DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of 1) each of X1 to X8 as C; and 2) each of L1 to L4 being a direct bond in the reply filed on 10 March 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 8 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10 March 2026.
With regard to the instant claim 18 only, a search of the prior art did not show the elected species. As none of the claims were specifically drawn to the elected species in combination with the limitations of claim 18 in independent form, none of these claims have been indicated as allowable. However, claims written in independent form which require all the limitations of claim 18 as well as being limited to the elected species along with any dependent claims which require all the limitations of claim 18 as well as being limited to the elected species would be allowable.
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as well as being limited to the elected species. This objection to the claims is only with respect to the elected species.
It is noted that the potential allowability of claim 18 has not be determined with respect to species beyond the elected species, i.e. potential examinable species that could found once the search is expanded beyond the elected species.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 17 is being interpreted such that any compound comprising the structural moieties of claim 17 in any substitution pattern (including substituents forming a fused ring as permitted by claim 1) meets the current claim limitations of claim 17. Such an interpretation is the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-12, 14, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang (CN 111269239 A—machine translation relied upon) (hereafter “Yang”).
Regarding claims 1-7, 9-12, 14, 17, and 19: Yang discloses an organic light emitting device (OLED) comprising an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer disposed between the anode and the cathode {3rd to last line of p. 29 through 7th line of p. 30—device comprising Compound 19}.
The organic layer comprises the compound shown below {(3rd to last line of p. 29 through 7th line of p. 30—device comprising Compound 19), (p. 28, Compound 19)}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (CN 111269239 A—machine translation relied upon) (hereafter “Yang”) in view of Lamansky et al. (US 2002/0182441 A1) (hereafter “Lamansky”).
Regarding claim 20: Yang all of the features with respect to claims 1 and 19, as outlined above.
Claim 20 differs from claim 19 in that the organic light emitting device is comprised in a consumer product.
Yang does not exemplify a display device comprising the organic light emitting device of Yang described above.
Lamansky teaches the use of organic electroluminescent devices in display devices {paragraph [0139]}. Lamansky teaches that flat panel displays utilizing organic light emitting devices (which are organic electroluminescent devices) would have bright colors, wide viewing angle, low power requirements, broad temperature ranges, and thin form factor {paragraph [0010]}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the organic electroluminescent device of Yang be part of a display device, based on the teachings of Lamansky. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a display device with bright colors, wide viewing angle, low power requirements, broad temperature ranges, and thin form factor, as taught by Lamansky.
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-11, 13, 15-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwong et at. (US 2016/0343951 A1) (hereafter “Kwong”) in view of Lee et al. (US 2015/0333273 A1) (hereafter “Lee”).
Regarding claims 1-7, 9-11, 13, and 16-17: Kwong discloses the compounds shown below {(paragraph [0064]: The compounds of the disclosure of Kwong are exemplified by Compounds 1 to 469.), (p. 14: Compound 71, Compound 72; p. 15: Compound 81, Compound 82; p. 23: Compound 141, Compound 142; p. 24: Compound 151, Compound 152)}.
The compounds of Kwong are useful as host materials for phosphorescent light emitters in organic light emitting devices {abstract; paragraphs [0020], [0048], [0052], [0066], and [0068]}.
Kwong does not teach that the compounds of Kwong comprise a moiety having the structure of the instant Formula II.
Lee teaches materials for use in organic light-emitting devices as host materials {paragraphs [0008]-[0010], [0168], [0172], and [0178]}.
Lee teaches that compounds comprising the moiety shown below have good thermal stability {paragraphs [0050], [0167], and [0391]}.
The moiety shown above is similar to a phenyl-carbazole moiety with the only difference being that the substituent phenyl group of a phenyl-carbazole is further fused to the carbazole. Thus, fusing a substituent phenyl group of a phenyl-carbazole to the carbazole would yield the structure of Lee shown above.
At the time the invention was effectively filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify one or more of the compounds of Kwong such that the bonded phenyl group on the N atom of the carbazolyl moiety is fused to the carbazole portion, based on the teaching of Lee. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a group known to provide compounds with good thermal stability, based on the teaching of Lee.
Regarding claim 15: Kwong as modified by Lee teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above.
Kwong does not exemplify a compound similar to one of the compounds shown above except for comprising an alkyl group.
However, Kwong teaches that the tetraphenylene group of the compounds of Kwong can be substituted with an alkyl group {paragraphs [0015], [0049], and [0053]}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified one or more of the compounds of Kwong by substituted an alkyl group onto the tetraphenylene structure of the compound(s) of Kwong, based on the teaching of Kwong. The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum combinations of substituent and substituent positions to be used to make compounds for use in an organic light-emitting device in order to produce optimal organic light emitting devices.
Regarding claim 19: Kwong as modified by Lee teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above.
Claim 1 differs from claim 19 in that the organic compound is comprised in the organic layer of the organic light emitting device.
Kwong does not exemplify a specific device comprising any one of the compounds of Kwong shown above.
However, Kwong teaches an organic light emitting device (OLED) comprising an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer disposed between the anode and the cathode {paragraphs [0018], [0053], and [0065]-[0069]}.
The organic layer comprises the compound of Kwong as a host material for a phosphorescent emitter in the light-emitting layer {paragraphs [0020], [0048], [0052], [0066], and [0068]}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified one or more of the compounds of Kwong by using the compound as the host material for a phosphorescent emitter in the light emitting layer of the organic light emitting device of Kwong, based on the teaching of Kwong. The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum combinations of materials to be used to make an organic light-emitting device in order to produce optimal organic light-emitting devices.
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwong et at. (US 2016/0343951 A1) (hereafter “Kwong”) in view of Lee et al. (US 2015/0333273 A1) (hereafter “Lee”) as applied to claim 19, and further in view of Lamansky et al. (US 2002/0182441 A1) (hereafter “Lamansky”).
Regarding claim 20: Kwong as modified by Lee teaches all of the features with respect to claims 1 and 19, as outlined above.
Claim 20 differs from claim 19 in that the organic light emitting device is comprised in a consumer product.
Kwong does not exemplify a display device comprising the organic light emitting device of Yang described above.
Lamansky teaches the use of organic electroluminescent devices in display devices {paragraph [0139]}. Lamansky teaches that flat panel displays utilizing organic light emitting devices (which are organic electroluminescent devices) would have bright colors, wide viewing angle, low power requirements, broad temperature ranges, and thin form factor {paragraph [0010]}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the organic electroluminescent device of Kwong be part of a display device, based on the teachings of Lamansky. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a display device with bright colors, wide viewing angle, low power requirements, broad temperature ranges, and thin form factor, as taught by Lamansky.
Conclusion
/DYLAN C KERSHNER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786
/JENNIFER A BOYD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1786