DETAILED ACTION
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and species of IL-31 in the Response filed on January 5, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-45 have been canceled.
Claims 44-57 are pending.
Claims 48 and 51-57 have been withdrawn under 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected invention/species.
Claims 44-47, 49, and 50 are currently under consideration as they read on the elected invention.
5. Claims 44-46, 49, and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Leger (WO 2018/073185, reference on IDS) in view of Adam (US 2006/0067930, reference on IDS).
Leger et al. teach a canine IgG Fc domain comprising amino acid substitutions (e.g. see Abstract and page 8). Leger et al. teach the amino acid sequences of the wild type canine IgB, IgD, and IgA (e.g. see Figure 8). Leger et al. teach a canine IgG Fc domain having increased binding affinity to canine FcRn compared to the parent canine IgG without amino acid substitution (e.g. see page 7). Leger et al. identified N434 as one of the seven residues belonging to the binding interface of the native canine Fc/FcRn complex (e.g. see Figure 8 and its legend in page 33). N434 is conserved between all canine IgG and human IgG.
Leger et al. teach that human Fc variants comprising M252Y/S254T/T256E (the YTE mutant) and H433K/N434F/Y436H were known in the art to improve IgG1-huamn FcRn complex stability (e.g. see page 3). Leger et al. teach full length antibody (e.g. in page 12) which would be understood as encompassing six CDRs.
Leger et al. teach examples of a canine IgG B Fc variant having the YTE (adopted from human YTE) substitutions in the Fc region and show that the Fc variant displayed increase binding to FcRn at pH6.0 as compared to the parent Fc (e.g. see page 4 and Examples in pages 33-49).
Leger et al. teach examples of a canine IgG B Fc variant consists of N114A substitution (corresponding to N434A in EU numbering) in Example 2 in page 37 and shows that this Fc variant binds canine FcRn better than wild type IgG (e.g. see page 38). Ledger et al. teach that the antibody variant can be purified with sodium citrate buffer and neutralized suing Tris buffer and dialyzed into PBS, a well-known pharmaceutically acceptable excipient (e.g. see lines 15-25 in pages 18, 31, and 35).
The reference teachings differ from the instant invention by not describing His at position 434 of the canine IgG Fc region.
Adam et al. teach an antibody comprising a human IgG Fc wherein the amino acid residue N434 is substituted with amino acid residue Trp (W), Tyr (Y), or His (H), wherein the Fc region has higher affinity than native unmutated IgG Fc sequence at pH6.0 (e.g. see claim 72 and FIGs. 8 and 13). Adam et al. further teach that the Fc can be from dog (e.g. see [0138]). Adam further teaches that the antibody can be formulated into a pharmaceutical composition comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient (e.g. see [0053]).
It would thus be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to produce a canine IgG B antibody Fc variant by performing amino acid substitution in position 434 to replace the naturally occurring amino acid residue asparagine (N, conserved in human and canine) with histidine for increased binding to FcRn. An ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, and have a reasonable expectation of success, since Adam et al. and Leger et al. both teach Fc variant comprising amino acid substitution in position N434 in human IgG1 Fc region could enhance the Fc’s affinity to FcRn and Adam teaches human IgG Fc consisting of N434H substitution result in an Fc variant with enhanced affinity to FcRn. Such canine antibody Fc variant would be expected to have the benefit of prolonged serum half life.
Given that Leger teaches that canine IgG B YTE mutant was shown to have the same effect of enhanced binding to FcRn as what was shown in human IgG1 Fc variant comprising YTE mutant, and since Leger teaches that N434 is conserved in canine IgG B (as the human IgG1 Fc region), an ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to mutate amino acid residues in position N434 with amino acid residues H in the canine anti- Ig B antibody Fc region following well-established point mutation methods as shown in Adam and Leger, with a reasonable expectation of success to produce an canine IgB Fc variant comprising/consisting of amino acid substitution N434H.
Such canine Ig B antibody Fc variant would be expected to inherently/intrinsically exhibit the function of binds to a canine FcRn at higher level at an acidic pH than at a neutral pH and suitable for veterinary use.
6. Claim 47 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leger (WO 2018/073185) in view of Adam (US 2006/0067930) as applied to claims 44 and 45 above, and further in view of Li (WO 2018/156180, reference on IDS).
The teachings of Leger and Adam have been discussed above.
The teachings of Leger and Adam differ from the instant invention by not teaching a binding domain that binds IL-31 (the elected species).
Li teaches that IL-31 is a cytokine mostly produced by Th2 cells and is involved in promoting skin diseases such as atopic dermatitis in humans and dogs (e.g. see [0003]-[0004]). Li teaches an anti-canine IL-31 antibody and method of treating atopic dermatitis by administering to the animal an effective amount of the antibody (e.g. see [0022] and claims 1-43). Li teaches working examples of anti-canine IL-31 antibody comprising a canine constant heavy chain IgG B and canine constant light chain (e.g. see [00129]-[00130]).
It would thus be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to produce a canine anti-IL-31 antibody IgG B antibody Fc variant by performing amino acid substitution in position 434 to replace the naturally occurring amino acid residue asparagine (N, conserved in human and canine) with histidine for increased binding to FcRn.
An ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, and have a reasonable expectation of success, since Adam et al. and Leger et al. both teach Fc variant comprising amino acid substitution in position N434 in human IgG1 Fc region could enhance the Fc’s affinity to FcRn and Adam teaches human IgG Fc consisting of N434H substitution result in an Fc variant with enhanced affinity to FcRn. Such anti-IL-31 antibody Fc variant would be expected to have the benefit of prolonged serum half life when administered to dog.
Given that Leger teaches that canine IgG B YTE mutant was shown to have the same effect of enhanced binding to FcRn as what was shown in human IgG1 Fc variant comprising YTE mutant, and since Leger teaches that N434 is conserved in canine IgG B (as the human IgG1 Fc region), an ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to mutate amino acid residues in position N434 with amino acid residues H in the known canine anti-IL-31 Ig B antibody Fc region taught by Li following well-established point mutation methods as shown in Adam and Leger, with a reasonable expectation of success to produce an canine IgB Fc variant comprising/consisting of amino acid substitution N434H.
8. Claims 44-47, 49, and 50 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4 and 5 of copending USSN 18/427,146 (reference application).
The instant claims are drawn to a polypeptide comprising a canine IgG Fc region variant differ from wild type canine IgG Fc in no more than one amino acid difference of His at position 434.
The claims in the reference application are drawn to a method of treating atopic dermatitis in a canine by administering a polypeptide comprising immunoglobulin antigen binding domain that binds IL-31 and a canine IgG Fc region that differs from the wild type canine IgG Fc region of SEQ ID NO:10 by no more than one amino acid of His at position 434.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both instant claims and the claims in the reference application are drawn to the same or nearly the same canine IgG Fc variant with identical amino acid His at position 434. As such, the species of the anti-IL31 canine IgG antibody with identical His at position 434 in the Fc region would anticipate the genus of a polypeptide comprising a canine IgG Fc region with His at position 434.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
9. No claim is allowed.
/CHUN W DAHLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1641