DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is a non-final office action on the merits in response to the arguments and/or amendments filed on 28 September 2025 and the request for continued examination filed on 28 September 2025.
Claim(s) 1-5, 10, 15 is/are amended.
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are currently pending and have been examined.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1, 10, and 15 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “a second animal inventory user interface corresponding to the second animal group level and comprising animal inventory information animal inventory information for a particular second group” which contains an extraneous repetition of “animal inventory information.” Claims 10 and 15 are similarly objected to.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 15, which is representative of claims 1 and 10, recites a method, comprising:
accessing,
generating, according to the animal inventory data, an animal inventory
a first animal inventory
a second animal inventory
a third animal inventory information for a particular animal being more detailed animal inventory information about the particular animal than is provided in the first animal inventory
accessing,
generating, according to the animal health data,
receiving,
transmitting, in response to the animal inventory update data received
retrieving,
transmitting, in response to the animal health records update data received
The preceding recitations of the claims have had strikethrough marks applied to the additional elements beyond the abstract idea to more clearly demonstrate the limitations setting forth the abstract idea. The remaining limitations describe a concept of providing and maintaining animal inventory information. This concept falls within the commercial or legal interaction sub-grouping of the methods of organizing human activity. Note Credit Acceptance Corp. v. Westlake Services, where a system that maintained a database of information about the items in a dealer’s inventory was found to set forth a commercial interaction. Therefore the claims set forth a method of organizing human activity and are determined to recite an abstract idea.
MPEP 2106, reflecting the 2019 PEG, directs examiners at Step 2A Prong Two to consider whether the additional elements of the claims integrate a recited abstract idea into a practical application.
Claim 1 recites the additional element of a computer-readable storage medium. Claim 10 recites the additional element of a storage system; one or more processors; and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium and two requesting devices. These additional elements are all recited at an extremely high level of generality and are interpreted as generic computing devices used to implement the abstract idea. Per MPEP 2106.05(f), implementing an abstract idea on a generic computing device does not integrate an abstract idea into a practical application in Step 2A Prong Two, similar to how the recitation of the computer in the claim in Alice amounted to mere instructions to apply the abstract idea on a generic computer. As such, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The claims further recite the additional element of multiple user inputs via a system, the additional element of multiple user interfaces, the additional element of digital records, and the additional element of transmitting data to a storage system. There are no further additional elements. Each of these additional elements, individually and as a combination, reflect no improvement to technology, do not implement the abstract idea with a particular machine, do not effect a transformation of a particular article, and do not meaningfully limit the implementation of the abstract idea. Instead these additional elements, when considered both individually and as a combination with each other and the above computing device additional elements, only generally links the abstract idea to a technological environment of a networked computing device. As such, the additional elements, individually and as a combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore the claims are determined to be directed to an abstract idea.
At Step 2B of the Mayo/Alice analysis, examiners are to consider whether the additional elements amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
As previously noted, the claims recite additional elements which may be interpreted as generic computing devices used to implement the abstract idea. However, per MPEP 2106.05(f), implementing an abstract idea on a generic computing does not add significantly more in Step 2B, similar to how the recitation of the computer in the claim in Alice amounted to mere instructions to apply the abstract idea on a generic computer. As such, this additional element does not amount to significantly more.
As previously noted, the claims recite an additional element of user inputs via a system. Smith et al. (US 2002/0147744 A1) demonstrates that user inputs via a system (See at least [0027], [0028], Fig. 1, and Fig. 2) were conventional long before the priority date of the claimed invention. As such, this additional element does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. As previously noted, the claims recite an additional element of user interfaces. Smith et al. (US 2002/0147744 A1) demonstrates that user interfaces (See at least [0022], “conventional GUI interfaces”) were conventional long before the priority date of the claimed invention. As such, this additional element does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. As previously noted, the claims recite an additional element of digital records. Smith et al. (US 2002/0147744 A1) demonstrates that digital records (See at least [0001], “conventional ASCII format”) were conventional long before the priority date of the claimed invention. As such, this additional element does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. As previously noted, the claims recite an additional element of transmitting data to a system. MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicates that transmitting data is a well-understood, routine, and conventional computer function. As such, this additional element does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
There are no further additional elements. The additional elements of the computing devices, the user inputs via a system, the user interfaces, the digital records, and the transmission of data to a system when considered as a combination, only generally link the abstract idea to a technological environment of a networked computing device. As such, the combination of additional elements does not amount to significantly more.
Therefore, when considered individually and as an ordered combination, the additional elements of the independent claims do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Thus the independent claims are not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 2-9, 12-14, and 16-20 further narrow the abstract idea, but the claims continue to set forth an abstract idea, albeit a narrowed one. Dependent claim 2, 3, 5-9, and 16-20 further describe the additional elements of the user input and user interface, but these additional elements fail to either integrate the narrowed abstract idea into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the narrowed abstract idea. Dependent claim 4, 13, and 14 only further describes the abstract idea. The previously identified additional elements continue to fail to either integrate the narrowed abstract idea into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the narrowed abstract. Dependent claim 11 further describes the computing devices, but this additional elements fails to either integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Dependent claim 12 recites the additional element of communicating data to another device. This additional element, individually and in combination with the other additional elements, only generally links the narrowed abstract idea to a particular environment of a networked computing system. As such, the additional elements do not integrate the narrowed abstract idea into a practical application. Further, per MPEP 2106.05(d), transmitting data is a well-understood, routine, and conventional computer function. As such, this additional element individually and in combination with the other additional elements, does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Because the dependent claims remain directed to an abstract idea without reciting significantly more, the dependent claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Skocic (US 2012/0124387 A1) in view of Janes et al. (US 6642946 B1).
Regarding Claim 1 and 15: Skocic discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (See at least [0034]) storing a program for execution by one or more processors, the program including instructions for:
accessing, in response to a first user input and via an animal records storage system, digital animal records for a plurality of animals, the digital animal records comprising animal data for the plurality of animals, the animal data comprising animal inventory data and animal health data; generating, according to the animal inventory data, an animal inventory user interface, wherein the animal inventory user interface comprises identifying information of at least a first portion of the plurality of animals, wherein the animal inventory user interface comprises: a first animal inventory user interface corresponding to a first animal group level and comprising animal inventory information for a group of multiple animals of the plurality of animals (FIG. 7 is an example of a screen comprising an exemplary animal search interface 700. The animal search interface allows a search to be performed to locate animal records matching search criteria. Animal search interface 700 includes search fields 702, search by biometrics selectable control 704, search by scanning selectable control 705, and search results 706. See at least [0071]. Also: Search fields 702 include owner's name prompt 710, animal ID prompt 712, and selectable control 716 for search, for example. See at least [0072]. Also: Server 102 is a computing system that stores or is able to access animal data 110. See at least [0023]. Also: user computing device 106 operates to communicate data across network 108, such as to access animal data 110. See at least [0027]. Also: See Fig. 7, noting “Animals found: 2”).
a third animal inventory user interface that includes animal inventory information for a particular animal of the at least one group of multiple animals, the animal inventory information for the particular animal being more detailed animal inventory information about the particular animal than is provided in the first animal inventory user interface (FIG. 8 is an example of a screen comprising an exemplary animal profile interface 800. … Animal profile 806 includes photo section 820, general info section 822, medical info section 824, and owner info section 826. See at least [0075]. Also: Server 102 is a computing system that stores or is able to access animal data 110. See at least [0023]).
accessing, in response to a second user input and via the animal records storage system, the animal health data for the plurality of animals; generating, according to the animal health data, an animal health records user interface for managing the animal health data of the plurality of animals, wherein the animal health records user interface comprises medical records of at least a second portion of the plurality of animals (Navigation controls 802 are selectable by a user to jump to a different interface display. When a user selects Go To Status button 810, an animal status interface is displayed that is associated with the currently identified animal. Other button 812 illustrates in this example for simplicity a number of different navigation controls that may be used to jump to another interface display, such as medical history of the animal, detailed genealogy, issued certificates, insurance, emergency contact, wishes, etc. See at least [0078]).
receiving, via the animal inventory user interface, animal inventory update data; transmitting, in response to the animal inventory update data received via the animal inventory user interface, an animal inventory update to the animal records storage system for updating the animal inventory data (For example, a user accesses the animal info on server 102 through user computing device 106 (shown in FIG. 1). The user is allowed to edit and update some or all of the animal information as needed. The user also adds additional animal information in some embodiments. See at least [0050]).
receiving, via the animal health records user interface, animal health records update data; and transmitting, in response to the animal health records update data received via the animal health records user interface, an animal health records update to the animal records storage system for updating the animal health data (animal profile interface 800 is not only a display that provides information about an animal, but also receives information from a user to update the animal's profile. For example, the owner logs into the system through user computing device 106 (shown in FIG. 1) and accesses animal profile interface 800. The owner then enters or edits the information as needed. See at least [0090]).
Skocic does not appear to disclose the first animal inventory user interface comprising separate animal inventory information for each of a second plurality of second groups of multiple animals of the plurality of animals at a second animal group level, the second animal group level being a sub-level of the first animal group level, each of the plurality of second groups being a subgroup of the first group; or a second animal inventory user interface corresponding to the second animal group level and comprising animal inventory information for a particular second group of the plurality of second groups, the second animal inventory user interface comprising separate animal inventory information for at least one third group of multiple animals of the plurality of animals at a third animal group level, the third animal group level being a sub-level of the second animal group level, the at least third group being a subgroup of the particular second group.
Janes teaches a first animal inventory user interface corresponding to a first animal group level and comprising animal inventory information for a first group of multiple animals of the plurality of animals, the first animal inventory user interface comprising separate animal inventory information for each of a plurality of second groups of multiple animals of the plurality of animals at a second animal group, the second animal group level being a sub-group of the first animal group level, each of the second groups being a subgroup of the first group; a second animal inventory user interface corresponding to the second animal group level and comprising animal inventory information for a particular second group of the plurality of second groups, the second animal inventory user interface comprising separate animal inventory information for at least one third group of the multiple animals of the plurality of animals at a third animal group level, the third animal group level being a sub-level of the second animal group, the at least one third group being a subgroup of the particular second group (Referring to FIG. 2A for an exemplary screen print 40 of an exemplary data explorer showing some of the common graphical user interface elements shared by all the data explorers. Screen print 40 shows what a cow-calf explorer graphical user interface may look like. See at least Column 4, Lines 48-52. Also: It may be noted that USA is the top node, which has seven branches denoting states (Texas, Oklahoma, Florida, Wyoming, Colorado, Nebraska, and Kansas). Some of the states or branches are further broken down into regions such as Texas, and other states are terminal nodes such as Florida. Some regions are even further broken down into multiple sub-regions or ranches/pastures, such as the Panhandle of Texas is broken down into Bob's Place and High Country Pasture. Therefore, hierarchical tree data structure 46 includes a top node, with one or multiple branches, each of which may include zero, one or more sub-branches and/or leaves (terminal nodes). The number of branching and the number of levels of branching are not limited. Each node with sub-nodes may be displayed as expanded (those noted with a "-" symbol) or contracted (those noted with a "+" symbol). … The user-selected livestock inventory as of May 16, 1998 for the location selected or highlighted (or noted by the pointing hand cursor) in left-hand panel 47 is displayed in tabbed data summary pages 50. Because the G4F Ranch node of Wyoming is selected in hierarchical tree data structure 46, the livestock inventory for that location is displayed in right-hand panel 48. The inventory displayed is attributable to both the front and back pastures of the G4F Ranch, because the G4F Ranch can be further broken down into the front pasture and the back pasture, and that the G4F Ranch, not an particular sub-region, is selected. If the user so desires, he/she may view livestock inventory of the specific pasture by selecting it in the hierarchical tree data structure. Similarly, if the top node (USA) is selected, all livestock at all locations are displayed in the right-hand panel. Therefore, the selection of the node in the hierarchical tree data structure determines the scope of the data displayed in the tabbed data summary pages. See at least Column 4 Line 66 through Column 5 Line 38 and Fig. 2A).
Skocic provides a computer interface which allows users to access a group of animals and information regarding specific animals, upon which the claimed invention’s hierarchical display of multiple animal groups can be seen as an improvement. However, Janes demonstrates that the prior art already knew of user interfaces displaying hierarchical animal inventory information. One of ordinary skill in the art could have easily applied the techniques of Janes to the system of Skocic. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that such an application of Janes would have resulted in an improved system which would have allowed users to access animal inventory information based on location. As such, the application of Janes to Skocic, and the claimed invention, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in view of the disclosure of Skocic and the teachings of Janes.
Regarding Claim 2 and 16: Skocic in view of Janes makes obvious the above limitations. Additionally, Skocic discloses wherein the program further includes instructions for: receiving, via the animal inventory user interface, a selection of a subset of the plurality of animals; and generating an updated animal inventory user interface according to the selection of the subset of the plurality of animals (The animal name, the ID no. or the owner name of each matching record is a hyperlink that can be selected by a user to bring the user to the animal profile interface associated with the animal. See at least [0075]. Also: FIG. 8 is an example of a screen comprising an exemplary animal profile interface 800. … Animal profile 806 includes photo section 820, general info section 822, medical info section 824, and owner info section 826. See at least [0075]. Also: animal profile interface 800 is not only a display that provides information about an animal, but also receives information from a user to update the animal's profile. For example, the owner logs into the system through user computing device 106 (shown in FIG. 1) and accesses animal profile interface 800. The owner then enters or edits the information as needed. See at least [0090]).
Regarding Claim 3 and 17: Skocic in view of Janes makes obvious the above limitations. Additionally, Skocic discloses wherein: the animal inventory user interface comprises a link for adding a new animal to the plurality of animals; and the program further includes instructions for: receiving animal inventory data for the new animal; and transmitting the animal inventory data for the new animal for storage in the animal records storage system (After operations 510 and 512, operation 514 is performed to update and access animal information as needed. For example, a user accesses the animal info on server 102 through user computing device 106 (shown in FIG. 1). The user is allowed to edit and update some or all of the animal information as needed. The user also adds additional animal information in some embodiments. See at least [0050]. Also: Selectable controls 704 and 705 may be any type of selectable user interface, such as button, check box, link or the like. See at least [0071]).
Regarding Claim 4: Skocic in view of Janes makes obvious the above limitations. Skocic does not expressly disclose wherein the animals are cows or pigs. However, Skocic expressly discloses that their technics may be applied to “any animal that would be desired to track and/or identify” [0021]. Janes teaches wherein the animals are cows or pigs (Referring to FIG. 2A for an exemplary screen print 40 of an exemplary data explorer showing some of the common graphical user interface elements shared by all the data explorers. Screen print 40 shows what a cow-calf explorer graphical user interface may look like. See at least Column 4, Lines 48-52).
Skocic and Janes suggest a system for managing animal data which differs from the claimed invention by the substitution of Skocic’s generic animal for a cow or pig. Janes demonstrates that the prior art already knew of cows. One of ordinary skill in the art could have trivially substituted Janes’ cows into the system of Skocic. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that such a substitution would have predictably resulted in a system which would track cow data. As such the identified substitution, and the claimed invention, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in view of the disclosure of Skocic and the teachings of Janes.
Regarding Claim 5 and 18: Skocic in view of Janes makes obvious the above limitations. Additionally, Skocic discloses wherein the program further includes instructions for generating a dashboard user interface screen that comprises a plurality of selectable links, each selectable link of the plurality of selectable links corresponding to an associated feature and data set for managing animal health of the plurality of animals (The animal name, the ID no. or the owner name of each matching record is a hyperlink that can be selected by a user to bring the user to the animal profile interface associated with the animal. See at least [0075]. Also: FIG. 8 is an example of a screen comprising an exemplary animal profile interface 800. … Animal profile 806 includes photo section 820, general info section 822, medical info section 824, and owner info section 826. See at least [0075]. Also: Server 102 is a computing system that stores or is able to access animal data 110. See at least [0023]. Also: user computing device 106 operates to communicate data across network 108, such as to access animal data 110. See at least [0027]).
Regarding Claim 6 and 19: Skocic in view of Janes makes obvious the above limitations. Additionally, Skocic disclose wherein: a first selectable link of the plurality of selectable links comprises a link to the animal inventory user interface; a second selectable link of the plurality of selectable links comprises a link to a breeding records user interface; a third selectable link of the plurality of selectable links comprises a link to a medical records user interface; a fourth selectable link of the plurality of selectable links comprises a link to a health reminders user interface; a fifth selectable link of the plurality of selectable links comprises a link to a treatment user interface; and a sixth selectable link of the plurality of selectable links comprises a link to a mortality report user interface (Animal search interface 700 includes search fields 702, search by biometrics selectable control 704, search by scanning selectable control 705, and search results 706. Selectable controls 704 and 705 may be any type of selectable user interface, such as button, check box, link or the like. See at least [0071]. Examiner’s note: The description of the user interfaces, absent any further functional limitation, is interpreted as non-functional descriptive material. As such, it is given limited patentable weight).
Regarding Claim 7 and 20: Skocic in view of Janes makes obvious the above limitations. Additionally, Skocic discloses wherein the program further includes instructions for: accessing, via the animal records storage system, breeding information for a subset of the plurality of animals; and generating, according to the breeding information, a breeding user interface (The animal name, the ID no. or the owner name of each matching record is a hyperlink that can be selected by a user to bring the user to the animal profile interface associated with the animal. See at least [0075]. Also: FIG. 8 is an example of a screen comprising an exemplary animal profile interface 800. … Animal profile 806 includes photo section 820, general info section 822, medical info section 824, and owner info section 826. See at least [0075]. Also: Server 102 is a computing system that stores or is able to access animal data 110. See at least [0023]. Also: user computing device 106 operates to communicate data across network 108, such as to access animal data 110. See at least [0027]. Also: See element 822, Fig. 8).
Regarding Claim 8: Skocic in view of Janes makes obvious the above limitations. Additionally, Skocic discloses wherein: the breeding user interface comprises breeding information for the subset of the plurality of animals; or the breeding user interface comprises breeding details for a particular animal of the subset of the plurality of animals (The animal name, the ID no. or the owner name of each matching record is a hyperlink that can be selected by a user to bring the user to the animal profile interface associated with the animal. See at least [0075]. Also: FIG. 8 is an example of a screen comprising an exemplary animal profile interface 800. … Animal profile 806 includes photo section 820, general info section 822, medical info section 824, and owner info section 826. See at least [0075]. Also: Server 102 is a computing system that stores or is able to access animal data 110. See at least [0023]. Also: user computing device 106 operates to communicate data across network 108, such as to access animal data 110. See at least [0027]. Also: See element 822, Fig. 8).
Regarding Claim 9: Skocic in view of Janes makes obvious the above limitations. Additionally, Skocic discloses wherein the program further includes instructions for: accessing, via the animal records storage system, mortality information of the plurality of animals; and generating, according to the mortality information, a mortality user interface summarizing the mortality information for the plurality of animals (The animal name, the ID no. or the owner name of each matching record is a hyperlink that can be selected by a user to bring the user to the animal profile interface associated with the animal. See at least [0075]. Also: FIG. 8 is an example of a screen comprising an exemplary animal profile interface 800. … Animal profile 806 includes photo section 820, general info section 822, medical info section 824, and owner info section 826. See at least [0075]. Also: Server 102 is a computing system that stores or is able to access animal data 110. See at least [0023]. Also: user computing device 106 operates to communicate data across network 108, such as to access animal data 110. See at least [0027]. Also: See element 822, Fig. 8. Examiner’s note: The broadest reasonable interpretation of “mortality information” includes any information relating to mortality).
Regarding Claim 10: Skocic discloses a system, comprising: a storage system; one or more processors; a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program to be executed by the one or more processors (An example of server 102 is described with reference to FIG. 2. See at least [0023] and Fig. 2), the program including instructions for:
receiving animal data for a plurality of animals, the animal data comprising animal inventory data and animal health data; generating, in response to receiving the animal data for the plurality of animals, digital animal records on the storage system, the digital animal records comprising the animal data for the plurality of animals (server 102 stores animal data 110 in memory of server 102. See at least [0024]. Also: Animal data 110 includes information relating to a particular animal. Examples of animal data include medical history data (including veterinarian notes, electronic medical records, immunization records, surgical history, medication records, medical treatment records, and identification of medical allergies), genealogy, owner information, owner's instructions in case of acute illness or injury (treat or put to sleep, who to contact if owner is unavailable), insurance information, and other data relating to the animal. See at least [0025]. Also: See at least [0050]).
receiving, from a first requesting device, a request for the animal inventory data for the plurality of animals; accessing, from digital animal records on the storage system, the animal inventory data for the plurality of animals; transmitting, to the first requesting device, the animal inventory data for display in an animal inventory user interface display by an application on the first requesting device, wherein the animal inventory user interface comprises: a first animal inventory user interface that incudes animal inventory corresponding to a first animal group level and comprising animal inventory information for a first group of multiple animals of the plurality of animals (FIG. 7 is an example of a screen comprising an exemplary animal search interface 700. The animal search interface allows a search to be performed to locate animal records matching search criteria. Animal search interface 700 includes search fields 702, search by biometrics selectable control 704, search by scanning selectable control 705, and search results 706. See at least [0071]. Also: Search fields 702 include owner's name prompt 710, animal ID prompt 712, and selectable control 716 for search, for example. See at least [0072]. Also: Server 102 is a computing system that stores or is able to access animal data 110. See at least [0023]. Also: user computing device 106 operates to communicate data across network 108, such as to access animal data 110. See at least [0027]. Also: See Fig. 7, noting “Animals found: 2”).
and a third animal inventory user interface that includes animal inventory information for a particular animal of the at least one group of multiple animals, the animal inventory information for the particular animal being more detailed animal inventory information about the particular animal than is provided in the first inventory user interface (FIG. 8 is an example of a screen comprising an exemplary animal profile interface 800. … Animal profile 806 includes photo section 820, general info section 822, medical info section 824, and owner info section 826. See at least [0075]. Also: Server 102 is a computing system that stores or is able to access animal data 110. See at least [0023]).
receiving, from a second requesting device, a request for at least a portion of the animal health data for a subset of the plurality of animals; accessing, from the digital animal records on the storage system, the animal health data for the subset of the plurality of animals; and transmitting, to the second requesting device, the animal health data for the subset of the plurality of animals for display by an application on the second requesting device (Navigation controls 802 are selectable by a user to jump to a different interface display. When a user selects Go To Status button 810, an animal status interface is displayed that is associated with the currently identified animal. Other button 812 illustrates in this example for simplicity a number of different navigation controls that may be used to jump to another interface display, such as medical history of the animal, detailed genealogy, issued certificates, insurance, emergency contact, wishes, etc. See at least [0078]. Also: Server 102 is a computing system that stores or is able to access animal data 110. See at least [0023]. Also: user computing device 106 operates to communicate data across network 108, such as to access animal data 110. See at least [0027]).
Skocic does not appear to disclose the first animal inventory user interface comprising separate animal inventory information for each of a second plurality of second groups of multiple animals of the plurality of animals at a second animal group level, the second animal group level being a sub-level of the first animal group level, each of the plurality of second groups being a subgroup of the first group; or a second animal inventory user interface corresponding to the second animal group level and comprising animal inventory information for a particular second group of the plurality of second groups, the second animal inventory user interface comprising separate animal inventory information for at least one third group of multiple animals of the plurality of animals at a third animal group level, the third animal group level being a sub-level of the second animal group level, the at least third group being a subgroup of the particular second group.
Janes teaches a first animal inventory user interface corresponding to a first animal group level and comprising animal inventory information for a first group of multiple animals of the plurality of animals, the first animal inventory user interface comprising separate animal inventory information for each of a plurality of second groups of multiple animals of the plurality of animals at a second animal group, the second animal group level being a sub-group of the first animal group level, each of the second groups being a subgroup of the first group; a second animal inventory user interface corresponding to the second animal group level and comprising animal inventory information for a particular second group of the plurality of second groups, the second animal inventory user interface comprising separate animal inventory information for at least one third group of the multiple animals of the plurality of animals at a third animal group level, the third animal group level being a sub-level of the second animal group, the at least one third group being a subgroup of the particular second group (Referring to FIG. 2A for an exemplary screen print 40 of an exemplary data explorer showing some of the common graphical user interface elements shared by all the data explorers. Screen print 40 shows what a cow-calf explorer graphical user interface may look like. See at least Column 4, Lines 48-52. Also: It may be noted that USA is the top node, which has seven branches denoting states (Texas, Oklahoma, Florida, Wyoming, Colorado, Nebraska, and Kansas). Some of the states or branches are further broken down into regions such as Texas, and other states are terminal nodes such as Florida. Some regions are even further broken down into multiple sub-regions or ranches/pastures, such as the Panhandle of Texas is broken down into Bob's Place and High Country Pasture. Therefore, hierarchical tree data structure 46 includes a top node, with one or multiple branches, each of which may include zero, one or more sub-branches and/or leaves (terminal nodes). The number of branching and the number of levels of branching are not limited. Each node with sub-nodes may be displayed as expanded (those noted with a "-" symbol) or contracted (those noted with a "+" symbol). … The user-selected livestock inventory as of May 16, 1998 for the location selected or highlighted (or noted by the pointing hand cursor) in left-hand panel 47 is displayed in tabbed data summary pages 50. Because the G4F Ranch node of Wyoming is selected in hierarchical tree data structure 46, the livestock inventory for that location is displayed in right-hand panel 48. The inventory displayed is attributable to both the front and back pastures of the G4F Ranch, because the G4F Ranch can be further broken down into the front pasture and the back pasture, and that the G4F Ranch, not an particular sub-region, is selected. If the user so desires, he/she may view livestock inventory of the specific pasture by selecting it in the hierarchical tree data structure. Similarly, if the top node (USA) is selected, all livestock at all locations are displayed in the right-hand panel. Therefore, the selection of the node in the hierarchical tree data structure determines the scope of the data displayed in the tabbed data summary pages. See at least Column 4 Line 66 through Column 5 Line 38 and Fig. 2A).
Skocic provides a computer interface which allows users to access a group of animals and information regarding specific animals, upon which the claimed invention’s hierarchical display of multiple animal groups can be seen as an improvement. However, Janes demonstrates that the prior art already knew of user interfaces displaying hierarchical animal inventory information. One of ordinary skill in the art could have easily applied the techniques of Janes to the system of Skocic. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that such an application of Janes would have resulted in an improved system which would have allowed users to access animal inventory information based on location. As such, the application of Janes to Skocic, and the claimed invention, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in view of the disclosure of Skocic and the teachings of Janes.
Regarding Claim 11: Skocic in view of Janes makes obvious the above limitations. Additionally, Skocic discloses wherein the first requesting device and the second requesting device are a same device (FIG. 7 is an example of a screen comprising an exemplary animal search interface 700. The animal search interface allows a search to be performed to locate animal records matching search criteria. Animal search interface 700 includes search fields 702, search by biometrics selectable control 704, search by scanning selectable control 705, and search results 706. See at least [0071]. Also: Search fields 702 include owner's name prompt 710, animal ID prompt 712, and selectable control 716 for search, for example. See at least [0072]. Also: The animal name, the ID no. or the owner name of each matching record is a hyperlink that can be selected by a user to bring the user to the animal profile interface associated with the animal. See at least [0075]. Also: FIG. 8 is an example of a screen comprising an exemplary animal profile interface 800. … Animal profile 806 includes photo section 820, general info section 822, medical info section 824, and owner info section 826. See at least [0075]. Also: Server 102 is a computing system that stores or is able to access animal data 110. See at least [0023]. Also: user computing device 106 operates to communicate data across network 108, such as to access animal data 110. See at least [0027]).
Regarding Claim 12: Skocic in view of Janes makes obvious the above limitations. Additionally, Skocic discloses the animal health data comprises a schedule of health events (See at least Fig. 8, Elements 822 and 824); and the program further includes instructions for communicating a reminder of a health event to an application on a third requesting device (In some embodiments, the Emergency Contact Information section includes an automatic notification option. For example, each emergency contact includes an option for automatic emergency notification. If automatic emergency notification is selected, the system will automatically contact the person in the manner indicated upon the occurrence of a health event, such as an injured animal. In one embodiment, a health event is deemed to have occurred whenever a caregiver such as a veterinarian or an animal rescue team (using a user computing system) enters the animal's biometric identifier, such as by scanning the animal's retina with the computing system. Once the system determines that a health event has occurred, the emergency contact(s) that have the automatic emergency notification feature enabled will be notified that a health event has occurred. Such notification can include an e-mail message, a text message, a telephone call with a voice message, a facsimile, or any other suitable communication. In some embodiments the notification is only a notification that a health event has occurred to the animal. See at least [0086]).
Regarding Claim 13: Skocic in view of Janes makes obvious the above limitations. Additionally, Skocic discloses wherein the animal inventory data comprises the following information for the plurality of animals: an animal identifier (FIG. 7 is an example of a screen comprising an exemplary animal search interface 700. The animal search interface allows a search to be performed to locate animal records matching search criteria. Animal search interface 700 includes search fields 702, search by biometrics selectable control 704, search by scanning selectable control 705, and search results 706. See at least [0071] and Fig. 7). Skocic does not expressly disclose wherein the animal inventory data comprises animal type and location information.
Janes teaches wherein the animal inventory data comprises animal type and location information (FIG. 3 is a block diagram of exemplary tables of database 12 according to the teachings of the present invention. Database 12 is made up of a number of tables which are related to one another, each table storing several fields of related data. Exemplary tables in database 12 may include: Associates (60)--contains information about all individuals used by the various applications, such as customers, buyers, and vendors ExpenseTypes (62)--types of expenses, such as livestock purchase, freight, medicine etc. InventoryTypes (64)--types or groupings of inventory LivestockActivityDetail (66)--Details of livestock transactions LivestockActivityMaster (68)--Livestock trasactions LivestockActivityTypes (70)--Types of Livestock transactions LivestockInventory (72)--Livestock inventory on hand LivestockType (74)--types of livestock Locations (76)--locations to put livestock or inventory OrderItem (78)--details on livestock and expenses applied to fill an order Orders (80)--what is ordered Owner (82)--Who owns the livestock PurchaseDetail (84)--details on what was purchased PurchaseMaster (86)--purchases (detail of purchase in PurchaseDetail) PurchaseTypes (88)--type of purchase Quality (90)--subjective description of the quality of the livestock SupplyActivityDetail (92)--detailed records of activity (history) of inventory SupplyActivityMaster (94)--transactions SupplyActivityTypes (96)--types of supply activity SupplyInventory (98)--inventory on hand SupplyItems (100)--items that can be in inventory UnitTypes (102)--by pound, or by the bale, etc. See at least Column 6, Lines 30-49 and Fig. 3).
Skocic and Janes suggest a system for managing animal data which differs from the claimed invention by the inclusion of location and type data in search reports. However, Janes demonstrates that the prior art already knew of recording location and type in animal record data. One of ordinary skill in the art could have easily included this information in the search results of Skocic. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that such a combination would have resulted in an improved system which would give users additional information regarding a given animal to increase the ability of users to recognize a particular entry as corresponding to a known animal. As such, the identified combination, and the claimed invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in view of the disclosures of Skocic and the teachings of Janes.
Regarding Claim 14: Skocic in view of Janes makes obvious the above limitations. Additionally, Skocic discloses wherein the animal health data comprises the following information for the plurality of animals: digital medical records; vaccination information; breeding information; treatment information; and mortality information (Examples of animal data include medical history data (including veterinarian notes, electronic medical records, immunization records, surgical history, medication records, medical treatment records, and identification of medical allergies), genealogy, owner information, owner's instructions in case of acute illness or injury (treat or put to sleep, who to contact if owner is unavailable), insurance information, and other data relating to the animal. See at least [0025]. Also: See at least Fig. 8).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s Argument Regarding 101 Rejections of claims 1-20:
The Office Action incorrectly states that Applicant’s remarks omit any specifically identified technical improvement, as Applicant’s previous remarks highlighted numerous technical advantages made possible through the claimed invention.
To the extent the Office is implying the claims must explicitly recite a technical advantage, controlling authority suggests no such requirement exists.
The present claims recite specific interface improvements for managing animal health records that are analogous to those found eligible in Core Wireless. The claimed interfaces go beyond merely displaying information and are “directed to a specific improvement in the way computers [and other devices] operate.” As explained in Applicant’s specification, the claimed invention may provide one or more technical advantages that offer technical improvements: … .
Unlike the generic arrangement of generic market data at issue in Trading Technologies case cited in the Office Action, Applicant’s claims recite a multi-tiered interactive interface and data relationship that evaluates and provides information in a technologically complex and specific manner.
Applicant’s claims either are not directed to an abstract idea at all, or, if directed to an abstract idea, reduce the alleged abstract idea to a practical application by providing technological improvements.
Examiner’s Response: Applicant's arguments filed 28 September 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner notes that applicant now indicates that the cited portions of the disclosure provide improvements inventions “made possible” through the claimed invention, in contrast to the prior indication that they describe improvements which the claimed invention “may provide.” However, it remains unclear to the examiner what the purported technical improvement of the claimed invention. Applicant is invited to expand on this issue beyond merely identifying paragraphs of the disclosure. Note that this invitation is not a requirement under 1.105 but rather a suggestion to facilitate the prosecution of the present application.
Examiner does not mean to suggest that the claims must recite a technical improvement. However, Examiner notes that MPEP 2106.05(a) does state that the claimed invention must “reflect[] the disclosed improvement in technology.” As such, it is plainly necessary to resolve what the improvement is.
MPEP 2106.05(a)(I) describes the claimed invention in Core Wireless as “An improved user interface for electronic devices that displays an application summary of unlaunched applications, where the particular data in the summary is selectable by a user to launch the respective application.” Examiner observes no apparent similarity between the invention in Core Wireless and the claimed invention.
Examiner notes that Applicant’s characterization of the claimed invention as reciting a “data relationship that evaluates and provides information” does not appear to be tethered to any limitation of the claim. Further, Examiner notes that the disclosure at [0121] states that “Certain Embodiments provide a highly intuitive user interface” and “The software application may provide a variety of interfaces for interacting with the digital data records to facilitate managing the health of the animals.” If these are the improvements Applicant considers reflected by the claimed invention, they are actually analogous to the improvement in Trading Technologies which the courts found to be insufficient to render the claims eligible.
Examiner notes that MPEP 2106.05(a) states “If it is asserted that the invention improves upon conventional functioning of a computer, or upon conventional technology or technological processes, a technical explanation as to how to implement the invention should be present in the specification. That is, the disclosure must provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as providing an improvement.” Here the disclosure, in regards to the user interface which Applicant apparently understands to provide a technical improvement, does not appear to include any technical details regarding implementation. As such, there does not appear to be any technical improvement.
Applicant’s Arguments Regarding 102 and 103 Rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20: The cited portions of Skocic still do not disclose, teach, or suggest at least the above-identified features of amended independent claim 1.
Examiner’s Response: Applicant's arguments filed 28 September 2025 have been fully considered but they are rendered moot by the amendment of claim(s) 1, 10, and 15.
Additional Considerations
The prior art made of record and not relied upon that is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure can be found in the PTO-892 of the prior office action dated 19 September 2024.
Conclusion
/Bion A Shelden/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3685 2025-12-11