DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on January 27th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-15 remain pending in the application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “coupling protrusion” must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims 11-12. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 14 is a dependent claim of itself, when it should depend on a preceding claim such as claim 13. A series of singular dependent claims is permissible in which a dependent claim refers to a preceding claim which, in turn, refers to another preceding claim. A claim which depends from a dependent claim should not be separated by any claim which does not also depend from said dependent claim. It should be kept in mind that a dependent claim may refer to any preceding independent claim. In general, applicant's sequence will not be changed. See MPEP § 608.01(n).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regrading Claims 11-12, The claims recite “coupling protrusion” for the magnet to couple to the coupling space. However the coupling protrusion, component 15, cited in the specification refers to a component that couples the cover 50 to casing 10. The component in the claims have the same name and but is not found in specification or the drawing at all as claimed in claims 11-12. To avoid confusion the component requires a distinct name and component number and must be described in the specification in such a way that the invention could be understood by one skilled in the relevant art.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regrading Claim 1, Claim 1 recites the limitation " the casing outer surface ". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Therefore it’s unclear if the casing outer surface refers to the curved surface or to another surface.
Regrading Claims 1, Claim 1 is indefinite as it recites “a surface of the casing, which is directed toward a bottom of a gas canister, is formed as a curved surface corresponding to the bottom of the gas canister”. Its unclear whether the the casing has a curved surface and another different surface, both of which are directed to different bottoms of the gas canister or it is one surface. Furthermore, the curved surface is indefinite as its unclear in what manner the surface is curved.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (1) (KR Patent No. 102064600) in view of Gan (CN Patent No. 2553582).
Regarding Claim 1, Han (1) teaches a warmer for a gas canister (Paragraph 1, Portable gas container warmer), the warmer comprising: a casing having a curved surface corresponding to a bottom of a gas canister and having a structure with an open bottom (Figure 1, showcases a curved surface and a structure with open bottom to house a gas container); a heat generator provided in the casing and configured to transfer heat to the gas canister (Figure 2 and Paragraph 18-19, Heating device 130 and 140 are within the casing and heats the gas container); and a bottom cover coupled to the bottom of the casing in a state in which the heat generator is mounted in the casing (Figure 2, Second Body 200 is a bottom cover that is coupled to Body 100 and the Heating device 130 and 140 are within the casing).
Han (1) fails to teach a magnet disposed at the center of the casing outer surface and configured to be attachable to the bottom of the gas canister
Gan teaches a gas container mounting device for portable burner (Paragraph 1, Gas Tank Heating Device) where a magnet disposed at the center of the casing outer surface and configured to be attachable to the bottom of the gas canister (Figure 1 and Paragraph 4 and 7, One end of the gas container is attached to magnet 4, which is disposed in the center of the casing outer surface), wherein a surface of the casing, which is directed toward a bottom of a gas canister, is formed as a curved surface corresponding to the bottom of the gas canister (Figure 1 and Paragraph 7, the surface of the heating device that is directed toward the bottom of a gas tank is curved and accommodates a gas tank).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Han (1) to incorporate a magnet as stated in Gan. The gas tank can be easily connected to the heating device and disconnected using the magnet (Paragraph 7, Magnet).
Regarding Claim 5, Han (1) in view of Gan teaches the casing is in close contact with a bottom of the first gas canister in a state in which a first cover is coupled (Han (1): Figure 6 and 8 and Paragraph 16, First gas container 1 is in close contact with the casing and the cover 20 and Connector 10 are coupled to the casing and comes in contact with the bottom of the gas container), or the casing is in close contact with a bottom of the second gas canister in a state in which a second cover is coupled (Han (1): Figure 7 and 8 and Paragraph 16, Second gas container 2 is in close contact with the casing and the cover 20 and Connector 10 are coupled to the casing and comes in contact with the bottom of the gas container).
Regarding Claim 6, Han (1) in view of Gan teach that the first gas canister is a butane gas canister, the second gas canister is an isobutane gas canister (Han (1): Paragraph 52-53 and Figure 6-7, The first gas container 1 may be a butane gas container. The second gas container 2 may be an isobutane gas container), and the first and second covers are each a silicone cover (Han (1): Paragraph 53 and 63, The cover 20 and Connector 10 may be made of an elastic body such as rubber which reads as silicone).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (1) (KR Patent No. 102064600) in view of Gan (CN Patent No. 2553582) and further in view of Esposito (US Patent No. 4942864).
Regrading Claim 2, Han (1) in view of Gan fails to teach a plurality of circular and radial heat radiating fins located on the outside of the casing that can accommodate a heating medium in the middle.
Esposito teaches a stove top (Figure 1, Stove top), which is an analogous art since it able to fulfil the function of warming a canister, where a plurality of circular heat radiating fins (Figure 6 and Col 3 Line 5-16, stove top grate has circular fins and helps the transfer of heat) is provided on the outer portion of the casing and configured to define concentric circles (Figure 1 and 6, Stove top grate is located outside of the casing of stove top and is made of concentric circles), a radial heat radiating fin is provided on the outer portion of the casing and intersects the circular heat radiating fins (Figure 1 and 6, Stove top grate is located outside of the casing of stove top and is made of radial fins that intersects the concentric circle fins), and an accommodation space capable of accommodating a heating medium is defined by a structure in which the radial heat radiating fin intersects the circular heat radiating fin (Figure 1 and 6, Stove top grate is made of radial fins that intersects the concentric circle fins and has space in the middle to accommodate a heating medium).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Han (1) in view of Gan to incorporate a plurality of circular and radial heat radiating fins as stated in Esposito. The plurality of circular and radial heat radiating fins can help provide even heating and protect the handle from the heat (Col 3 Line 5-16 and line 37-45, Even Heating and protection).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (1) (KR Patent No. 102064600) in view of Gan (CN Patent No. 2553582) and further in view of Han (2) (WO Patent No. 2019216525).
Regarding Claim 3, Han (1) in view of Gan teaches a printed circuit board; a heater connected to the printed circuit board and configured to transfer heat to the casing (Figure 2 and Paragraph 39, Printed Circuit Board 141 has Heating device 130 and 140 mounted on it and is preferably made of a metal with excellent heat transfer.).
Han (1) in view of Gan fails to teach a temperature sensor connected to the printed circuit.
Han (2) teaches a gas container heating device (Paragraph 1, Heating Device) with a temperature sensor (Figure 9 and Paragraph 152, The temperature sensor detects an internal temperature of the main body 210 where its located.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Han (1) in view of Gan to incorporate a temperature sensor as stated in Han (2). Explosion accidents caused by overheating are prevented by temperature detection of the temperature sensor and control operation of the control unit. (Paragraph 87, Sensor).
Regarding Claim 4, Han (1) in view of Gan fails to teach a bimetal switch.
Han (2) teaches a gas container heating device (Paragraph 1, Heating Device) with a bimetal switch connected to the printed circuit board and spaced apart from the casing (Paragraph 27 and Figure 20-21, bimetallic switches disposed adjacent to the heating element and apart from casing and operable to cut off electrical connection between the heating element and the battery depending on the temperature of the heating element), and wherein the bimetal switch cuts off a supply of power when a temperature of air in the casing is higher than a preset temperature (Paragraph 207, bimetallic switch cuts off the electrical connection when the temperature rises above a certain level and connects the electrical connection when the temperature falls below a certain level).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Han (1) in view of Gan to incorporate a temperature sensor as stated in Han (2). Explosion accidents caused by overheating are prevented by temperature detection of the temperature sensor and control operation of the control unit. (Paragraph 87, Sensor).
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (1) (KR Patent No. 102064600) in view of Gan (CN Patent No. 2553582) and further in view of Han (3) (KR Patent No. 102064601).
Regarding Claim 7, Han (1) in view of Gan fails to teach that a heating medium is stored between a bottom of the first gas canister and the casing or stored between the bottom of the second gas canister and the casing.
Han (3) teaches a warmer for a gas canister (Paragraph 1, Gas Warming Device) where the heating medium is stored between a bottom of the first gas canister and the casing (Figure 5 and Paragraph 58, The space created by Connector 10 and the casing of container 1 has heat transfer material inside) or stored between the bottom of the second gas canister and the casing (Figure 7-8, The space created by Connector 10 and the casing of container 2 has heat transfer material inside).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Han (1) in view of Gan to incorporate a cover and heated medium as stated in Han (3). The connector maintains a watertight state in ensure that the heat transfer material does not leak (Paragraph 73, Cover).
Regarding Claim 8, Han (1) in view of Gan teaches a first cover (Han (1): Figure 5-8, The cover 20 and Connector 10) comprising: a ring-shaped main body (Han (1): Figure 5-7, The cover 20 and Connector 10 are ring covered) configured to surround an edge of the casing body (Han (1): Figure 4- 8, The cover 20 and Connector 10 surrounds Body 100) and coupled to the bottom of the first gas canister so that an outer surface of the main body is in close contact with the bottom of the first gas canister (Han (1): Figure 5-8, First gas container 1 is in close contact with the casing and The cover 20 and Connector 10 are coupled to the casing and comes in contact with the bottom of the gas container)
Han (1) in view of Gan fails to teach a cover attached to the apparatus that implements watertightness.
Han (3) teaches a gas container warmer (Paragraph 1, Warming Device) where the first cover implements watertightness (Paragraph 73, The gas container warmer connector 10 is an elastic body and closely adheres to the casing to maintain the watertight state); and a handle extending from one side of the main body (Figure 4 and 6, Handles 14 from the side of Contador 10).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Han (1) in view of Gan to incorporate a handle as stated in Han (3). Handle can allow the user to expand and retract the coupling hole of the cover to allow the gas canister to fit in and out of the cover. (Paragraph 48-50, Handle).
Regarding Claim 9, Han (1) in view of Gan teaches a the second cover comprises (Han (1): Figure 5-8, The cover 20 and Connector 10): a main body having a through-hole at a center thereof (Han (1): Figure 5-8, The cover 20 and Connector 10 both have a through Hole and a main body) and configured such that the remaining portion of the main body, except for the through-hole, surrounds the casing (Han (1): Figure 5-8, The cover 20 and Connector 10 are coupled to Body 100 and surrounds it but the through hole does not), and the main body having a curved surface corresponding to the bottom of the second gas canister (Han (1): Figure 5-8, The cover 20 and Connector 10 have a main body that is curved corresponding to a bottom of a gas canister 2).
Han (1) in view of Gan fails to teach a handle attached to the Cover.
Han (3) teaches a gas container warmer (Paragraph 1, Warming Device) where a handle extends one side of the main body of a cover (Figure 7-8, Connector 10, acting as a cover, has a handles 14).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Han (1) in view of Gan to incorporate a handle as stated in Han (3). Handle can allow the user to expand and retract the coupling hole of the cover to allow the gas canister to fit in and out of the cover. (Paragraph 48-50, Handle).
Regarding Claim 10, Han (1) in view of Gan teaches a cover (Han (1): Figure 5-8, The cover 20 and Connector 10) having a main body and a through-hole at a center (Han (1): Figure 5-8, The cover 20 and Connector 10 have a through Hole and a main body) and configured to come in contact with the bottom of the second gas canister (Han (1): Figure 5-8, The cover 20 and Connector 10 have a main body that is curved corresponding to a bottom of a gas canister 2 and can come in contact with each other).
Han (1) in view of Gan fails to teach has a plurality of stepped portions disposed between the through-hole and an edge of the main body and configured to define concentric circles having stepped shapes, and wherein the stepped portion is in close contact with the bottom of the second gas canister to implement watertightness.
Han (3) teaches a gas container warmer (Paragraph 1, Warming Device) where the main body (Figure 4, Connector 10, acting as a cover, has a main body) has a plurality of stepped portions disposed between the through-hole and an edge of the main body (Figure 4, Protruding edge 13 are between the bottom edge of the Connector 10 and the through hole) and configured to define concentric circles having stepped shapes (Figure 4, Protruding edge 13 are Stepped shaped and concentric circles), and wherein the stepped portion is in close contact with the second gas canister to implement watertightness (Paragraph 46 and Figure 4 -6, Protruding edge 13 is in close contact with the Gas Canister and implements water watertightness).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Han (1) in view of Gan to incorporate a plurality of stepped portions to implement watertightness as stated in Han (3). Since the gas container warmer connector 10 is made of an elastic body, which allows the cover to be filled with a heat transfer material and maintain a watertight state without any leakage of the heat transfer material (Paragraph 93,Watertight).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (1) (KR Patent No. 102064600) in view of Gan (CN Patent No. 2553582) and further in view of Kim (KR Patent No. 20110085442).
Regarding Claim 11, Han (1) fails to teach that the casing defines a coupling space at an upper portion thereof, the magnet is received in the coupling space.
Gan teaches a gas container mounting device for portable burner (Paragraph 1, Gas Tank Heating Device) where the casing defines a coupling space at an upper portion thereof, the magnet is received in the coupling space (Figure 1 and Paragraph 4 and 7, Coupling Space, filled with insulating material 3, houses magnet 4 in the upper portion of the casing).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Han (1) to incorporate a magnet as stated in Gan. The gas tank can be easily connected to the heating device and disconnected using the magnet (Paragraph 7, Magnet).
Han (1) in view of Gan fails to teach that a coupling protrusion protruding from the coupling space, the magnet being coupled to the coupling protrusion.
Kim teaches a gas container mounting device for portable burner (Abstract, Portable burner) where and a coupling protrusion protrudes from the coupling space, the magnet being coupled to the coupling protrusion. (Figure 4, The stepped portion 41, reads as a coupling protrusion, protrudes from fixing hole 14 and coupled to magnet 40).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Han (1) in view of Gan to incorporate coupling protrusion as stated in Kim. The coupling protrusion allows for the magnet to be attached to the apparatus (Figure 4, Magnet).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (1) (KR Patent No. 102064600) in view of Gan (CN Patent No. 2553582) and further in view of Kim (KR Patent No. 20110085442), Esposito (US Patent No. 4942864), and Han (3) (KR Patent No. 102064601).
Regarding Claim 12, Han (1) fails to teach that the casing defines a coupling space at an upper portion thereof and a coupling protrusion protruding from the coupling space, the magnet being coupled to the coupling protrusion.
Gan teaches a gas container mounting device for portable burner (Paragraph 1, Gas Tank Heating Device) where the casing defines a coupling space at an upper portion thereof (Figure 1 and Paragraph 4 and 7, Coupling Space, filled with insulating material 3, houses magnet 4 in the upper portion of the casing).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Han (1) to incorporate a magnet as stated in Gan. The gas tank can be easily connected to the heating device and disconnected using the magnet (Paragraph 7, Magnet).
Han (1) in view of Gan fails to teach that a coupling protrusion protruding from the coupling space, the magnet being coupled to the coupling protrusion.
Kim teaches a gas container mounting device for portable burner (Abstract, Portable burner) where a coupling protrusion protruding from the coupling space, the magnet being coupled to the coupling protrusion (Figure 4, The stepped portion 41, reads as a coupling protrusion, protrudes from fixing hole 14 and coupled to magnet 40).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Han (1) in view of Gan to incorporate coupling protrusion as stated in Kim. The coupling protrusion allows for the magnet to be attached to the apparatus (Figure 4, Magnet).
Han (1) in view of Gan and Kim fails to teach that a radial heat radiating fin are provided on the outer surface of the casing, and the radial heat radiating fin intersecting the circular heat radiating fins to define an accommodation space.
Esposito teaches a stove top (Figure 1, Stove top), which is an analogous art since it able to fulfil the function of warming a canister, where a plurality of circular heat radiating fins (Figure 6 and Col 3 Line 5-16, stove top grate has circular fins and helps the transfer of heat) and a radial heat radiating fin are provided on the outer surface of the casing (Figure 1 and 6, Stove top grate is located outside of the casing of stove top), the radial heat radiating fin intersecting the circular heat radiating fins to define an accommodation space (Figure 1 and 6, Stove top grate is made of radial fins that intersects the concentric circle fins and has space in the middle to accommodate a heating medium).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Han (1) in view of Gan and Kim to incorporate a plurality of circular and radial heat radiating fins as stated in Esposito. The plurality of circular and radial heat radiating fins can help provide even heating and protect the handle from the heat (Col 3 Line 5-16 and line 37-45, Even Heating and protection).
Han (1) in view of Gan, Kim, and Esposito fails to teach that a cover is coupled to the casing to retain a liquid heating medium in the accommodation space between the casing and the bottom of the gas canister
Han (3) teaches a warmer for a gas canister (Paragraph 1, Gas Warming Device) where a cover is coupled to the casing (Figure 5, Connector 10 coupled to warmer 20) to retain a liquid heating medium in the accommodation space between the casing and the bottom of the gas canister. (Figure 5 and Paragraph 58, The space created by Connector 10 has heat transfer material inside).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Han (1) in view of Gan, Kim, and Esposito to incorporate a cover as stated in Han (3). The connector maintains a watertight state in ensure that the heat transfer material does not leak (Paragraph 73, Cover).
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (3) (KR Patent No. 102064601) in view of Gan (CN Patent No. 2553582).
Regarding Claim 13, Han (3) teaches a warmer for a gas canister (Han (3): Paragraph 1, Gas Warming Device), the warmer comprising a heat generator disposed within the casing (Paragraph 76, Heater 22 inside the warmer 20); and a cover configured to be coupled to the casing (Figure 5, Connector 10 coupled to warmer 20) and to define a space between the curved outer surface and the bottom of the gas canister (Figure 5, Connector 10 coupled to warmer 20 creates space between it and the warmer 20), the space configured to accommodate a liquid heating medium (Figure 5 and Paragraph 58, The space created by Connector 10 has heat transfer material inside).
Han fails to teach a casing having a curved outer surface configured to face a bottom of a gas canister; a magnet disposed at a center of the curved outer surface and configured to magnetically attach the casing to the bottom of the gas canister.
Gan teaches a gas container mounting device for portable burner (Paragraph 1, Gas Tank Heating Device) where a casing having a curved outer surface configured to face a bottom of a gas canister (Figure 1 and Paragraph 7, the surface of the heating device that is directed toward the bottom of a gas tank is curved and accommodates a gas tank); a magnet disposed at a center of the curved outer surface and configured to magnetically attach the casing to the bottom of the gas canister (Figure 1 and Paragraph 4 and 7, One end of the gas container is attached to magnet 4, which is disposed in the center of the casing outer surface).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Han (3) to incorporate a magnet as stated in Gan. The gas tank can be easily connected to the heating device and disconnected using the magnet (Paragraph 7, Magnet).
Regarding Claim 14, Han (3) in view of Gan teaches a gas container warmer (Han (3): Paragraph 1, Warming Device) where the cover is one of a first cover configured for a butane gas canister (Han (3): Figure 6, Connector 10 configured for butane container 1) or a second cover configured for an isobutane gas canister (Han (3): Figure 7, Connector 10 configured for isobutane container 2).
Regarding Claim 15, Han fails to teach that the casing defines a coupling space at an upper portion thereof, and wherein the magnet is received in the coupling space.
Gan teaches a gas container mounting device for portable burner (Paragraph 1, Gas Tank Heating Device) where the casing defines a coupling space at an upper portion thereof, and wherein the magnet is received in the coupling space (Figure 1 and Paragraph 4 and 7, Coupling Space, filled with insulating material 3, houses magnet 4 in the upper portion of the casing).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Han (3) to incorporate a magnet as stated in Gan. The gas tank can be easily connected to the heating device and disconnected using the magnet (Paragraph 7, Magnet).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-9, filed January 27th, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-15 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Gan.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAMZEH HICHAM AMIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/JUSTIN C DODSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761