DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment, filed 06/23/2026, has been entered. Claims 1, 4, and 18 have been amended. Claims 19 and 20 are new. Claims 1-8 and 18-20 are currently pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “single-cell cell” is redundant, unnecessarily confusing the meaning. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-8, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ke (CN-113571828-A) (refer to enclosed translations for citations) in view of Robinson (US-20230402857-A1).
Regarding claim 1,
Ke teaches a battery pack (see Fig. 1) comprising:
a housing (Fig. 1, 10 [0094]);
a battery cell (Fig. 2, 20; [0094]) contained within the housing 10;
a first printed circuit board (PCB) (Fig. 2. 40a; [0096]) within the housing 10;
an output interface (Fig. 2, ports 70a/b) provided on the first PCB 40a;
a second PCB within the housing (Fig. 2, 40b; [0094]);
a switch (Fig. 2, 40 b-1; [0096]) provided on the second PCB (Fig. 2, 40 b-1);
a temperature sensor (Fig. 1, 70; [0092]) provided on (see https://www.thefreedictionary.com/ON; used to indicate proximity) the second PCB 40b;
and a controller (Fig. 1, wherein 40a must have circuit dedicated to controlling the battery functions described in [0070]) positioned on the first PCB 40a and configured to: receive respective input signal from the switch [0070], determine a condition (wherein 40 is a BMS and receives a signal from switch 40 b-1) based on at least one input signal (signal from switch 40 b-1; [0070]) from the switch (at least the signal from the switch 40b-1).
Ke fails to teach an indicator, the controller the configured to receive respective input signals from the output interface (in addition to the switch), and provide, in response to determining the condition based on at least one of the respective input signals received from the output interface and the switch, a visual indication via the indicator
Robinson teaches an indicator (LEDs 126; [0080]) provided on the first PCB (Fig. 5, 100),
the controller (Fig. 5, 114) configured to receive respective input signals ([0066-0067], [0086]; detects signal of a reverse current moving through device 5, and thus thru the output interface 32; [0053] input from switch 25) from the output interface (Fig. 10, electrical connection 32 to device 5; [0099], [0086]) and switch (Fig. 5, 25; [0053] wherein 116 receives input from switch 25 in Fig. 5),
determine a condition (see [0053], "the battery's charge status"; [0067], "polarity") based on at least one of the respective input signals ([0053],[0067]; at least one of a push button signal or current/voltage signal) and provide, in response to determining the condition (see [0053], "the battery's charge status"; [0067], "turning off"), a visual indication via the indicator (see [0053], "three colors… to indicate the battery's charge status; or reverse current indicated by dark LEDs due to the power shut-off described in [0067]). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the controller circuit within 40a of Ke in the manner of Robinson’s circuit 100, such that it connects to an indicator 26 and current/voltage detectors 142/130 [0061], such that charge status and reverse current can be detected and displayed, better communicating the condition of the cell [0055]; and better protecting the battery from reverse current [0066]-[0067].
Regarding claim 2,
Ke in view of Robinson teaches the battery pack of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the indicator (Robinson, LEDs 126; [0080]) is a color changing [0053] LEDs 126).
Regarding claim 4,
Ke in view of Robinson teaches the battery pack of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein an insulation layer (Fig. 3, frame 30; [0080], “frame”; [0082], “insulating material”) provided parallel to the first PCB (Fig. 3, 40a, wherein 30 is parallel to 40a), wherein a first terminal component (Fig. 3, 50; [0076]) that electrically connects [0076] to a positive terminal of the battery cell (Fig. 3, leftmost side of 20; [0076]) is provided on a bottom side of the insulation (Fig. 3, wherein the left side of 30 may be the bottom side, and wherein 50 is provided on the left side of 30), and wherein a second terminal component bends (Fig. 3, wherein 50 is bent) and is provided through a gap (Fig. 3, O1; [0080]) of the insulation layer 30 to contact (see Fig. 3 and [0076]) the first PCB (Fig. 3, 40a; [0076]).
Regarding claim 6,
Ke in view of Robinson teaches the battery pack of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the output interface 70a/yb is a universal serial bus (USB) port (see Fig. 1, wherein 70a/70b are USB ports).
Regarding claim 7,
Ke in view of Robinson teaches the battery pack of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the housing 1 is provided within a first end face (annotated Fig. 1, first end face), a second end face (annotated Fig. 1, second end face ), a curved surface (annotated Fig. 1, curved surface), and a flat surface (annotated Fig. 1, flat surface ), and wherein the curved surface (annotated Fig. 1, curved surface) and the flat surface (annotated Fig. 1, flat surface) are provided between (annotated Fig. 1, wherein curved and flat surfaces are between the end faces) the two end faces (annotated Fig. 1, first and second end face).
Regarding claim 8,
Ke in view of Robinson the battery pack of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the input signal (Fig. 2, signal from actuating 40b-1; [0096]; Robinson current signal) is received by the controller (Fig. 2, portion of circuit on 40a responsible for integrating wake-up switch signal from 40b-1; see [0070] and [0096-0098]) from the switch 40b-1 in response to a user actuating ([0096], “user…pressing operation”) an actuator (Fig. 2. 10a-1; [0099]) provided on the housing 10 of the battery pack (see Fig. 1), and wherein the input signal (Fig. 2, signal from actuating 40b-1; [0096]; Robinson current signal) is received by the controller ([0070], circuit on 40a responsible for integrating input signal; see rejection of claim 1 above) .
Regarding claim 18,
Ke teaches a single cell battery pack (see Fig. 1) comprising:
a housing (Fig. 1, 10 [0094]);
a single-cell cell (Fig. 2, 20; [0094]) contained within the housing 10;
a first printed circuit board (PCB) (Fig. 2, 40b; [0094] within the housing 10;
an output interface (Fig. 2, ports 70a/b);
a second PCB within the housing (Fig. 2. 40a; [0096]);
a switch (Fig. 2, 40 b-1; [0096]) provided on (see https://www.thefreedictionary.com/on, used to indicate proximity) the second PCB (Fig. 2, 40a in proximity to 40 b-1);
and a controller (Fig. 1, wherein 40a must have circuit dedicated to controlling the battery functions described in [0070]) positioned on (see https://www.thefreedictionary.com/on, used to indicate proximity) the first PCB 40b and configured to: receive input signal from the switch (wherein actuation signal of 40 b-1 must be processed by the battery management system circuit on 40 [0070]),
Ke fails to teach an indicator, the controller configured to receive respective input signals from the output interface and a switch (in combination), and provide, in response to determining the condition based on at least one of the respective input signals received from the output interface and the switch, a visual indication via the indicator.
Robinson teaches:
an indicator (LEDs 126; [0080]),
the controller (Fig. 5, 114) configured to receive respective input signals ([0066-0067], [0086]; detects signal of a reverse current moving through tool 5, and thus thru the output interface 32; input signal from switch 25 [0053]) from the output interface (Fig. 10, electrical connection 32 to tool 5; [0099], [0086]) and switch (Fig. 5, 25; [0061] wherein 116 receives input from switch 25 in Fig. 5),
determine a condition (see [0053], "the battery's charge status"; [0067], "polarity") based on at least one of the respective input signals ([0053],[0067]; at least one of a push button signal or current/voltage signal) and provide, in response to determining the condition (see [0053], "the battery's charge status"; [0067], "turning off"), a visual indication via the indicator (see [0053], "three colors… to indicate the battery's charge status; or reverse current indicated by dark LEDs due to the power shut-off described in [0067]). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the controller circuit within 40a of Ke in the manner of Robinson’s circuit 100, such that it connects to an indicator 26 and current/voltage detectors 142/130 [0061], such that charge status and reverse current can be detected and displayed, better communicating the condition of the cell [0055]; and better protecting the battery from reverse current [0066]-[0067].
Regarding claim 20,
Ke in view of Robinson the battery pack of claim 18 (see rejection of claim 18 above), wherein the input signal (Fig. 2, signal from actuating 40b-1; [0096]; Robinson; current signal [0067]) is received by the controller (Fig. 2, portion of circuit on 40a responsible for integrating wake-up switch signal from 40b-1; see [0070] and [0096-0098]; see combination with Robinson wherein circuit in 40a ) from the switch 40b-1 in response to a user actuating ([0096], “user…pressing operation”) an actuator (Fig. 2. 10a-1; [0099]) provided on the housing 10 of the single-cell battery pack (see Fig. 1), and wherein the input signal (Fig. 2, signal from actuating 40b-1; [0096]) is received by the controller ([0070], circuit responsible for integrating input signal), and wherein the input signal (Fig. 2, signal from actuating 40b-1; [0096]; current detection value, see Robinson [0066-0067], [0086] and combination of claim 18 above) is received by the controller (circuit in 40a responsible for BMS; [0070]) from the output interface (Fig. 2, 70a, see combination of claim 18 above with current detection value from connection with device 5) in response to a device (Robinson, device 5, see rejection of claim 18 above) being connected to the output interface 70a.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ke (CN-113571828-A) in view of Robinson (US-20230402857-A1) and Lecker (JP-2019204770-A) (refer to enclosed translations for citations).
Regarding claim 3,
Ke in view of Robinson teaches the battery pack of claim 2 (see rejection of claim 1 above), but fails to teach wherein the output interface is surrounded on all sides by a transparent window, and wherein the LED provides the visual indication through the transparent window. Lecker teaches wherein a output interface (Fig. 2, leftmost surface/interface of external connector 1; [0015]) surrounded on all sides (see Fig. 2, leftmost surface of 1 surrounded on all sides by 33) by a transparent window (Fig. 2, 33/77/73; [0015], “window hole”, wherein a hole is transparent, and 33/77/73 define the window light passes through), and wherein a LED (Fig. 2, 15; [0016], “LED”) provides the visual indication ([0007], wherein light source 15 provides visual indication of the position of the external connector 1) through the transparent window (see Fig. 2 and [0023], wherein light from 15 passes through at least a portion of 33/77/73). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the LED of Ke in view of Robinson and Lecker such that it surrounds the output interface 36 and has a transparent window, as suggested by Lecker, in order to better indicate the position of the output interface to as user (Lecker; [0007]).
Claims 5 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ke (CN-113571828-A) (refer to enclosed translations for citations) in view of Robinson (US-20230402857-A1) and Rejman (US-20190027720-A1).
Regarding claim 5,
Ke in view of Robinson teaches the battery pack of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), but fails to teach wherein the second PCB is a flexible PCB, and wherein the second PCB contacts a curved surface of the battery cell. Rejman teaches wherein the second PCB (Rejman, 812) is a flexible PCB (Rejman, 812; [0054], “flexible circuit board 812”), and wherein the second PCB 812 contacts a curved surface of the battery cell (Rejman, 812 wrapping around curved surface of 400) It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the second circuit board of Ke such that it is flexible, as suggested by Rejman, in order to improve mechanical stability, wherein the second circuit board of Ke (see Fig. 2, 40b) is along the curved surface such that Ke in view of Rejman results in the second PCB contacting a curved surface of the battery (annotated Fig. 1, curved surface).
Regarding claim 19,
Ke in view of Robinson teaches the single-cell battery pack of claim 18 (see rejection of claim 18 above), wherein the first PCB 40b is a coin- shaped printed circuit board (see Fig. 1, coin shape of 40b), the second PCB 40a is a printed circuit board (PCB) oriented substantially perpendicular to the first PCB 40b (see Fig. 1) but fails to teach the second PCB is a flexible printed circuit board. Rejman teaches wherein the second PCB (Rejman, 812) is a flexible PCB (Rejman, 812; [0054], “flexible circuit board 812”). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the second circuit board of Ke such that it is flexible, as suggested by Rejman, in order to improve mechanical stability.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see “Remarks”, filed 06/23/2026, have been fully considered and, due to the amendments, are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Robinson.
Applicant argues that none of the references teach an input from the output interface and the switch; however, this argument is moot in light of the updated rejection in view of Robinson (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Applicant argues that Jiang does not have a signal from the output interface and pack. However, this argument is moot in light of the updated rejection in view of Robinson, where Robinson does directly detect current signals resulting from a connection made at the output interface (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Applicant argues that none of the references teach a coin-shaped first PCB and a flexible PCB perpendicular to the first PCB. However, this is not persuasive. The rejection states that Ke teaches, “wherein the first PCB 40b is a coin- shaped printed circuit board (see Fig. 1, coin shape of 40b), the second PCB 40a is a printed circuit board (PCB) oriented substantially perpendicular to the first PCB 40b (see Fig. 1) but fails to teach the second PCB is a flexible printed circuit board. Rejman teaches wherein the second PCB (Rejman, 812) is a flexible PCB (Rejman, 812; [0054], “flexible circuit board 812”). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the second circuit board of Ke such that it is flexible, as suggested by Rejman, in order to improve mechanical stability.” Accordingly, the amended limitations of claim 19 are disclosed.
Applicant argues that all other claims should be allowed based off an allowable claim 1. This is not persuasive, as the rejection on all claims have been sustained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US-20220285785-A1, relevant to an alternate disclosure of a two circuit board battery pack configuration.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL CHRISTIAN ST WYROUGH/Examiner, Art Unit 1723
/TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723