DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1-20, the phrase “spherocity greater than or equal to 0.4” is indefinite. The applicant’s do not define spherocity as it is a not term normally used in the prior art. The term sphericity is a known term and is a measure of how closely the shape of a physical object resembles that of a perfect sphere, but it is not clear if spherocity means the same as sphericity. Furthermore, it is unclear how the applicant’s calculated the sphericity for the different groups. It is unclear how the surface area and the volume of the groups are calculated if spherocity means that same as sphericity. The applicant has not provided any information in the specification of how this value is calculated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-15, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wolohan et al. (US 2020/0168812) (hereafter “Wolohan”).
Regarding claims 1-6, 9-15, 19, and 20, Wolohan teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a light emitting layer, and a cathode (paragraph [0033]). Wolohan teaches that the light emitting layer comprises a host material and a dopant (paragraph [0105]-[0112]). Wolohan teaches that the host material can have the following structure,
and
are a few examples (paragraph [0104]). Wolohan teaches that the electroluminescent device can be used in a consumer product (paragraph [0027]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-15, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An et al. (Chem. Eur. J. 2011 17, 10871-10878) (hereafter “An”) in view of Kwong et al. (US 2016/0343951) (hereafter “Kwong”).
Regarding claims, 1-6, 9-15, and 17-19, An teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a light emitting layer, a cathode (page 10874 right column last paragraph). An teaches that the light emitting layer comprises a host material and a dopant (page 10874 right column last paragraph). An teaches that the host material can be
(page 10872 Scheme 1 and page 10874 Table 3).
An does not teach where the host material meets the applicant’s claimed formula.
Kwong teaches host materials comprising a tetraphenylene group (paragraphs [0048] and [0049]). Kwong teaches that tetraphenylene group can be referred to heavy benzene and the heavier material increases the glass transition temperature of the host and making the materials more suitable for electroluminescent devices (paragraph [0052]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the host material of An, so the benzene group in
was changed to tetraphenylene group as taught by Kwong. The motivation would have been to improve the glass transition temperature of the material and make it a better material for the electroluminescent device. This would lead to a compound with the following structure,
.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Thompson et al. (US 2018/0287087) teaches tetraphenylene host materials.
/ANDREW K BOHATY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759