DETAILED ACTION
Claim interpretation regarding to claim 9 is withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 9 are objected to because of the following informalities: minor typo.
Claim 1 and 9 recite “test equipment…” “input equipment” seem “a test equipment”, “an input equipment”, etc.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (Wu) US 2022/0026530 in view of Dahlgren et al. (Dahlgren) US 2022/0294971 and Guru et al. (Guru) US 8571904
In regard to claim 1, Wu disclose An object detection sensor configured to detect that a target object acts on to-be-detected rays between a plurality of elements or to detect to-be- detected rays from a target object to output a predetermined detection signal, the object detection sensor configured to output the predetermined detection signal toward an external object detection device existing outside the object detection sensor to detect the target object, the object detection sensor comprising: (Fig. 1, [0055]-[0082][0137] [0147][0159]-[0162] [0241]-[0246] remote sensor device detect user events and receive radar signal of a person, and output the raw signal to gait cube extraction module of the human recognition system which impacted by the person walking in a venue and recognize the identity of the person, remote sensor device is external to 120/130)
a sensor configured to detect that the target object acts on to-be- detected rays between a plurality of elements or to detect to-be-detected rays from the target object to output a sensing signal, and (Fig. 1, [0055]-[0082][0137] [0147][0159]-[0162] [0241]-[0246] remote sensor device detect user events and receive radar signal of a person, and output the raw signal to gait cube extraction module of the human recognition system which impacted by the person walking in a venue)
a processor, the processor configured to: (Fig. 1, [0055]-[0082][0137] [0147][0159]-[0162] [0241]-[0246] processor of type1/typ2 device)
output the predetermined detection signal in response to input of the sensing signal, (Fig. 1, [0055]-[0082][0137] [0147][0159]-[0162] [0241]-[0246] processor of type1/typ2 device command output the raw signal in response to receive the radar signal 110)
and the processor further configured to:
start a learning mode, ([0168] [0186]-[0187] The training or learning can be started based on a threshold to events, conditions, states, etc. which according to some criteria)
determine a state of the test signal in the learning mode, ([0096] [0110]-[0133] [0136][0146][0148] [0175] [0276]-[0277] determine a state of the test signal, such as steady state, characteristics/states, etc. Note: please further define, there are many possibilities.)
estimate a characteristic of the test signal from the state determined of the test signal in the learning mode, ([0096] [0110]-[0133] [0136][0146][0148] [0157] [0197]-[0202] [0244] estimate a characteristic (statistical distribution, etc. ) of the signal from the determined state in the learning mode) and
verify whether the characteristic estimated of the test signal is included in the test signal received in the learning mode. ([0096] [0110]-[0133] [0136][0146][0148] [0157] [0173]-[0178] [0197]-[0202] [0244] [0306]-[0337] verify the validity of the estimation of the characteristic (such as a speed, the speed based on the trace, etc. ) from the signal received in the learning mode. Note: please further define how to verify the characteristic estimated, based on what rule, policy, etc. to help move forward the prosecution, call to discuss if necessary.)
But Wu fail to explicitly disclose “receive a test signal from a diagnosis processing unit in the external object detection device toward the object detection sensor which serves as input equipment, and output a test response signal from the object detection sensor to the diagnosis processing unit in the external object detection device in response to reception of the test signal,”
Dahlgren disclose receive a test signal from a diagnosis processing unit in the external object detection device toward the object detection sensor which serves as input equipment, (Fig. 2, [0036]-[0049] receive a signal from 214/215+216 together in 210 to the 204 which as an input device, the remote device 210 may require the near sensor object detector 204 for examining a specific part of the video, etc. detect moving objects and the near sensor object detector 204 as an input device and update the remote device of the detected moving objects in response to the request) and output a test response signal from the object detection sensor to the diagnosis processing unit in the external object detection device in response to reception of the test signal, (Fig. 2, [0036]-[0049] the near sensor object detector 204 output to 214/215+216 in 210 and update the remote device 210 of the detected moving objects in response to receive the request)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Dahlgren‘s collaborative object detection into Wu’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of human recognition. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Dahlgren‘s collaborative object detection would help to provide object detection request into Wu’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that providing object detection request would help to improve user experience using the device.
But Wu and Dahlgren fail to explicitly disclose “the diagnosis processing unit which serves as test equipment in a Safety Standard, including International Standardization Organization (ISO) 13849-1, the object detection sensor which serves as the input equipment as specified in the Safety Standard, thereby to perform monitoring between the test equipment and the input equipment as specified in the Safety Standard,”
Guru disclose the diagnosis processing unit which serves as test equipment in a Safety Standard, including International Standardization Organization (ISO) 13849-1, (Fig. 2, col. 3, line 28-col. 4, line 16, col. 13, line 12-col. 16, line 58. 230 as a test equipment based on ISO 13849-1, claim 1) the object detection sensor which serves as the input equipment as specified in the Safety Standard, thereby to perform monitoring between the test equipment and the input equipment as specified in the Safety Standard, (Fig. 2, col. 3, line 28-col. 4, line 16, col. 13, line 12-col. 16, line 58, col. 19, line 57-col. 20, line 8, sensors server as input device as ISO 13849-1 and perform monitoring between the devices based on sensed information, claim 1)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Guru‘s self sensing component interface system into Dahlgren and Wu’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of object recognition. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Guru‘s performing monitoring between the systems based on the ISO standard would help to provide object detection specification requirement into Dahlgren and Wu’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that providing object detection specification requirement with ISO standard would help to improve object detection accuracy to meet the business objective.
In regard to claim 2, Wu and Dahlgren, Guru disclose The object detection sensor as claimed in claim 1,
Wu disclose wherein the predetermined detection signal and the test response signal are outputted through a same signal line. (Fig. 1, [0215]-[0217] the sensor device maybe a transceiver)
In regard to claim 3, Wu and Dahlgren, Guru disclose The object detection sensor as claimed in claim 1,
Wu disclose wherein the processor is configured to execute instead of the learning mode, a manual setting mode in which a characteristic of the test signal is manually set. ([0101] [0110]-[0136] [0139]-[0142] [0187] the characteristic change can be automatic or manual)
In regard to claim 4, Wu and Dahlgren, Guru disclose The object detection sensor as claimed in claim 1,
Wu disclose further comprising at least one of a switch installed in the object detection sensor, ([0071][0090] [0163] switch in the sensor) a wireless reception unit configured to receive a radio signal from a predetermined wireless device, ([0066]-[0075] receive radio signal from the wireless device) a network reception unit configured to receive a transmission signal from a predetermined network device, and the sensor configured to detect a predetermined motion of a human body. ([0055]-[0082][0137] [0147][0159]-[0162] [0241]-[0246] network to receive the tx signal from a network device and sensor to detect the motion of the human body)
In regard to claim 5, Wu and Dahlgren, Guru disclose The object detection sensor as claimed in claim 1,
Wu disclose wherein the processor is configured to, when the processor fails to receive the test signal, or when the processor verifies or determines that the estimated characteristic of the test signal is not included in the test signal received, an abnormal state is determined, and provide an output indicating abnormality. ([0187]-[0197] error can be identified based on the signal quality condition, object, object characteristics, object movement/location, etc. signal received and a error condition can be identified)
In regard to claim 6, Wu and Dahlgren, Guru disclose The object detection sensor as claimed in claim 1,
Wu disclose wherein the test signal is a pulse wave signal. ([071] [0219] [0234]-[0247] pulse wave signal)
In regard to claim 7, Wu and Dahlgren, Guru disclose The object detection sensor as claimed in claim 1,
Wu disclose wherein the characteristic of the test signal estimated is stored in a memory in the object detection sensor. ([0096] [0110]-[0133] [0136]-[0138] [0146][0148] [0157] [0197]-[0202] estimate a characteristic (statistical distribution, etc. is stored at the memory of the sensor device)
In regard to claim 9, Wu disclose An object detection sensor configured to detect that a target object acts on to-be-detected rays between a plurality of elements or to detect to-be- detected rays from a target object to output a predetermined detection signal, the object detection sensor configured to output the predetermined detection signal toward an external object detection device existing outside the object detection sensor to detect the target object, the object detection sensor comprising: (Fig. 1, [0055]-[0082][0137] [0147][0159]-[0162] [0241]-[0246] remote sensor device detect user events and receive radar signal of a person, and output the raw signal to gait cube extraction module of the human recognition system which impacted by the person walking in a venue and recognize the identity of the person, remote sensor device is external to 120/130)
a sensor configured to detect that the target object acts on to-be- detected rays between a plurality of elements or to detect to-be-detected rays from the target object to output a sensing signal, (Fig. 1, [0055]-[0082][0137] [0147][0159]-[0162] [0241]-[0246] remote sensor device detect user events and receive radar signal of a person, and output the raw signal to gait cube extraction module of the human recognition system which impacted by the person walking in a venue)
a processor configured to:
command output of the predetermined detection signal in response to input of the sensing signal, (Fig. 1, [0055]-[0082][0137] [0147][0159]-[0162] [0241]-[0246] processor of type1/typ2 device command output the raw signal in response to receive the radar signal 110)
output the predetermined detection signal in response to the command, (Fig. 1, [0055]-[0082][0137] [0147][0159]-[0162] [0241]-[0246] sensor output the raw signal in response to the command) …
In regard to claim 9, claim 9 is a sensor claim corresponding to the sensor claim 1 above and, therefore, is rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejections of claim 1. (Note: It seems claim 1 and claim 9 are almost the same, maybe consider to change it as a medium or method claim)
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (Wu) US 2022/0026530, Dahlgren et al. (Dahlgren) US 2022/0294971 and Guru et al. (Guru) US 8571904 as applied to claim 1, further n view of SÖDERQVIST US 2021/0180384
In regard to claim 8, Wu and Dahlgren, Guru disclose An automatic door system comprising: the object detection sensor as claimed in claim 1, (Fig. 1, [0055]-[0082][0137] [0147][0159]-[0162] [0241]-[0246] remote sensor device detect user events and receive radar signal of a person, and output the raw signal to gait cube extraction module of the human recognition system, access control of the automatic door)
an automatic door control device which is the external object detection device configured to detect a human body which is the target object in response to input of the predetermined detection signal from the object detection sensor, (Fig. 1, [0042] [0055]-[0082][0137] [0147][0159]-[0162] [0241]-[0246] remote sensor device detect user events and receive radar signal of a person to detect the person, remote sensor device is external to 120/130 for access control of the automatic door)
But Wu and Dahlgren, Guru fail to explicitly disclose “and an automatic door including a door leaf configured to open and close automatically and a door engine configured to cause the door leaf to open and close, wherein the automatic door control device controls the door engine on the basis of a result of detection of the human body.”
SÖDERQVIST disclose and an automatic door including a door leaf configured to open and close automatically and a door engine configured to cause the door leaf to open and close, wherein the automatic door control device controls the door engine on the basis of a result of detection of the human body. ([013]-[0020] [0045]-[0057] the door include door leaf to open and close automatically and control to cause the door leaf to open and close based on the detection result of the human body)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to incorporate SÖDERQVIST‘s automatic door control system into Guru, Dahlgren and Wu’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of human recognition. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because SÖDERQVIST‘s automatic door control system would help to provide more application scenarios into Guru, Dahlgren and Wu’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that providing more application scenarios would help to improve user experience using the device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-9 filed on 4/8/2026 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the current rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
PATENT PUB. # PUB. DATE INVENTOR(S) TITLE
US 20130264890 A1 2013-10-10 LE et al.
SAFETY SWITCHING DEVICE FOR THE FAILSAFE SHUTDOWN OF AN ELECTRICAL LOAD
LE et al. disclose A safety switching device for the failsafe shutdown of an electrical load has at least one input circuit for receiving an input signal from a signaling device which signals a safety-related state, an evaluation and control unit for evaluating the input signal, and at least one output circuit for outputting an output signal. The safety switching device further has at least one switching element for interrupting a current supply path to the load in dependence on the input signal. The input circuit and the output circuit are joined at a device connector so that the device connector can selectively be used as an input for receiving the input signal or as an output for outputting the output signal. The input circuit has a test switch which is coupled to the evaluation and control unit which is designed for selectively suppressing the input signal using the test switch… see abstract.
XUYANG XIA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2143
/XUYANG XIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2143