DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The amendment filed 05/11/2026 has been entered. At entry, Claims 1-6, 8, 9 and 11-15 are pending and under consideration.
Response to Arguments
In response to the applicant’s argument with respect to 35 USC 102 rejections have been considered and are at least partially persuasive, but are moot in light of new rejection/interpretation.
In response to the applicant’s argument with respect to rejection of claims 11 and 13-15 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection of 05/11/2026 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites “that is connected to the portion of the bottom surface of the ring-shaped resilient rim” which renders the claim indefinite. Specifically, Claim 1 recites “a removal mechanism attached only to an inner portion of the bottom surface of the resilient rim”, whereas claim 9 recites that the removal mechanism is connected to the portion of the bottom surface. It is unclear whether “the portion” refers to the inner portion recited in claim 1 or to some other portion of the bottom surface. In an effort to compact prospection, the limitation is being interpreted as “that is connected to the inner portion of the bottom surface of the ring-shaped resilient rim”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moench et al (US 20060260619 A1) in view of Shihata (US 5207232 A).
Regarding claim 1, Moench substantially teaches applicant’s claimed invention, and specifically discloses a device with every structural limitation of applicant’s claimed invention (except for the limitations shown in italics and grayed-out) including:
a menstrual disc (figures 11-12 and [0074] intravaginal device) comprising:
a ring-shaped resilient rim (figures 7 11-12 and [0066] resilient rim 12 having an our side wall and a bottom portion 15) having an outer sidewall and a bottom surface;
a catchment portion (figures 11a-b, dome piece 10 attached to the resilient rim 12) attached to the ring-shaped resilient rim; and
a removal mechanism attached only to an inner portion of the bottom surface of the resilient rim that is spaced apart from the outer sidewall.
Moench does not teach a removal mechanism attached only to an inner portion of the bottom surface of the resilient rim that is spaced apart from the outer sidewall.
In the same field of endeavor, namely a device and method for intravaginal, Shihata teaches a removal mechanism (figure 14, rim 84 comprising thickened grip portion 95 attached to an inner portion of vaginal brim 85 and spaced apart from the anterior extension 89) attached only to an inner portion of the bottom surface of the resilient rim that is spaced apart from the outer sidewall.
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Moench to incorporate the teachings of Shihata and provide the removal mechanism as claimed for the purpose of enabling the menstrual disk to be deployed and/or removed by an applicator as taught by Shihata (col 8 lines 3-45) thereby facilitating aseptic application of the menstrual disk.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6, 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 11-15 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: No prior art, alone or in combination, could be found to teach (claim 11) A menstrual disc comprising:
a catchment portion that has an interior sidewall and an exterior sidewall;
a resilient rim connected to the catchment portion and having an interior surface facing the exterior sidewall of the catchment portion, an exterior surface facing away from the exterior sidewall of the catchment portion, and
a bottom surface between the interior surface and the exterior surface; and
a removal mechanism forming a loop having a first end connected to the interior surface and a second end connected to the interior surface.
Applicant’s argument filed 05/11/2026 has been considered and are sufficient to overcome the closest prior art of the record Contente et al (US 5295984 A) Moench (US 20060260619 A1), Knox (US 20160278988 A1) and Shihata (US 5207232 A). While the prior art above teaches the catchment portion + resilient rim as claimed, but they fail to teach a removal mechanism forming a loop having a first end connected to the interior surface and a second end connected to the interior surface. Applicant has demonstrate the claimed arrangement yield unexpected and critical results ([0036]), and accordingly it would have not have been obvious to modify the teachings of the reference to arrive at the claimed invention and expect a reasonable degree of success.
Similarly, Claims 1 + (claims 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8 or 9) requires (claim 1) a removal mechanism attached only to an inner portion of the bottom surface of the resilient rim, and (claim 2) wherein the removal mechanism is a filament, (claim 3) wherein the removal mechanism is a molded tab, (claim 4) wherein the removal mechanism forms a loop, (claim 8) wherein the removal mechanism has a textured surface, or (claim 9) wherein a first portion of the removal mechanism has a cross-sectional shape that is thinner than that of a second portion of the removal mechanism that is connected to the portion of the bottom surface of the ring-shaped resilient rim that is spaced apart from the outer sidewall. It would have not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the interior removal mechanism of Shihata, i.e., thickened grip portion 95, with another as the Shihata is specifically shaped for mating with the applicator, and therefore the modification would alter the intended function of Moench and Shihata without an improvement.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/SARAH AL HASHIMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3781