DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 20 January 2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-9 & 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buerger et al. (US 9,692,278) in view of Ogawa et al. (US 9,053,838).
Regarding claim 1, Buerger teaches an electric motor 32 comprising a housing 36,
at least two terminal contacts 42 and at least one suppression device (choke) 56 against electromagnetic emissions, the suppression device having at least one circuit carrier (printed circuit board) 54 with at least one filter circuit (i.e., interference-suppression circuit including chokes 56 and capacitors 58 arranged on board; c.5:26-42), the circuit carrier 54 being arranged on an end side of the electric motor (Fig.3), and the filter circuit being electrically connected to the two terminal contacts 42,
at least one contact means (metal sheet/contact elements) 10/20/22 electrically connected to the filter circuit is attached to the circuit carrier 54, and the contact means bears against a ground contact (not numbered, part of housing 36 forming earth adjacent recesses 48) with at least partial deformation (i.e., when the metal sheet 10 is pressed against the end plate 38, the respective contact element 20, 22 is also pressed with its radially extending second section 28 against the respective free end 50 of the housing 36 whereby respective pre-tensioned third sections 30 contact the housing 36 from outside under the action of a spring force; c.5:8-17), so that the filter circuit is electrically connected to the ground contact 36 via the contact means 10 (c.2:19-48; c.5:54-57; Figs.2-3).
Buerger’s contact means (i.e., metal sheet 10 with first and second contact elements 20/22; abstract) does not “consis[t] of a silicone or rubber material that is electrically conductive coated” or “…an electrically conductive silicone or rubber.” 1
But, Ogawa teaches a contact means comprising a conductive elastic component 10 consisting of a rubber material 1, e.g., a silicone rubber, that is electrically conductive coated with metal coating 2 or mixed with conductive powder to provide conductivity (c.3:34-50; c.3:66-c.4:23; c.5:15-38; Fig.1). Ogawa’s contact means consisting of a silicone or rubber material that is electrically conductive coated or an electrically conductive silicone or rubber is used as the electrical contact of an electronic component, to electrically connect an electronic component to a printed circuit board (abstract; c.5:11-15). Ogawa’s conductive rubber contact means reduces damage from vibration (in contrast to spring contacts; c.6:14-26; Fig.6B) and also reduces damage to electrode surfaces, material cost and corrosion (c.2:60-c.3:2; c.6:27-40).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to configure Buerger’s contact means to consist of a silicone or rubber material that is electrically conductive coated or an electrically conductive silicone or rubber since Ogawa teaches this material would have been desirable to provide a conductive, elastic electrical contact with reduced damage, material cost and corrosion.
Regarding claim 2, Buerger teaches at least two contact means (contact elements) 20, 22 attached to the circuit carrier 54 (Figs.2-3).
Regarding claim 3, Buerger’s ground contact is formed by…the housing 36…, and wherein the contact means 20, 22 bears at least partially against…the housing 36 (c.5:8-17).
Regarding claim 4, Buerger’s housing 36 has at least one “deformation” (not numbered, adjacent recesses 48) and wherein the contact means 20, 22 rests in the deformation (c.5:8-17; Figs.2-3).
Regarding claim 5, Buerger’s contact means 20, 22 is designed and arranged such that it does not project beyond the outer contour of the housing 36 (Fig.3).
Regarding claim 6, Buerger’s contact means 20, 22 is at least one of at least partially elastically deformed (c.5:8-17). Similarly, Ogawa’s elastic conductive rubber contact means is at least partially elastically deformed and at least partially compressed.
Regarding claim 8, Buerger’s contact means 20, 22 is arranged in an edge region of the circuit carrier 54 (Figs.2-3).
Regarding claim 9, Ogawa’s contact means (conductive rubber component) 10 is soldered to the circuit carrier (printed wiring board) 9 (abstract; Fig.4).
Regarding claim 11, Buerger teaches a method for arranging a suppression device against electromagnetic emissions on an electric motor 32, comprising at least the following method steps: providing an electric motor with at least two terminal contacts 42, providing a suppression device with at least one circuit carrier (printed circuit board) 54 with a filter circuit (interference-suppression circuit including chokes 56 and capacitors 58 arranged on board; c.5:26-42) and at least one contact means (metal sheet/contact elements) 10/20/22, moving the suppression device into its mounting position on the electric motor while deforming the contact means and simultaneously contacting a ground contact (not numbered, part of housing 36 forming earth adjacent recesses 48, c.2:19-48; c.5:23-61), and fixing the suppression device in the mounting position (Fig.3).
Buerger’s contact means (i.e., metal sheet 10 with first and second contact elements 20/22; abstract) does not “consis[t] of a silicone or rubber material that is electrically conductive coated” or “…an electrically conductive silicone or rubber.”
But, Ogawa teaches a contact means comprising a conductive elastic component 10 consisting of a rubber material 1, e.g., a silicone rubber, that is electrically conductive coated with metal coating 2 or mixed with conductive powder to provide conductivity (c.3:34-50; c.3:66-c.4:23; c.5:15-38; Fig.1). Ogawa’s contact means consisting of a silicone or rubber material that is electrically conductive coated or an electrically conductive silicone or rubber is used as the electrical contact of an electronic component, to electrically connect an electronic component to a printed circuit board (abstract; c.5:11-15). Ogawa’s conductive rubber contact means reduces damage from vibration (in contrast to spring contacts; c.6:14-26; Fig.6B) and also reduces damage to electrode surfaces, material cost and corrosion (c.2:60-c.3:2; c.6:27-40).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to configure Buerger’s contact means to consist of a silicone or rubber material that is electrically conductive coated or an electrically conductive silicone or rubber since Ogawa teaches this material would have been desirable to provide a conductive, elastic electrical contact with reduced damage, material cost and corrosion.
Regarding claim 12, Buerger teaches use of a deformable and compressible (inherent to a metal sheet) electrically conductive contact means (metal sheet/contact elements) 10/20/22 attached to a circuit carrier (printed circuit board) 54 for contacting a filter circuit on the circuit carrier (interference-suppression circuit including chokes 56 and capacitors 58 arranged on board; c.5:26-42) with at least one ground contact (not numbered, part of housing 36 adjacent recesses 48) of an electric motor 32 (c.2:19-48; c.5:23-61; Figs.2-3).
Buerger differs only in that the deformable electrically conductive contact means (metal sheet/contact elements) 10/20/22 does not “consis[t] of a rubber or a silicone“.
But, Ogawa teaches a contact means comprising a conductive elastic component 10 consisting of a rubber material 1, e.g., a silicone rubber, that is electrically conductive coated with metal coating 2 or mixed with conductive powder to provide conductivity (c.3:34-50; c.3:66-c.4:23; c.5:15-38; Fig.1). Ogawa’s contact means consisting of a silicone or rubber material is used as the electrical contact of an electronic component, to electrically connect an electronic component to a printed circuit board (abstract; c.5:11-15). Ogawa’s conductive rubber contact means reduces damage from vibration (in contrast to spring contacts; c.6:14-26; Fig.6B) and also reduces damage to electrode surfaces, material cost and corrosion (c.2:60-c.3:2; c.6:27-40).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to configure Buerger’s contact means to consist of a silicone or rubber since Ogawa teaches this material would have been desirable to provide a conductive, elastic electrical contact with reduced damage, material cost and corrosion.
Regarding claim 13, Buerger’s “deformation” (not numbered, adjacent recesses 48) is in an edge region (of housing 36) oriented in the direction of the suppression device (note orientation of printed circuit board 54 placed on motor; Fig.3).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buerger & Ogawa as applied to claim 1, further in view of Perrin et al. (US 6,078,117).
Buerger does not teach the circuit carrier 54 is “arranged in a cover limiting the housing [36]”. Ogawa does not remedy this deficiency.
But, Perrin teaches a cover (end cap) limiting a motor housing and containing a circuit carrier comprising a lead frame 18 and noise filter circuit 12 (Fig.10). The cover attenuates electric noise, shields radiated fields of the motor and forms part of the original equipment of the motor (c.4:48-51).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to modify Buerger & Igarashi and arrange the circuit carrier in a cover limiting the housing since Perrin teaches a cover would have attenuated electric noise, shielded radiated fields and formed part of the original equipment of the motor.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buerger & Ogawa as applied to claim 4, further in view of Kajino et al. (US 6,914,504).
Buerger’s housing 36 has at least one “deformation” (not numbered, adjacent recesses 48) in which the contact means 20, 22 rests (c.5:8-17; Figs.2-3), but Buerger does not teach the deformation is “formed by caulking”, per se. Ogawa does not remedy this deficiency.
But Kajino teaches an electromagnetic switch for a starter including a solenoid casing 6 and a contact means (ground plate) 9, wherein the contact means is positioned and fixed in a deformation of the thinned portion 6b of the casing deformed by caulking (c.4:31-39; Fig.1).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to form the deformation of Buerger & Ogawa by caulking since Kajino teaches caulking would have been desirable to position and fix the contact means.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. With respect to the feature of a contact means consisting of a silicone or rubber material that is electrically conductive coated or consisting of an electrically conductive silicone or rubber, Ogawa teaches a conductive elastic component 10 consisting of a silicone rubber material 1 that is electrically conductive coated with metal coating 2 or mixed with conductive powder to provide conductivity (c.3:34-50; c.3:66-c.4:23; c.5:15-38; Fig.1). Ogawa’s conductive rubber contact means reduces damage from vibration and also reduces damage to electrode surfaces, material cost and corrosion (c.2:60-c.3:2; c.6:27-40).
It is noted that other references read on the feature. For instance, Buchoff (US 3,971,610) discloses elastic electrical contacts and connectors 10 consisting of metal-filled or carbon-filled elastomers molded on or bonded to electrically conductive substrates 12 on printed circuit board 16, in particular rubber and preferably silicone (c.1:5-12; c.3:18-28; Fig.1), to enable contact between mating electrical conductors under the influence of an externally applied force and provide elastic deformation under the contacting forces to seal the mated conductor surface, thereby inhibiting corrosion and maintaining electrical contact (abstract; c.1:60-68).
Further, Gelman (US Pat.Pub.2005/0070140) teaches an elastic contact element for making electrical contact between contact partners 3 & 4 consisting of a silicone carrier 1 coated with a conductive layer 2 (by dispersion, metal spraying, painting, printing (for example embossing) or by a chemogalvanic, electrostatic or like technique; ¶[0016]; Fig.1) and Lim et al. (US 10,756,472) also teaches a contact means (elastic conductor) 110 that consists of an electrically conductive silicone rubber material that makes electrical contact between conductors 12 & 14 of an electronic device (c.3:20-21; Fig.1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BURTON S MULLINS whose telephone number is (571)272-2029. The examiner can normally be reached 9-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/BURTON S MULLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834
1 There is an exceptionally strong presumption that a claim term set off with ‘consisting of’ is closed to unrecited elements. Multilayer Stretch Cling Film Holdings, Inc. v. Berry Plastics Corp., 831 F.3d 1350, 1359, 119 USPQ2d 1773, 1781 (Fed. Cir. 2016). The phrase is understood to exclude any element, step, or ingredient not specified in the claim. In re Gray, 53 F.2d 520, 11 USPQ 255 (CCPA 1931); Ex parte Davis, 80 USPQ 448, 450 (Bd. App. 1948).