DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 02/16/2025 does not place the application in condition for allowance.
In view of the amendment to the claims, the rejection over Maeda under 35 U.S.C. 102 of claims 1-8 has been withdrawn.
In view of the amendment to the claims, the rejection over Maeda in view of Fukumine under 35 U.S.C. 103 of claims 1-8 has been withdrawn.
In view of the amendment to claim 8, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) of claim 8 has been withdrawn.
In view of the cancellation of claim 4, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) of claim 4 has been withdrawn.
New analysis follows.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US20030039886) in view of Hanasaki (US20130119318A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a binder for a negative electrode of a rechargeable lithium battery (¶[0018]), the binder comprising:
a copolymer of a styrene-based monomer and an acrylate-based monomer,
wherein a wt.% of the styrene-based monomer to the acrylate-based monomer is 0-40% leading to an overlapping range of a mole ratio of 1:1 to 1:3
but does not disclose the binder to has a swelling degree to an electrolyte of 50-70 wt.%, is crosslinked, or an initiator and water
Hanasaki, related to binders for batteries, teaches a styrene and acrylate based binder (¶[0030]) with a crosslinking agent(¶[0038]), and an emulsifier(i.e. surfactant) of fatty acid salts and alkylbenzene sulfonates, an initiator in an emulsion which contains water(¶[0050]), and a swelling degree of 300% or less(¶[0016]).
One or ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the using the crosslinking agent in the emulsion polymerization utilizing water and an initiator in the binder of Zhang would improve the swelling degree(¶[038]) thereby improving film stability.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have used the crosslinking agent in the emulsion polymerization utilizing water and an initiator of Hanasaki in the binder of Zhang to improve swelling(¶[038]) thereby improving film stability.
Regarding claim 2, modified Zhang discloses the binder of claim 1 and Zhang discloses wherein the styrene-based monomer is styrene (¶[0020]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Zhang further discloses the binder of claim 1 and Zhang further discloses wherein the acrylate-based monomer is 2-ethylhexylacrylate, methyl methacrylate or butyl methacrylate (¶[0020]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Zhang further discloses the binder of claim 1, and Hanasaki further discloses wherein the binder is an aqueous binder (¶[0023]), see water dispersible).
Regarding claim 6, modified Zhang further discloses the binder of claim 1 and Zhang further discloses it may be used in a negative electrode sheet(¶[0018]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Zhang further discloses a rechargeable lithium battery, which may contain the negative electrode of claim 6 and also include a positive electrode and an electrolyte (¶[0018).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanasaki (US20130119318A1).
Regarding claim 8, Hanasaki, related to binders for batteries, teaches a styrene and acrylate based binder (¶[0029]) with styrene at 15-70% by mass and the acrylate (i.e. other ethylenically unsaturated carboxylic esters, ¶[0033]-[0034]) at 25-85% by mass with a crosslinking agent which may be triallyl cyanurate, vinyl trimethoxy silane, vinyl triethoxy silane, γ-methacryloyloxypropyl trimethoxy silane, and γ-methacryloyloxypropyl triethoxy silane (¶[0038]) and a swelling degree of 300% or less(¶[0016]).
Conclusion
/K.J.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1726 /RYAN S CANNON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726