DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, drawn a wireless physiological parameter monitor apparatus, in the reply filed on 11/13/25 is acknowledged.
Claims 20, 21, 26 and 30-33 (now canceled) are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/13/25.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Information Disclosure Statement
The accompanying information disclosure statement (IDS) submission(s) is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101). Claim 5 positively recites “the wireless monitor is implanted in a patient”. Claim 5 is non-statutory for expressly and/or necessarily requiring a portion of a human organism as part of the scope of the claim. In the interest of compact prosecution, the examiner respectfully recommends instead reciting “the wireless monitor is configured to be implanted in a patient”, which would obviate the non-statutory issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 10-12, 14-18, and 127-131 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pflugh et al. (US 10,623,933 B2, hereinafter Pflugh).
For claim 1, Pflugh discloses a wireless monitor (Figs 1-8) (Cols 5-16), comprising inter alia:
a sensor (implantable monitoring device 400) (Figs 1-8) (Cols 5-16) configured to measure a physiological parameter (heart electrical activity) (Figs 1-8) (Cols 5-16) of a patient at a first resolution (slow announcement frequency) (Figs 1-8) (Cols 5-16); and
a processor (460) (Figs 1-8) (Cols 5-16) configured to generate physiological parameter data based on the measured physiological parameter of the patient at the first resolution (Figs 1-8) (Cols 5-16),
wherein the sensor is configured to measure the physiological parameter of the patient at a second resolution (fast announcement frequency) based at least in part on the physiological parameter data (Figs 1-8) (Cols 5-16).
For claim 2, Pflugh discloses the wireless monitor of claim 1, wherein the first resolution and second resolution comprise one or more of an amplitude of the physiological parameter, a timing of the physiological parameter, a number of bits per sample, a voltage, a current, a sampling rate, a sampling duration, a number of samples, an over-sampling ratio (OSR), a frequency, a phase, an impedance, and a filter cut-off frequency (Figs 1-8) (Cols 5-16).
For claim 4, Pflugh discloses the wireless monitor of claim 1, wherein measuring the physiological parameter at the first resolution consumes lower energy than measuring the physiological parameter at the second resolution (Figs 1-8) (Cols 5-16, esp Col 6).
For claim 5, Pflugh discloses the wireless monitor of claim 1, wherein the wireless monitor is implanted in a patient (Figs 1-8) (Cols 5-16).
For claim 7, Pflugh discloses the wireless monitor of claim 1, wherein the physiological parameter comprises one or more of an intracardiac pressure, an intravascular pressure, a blood pressure, a blood velocity, a blood flow, a blood oxygen level, a heart rate, a breathing rate, a temperature, a voltage, a current, an impedance, a neural signal, and a heart sound (Figs 1-8) (Cols 5-16).
For claim 10, Pflugh discloses the wireless monitor of claim 1, further comprising a memory (494) (Figs 1-8) (Cols 5-16) configured to store one or more of the measured physiological parameter at the first resolution, the measured physiological parameter at the second resolution, the physiological parameter data, and resolution data (Figs 1-8) (Cols 5-16).
For claim 11, Pflugh discloses the wireless monitor of claim 1, further comprising a wireless transmitter (424) (Figs 1-8) (Cols 5-16) configured to wirelessly transmit one or more of the measured physiological parameter at the first resolution, the measured physiological parameter at the second resolution, the physiological parameter data, and resolution data to a wireless device (230) (Figs 1-8) (Cols 5-16).
For claim 12, Pflugh discloses the wireless monitor of claim 11, wherein the wireless device is an external wireless device configured to be disposed physically separate from the wireless monitor (Figs 1-8) (Cols 5-16).
For claim 14, Pflugh discloses the wireless monitor of claim 1, wherein the sensor comprises a resolution setting of the sensor (Figs 1-8) (Cols 5-16).
For claim 15, Pflugh discloses the wireless monitor of claim 14, wherein the processor is configured to adjust the resolution setting of the sensor based at least in part on the physiological parameter data (Figs 1-8) (Cols 5-16).
For claim 16, Pflugh discloses the wireless monitor of claim 14, wherein the resolution setting comprises one or more of a number of bits per sample, a voltage, a current, a sampling rate, a sampling duration, a number of samples, an over-sampling ratio (OSR), a frequency, a phase, an impedance, and a filter cut-off frequency (Figs 1-8) (Cols 5-16).
For claim 17, Pflugh discloses the wireless monitor of claim 14, further comprising a memory (494) configured to store the resolution setting of the sensor (Figs 1-8) (Cols 5-16).
For claim 18, Pflugh discloses the wireless monitor of claim 14, further comprising a wireless transmitter (424) configured to wirelessly transmit the resolution setting of the sensor to a wireless device (230) (Figs 1-8) (Cols 5-16).
For claim 127, Pflugh discloses the wireless monitor of claim 1, wherein the sensor is configured to measure the physiological parameter of the patient at the first resolution periodically at a predetermined repetition interval (Figs 1-8) (Cols 5-16).
For claim 128, Pflugh discloses the wireless monitor of claim 1, wherein the measured physiological parameter at the first resolution and the second resolution comprises digital bits (Figs 1-8) (Cols 5-16).
For claim 129, Pflugh discloses the wireless monitor of claim 1, wherein the physiological parameter data comprises digital bits (Figs 1-8) (Cols 5-16).
For claim 130, Pflugh discloses the wireless monitor of claim 1, wherein the sensor comprises one or more of a pressure transducer, a velocity sensor, a flow sensor, a blood oxygen sensor, a temperature sensor, an impedance sensor, an electrical sensor, a heart rate sensor, a breathing rate sensor, a neural sensor, an audio sensor, a front-end amplifier, a filter, an analog-to-digital converter, a comparator, a reference generator, a supply generator, a digital controller, a timer circuit, an oscillator, and a clock circuit (Figs 1-8) (Cols 5-16).
For claim 131, Pflugh discloses the wireless monitor of claim 18, wherein the wireless device is an external wireless device (230) (Figs 1-8) (Cols 5-16) configured to be disposed physically separate from the wireless monitor (Figs 1-8) (Cols 5-16).
Conclusion
The cited prior art made of record on the accompanying PTO-=892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, relating to means for wirelessly monitoring physiological parameters.
Jeffrey G. Hoekstra
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/JEFFREY G. HOEKSTRA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791