DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
The 112 rejections rejection were withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Regarding the arguments directed to the amended limitations, please see below for the new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 8, 10, 28-31, 33, 35, 37-41, 43, 45 and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi 20230254771 in view of Jeon 20210167930.
As to claim 1, Shi discloses a user equipment (UE) [110] for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories [800]; and one or more processors [802,820], coupled to the one or more memories (see fig. 15), configured to:
receive an indication of a discontinuous transmission pattern [at] of a network entity, wherein the discontinuous transmission pattern includes of a transmit inactivity period for the network entity (see fig. 3-4, step 401; par. 0005, 0048, 0052); and adjust a monitoring or a transmission of communications during the transmit inactivity period based at least in part on the indication [DCP and/or DRX] (see par. 0003, 0049, 0054). Shi fails to disclose wherein the indication identifies one or more transmission occasions that are canceled or deactivated during the transmit inactivity period. In an analogous art, Jeon discloses wherein the indication identifies one or more transmission occasions that are canceled or deactivated during the transmit inactivity period [a wireless device may restart the BWP inactivity timer in response to receiving the second control message (e.g., MAC CE and/or DCI) deactivating at least one of SPS] (see par. 0052). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine the teaching for the simple purpose of minimizing battery consumption.
As to claim 2, Shi discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors to adjust the monitoring or the transmission of the communications, are configured to pause monitoring for physical downlink control channel communications based at least in part on the indication (see par. 0003, 0044, 0054).
As to claim 4, Shi discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the transmit inactivity period is associated with periodic transmit inactivity periods in accordance with the discontinuous transmission pattern (see par. 0043-0046).
As to claim 5, Shi discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to receive a configuration for the discontinuous transmission pattern via an information element or dedicated radio resource control signaling (see par. 0043).
As to claim 6, Shi discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the discontinuous transmission pattern is a dynamically triggered inactivity time pattern (see par. 0059, 0065-0070).
As to claim 8, Shi discloses wherein the indication includes information that corresponds to a preconfigured transmit inactivity period [long or short periods] (see fig. 3-4, step 401; par. 0005, 0048, 0058-0060), and wherein the one or more processors, to adjust the power, are configured to reduce the power based at least in part on the preconfigured transmit inactivity period (see par. 0049, 0054).Shi does not use the word index. However, it would be obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art that for example the indication of 0 or 1 to indicate long or short period function as an index to indicate the preconfigured transmit inactivity period. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine the teaching for the simple purpose of maintaining synchronization with the BTS.
As to claim 10, Shi discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, are configured to adjust a power associated with reception of the communications based based at least in part on the indication (see par. 0003, 0044, 0054-0055).
Regarding claims 28-31, 33, 35 and 37, they are the corresponding method claims of UE claims 1-2, 4-6, 8 and 10. Therefore, claims 28-31, 33, 35 and 37are rejected for the same reasons as shown above.
Regarding claims 38-41, 43, 45 and 47, they are the corresponding means-plus-function claims of UE claims 1-2, 4-6, 8 and 10. Therefore, claims 38-41, 43, 45 and 47 are rejected for the same reasons as shown above.
Claim(s) 9, 36 and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi in view of Jeon and further in view of Prasad 20210385747.
As to claims 9, 36 and 46, Shi disclose wherein the one or more processors are configured to receive a selection from a set or list of preconfigured transmit inactivity periods [long or short periods] (see fig. 3-4, step 401; par. 0005, 0048, 0058-0060). Shi fails to disclose receiving a set or list. In An analogous art, Prasad discloses configured to receive a set or list of preconfigured transmit inactivity periods (see par. 0091-0092). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine the teaching for the simple purpose of maintaining synchronization with the BTS.
Claim(s) 3, 7, 32, 34, 42 and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi in view of Jeon and further in view of Kang 20190319739.
As to claim 3, 32 and 42, Shi discloses to receive an indication of a transmit inactivity period of a network entity (see fig. 3-4, step 401; par. 0005, 0048). Shi fails to disclose pause measuring of channel state information reference signals. In an analogous art, Kang discloses to pause measuring of channel state information reference signals based at least in part on the indication [UE performs measurement of the CSI-RS when the corresponding CSI-RS is activated and stops measurement of the CSI-RS when the corresponding CSI-RS is inactivated] (see par. 0274). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine the teaching for the simple purpose of performing measurement only when needed and/or desired; thereby, saving power.
As to claims 7, 34 and 44, Shi discloses wherein the indication indicates a duration for the transmit inactivity period [duration for a long or short DRX period] (see par. 0058-0060). Shi fails to disclose indicates a starting offset. In an analogous art, Kang discloses wherein the indication indicates a starting offset (see par. 0272, 0274). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine the teaching for the simple purpose of maintaining synchronization with the BTS.
Conclusion
MARCOS L. TORRES
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2647
/MARCOS L TORRES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647