DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Based on the current set of claims (05 August 2025), Claims 1-30 are pending and Claims 1, 13, 16, and 28 have been amended and said amendments are narrowing.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments regarding the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 13, Claim 16, and Claim 28 under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Cirik does not disclose “the one or more transmission by the UE”.
The issue, here, is whether Cirik does not disclose that “the one or more transmissions are by the UE” as Applicant contends.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Examiner’s rejection predominantly relies on Figure 17 of Cirik. Figure 17 of Cirik clearly discloses the uplink transmission, by the wireless device, of at least four transmission blocks using different spatial filters based upon different TCI states. Cirik discloses “the one or more transmissions by the UE” by explicitly stating “[a] wireless device 1708 may send repeated transmissions (e.g., of a transport block via PUSCH resources) to a base station 1704” (Cirik, ¶219 & Fig. 17 (1720-1 & 1720-2 & 1720-3 & 1720-4) at T2). Here, the wireless device has been clearly correlated to the user equipment of Applicant’s claims.
Examiner maintains the current ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, 6-7, 13-14, 16, 19-20, 21, 23, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cirik et al. (US PGPUB 20220030620 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Cirik”).
Regarding Claim 1, Claim 1 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 13.
Regarding Claim 4, Cirik discloses the method of claim 1.
Cirik further discloses the first transmission configuration indicator further indicates, a second configuration of the first set of transmission or a second set of transmissions (¶223 & Fig. 17( 1712) & ¶263, Cirik discloses that the configuration parameters further indicate a second transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state for a group of uplink transmission in a second TX occasion 1720-2 and a fourth TX occasion 1720-4. Examiner correlates the transmission of the TB on the second TX occasion and the fourth TX occasion using the second TCI state to “a second set of transmissions”), the second configuration including a second periodicity of a second available transmission time for the first set of transmissions or the second set of transmissions (¶317 & ¶359 & ¶380 & Fig. 17, Cirik discloses a second periodicity of a second transmission occasion 1720-2 and a fourth transmission occasion 1720-4 for a set of uplink transmissions. Here, the period of uplink transmission using the second TCI state is the sum of the duration of the first TX opportunity and the second TX opportunity).
Regarding Claim 5, Cirik discloses the method of claim 4.
Cirik further discloses wherein:
the first periodicity is different from the second periodicity (¶317 & ¶359 & ¶380 & Fig. 17, Cirik discloses a first periodicity and a second periodicity. Here, while Fig. 17 appears to indicate equal periodicities, there is no requirement expressed in the reference that the periodicities be equal);
the first set of transmissions are associated with a first resource (¶279 & ¶317 & ¶359 & ¶380 & Fig. 17, Cirik discloses that uplink transmission using a first TCI state are associated with a first TX occasion 1720-1 and a third TX occasion 1720-3. Examiner correlates the first TX occasion to “a first resource”);
the second set of transmissions are associated with a second resource (¶279 & ¶317 & ¶359 & ¶380 & Fig. 17, Cirik discloses that uplink transmission using a first TCI state are associated with a second TX occasion 1720-2 and a fourth TX occasion 1720-4); or
the first repetition interval (Examiner notes that the use of “or” and “and/or” has a broadest reasonable interpretation of any element in the list that follows or any of those elements taken together. See Ex Parte Gross, Appeal 2011-004811, Application No. 11/565,411. Thus, Examiner has not treated all limitations separated by “and/or” and “or”) indicates:
a cyclic repetition of a start of the first set of transmissions; or
a time period between a last transmission time of a first group of transmissions of the first set of transmissions and an initial transmission time of a second group of transmissions of the first set of transmission
Regarding Claim 6, Cirik discloses the method of claim 1.
Cirik further discloses [the method], further comprising:
generating a second transmission configuration indicator for the communication session (¶223 & Fig. 17( 1712) & ¶263, Cirik discloses generating, by a base station 1704, configuration parameters where the configuration parameters indicate a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state for at least two transmissions during a communication session of a wireless device 1708), the second transmission configuration indicator indicating:
a third configuration of a third set of transmissions (¶207-208, Cirik discloses that the first TCI state configures a spatial domain transmission filter for transmission of a transport block in a second transmission occasion 1720-2 and retransmission of the transport block in a fourth transmission occasion 1720-4), the third configuration including a third periodicity of a third available transmission time for the third set of transmissions (¶317 & ¶359 & ¶380 & Fig. 17, Cirik discloses a second periodicity of the second transmission occasion 1720-2 and the fourth transmission occasion 1720-4 for a set of transmissions comprising transmissions that occurred within the first transmission occasion and the third transmission occasion using the first TCI state); and
a second repetition interval for the third available transmission time (¶317 & ¶359 & ¶380 & Fig. 17, Cirik discloses that the repetition interval is equivalent to a third transmission occasion 1720-3); and
transmitting the second transmission configuration indicator (¶223 & Fig. 17( 1712) & ¶263, Cirik discloses transmitting, by the base station 1704 to the wireless device 1708, configuration parameters where the configuration parameters indicate the second TCI state).
Regarding Claim 7, Cirik discloses the method of claim 6.
Cirik further discloses wherein:
the first repetition interval is associated with a timer (¶199-200, Cirik discloses that a timer may be configured by the base station), the first transmission configuration indicator includes an information element that indicates the first repetition interval (¶212-214, Cirik discloses that a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) field indicating at least one TCI state), or a combination thereof;
transmitting the second transmission configuration indicator includes transmitting downlink control information (DCI) (¶212-214, Cirik discloses transmitting a downlink control information (DCI) that includes a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) field indicating at least one TCI state) or a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) that includes the second transmission configuration indicator (¶212-214, Cirik discloses transmitting a downlink control information (DCI) that includes a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) field indicating two TCI states);
the first set of transmissions include a scheduling request or a sounding reference signal (¶143 & ¶455, Cirik discloses that each uplink transmission includes a sounding reference signal (SRS) signal based upon a sounding reference indicator (SRI) field of the DCI);
the first set of transmissions include one or more uplink transmissions or one or more sidelink transmissions (¶279 & ¶317 & ¶359 & ¶380 & Fig. 17, Cirik discloses a first uplink transmission of a transport block in a first TX occasion 1720-1 and a third TX occasion 1720-3 using a the first TCI state);
transmissions of the first set of transmissions are periodic (¶279, Cirik discloses transmitting, by the base station 1704 to the wireless device 1708, a transport block in a first TX occasion 1720-1 and a third TX occasion 1720-3 using a the first TCI state. Here, the uplink transmission of the TB is periodic because the TB is periodically transmitted using the first TCI state) or aperiodic; or
a combination thereof (Examiner notes that the use of “or” and “and/or” has a broadest reasonable interpretation of any element in the list that follows or any of those elements taken together. See Ex Parte Gross, Appeal 2011-004811, Application No. 11/565,411. Thus, Examiner has not treated all limitations separated by “and/or” and “or”).
Regarding Claim 13, Cirik discloses a network entity comprising:
at least one processor coupled to a memory storing processor-readable code (¶184-192 & Fig. 15A, Cirik discloses a base station comprising a processing system 1508 coupled to a memory 1514 where the memory stores computer program instructions), the at least one processor configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor (¶190 & Fig. 15A, Cirik discloses the processing system is configured to execute computer program instructions on the memory to cause the base station to perform a method) to
generate a first transmission configuration indicator for one or more transmissions during a communication session of a user equipment (UE) (¶223 & Fig. 17( 1712) & ¶263, Cirik discloses generating, by a base station 1704, configuration parameters for transmission to a wireless device 1708 where the configuration parameters indicate a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state for at least two transmissions during a communication session between the wireless device 1708 and the base station 1704), the one or more transmissions by the UE (¶219 & ¶269 & Fig. 17 (1720-1 & 1720-2 & 1720-3 & 1720-4), Cirik discloses one or more transmissions of a transport block (TB) by the wireless device), wherein the first transmission configuration indicator indicates:
a first configuration for a first set of transmissions (¶207-208, Cirik discloses that the first TCI state configures a spatial domain transmission filter for transmission of a transport block in a first transmission occasion 1720-1 and retransmission of the transport block in a third transmission occasion 1720-3), the first configuration including a first periodicity of a first available transmission time for the first set of transmissions (¶317 & ¶359 & ¶380 & Fig. 17, Cirik discloses a first periodicity of the first transmission occasion 1720-1 and the third transmission occasion for a set of transmissions comprising transmissions that occurred within the first transmission occasion and the third transmission occasion using the first TCI state); and
a first repetition interval for the first available transmission time (¶317 & ¶359 & ¶380 & Fig. 17, Cirik discloses that the repetition interval is equivalent to a sum of a first transmission occasion 1720-1 and a second transmission occasion 1720-2. Examiner correlates two occasions to “a first repetition interval” because the occasions are a duration of time to repeat the transmission of the transport block); and
a communication interface (¶184-192 & Fig. 15A, Cirik discloses a base station comprising a transmission (TX) processing system 1510) configured to transmit the first transmission configuration indicator (¶223 & Fig. 17( 1712) & ¶263, Cirik discloses transmitting, by the base station 1704 to the wireless device 1708, configuration parameters where the configuration parameters indicate the first TCI state).
Regarding Claim 14, Cirik discloses the network entity of claim 13.
Cirik further discloses wherein:
one or more transmissions of the first set of transmissions include a scheduling request (SR), a channel sounding response (CSR) report, a channel sounding information (CSI) report, a sounding reference signal (SRS) (¶143 & ¶455, Cirik discloses that each uplink transmission includes a sounding reference signal (SRS) signal based upon a sounding reference indicator (SRI) field of the DCI), a configured grant (CG), one or more of burst data transmissions, or a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgement (ACK) (Examiner notes that the use of “or” and “and/or” has a broadest reasonable interpretation of any element in the list that follows or any of those elements taken together. See Ex Parte Gross, Appeal 2011-004811, Application No. 11/565,411. Thus, Examiner has not treated all limitations separated by “and/or” and “or”);
the first set of transmissions include one or more uplink transmissions or one or more sidelink transmissions (¶279 & ¶317 & ¶359 & ¶380 & Fig. 17, Cirik discloses a first uplink transmission of a transport block in a first TX occasion 1720-1 and a third TX occasion 1720-3 using a the first TCI state);
transmissions of the first set of transmissions are periodic or aperiodic (¶279, Cirik discloses transmitting, by the base station 1704 to the wireless device 1708, a transport block in a first TX occasion 1720-1 and a third TX occasion 1720-3 using a the first TCI state. Here, the uplink transmission of the TB is periodic because the TB is periodically transmitted using the first TCI state); or
a combination thereof (Examiner notes that the use of “or” and “and/or” has a broadest reasonable interpretation of any element in the list that follows or any of those elements taken together. See Ex Parte Gross, Appeal 2011-004811, Application No. 11/565,411. Thus, Examiner has not treated all limitations separated by “and/or” and “or”).
Regarding Claim 16, Cirik discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
receiving a first transmission configuration indicator for one or more transmissions associated with a communication session (¶223 & Fig. 17( 1712) & ¶263, Cirik discloses receiving, by a wireless device 1708 from a base station 1704, configuration parameters where the configuration parameters indicate the first TCI state), the first transmission configuration indicator indicating:
a first configuration for a first set of transmissions (¶207-208, Cirik discloses that the first TCI state configures a spatial domain transmission filter for transmission of a transport block in a first transmission occasion 1720-1 and retransmission of the transport block in a third transmission occasion 1720-3), the first configuration including a first periodicity of a first available transmission time for the first set of transmissions (¶317 & ¶359 & ¶380 & Fig. 17, Cirik discloses a first periodicity of the first transmission occasion 1720-1 and the third transmission occasion for a set of transmissions comprising transmissions that occurred within the first transmission occasion and the third transmission occasion using the first TCI state); and
a first repetition interval for the first available transmission time (¶317 & ¶359 & ¶380 & Fig. 17, Cirik discloses that the repetition interval is equivalent to a sum of a first transmission occasion 1720-1 and a second transmission occasion 1720-2); and
initiating at least one transmission of the first set of transmissions based on the first transmission configuration indicator (¶279 & ¶317 & ¶359 & ¶380 & Fig. 17, Cirik discloses transmitting, by the wireless device 1708 to the base station 1704, a first uplink transmission of a transport block in a first TX occasion 1720-1 and a third TX occasion 1720-3 using the first TCI state).
Regarding Claim 19, Cirik discloses the method of claim 16.
Cirik further discloses wherein the first transmission configuration indicator further indicates a second configuration of the first set of transmission or a second set of transmissions (¶223 & Fig. 17( 1712) & ¶263, Cirik discloses that the configuration parameters further indicate a second transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state for a group of uplink transmission in a second TX occasion 1720-2 and a fourth TX occasion 1720-4), the second configuration including a second periodicity of second transmission of the first set of transmission or the second set of transmissions (¶317 & ¶359 & ¶380 & Fig. 17, Cirik discloses a second periodicity (or a duration of time to repeat transmission of a transport block using a particular TCI state) is equal to a sum of a second transmission occasion 1720-1 and a third transmission occasion for a set of uplink transmissions).
Regarding Claim 20, Cirik discloses the method of claim 16.
Cirik further discloses [the method], further comprising:
receiving a second transmission configuration indicator for the communication session (¶223 & Fig. 17( 1712) & ¶263, Cirik discloses receiving configuration parameters where the configuration parameters indicate the second TCI state), the second transmission configuration indicator indicating:
a third configuration of a second set of transmissions (¶207-208, Cirik discloses that the first TCI state configures a spatial domain transmission filter for transmission of a transport block in a second transmission occasion 1720-2 and retransmission of the transport block in a fourth transmission occasion 1720-4. Examiner correlates the transmission of the TB using a second TCI state to “a second set of transmissions”), the third configuration including a third periodicity of a third set of transmissions of the second set of transmissions (¶317 & ¶359 & ¶380 & Fig. 17, Cirik discloses a second periodicity of the second transmission occasion 1720-2 and the fourth transmission occasion 1720-4 for a set of transmissions comprising transmissions that occurred within the first transmission occasion and the third transmission occasion using the first TCI state); and
a second repetition interval for the second set of transmissions (¶317 & ¶359 & ¶380 & Fig. 17, Cirik discloses that the repetition interval corresponding to the uplink transmission using the second TCI is equivalent to a sum of a second transmission occasion 1720-2 and a third transmission occasion 1720-3).
Regarding Claim 21, Cirik discloses the method of claim 20.
Cirik further discloses [the method], further comprising, during the communication session:
after receiving the first transmission configuration indicator, transmitting, based on the first configuration and the first repetition interval, a first burst of transmissions associated with the first set of transmissions (¶279 & ¶317 & ¶359 & ¶380 & Fig. 17, Cirik discloses receiving, by the wireless device 1708 from the base station 1704, a first uplink transmission of a transport block in a first TX occasion 1720-1 and a third TX occasion 1720-3 using a the first TCI state after receipt of configuration parameters indicating a first TCI state and a second TCI state); and
after transmitting the first burst of transmissions, transmitting, based on the third configuration and the second repetition interval, a second burst of transmissions associated with the second set of transmissions (¶279 & ¶317 & ¶359 & ¶380 & Fig. 17, Cirik discloses receiving, by the wireless device 1708 from the base station 1704, a second uplink transmission of a transport block in a second TX occasion 1720-1 and a fourth TX occasion 1720-3 using a second TCI state after reception of the transport block in the first TX occasion 1720-1 and the third TX occasion 1720-3 using a the first TCI state).
Regarding Claim 23, Cirik discloses the method of claim 16.
Cirik further discloses wherein:
the first set of transmissions include a scheduling request or a sounding reference signal (¶143 & ¶455, Cirik discloses that each uplink transmission includes a sounding reference signal (SRS) signal based upon a sounding reference indicator (SRI) field of the DCI);
the first set of transmissions include one or more uplink transmissions or one or more sidelink transmissions (¶279 & ¶317 & ¶359 & ¶380 & Fig. 17, Cirik discloses a first uplink transmission of a transport block in a first TX occasion 1720-1 and a third TX occasion 1720-3 using a the first TCI state);
transmissions of the first set of transmissions are periodic or aperiodic (¶279, Cirik discloses transmitting, by the base station 1704 to the wireless device 1708, a transport block in a first TX occasion 1720-1 and a third TX occasion 1720-3 using a the first TCI state. Here, the uplink transmission of the TB is periodic because the TB is periodically transmitted using the first TCI state); or
a combination thereof (Examiner notes that the use of “or” and “and/or” has a broadest reasonable interpretation of any element in the list that follows or any of those elements taken together. See Ex Parte Gross, Appeal 2011-004811, Application No. 11/565,411. Thus, Examiner has not treated all limitations separated by “and/or” and “or”).
Regarding Claim 28, Cirik discloses a user equipment (UE) comprising:
a communication interface (¶184-192 & Fig. 15A, Cirik discloses a wireless device comprising a transmission (TX) processing system 1520) configured to receive a first transmission configuration indicator for one or more transmissions during a communication session (¶223 & Fig. 17( 1712) & ¶263, Cirik discloses receiving, by a wireless device 1708 from a base station 1704, configuration parameters where the configuration parameters indicate the first TCI state), the one or more transmissions by the UE (¶219 & ¶269 & Fig. 17 (1720-1 & 1720-2 & 1720-3 & 1720-4), Cirik discloses one or more transmissions of a transport block (TB) by the wireless device), wherein the first transmission configuration indicator indicates:
a first configuration for a first set of transmissions (¶207-208, Cirik discloses that the first TCI state configures a spatial domain transmission filter for transmission of a transport block in a first transmission occasion 1720-1 and retransmission of the transport block in a third transmission occasion 1720-3. Examiner correlates a transmission of a transport block in a first transmission occasion 1720-1 and retransmission of the TB to “a first set of transmissions”), the first configuration including a first periodicity of a first available transmission time for the first set of transmissions (¶317 & ¶359 & ¶380 & Fig. 17, Cirik discloses a first periodicity of the first transmission occasion 1720-1 and the third transmission occasion for a set of transmissions comprising transmissions that occurred within the first transmission occasion and the third transmission occasion using the first TCI state); and
a first repetition interval for the first available transmission time (¶317 & ¶359 & ¶380 & Fig. 17, Cirik discloses that the repetition interval is equivalent to a sum of a first transmission occasion 1720-1 and a second transmission occasion 1720-2); and
at least one processor coupled to a memory storing processor-readable code (¶184-192 & Fig. 15A, Cirik discloses a wireless device comprising a processing system 1518 coupled to a memory 1524 storing computer program instructions), the at least one processor configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor (¶190 & Fig. 15A, Cirik discloses the processing system is configured to execute computer program instructions on the memory to cause the base station to perform a method) to initiate at least one transmission of the first set of transmissions based on the first transmission configuration indicator (¶279 & ¶317 & ¶359 & ¶380 & Fig. 17, Cirik discloses transmitting, by the wireless device 1708 to the base station 1704, a first uplink transmission of a transport block in a first TX occasion 1720-1 and a third TX occasion 1720-3 using a the first TCI state).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik in view of Lin et al. (US PGPUB 20210160879 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Lin”).
Regarding Claim 2, Cirik discloses the method of claim 1.
Cirik further discloses wherein:
the first set of transmission includes a first set of scheduling requests (¶180, Cirik discloses that at least one scheduling request (SR) is included in an uplink transmission on a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) or a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH)).
However, Cirik does not disclose the first transmission configuration indicator is a first scheduling request configuration indicator.
Lin, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches the first transmission configuration indicator is a first scheduling request configuration indicator (¶92, Lin discloses that the transmission configuration indicator (TCI) field is equivalent to a scheduling request (SR) indicator).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify Cirik by requiring that the first transmission configuration indicator is a first scheduling request configuration indicator as taught by Lin because group scheduling for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) is improved by reducing overhead of the PDCCH (Lin, ¶2).
Regarding Claim 17, Cirik discloses the method of claim 16.
Cirik further discloses wherein:
the first set of transmission includes a first set of scheduling requests (¶180, Cirik discloses that at least one scheduling request (SR) is included in an uplink transmission on a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) or a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH)).
However, Cirik does not disclose the first transmission configuration indicator is a first scheduling request configuration indicator.
Lin, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches the first transmission configuration indicator is a first scheduling request configuration indicator (¶92, Lin discloses that the transmission configuration indicator (TCI) field is equivalent to a scheduling request (SR) indicator).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify Cirik by requiring that the first transmission configuration indicator is a first scheduling request configuration indicator as taught by Lin because group scheduling for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) is improved by reducing overhead of the PDCCH (Lin, ¶2).
Claims 3 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik in view of Chen et al. (US PGPUB 20210037552 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Chen”).
Regarding Claim 3, Cirik discloses the method of claim 1.
Cirik further discloses [the method], further comprising, during the communication session and based on the first configuration and the first repetition interval:
receiving a first burst of transmissions associated with the first set of transmissions (¶279 & ¶317 & ¶359 & ¶380 & Fig. 17, Cirik discloses receiving, by the wireless device 1708 from the base station 1704, a first uplink transmission of a transport block in a first TX occasion 1720-1 and a third TX occasion 1720-3 using a the first TCI state); and
after receiving the first burst of transmissions, receiving a second burst of transmissions associated with the first set of transmissions (¶279 & ¶317 & ¶359 & ¶380 & Fig. 17, Cirik discloses receiving, by the wireless device 1708 from the base station 1704, a second uplink transmission of a transport block in a second TX occasion 1720-2 and a fourth TX occasion 1720-4 using a second TCI state after reception of the transport block in the first TX occasion 1720-1 and the third TX occasion 1720-3 using a the first TCI state).
However, Cirik does not disclose the communication session includes an extended reality (XR) communication session.
Chen, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches the communication session includes an extended reality (XR) communication session (¶188, Chen discloses a communication session supporting an extended reality (XR) communications).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify Cirik by requiring that the communication session includes an extended reality (XR) communication session as taught by Chen because transmission batch scheduling and resource management is improved (Chen, ¶2-4).
Regarding Claim 18, Cirik discloses the method of claim 16.
Cirik further discloses [the method] further comprising, during the communication session and based on the first configuration and the first repetition interval:
transmitting a first burst of transmission associated with the first set of transmission (¶279 & ¶317 & ¶359 & ¶380 & Fig. 17, Cirik discloses receiving, by the wireless device 1708 from the base station 1704, a first uplink transmission of a transport block in a first TX occasion 1720-1 and a third TX occasion 1720-3 using a the first TCI state); and
after transmitting the first burst of transmission, transmitting a second burst of transmission associated with the first set of transmission (¶279 & ¶317 & ¶359 & ¶380 & Fig. 17, Cirik discloses receiving, by the wireless device 1708 from the base station 1704, a second uplink transmission of a transport block in a second TX occasion 1720-1 and a fourth TX occasion 1720-3 using a second TCI state after reception of the transport block in the first TX occasion 1720-1 and the third TX occasion 1720-3 using a the first TCI state).
However, Cirik does not disclose the communication session includes an extended reality (XR) communication session.
Chen, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches the communication session includes an extended reality (XR) communication session (¶188, Chen discloses a communication session supporting an extended reality (XR) communications).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify Cirik by requiring that the communication session includes an extended reality (XR) communication session as taught by Chen because transmission batch scheduling and resource management is improved (Chen, ¶2-4).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik in view of Zhou et al. (US PGPUB 20210084624 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Zhou”).
Regarding Claim 26, Cirik discloses the method of claim 16.
However, Cirik does not disclose [the method] further comprising: selecting, based on a capability of the UE, a transmission configuration of multiple transmission configurations; and transmitting a request for the selected transmission configuration.
Zhou, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches [the method] further comprising:
selecting, based on a capability of the UE, a transmission configuration of multiple transmission configurations (¶120 & Fig. 5 (505), Zhou discloses selecting, by a base station 105 based upon a receipt, by the BS, of a UE capability, a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state); and
transmitting a request for the selected transmission configuration (¶121 & Fig. 5 (510), Zhou discloses transmitting, by the BS to a user equipment (UE), a transmission configuration indicator (TCI)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify Cirik by selecting, based on a capability of the UE, a transmission configuration of multiple transmission configurations and by transmitting a request for the selected transmission configuration as taught by Zhou because determination of directional transmit beams and directional receive beams is improved (Zhou, ¶4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-12, 15, 22, 24-25, 27, and 29-30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Conclusion
/ERIC NOWLIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2474