DETAILED ACTION
35 USC § 101
Examiner note: The “computer program product comprising a computer readable storage medium” is explicitly defined in the specification as being a part of a storage device which is explicitly defined as a tangible device. Therefore claims 15-20 are considered statutory subject matter.
Claim Objections
Claims 6, 13, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims recite “form a group” which should be “from a group”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-12, 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Ay U.S. Patent/PG Publication 20180147062.
Regarding claim 1 (independent):
A system comprising: a memory and a processor in communication with the memory, the processor being configured to perform processes comprising: (Ay [0136] FIG. 1A further illustrates that the modeling unit 104 can have one or multiple processing units 108, memory units 110, communication units 112, or any combination thereof. The processing unit 108 can be coupled to the memory and communication units 110, 112 through, for example, high-speed buses.).
receiving a three-dimensional (3D) model (Ay [0103] The systems and methods disclosed can include acquiring data, creating digital models, manufacturing the digitally created models, or any combination thereof.)(Ay [0008] More specifically, this disclosure relates to generating 3D models at least partly from a geometric design definition.).
receiving information on a physical object (Ay [0131] The data acquisition devices 102 can be used to capture (also referred to as image, digitally image, or any combination thereof) reference and target objects 103R, 103T. The data acquisition devices 102 can be, for example, sensors, imaging devices, computing devices, digital hand drawings, or any other image capturing device. The imaging devices can be, for example, scanners, cameras, x-ray devices, MRI systems, ultrasound systems, ultrasonographic systems, CT systems, or any combination thereof.)(Ay [0164] Data associated with the reference objects can be determined in operation 202, for example, when the reference object is acquired or at any point thereafter. For example, for people and animals, data such as the age, gender, body weight, body shape, body dimensions (e.g., height), body part dimensions (e.g., wrist dimensions, limb length), body mass index (BMI), reference object dimensions, or any combination thereof, associated with the reference object and/or associated with the subject of the reference object can be determined. For example, for inanimate objects, data such as dimensions and geometric features of the inanimate object can be determined.).
identifying an abutment between the 3D model and the physical object from the information (Ay [0107] The 3D models disclosed can be designed to fit one or more target objects, for example, from data acquired and/or generated from one or more reference objects. The design of 3D models designed to fit one or more target objects can also be based on data acquired and/or generated from the target objects. 3D models that are designed to fit target objects are referred to as 3D target models.)(Ay [0109] Target objects can be topologically isomorphic to the reference objects that the 3D reference models are designed to fit.).
identifying one or more constraints on the 3D model using the information (Ay [0110] The 3D models disclosed can be created based on visual and/or mathematical data (e.g., measurements) associated with one or more reference and/or target objects. The visual and/or mathematical data can include the digital images of the objects and analyses of the digital images (e.g., measurements and/or quantifications of geometric features of the objects). [0111] The 3D models disclosed can be designed by determining one or more geometric design definitions. The geometric design definitions can define the 3D models. For example, the geometric design definitions can visually (e.g., graphically) and/or non-visually (e.g., mathematically) define the geometric and/or non-geometric relationships between the 3D model and the object that the 3D model is designed to fit.).
modifying the 3D model to interface with the physical object at the abutment and subject to the constraints (Ay [0186] FIG. 2 further illustrates that the method 200 can involve adjusting the 3D target model in operation 212, for example, when the 3D target model generated in operation 208 does not satisfy the fit accuracy requirements with respect to the target object. Operation 210 can determine that the generated 3D target model does not satisfy the fit accuracy parameters when one or more of the parameters of the 3D target model are not within one or more threshold tolerances, upper threshold values, lower threshold values, threshold ranges, or any combination thereof, of one or more of the corresponding fit accuracy parameters associated with the geometric design definition and/or the 3D target model. The geometry of the generated 3D target model can be adjusted to better fit the target object in accordance with the fit accuracy requirements of the 3D reference model or a 3D target model design definition. The 3D target model design definition can be computed from the geometric design definition using, for example, one or more parameters of the target object (e.g., target object dimensions) as inputs.).
and manufacturing the 3D model into a 3D physical part (Ay [0187] Once the 3D target model is validated, one or more structures can be manufactured according to the 3D target model.)(Ay [0004] The 3D models are often subsequently manufactured with 3D printers, CNC machines, and other milling machines to be used in physical environments).
Regarding claim 2:
The system of claim 1, has all of its limitations taught by Ay. Ay further teaches wherein the information includes physical characteristics for the 3D physical part (Ay [0166] Additionally or alternatively, integrated reference objects can be created after a target object is identified, for example, based on the geometric (e.g., dimensions, shape) and/or non-geometric properties (e.g., weight, BMI) of the target object and/or subject. )(Ay [0164] Data associated with the reference objects can be determined in operation 202, for example, when the reference object is acquired or at any point thereafter. For example, for people and animals, data such as the age, gender, body weight, body shape, body dimensions (e.g., height), body part dimensions (e.g., wrist dimensions, limb length), body mass index (BMI), reference object dimensions, or any combination thereof, associated with the reference object and/or associated with the subject of the reference object can be determined. For example, for inanimate objects, data such as dimensions and geometric features of the inanimate object can be determined.).
Regarding claim 3:
The system of claim 1, has all of its limitations taught by Ay. Ay further teaches wherein the process further includes:
receiving user input on how the 3D physical part will contact the physical object at the abutment (Ay [0203] FIG. 4A further illustrates that the method 200 can involve creating a 3D coordinate map in operation 404. The 3D coordinate map can include multiple points (also referred to as markers) that represent the geometric relationship between the reference objects and the 3D reference models designed to fit the reference objects. The 3D coordinate points can be automatically generated by the system 100 in operation 404. Additionally or alternatively, one or multiple 3D coordinate points can be manually input into the system, for example, from a user using a control interface. The computer generated 3D coordinate points and/or the manually input 3D coordinate points can be applied to the digital representation of the reference object.).
Regarding claim 4:
The system of claim 3, has all of its limitations taught by Ay. Ay further teaches wherein the process further comprises:
selecting a material (Ay [0187] For example, a single structure can be manufactured according to the validated 3D target model. The structure can provide support and/or can be a fashion product that does not provide support (e.g., a dress, a hat, gloves).) where there is at least a support material and non-support material. Further the method of manufacturing below inherently has a material selection, since a CNC, 3D printer, etc. require different materials.
and a method of manufacture (Ay [0135] The manufacturing unit 106 can manufacture the disclosed models, for example, using 3D printing, computer numerical control (CNC) routers, industrial robots, textile machines, or any combination thereof. The 3D printing techniques used can include, for example, stereolithography (SLA), digital light processing (DLP), fused deposition modeling (FDM), selective laser sintering (SLS), selective laser melting (SLM), electronic beam melting (EBM), laminated object manufacturing (LOM), or any combination thereof. The CNC routers used can include, for example, plasma cutters, milling machines, lathes, laser cutters, mill-turn multiaxis machines, surface grinders, tool & cutter grinders (e.g. Walter, Anka), multi-axis machines, specialty machines, or any combination thereof. The industrial robots used can include, for example, cartesian coordinate robots (also called linear robots), SCARA robots (selective compliance assembly robot arm and selective compliance articulated robot arm), 6-axis robots, redundant robots, dual-arm robots, welding robots, or any combination thereof. The textile machines used can include, for example, weaving machines, knitting machines, garment machines, cutting machines, sewing machines, or any combination thereof.).
for the 3D physical part based on the user input (Ay [0203] FIG. 4A further illustrates that the method 200 can involve creating a 3D coordinate map in operation 404. The 3D coordinate map can include multiple points (also referred to as markers) that represent the geometric relationship between the reference objects and the 3D reference models designed to fit the reference objects. The 3D coordinate points can be automatically generated by the system 100 in operation 404. Additionally or alternatively, one or multiple 3D coordinate points can be manually input into the system, for example, from a user using a control interface. The computer generated 3D coordinate points and/or the manually input 3D coordinate points can be applied to the digital representation of the reference object.) and the information on the physical object (Ay [0187] For example, a single structure can be manufactured according to the validated 3D target model.)
Regarding claim 5:
The system of claim 4, has all of its limitations taught by Ay. Ay further teaches wherein the process further comprises:
modifying the 3D model for printing properties of the 3D physical part (Ay [0186] FIG. 2 further illustrates that the method 200 can involve adjusting the 3D target model in operation 212, for example, when the 3D target model generated in operation 208 does not satisfy the fit accuracy requirements with respect to the target object. Operation 210 can determine that the generated 3D target model does not satisfy the fit accuracy parameters when one or more of the parameters of the 3D target model are not within one or more threshold tolerances, upper threshold values, lower threshold values, threshold ranges, or any combination thereof, of one or more of the corresponding fit accuracy parameters associated with the geometric design definition and/or the 3D target model. [0187] FIG. 2 further illustrates that the method 200 can involve using the 3D target model validated in operation 210 in operation 214. Once the 3D target model is validated, one or more structures can be manufactured according to the 3D target model.) since the 3D model is adjusted and improved, which will change the dimensions, changing the printing properties.
and creating a printing file for the 3D physical part (Ay [0126] The 3D models disclosed can be represented in, for example, STereoLithography File Format (STL), Object File Format (OBJ), Polygon File Format (PLY), mathematical descriptions of the 3D geometry of the model, or any combination thereof.)(Ay [0209] The geometry of the 3D reference model can be represented as a mathematical description. For example, the geometric design definition can be a mathematical 3D definition comprising human and/or computer readable text. A geometric design definition file can be used to transmit data objects comprising geometric features that represent the underlying geometric structure of the 3D object defined by the text (e.g., the 3D reference model). The geometric design definition can be rendered, digitally viewed, and/or manufactured using the geometric design definition file, for example, by executing the file (also referred to as computing the geometric design definition). Computing the geometric design definition file can be directly rendered into a 3D object model, for example, a 3D target model.).
Regarding claim 8 (independent):
The claim is a parallel version of claim 1. As such it is rejected under the same teachings.
Regarding claim 9:
The claim is a parallel version of claim 2. As such it is rejected under the same teachings.
Regarding claim 10:
The claim is a parallel version of claim 3. As such it is rejected under the same teachings.
Regarding claim 11:
The claim is a parallel version of claim 4. As such it is rejected under the same teachings.
Regarding claim 12:
The claim is a parallel version of claim 5. As such it is rejected under the same teachings.
Regarding claim 15 (independent):
The claim is a parallel version of claim 1. As such it is rejected under the same teachings.
Regarding claim 16:
The claim is a parallel version of claim 2. As such it is rejected under the same teachings.
Regarding claim 17:
The claim is a parallel version of claim 3. As such it is rejected under the same teachings.
Regarding claim 18:
The claim is a parallel version of claim 4. As such it is rejected under the same teachings.
Regarding claim 19:
The claim is a parallel version of claim 5. As such it is rejected under the same teachings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ay U.S. Patent/PG Publication 20180147062 in view of Marsch U.S. Patent/PG Publication 11701834.
Regarding claim 7:
The system of claim 1, has all of its limitations taught by Ay. Ay does not teach verifying the physical part. In a related field of endeavor, Marsch teaches:
verifying the physical properties of the 3D physical part (Marsch According to some possible implementations, a device may include one or more memories, and one or more processors, communicatively coupled to the one or more memories, to obtain measurement data concerning a three-dimensional (3D) printed object, wherein the 3D printed object has a plurality of physical elements that comprise a plurality of different physical attributes, and wherein the plurality of physical elements and the plurality of different physical attributes are designed to exhibit one or more capabilities of a 3D printer that printed the 3D printed object. The one or more processors may determine one or more printing errors relating to one or more physical elements, of the plurality of physical elements, or one or more physical attributes of the plurality of different physical attributes based on the measurement data. The one or more processors may generate a set of instructions to permit the 3D printer to be adjusted to prevent future printing errors, and may cause an action to be performed based on generating the set of instructions. ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to verify the print as taught by Marsch. The motivation for doing so would have been to minimize printing anomalies and errors (Marsch C3 L15-30). Therefore it would have been obvious to combine Marsch with Ay to obtain the invention.
Regarding claim 14:
The claim is a parallel version of claim 7. As such it is rejected under the same teachings.
Claim(s) 6, 13, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ay U.S. Patent/PG Publication 20180147062 in view of Marsch U.S. Patent/PG Publication 11701834.
Regarding claim 6:
The system of claim 1, has all of its limitations taught by Ay. Ay further teaches wherein the information is selected form a group consisting of a dimension of the physical object, a weight of the physical object, (Ay [0164] Data associated with the reference objects can be determined in operation 202, for example, when the reference object is acquired or at any point thereafter. For example, for people and animals, data such as the age, gender, body weight, body shape, body dimensions (e.g., height), body part dimensions (e.g., wrist dimensions, limb length), body mass index (BMI), reference object dimensions, or any combination thereof, associated with the reference object and/or associated with the subject of the reference object can be determined. For example, for inanimate objects, data such as dimensions and geometric features of the inanimate object can be determined.) and
Ay does not teach center of gravity. In a related field of endeavor, Finn teaches:
wherein the information is selected form a group consisting of a dimension of the physical object, a weight of the physical object, and a center of gravity of the physical object (Finn [0070] While FIG. 3 is described in reference to georeference markings, a digital 3D model (and the corresponding 3D model object) can be modified to incorporate other real-world intelligence relevant to a constructed structure. For example, any geometric parameter, such as a dimension of a portion of the constructed structure can be incorporated into the digital 3D model. For example, a digital 3D model of a cylindrical vessel can be modified to incorporate one or more geometric markings representing a vessel diameter, a height, a volume, or the like. In another example, clearance dimensions (e.g., a gap between an inner surface of a vessel and an outer surface of an inner component) can be incorporated into a digital 3D model. In yet another example, a physical parameter, such as a center of gravity, for a constructed structure can be determined based on geometric parameters, materials used for construction, and a distribution of its weight. A physical marking representing the physical parameter may be incorporated into an appropriate location in the digital 3D model.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use center of gravity as taught by Finn. The rationale for doing so would have been that it is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results where Ay uses physical characteristics of an object and Finn uses physical characteristics of an object but also includes center of gravity, where it is merely substituting one physical characteristic for another for an object. Therefore it would have been obvious to combine Finn with Ay to obtain the invention.
Regarding claim 13:
The claim is a parallel version of claim 6. As such it is rejected under the same teachings.
Regarding claim 20:
The claim is a parallel version of claim 6. As such it is rejected under the same teachings.
Conclusion
For the prior art referenced and the prior art considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure but not relied upon, see PTO-892 “Notice of References Cited”.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JASON PRINGLE-PARKER whose telephone number is (571) 272-5690 and e-mail is jason.pringle-parker@uspto.gov. The examiner can normally be reached on 8:30am-5:00pm est Monday-Friday. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, King Poon can be reached on (571) 270-0728. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JASON A PRINGLE-PARKER/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2617