terminal may receive the address of the first target service node. [0078] The mobile terminal may receive the addresses of the first target service nodes allocated by the scheduling mechanism)
the target link comprising at least one of the plurality of links, and (¶ 0081: [T]he mobile terminal receiving response information, where the response information may include the information of response time using the path between a first target service node and the desired domain name; the mobile terminal sending the response information to the scheduling mechanism; and the mobile terminal obtaining a first target link, where the first target link may be a path determined by the scheduling mechanism based on the response information)
the link selection indication comprising first information indicating the target service type and second information indicating the target link. (¶ 0081: The mobile terminal directing the application traffic to the first target service nodes based on the address of the service node and the service type of the application traffic may include: based on the first target link and the service type of the application traffic, directing the application traffic to the first target service node; ¶ 0084: In step S105, the mobile terminal may direct the application traffic to the first target service nodes based on the addresses of the service nodes and the service types of the application traffic)
ZOU does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the transceiver operates on a plurality of different channels; and
the transceiver is configured to perform receiving and sending actions on one or more channels under control of the processor
the plurality of links being on different channels,
In the same field of endeavor, however, INOHIZA teaches:
wherein the transceiver operates on a plurality of different channels; and (¶ 0007: [E]stablish a plurality of links on different frequency channels and communicate in parallel)
the transceiver is configured to perform receiving and sending actions on one or more channels under control of the processor (¶¶ 0006-0007: [A] technique for establishing a plurality of links between an access point (AP) and a station (STA) via a plurality of different frequency channels to perform communication . . . in the IEEE 802.11be standard, multi-link communication in which an AP and an STA establish a plurality of links on different frequency channels and communicate in parallel)
the plurality of links being on different channels, (¶ 0007: [E]stablish a plurality of links on different frequency channels and communicate in parallel)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ZOU’s mobile terminal traffic processing procedure to provide a plurality of links between an access point (AP) and a station (STA) via a plurality of different frequency channels as taught by INOHIZA so as to enable use of an appropriate MAC frame to communicate information about communication via a plurality of links compliant with an IEEE 802.11 series standard to be established with a partner apparatus on a plurality of different frequency channels, so as to provide even higher throughput and improved frequency use efficiency. See INOHIZA, at ¶¶ 0006-0008.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of ZOU and INOHIZA, as applied above, renders obvious the STA of claim 9. ZOU does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the transceiver comprises a plurality of radio frequency circuits, and the plurality of radio frequency circuits operate on the plurality of different channels.
In the same field of endeavor, however, INOHIZA teaches:
wherein the transceiver comprises a plurality of radio frequency circuits, and the plurality of radio frequency circuits operate on the plurality of different channels. (¶¶ 0006-0007: [A] technique for establishing a plurality of links between an access point (AP) and a station (STA) via a plurality of different frequency channels to perform communication . . . in the IEEE 802.11be standard, multi-link communication in which an AP and an STA establish a plurality of links on different frequency channels and communicate in parallel)
Regarding claim 12, the combination of ZOU and INOHIZA, as applied above, renders obvious the STA of claim 9. ZOU further discloses:
wherein the information for link selection comprises: a link selection request sent by the AP, wherein the link selection request requests the STA to send the link selection indication;
or
data to be transmitted, wherein the data to be transmitted belongs to the target service type. (¶ 0075: An application may be installed on the mobile terminal. When the application starts, the application may perform the data acquisition on the service types configured for the application, to obtain data information. The scheduling mechanism may determine the addresses of the first target service nodes based on the data information).
Regarding claim 15, ZOU discloses:
A station (STA) (mobile terminal 100), comprising:
a processor; (¶ 0137: processing unit)
a non-transitory memory storing a program to be executed in the processor, (¶ 0138: [P]rogram code executable by the computing device, so that they may be stored in the memory means to be executed by the computing devices)
the program comprising instruction to generate a link selection indication (¶ 0075: An application may be installed on the mobile terminal. When the application starts, the application may perform the data acquisition on the service types configured for the application, to obtain data information. The scheduling mechanism may determine the addresses of the first target service nodes based on the data information) to an access point (AP) (¶ 0060: access points), the STA being wirelessly connected to the AP, (¶ 0074: In step S101, the mobile terminal may [the] send data information to the scheduling mechanism)
a wireless local area network comprising a plurality of links between the STA and the AP (¶ 0005: multi-link operations; ¶ 0031: [M]ulti-band cooperative AP 105 and the multi-band cooperative STA 155 have simultaneous transmission and reception capability for communicating using different wireless bands), . . .
the link selection indication being indicative of a target link corresponding to a target service type, (¶¶ 0077-0078: In step S102, the mobile terminal may receive the address of the first target service node. [0078] The mobile terminal may receive the addresses of the first target service nodes allocated by the scheduling mechanism)
the target link comprising at least one of the plurality of links, and (¶ 0081: [T]he mobile terminal receiving response information, where the response information may include the information of response time using the path between a first target service node and the desired domain name; the mobile terminal sending the response information to the scheduling mechanism; and the mobile terminal obtaining a first target link, where the first target link may be a path determined by the scheduling mechanism based on the response information)
the link selection indication comprising first information indicating the target service type and second information indicating the target link; and (¶ 0081: The mobile terminal directing the application traffic to the first target service nodes based on the address of the service node and the service type of the application traffic may include: based on the first target link and the service type of the application traffic, directing the application traffic to the first target service node; ¶ 0084: In step S105, the mobile terminal may direct the application traffic to the first target service nodes based on the addresses of the service nodes and the service types of the application traffic)
a transceiver (first sending unit 10, first receiving unit 20) configured to operate . . . and configured to:
perform receiving and sending actions . . . under control of the processor;
send the link selection indication to the AP. (¶ 0074: In step S101, the mobile terminal may [the] send data information to the scheduling mechanism)
ZOU does not explicitly disclose:
the plurality of links being on different channels,
wherein the transceiver operates on a plurality of different channels and configured to:
perform receiving and sending actions on one or more channels under control of the processor;
In the same field of endeavor, however, INOHIZA teaches:
the plurality of links being on different channels, (¶ 0007: [E]stablish a plurality of links on different frequency channels and communicate in parallel)
wherein the transceiver operates on a plurality of different channels and configured to: (¶¶ 0006-0007: [A] technique for establishing a plurality of links between an access point (AP) and a station (STA) via a plurality of different frequency channels to perform communication . . . in the IEEE 802.11be standard, multi-link communication in which an AP and an STA establish a plurality of links on different frequency channels and communicate in parallel)
perform receiving and sending actions on one or more channels under control of the processor; (¶ 0007: [E]stablish a plurality of links on different frequency channels and communicate in parallel)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ZOU’s mobile terminal traffic processing procedure to provide a plurality of links between an access point (AP) and a station (STA) via a plurality of different frequency channels as taught by INOHIZA so as to enable use of an appropriate MAC frame to communicate information about communication via a plurality of links compliant with an IEEE 802.11 series standard to be established with a partner apparatus on a plurality of different frequency channels, so as to provide even higher throughput and improved frequency use efficiency. See INOHIZA, at ¶¶ 0006-0008.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of ZOU and INOHIZA, as applied above, renders obvious the STA of claim 15. ZOU does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the transceiver comprises a plurality of radio frequency circuits, and the plurality of radio frequency circuits operate on the plurality of different channels.
In the same field of endeavor, however, INOHIZA teaches:
wherein the transceiver comprises a plurality of radio frequency circuits, and the plurality of radio frequency circuits operate on the plurality of different channels. (¶¶ 0006-0007: [A] technique for establishing a plurality of links between an access point (AP) and a station (STA) via a plurality of different frequency channels to perform communication . . . in the IEEE 802.11be standard, multi-link communication in which an AP and an STA establish a plurality of links on different frequency channels and communicate in parallel)
Regarding claim 18, the combination of ZOU and INOHIZA, as applied above, renders obvious the STA of claim 15. ZOU further discloses:
wherein the information for link selection comprises: a link selection request sent by the AP, wherein the link selection request requests the STA to send the link selection indication;
or
data to be transmitted, wherein the data to be transmitted belongs to the target service type. (¶ 0075: An application may be installed on the mobile terminal. When the application starts, the application may perform the data acquisition on the service types configured for the application, to obtain data information. The scheduling mechanism may determine the addresses of the first target service nodes based on the data information)
Claims 2, 3, 5, 8, 11, 13, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over ZOU in view of INOHIZA, and further in view of US 2020/0163141 (hereinafter, “HSU”).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of ZOU and INOHIZA, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. ZOU does not explicitly disclose:
wherein after the STA sends the link selection indication to the AP, the method further comprises:
receiving, by the STA on the target link, a scheduling frame sent by the AP; and
sending, by the STA on the target link, service data of a target service type to the AP based on the scheduling frame.
In the same field of endeavor, however, HSU teaches:
wherein after the STA sends the link selection indication to the AP, the method further comprises:
receiving, by the STA on the target link, a scheduling frame sent by the AP; and (¶ 0032: [A]fter receiving an enhanced distributed channel access (EDCA) transmission opportunity (TXOP) frame, the STA 155 can begin transmitting frames over the respective band during the window of time provided in the EDCA TXOP frame)
sending, by the STA on the target link, service data of a target service type to the AP based on the scheduling frame. (¶ 0032: [A]fter receiving an enhanced distributed channel access (EDCA) transmission opportunity (TXOP) frame, the STA 155 can begin transmitting frames over the respective band during the window of time provided in the EDCA TXOP frame)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ZOU’s mobile terminal traffic processing procedure to provide a plurality of links between an access point (AP) and a station (STA) via a plurality of different frequency channels as taught by INOHIZA so as to enable use of an appropriate MAC frame to communicate information about communication via a plurality of links compliant with an IEEE 802.11 series standard to be established with a partner apparatus on a plurality of different frequency channels, so as to provide even higher throughput and improved frequency use efficiency. See INOHIZA, at ¶¶ 0006-0008.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of ZOU and INOHIZA, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 2. ZOU further discloses:
wherein the scheduling frame comprises an indication of the target service type. (¶ 0075: [S]cheduling mechanism may determine the addresses of the first target service nodes; ¶ 0106: [A]llocate new traffic scheduling configuration)
Regarding claim 5, the combination of ZOU and INOHIZA, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 4. ZOU does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the link selection request comprises a service type identity of the target service type and/or a link identity of a recommended link.
In the same field of endeavor, however, HSU teaches:
wherein the link selection request comprises a service type identity of the target service type and/or a link identity of a recommended link. (¶ 0035: [T]he AP sends request frame 215 carrying link IDs and an ENABLE flags to the STA to enable one or more disabled links)
Regarding claim 8, the combination of ZOU and INOHIZA, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. ZOU further discloses:
wherein the target link is determined based on link quality information of the plurality of links and the target service type, and (¶ 0028: [T]he mobile terminal is configured to obtain quality monitoring data, wherein the quality monitoring data is configured to analyze operation quality of the system; and the scheduling mechanism is further configured to receive the quality monitoring data sent from the mobile terminal, and execute analysis to obtain a result of analysis, the scheduling mechanism being configured to execute related processing based on the result of analysis)
ZOU does not explicitly disclose:
the link quality information comprises at least one of a bandwidth, a transmission delay, or a packet loss rate.
In the same field of endeavor, however, HSU teaches:
the link quality information comprises at least one of a bandwidth, a transmission delay, or a packet loss rate. (¶ 0028: The capabilities may include, for example, RF bands (2.4G, 5G, 6G), Number of Spatial Streams (NSS), bandwidth (e.g., 20 MHz, 40 MHz, etc.), and a station type (EHT, HE, VHT, or HT STA). The operational parameters can include, for example, Link ID, primary band and operation BW of the link, a required delay from disabled status to enabled status, and a required delay for switching channels)
Regarding claim 11, the combination of ZOU and INOHIZA, as applied above, renders obvious the STA of claim 9. ZOU further discloses:
wherein the scheduling frame comprises an indication to the target service type. (¶ 0075: [S]cheduling mechanism may determine the addresses of the first target service nodes; ¶ 0106: [A]llocate new traffic scheduling configuration)
ZOU not explicitly disclose:
wherein after the STA sends the link selection indication of the AP,
the transceiver is configured to receive, on the target link, a scheduling frame sent by the AP; and
send, on the target link, service data of a target service type of the AP based on the scheduling frame,
In the same field of endeavor, however, HSU teaches:
wherein after the STA sends the link selection indication of the AP,
the transceiver is configured to receive, on the target link, a scheduling frame sent by the AP; and (¶ 0032: [A]fter receiving an enhanced distributed channel access (EDCA) transmission opportunity (TXOP) frame, the STA 155 can begin transmitting frames over the respective band during the window of time provided in the EDCA TXOP frame)
send, on the target link, service data of a target service type of the AP based on the scheduling frame, (¶ 0032: [A]fter receiving an enhanced distributed channel access (EDCA) transmission opportunity (TXOP) frame, the STA 155 can begin transmitting frames over the respective band during the window of time provided in the EDCA TXOP frame)
Regarding claim 13, the combination of ZOU and INOHIZA, as applied above, renders obvious the STA of claim 12. ZOU does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the link selection request comprises a service type identity of the target service type and/or a link identity of a recommended link.
In the same field of endeavor, however, HSU teaches:
wherein the link selection request comprises a service type identity of the target service type and/or a link identity of a recommended link. (¶ 0035: [T]he AP sends request frame 215 carrying link IDs and an ENABLE flags to the STA to enable one or more disabled links)
Regarding claim 17, the combination of ZOU and INOHIZA, as applied above, renders obvious the STA of claim 15. ZOU further discloses:
wherein the scheduling frame comprises an indication to the target service type. (¶ 0075: [S]cheduling mechanism may determine the addresses of the first target service nodes; ¶ 0106: [A]llocate new traffic scheduling configuration)
ZOU not explicitly disclose:
wherein after the STA sends the link selection indication to the AP, the transceiver is configured to receive, on the target link, a scheduling frame sent by the AP,
. . .
wherein the program comprises further instructions to generate service data of the target service type to the AP based on the scheduling frame, and
wherein transceiver is configured to send, on the target link, the service data of the target service type to the AP based on the scheduling frame.
In the same field of endeavor, however, HSU teaches:
wherein after the STA sends the link selection indication to the AP, the transceiver is configured to receive, on the target link, a scheduling frame sent by the AP, (¶ 0032: [A]fter receiving an enhanced distributed channel access (EDCA) transmission opportunity (TXOP) frame, the STA 155 can begin transmitting frames over the respective band during the window of time provided in the EDCA TXOP frame)
wherein the program comprises further instructions to generate service data of the target service type to the AP based on the scheduling frame, and (¶ 0032: [A]fter receiving an enhanced distributed channel access (EDCA) transmission opportunity (TXOP) frame, the STA 155 can begin transmitting frames over the respective band during the window of time provided in the EDCA TXOP frame)
wherein transceiver is configured to send, on the target link, the service data of the target service type to the AP based on the scheduling frame. (¶ 0032: [A]fter receiving an enhanced distributed channel access (EDCA) transmission opportunity (TXOP) frame, the STA 155 can begin transmitting frames over the respective band during the window of time provided in the EDCA TXOP frame)
Regarding claim 20, the combination of ZOU and INOHIZA, as applied above, renders obvious the STA of claim 15. HSU further discloses:
wherein the target link is determined based on link quality information of the plurality of links and the target service type, and (¶ 0028: [T]he mobile terminal is configured to obtain quality monitoring data, wherein the quality monitoring data is configured to analyze operation quality of the system; and the scheduling mechanism is further configured to receive the quality monitoring data sent from the mobile terminal, and execute analysis to obtain a result of analysis, the scheduling mechanism being configured to execute related processing based on the result of analysis)
ZOU does not explicitly disclose:
the link quality information comprises at least one of a bandwidth, a transmission delay, or a packet loss rate.
In the same field of endeavor, however, HSU teaches:
the link quality information comprises at least one of a bandwidth, a transmission delay, or a packet loss rate. (¶ 0028: The capabilities may include, for example, RF bands (2.4G, 5G, 6G), Number of Spatial Streams (NSS), bandwidth (e.g., 20 MHz, 40 MHz, etc.), and a station type (EHT, HE, VHT, or HT STA). The operational parameters can include, for example, Link ID, primary band and operation BW of the link, a required delay from disabled status to enabled status, and a required delay for switching channels)
Claims 6, 7, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over ZOU in view of INOHIZA, as applied above, and further in view of US 2012/0250605 (hereinafter, “DU”).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of ZOU and INOHIZA, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 4. ZOU does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the link selection request is in a buffer status report poll (BSRP) frame sent by the AP to the STA.
In the same field of endeavor, however, HSU teaches:
wherein the link selection request is . . . sent by the AP to the STA. (¶ 0035: [T]he AP sends request frame 215 carrying link IDs and an ENABLE flags to the STA to enable one or more disabled links)
Also, In the same field of endeavor, however, DU teaches:
use of a link-specific extension factor information element within reporting of buffer status information (¶ 0010: Reporting of information regarding the buffers status of the user equipment [is] known as buffer status reporting for providing the serving base station, and more particularly the serving LTE enhanced NodeB (eNB), with information about the amount of data available for transmission in the uplink buffers of the user equipment (Un); ¶ 0054: For a long E-BSR [extended-buffer status report] 54 shown in FIG. 6, . . . different extension factors can be provided to be applied to the different LCGs [logical channel groups], respectively. [The Examiner finds that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make use of “buffer status reporting”—a well-known technique—for communicating an information element (IE) in which a link selection request is substituted for and/or provided together with DU’s link-specific extension factor to yield the predictable result of extending existing signaling without separate transmission of a link selection request while avoiding extraneous messaging])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ZOU’s mobile terminal traffic processing procedure to provide buffer status reporting as taught by DU so as to decrease, for example, MAC signaling overhead, in communicating link selection in the request frame. See DU, at ¶ 0065.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of ZOU and INOHIZA, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. ZOU does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the link selection indication is in a buffer status report (BSR) field sent by the STA to the AP.
In the same field of endeavor, however, HSU teaches:
wherein the link selection indication is . . . sent by the STA to the AP. (¶ 0023: The STA sends a response frame 220 to the AP to indicate which link or links will be enabled)
Also, in the same field of endeavor, DU teaches:
use of a link-specific extension factor information element within buffer status report (BSR) (¶ 0051: [E]xtended buffer status report (E-BSR) 50 comprises a normal buffer status report (BSR) . . . provided by an extension factor (EF) information element (IE); ¶ 0054: For a long E-BSR [extended-buffer status report] 54 shown in FIG. 6, . . . different extension factors can be provided to be applied to the different LCGs [logical channel groups], respectively. [The Examiner finds that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make use of BSR signaling—a well-known technique—for communicating an information element (IE) in which a link selection indication is substituted for and/or provided together with DU’s link-specific extension factor to yield the predictable result of extending existing signaling for additionally sending a link selection indication while avoiding extraneous messaging])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ZOU’s mobile terminal traffic processing procedure to provide a BSR as taught by DU so as to decrease, for example, MAC signaling overhead, in communicating link selection in the request frame. See DU, at ¶ 0065.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of ZOU and INOHIZA, as applied above, renders obvious the STA of claim 9. ZOU does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the link selection indication is in a buffer status report (BSR) field sent by the STA to the AP.
In the same field of endeavor, however, HSU teaches:
wherein the link selection indication is . . . sent by the STA to the AP. (¶ 0023: The STA sends a response frame 220 to the AP to indicate which link or links will be enabled)
Also, in the same field of endeavor, DU teaches:
use of a link-specific extension factor information element within buffer status report (BSR) (¶ 0051: [E]xtended buffer status report (E-BSR) 50 comprises a normal buffer status report (BSR) . . . provided by an extension factor (EF) information element (IE); ¶ 0054: For a long E-BSR [extended-buffer status report] 54 shown in FIG. 6, . . . different extension factors can be provided to be applied to the different LCGs [logical channel groups], respectively. [The Examiner finds that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make use of BSR signaling—a well-known technique—for communicating an information element (IE) in which a link selection indication is substituted for and/or provided together with DU’s link-specific extension factor to yield the predictable result of extending existing signaling for additionally sending a link selection indication while avoiding extraneous messaging])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ZOU’s mobile terminal traffic processing procedure to provide a BSR as taught by DU so as to decrease, for example, MAC signaling overhead, in communicating link selection in the request frame. See DU, at ¶ 0065.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of ZOU and INOHIZA, as applied above, renders obvious the STA of claim 15. ZOU does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the link selection indication is in a buffer status report (BSR) field sent by the STA to the AP.
In the same field of endeavor, however, HSU teaches:
wherein the link selection indication is . . . sent by the STA to the AP. (¶ 0023: The STA sends a response frame 220 to the AP to indicate which link or links will be enabled)
Also, in the same field of endeavor, DU teaches:
use of a link-specific extension factor information element within buffer status report (BSR) (¶ 0051: [E]xtended buffer status report (E-BSR) 50 comprises a normal buffer status report (BSR) . . . provided by an extension factor (EF) information element (IE); ¶ 0054: For a long E-BSR [extended-buffer status report] 54 shown in FIG. 6, . . . different extension factors can be provided to be applied to the different LCGs [logical channel groups], respectively. [The Examiner finds that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make use of BSR signaling—a well-known technique—for communicating an information element (IE) in which a link selection indication is substituted for and/or provided together with DU’s link-specific extension factor to yield the predictable result of extending existing signaling for additionally sending a link selection indication while avoiding extraneous messaging])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ZOU’s mobile terminal traffic processing procedure to provide a BSR as taught by DU so as to decrease, for example, MAC signaling overhead, in communicating link selection in the request frame. See DU, at ¶ 0065.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Kathy Wang-Hurst can be reached at 571-270-5371. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/GARTH D RICHMOND/Examiner, Art Unit 2644
/KATHY W WANG-HURST/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2644