DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication filed on December 9, 2022.
Claims 1 – 20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references provided in the Information Disclosure Statements filed on December 6, 2022 have been considered. Signed copies of the corresponding 1449 forms have been included with this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 claims Formula II
and then defines L1 – L4 as being selected from a direct bond and various atoms and groups. Claim 10 then further requires that “at least one of L1 or L2 is present.” This renders the claim indefinite because as drawn, all L1 – L4 are required to be present as neither the Formula nor the definition allows for them to be absent. Therefore, it is unclear what the limitation is requiring. It is possible that the requirement is intending that at least one of L1 to L2 is not a direct bond, but this is not the language used.
Claims 11 – 15 are rejected as being dependent on claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xia (US20190100544A1).
As per claims 1 – 4, Xia teaches:
A compound having a ligand LA comprising a structure of Formula I
(Xia teaches ligands such as ligand La107
, which reads on the claimed limitation wherein moiety A is a monocyclic 6-membered carbocyclic ring, namely a benzene ring as required by claim 3; X1 to X12 is independently C; RA represents two substitutions, wherein one substitution is metal M and the other substitution is heteroaryl; RB, RC, and RD are no substitutions. Xia defines M as being selected from Cu, Ag, Au, Ru, Rh, Pd, Os, Ir, and Pt, which are all transition metals with an atomic mass of at least 40.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 8 and 17 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xia (US20190100544A1) as applied to claims 1 – 4 above.
As per claim 8, Xia teaches metal complexes of Formula 1
([0010]). Xia teaches that the complex has a formula of M(La)m(Lb)n(Lc)q wherein m+n+q is the oxidation state of M and La is selected from the ligand of Formula I ([0080 – 0083]). Xia does not specifically teach a metal complex with the ligand La107 above, but it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select any of the particularly taught ligands for the organometallic complex taught by Xia.
Xia includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Xia being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of decreased aggregation and improved lifetime of the device (Abstract), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claims 17 and 20, Xia teaches:
A light emitting device comprising an anode, a cathode and an organic layer disposed between the anode and the cathode, wherein the organic layer comprises a compound having a ligand LA ([0019]: “According to another embodiment, an electroluminescent device is disclosed comprising an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer, disposed between the anode and the cathode, comprising a metal complex comprising a partial structure represented by Formula 1.”
A consumer product comprising an organic light emitting device ([0041]: “Devices fabricated in accordance with embodiments of the invention can be incorporated into a wide variety of consumer products that have one or more of the electronic component modules (or units) incorporated therein.”)
Xia teaches an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer and the compound is in the organic layer as discussed above. It would have been obvious to use the compound in the organic layer with the device structure of Xia as Xia demonstrates this device structure was known prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As per claims 18 and 19, Xia teaches
The OLED wherein the organic layer further comprises a host, wherein the host is selected from the group consisting of
(As shown in Table 1, the emission layer contains the Ir-based dopants and compound HB
, which is the same as the claimed compound in claim 19 and contains an indolocarbazole group as required by claim 18.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 – 9, and 16 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 5 – 9 and 16, Xia is considered the closest prior art. Xia teaches organometallic compounds with the condensed ring group of Formula I wherein claimed ring A is a benzene ring. However, Xia does not teach or suggest or motivate one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the compounds and formulae of claims 5 – 9 and 16.
Conclusion
All claims are rejected.
/JENNA N CHANDHOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789