DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 21 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parra Pozo (U.S. Publication 2022/0413433) in view of Fasogbon (WO 2021/173489).
As to claim 1, Parra Pozo discloses a computer system for generating an expressive avatar using multi-modal three-dimensional face modeling and tracking (p. 2, sections 0028-0029; p. 3, section 0037; p. 6, sections 0054-0056; a hologram of a user, reading on an avatar, is generated based on modes such as audio, color images, and depth images to create a 3D mesh model; the hologram includes facial expressions and the user is tracked over time), the computer system comprising:
a processor coupled to a storage system that stores instructions (p. 5, section 0049), which, upon execution by the processor, cause the processor to:
receive initialization data describing an initial state of a facial model (p. 9, section 0091-p. 10, sections 0094; an initial model, generated from a pre-scan, describing a face and body is generated and received at a program block executing on the processor);
receive a plurality of multi-modal data signals; perform a fitting process using the received initialization data and the received plurality of multi-modal data signals (p. 10, section 0095-p. 11, section 0100; based on the initial model and received updates for depth imagery, color imagery, and audio, a process refines the mesh model to more closely resemble/fit the user);
and determine a set of parameters based on the fitting process, wherein the determined set of parameters describes an updated state of the facial model (p. 10-11, section 0097; p. 15, sections 0141-0143; as part of the user fitting process, a number of geometry parameters representing the face, such as shape, texture, etc. are determined to represent the updated face mesh model).
Parra Pozo discloses a fitting process comprising calculating a combination of loss functions (p. 3, section 0036; p. 13, section 0120; p. 15, sections 0141-0143). Parra Pozo does not disclose, but Fasogbon does disclose the process calculating a combination of weighted loss functions wherein each of the weighted loss functions corresponds to a different one of the plurality of multi-modal data signals (p. 16, section 0049; weighted loss functions corresponding to different modes, for example, geometry, and visual color, are combined to train a system). The motivation for this is to tune the network to both smooth and maintain high level detail, and more accurately produce human faces where missing parts exist. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Parra Pozo to calculate a combination of weighted loss functions wherein each of the weighted loss functions corresponds to a different one of the plurality of multi-modal data signals in order to tune the network to both smooth and maintain high level detail, and more accurately produce human faces where missing parts exist as taught by Fasogbon.
As to claim 2, Parra Pozo discloses wherein performing the fitting process comprises iteratively performing: simulating a measurement using the initialization data; comparing the simulated measurement with an actual measurement derived from the plurality of multi-modal data signals; and updating the initialization data based on the comparison of the simulated measurement and the actual measurement (p. 15, sections 0139-0141; based on the initial image, measurements of 3D geometry are predicted/simulated; the predicted/simulated guess is compared with ground truth for the 3D vertices based on actual position and color measurements from depth and color signals; the model is then trained by updating the prediction/simulation).
As to claim 11, see the rejection to claim 1.
As to claim 12, see the rejection to claim 2.
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parra Pozo in view of Fasogbon and further in view of Weber (U.S. Publication 2024/0078726).
As to claim 3, Parra Pozo discloses wherein the set of parameters is determined based on the updated initialization data of an iteration of the fitting process where the comparison of the simulated measurement and the actual measurement is evaluated based on loss (p. 15, sections 0139-0141; based on the initial image, measurements of 3D geometry are predicted/simulated; the predicted/simulated guess is compared with ground truth for the 3D vertices based on actual position and color measurements from depth and color signals; the model is then trained by updating the prediction/simulation based on loss).
Parra Pozo does not explicitly disclose, but Weber does disclose that the loss calculation is whether a loss threshold is satisfied (p. 1, section 0007; p. 4, section 0043-p. 5, section 0046; geometry loss, which characterizes how accurately positions of facial geometry have been measured in an iteration compared to ground truth/actual geometry features is evaluated against a loss threshold to determine whether to stop estimation passes or not). The motivation for this is to generate a model that learns to perform face swapping in a geometrically consistent manner (p. 5, section 0046). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Parra Pozo and Fasogbon to use satisfaction of a loss threshold as a condition in order to generate a model that learns to perform face swapping in a geometrically consistent manner as taught by Weber.
As to claim 13, see the rejection to claim 3.
Claims 4, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parra Pozo in view of Fasogbon and further in view of Huschyn (U.S. Publication 2018/0316860)
As to claim 4, Parra Pozo does not disclose, but Huschyn discloses wherein the plurality of multi-modal data signals comprises a first data signal received from an eye camera, a second data signal received from an antenna, and a third data signal received from a microphone (p. 3, section 0032-p. 4, section 0033; p. 5-6, section 0050; input data to determine a face model comes from an eye tracking camera and a microphone; other sensor inputs are also mentioned and the inputs are transferred, in some cases wirelessly, to a server that processes them, necessitating a component acting as an antenna to receive the signals). The motivation for this is to locate who is speaking and transfer that information to a server than can analyze it. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Parra Pozo and Fasogbon to use a plurality of multi-modal data signals comprising a first data signal received from an eye camera, a second data signal received from an antenna, and a third data signal received from a microphone in order to locate who is speaking and transfer that information to a server than can analyze it as taught by Huschyn.
As to claim 14, see the rejection to claim 4.
As to claim 20, Parra Pozo discloses a head-mounted display (figs. 2a, 2b; p. 1, sections 0004-0005) for generating an expressive avatar using multi-modal three-dimensional face modeling and tracking (p. 2, sections 0028-0029; p. 3, section 0037; p. 6, sections 0054-0056; a hologram of a user, reading on an avatar, is generated based on modes such as audio, color images, and depth images to create a 3D mesh model; the hologram includes facial expressions and the user is tracked over time), the wearable device comprising:
and a processor coupled to a storage system that stores instructions (p. 5, section 0049), which, upon execution by the processor, cause the processor to:
receive initialization data describing an initial state of a facial model (p. 9, section 0091-p. 10, sections 0094; an initial model, generated from a pre-scan, describing a face and body is generated and received at a program block executing on the processor);
perform a fitting process using the received initialization data and the received plurality of multi-modal data signals (p. 10, section 0095-p. 11, section 0100; based on the initial model and received updates for depth imagery, color imagery, and audio, a process refines the mesh model to more closely resemble/fit the user) by iteratively performing:
simulating a measurement using the initialization data; comparing the simulated measurement with an actual measurement derived from the plurality of multi-modal data signals; and updating the initialization data based on the comparison of the simulated measurement and the actual measurement (p. 15, sections 0139-0141; based on the initial image, measurements of 3D geometry are predicted/simulated; the predicted/simulated guess is compared with ground truth for the 3D vertices based on actual position and color measurements from depth and color signals; the model is then trained by updating the prediction/simulation);
and determine a set of parameters based on the fitting process, wherein the determined set of parameters describes an updated state of the facial model (p. 10-11, section 0097; p. 15, sections 0141-0143; as part of the user fitting process, a number of geometry parameters representing the face, such as shape, texture, etc. are determined to represent the updated face mesh model).
Parra Pozo discloses a fitting process comprising calculating a combination of loss functions (p. 3, section 0036; p. 13, section 0120; p. 15, sections 0141-0143). Parra Pozo does not disclose, but Fasogbon does disclose the process calculating a combination of weighted loss functions wherein each of the weighted loss functions corresponds to a different one of the plurality of multi-modal data signals (p. 16, section 0049; weighted loss functions corresponding to different modes, for example, geometry, and visual color, are combined to train a system). The motivation for this is to tune the network to both smooth and maintain high level detail, and more accurately produce human faces where missing parts exist. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Parra Pozo to calculate a combination of weighted loss functions wherein each of the weighted loss functions corresponds to a different one of the plurality of multi-modal data signals in order to tune the network to both smooth and maintain high level detail, and more accurately produce human faces where missing parts exist as taught by Fasogbon.
Parra Pozo does not disclose, but Huschyn discloses a set of antennas; a set of eye cameras; and a microphone, and receiving a plurality of multi-modal data signals comprising a first data signal from the set of antennas, a second data signal from the set of eye cameras, and a third data signal from the microphone (p. 3, section 0032-p. 4, section 0033; p. 5-6, section 0050; input data to determine a face model comes from an eye tracking camera and a microphone; other sensor inputs are also mentioned and the inputs are transferred, in some cases wirelessly, to a server that processes them, necessitating a component acting as an antenna to receive the signals). Motivation for the combination is given in the rejection to claim 4.
Claims 6, 7, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parra Pozo in view of Fasogbon and further in view of Savvides (U.S. Publication 2024/0320964).
As to claim 6, Parra Pozo does not disclose, but Savvides discloses wherein the initialization data comprises a set of initial parameters including an identity parameter describing an initial expression, an expression parameter describing an initial expression, and a pose parameter describing an initial pose of the facial model (p. 1, section 0005; p. 1, section 0012; p. 2 sections 0015-0016; initial parameters for a face with an initial expression including identity, expression, and pose are received and some of the parameters including expression and pose can be modified). The motivation for this is that the changeable initial parameters allow for generation of images with variations in characteristics to enable training a network. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Parra Pozo and Fasogbon to have the initialization data comprise a set of initial parameters including an identity parameter describing an initial expression, an expression parameter describing an initial expression, and a pose parameter describing an initial pose of the facial model in order to allow for generation of images with variations in characteristics to enable training a network as taught by Savvides.
As to claim 7, Parra Pozo does not disclose, but Savvides discloses wherein the determined set of parameters includes the identity parameter of the set of initial parameters (p. 1, section 0005; p. 1, section 0012; p. 2 sections 0015-0016; the identity parameter is preserved through other parameter changes). Motivation for the combination is given in the rejection to claim 6.
As to claim 16, see the rejection to claim 6.
As to claim 17, see the rejection to claim 7.
Claims 8, 9, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parra Pozo in view of Fasogbon and further in view of Ivanov (U.S. Publication 2022/0091571) and Washington (WO 2020/097505).
As to claim 8, Parra Pozo does not disclose, but Ivanov discloses, wherein the plurality of multi-modal data signals comprises a data signal received from a set of antennas (p. 3, section 0059-p. 4, section 0062; capacitance and other electrical characteristics are measured, at least in part by receiving signals by connecting an antenna analyzer to an antenna system), and wherein performing the fitting process includes simulating a capacitance value (p. 1, section 0004; p. 8, section 0105; p. 11, section 0137; a machine learning system predicts/simulates a capacitance value as part of fitting a model to a material). The motivation for this is to more accurately characterize physical properties (p. 1, sections 0005-0007). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Parra Pozo and Fasogbon to use a data signal received from a set of antennas and have performing the fitting process include simulating a capacitance value in order to more accurately characterize physical properties as taught by Ivanov.
Further, Parra Pozo does not disclose, but Washington discloses, that the capacitance value model uses a parallel plate capacitor model (p. 3, section 0011; p. 4-5, section 0016; a neural network is used to calibrate capacitance for a pressure sensor that uses parallel plates). The motivation for this is that such parallel plate models can allow repeated normal force to deform the thin film without failure (see abstract). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Parra Pozo, Fasogbon, and Ivanov to have the capacitance value model use a parallel plate capacitor model in order to model/calibrate a system that allows repeated normal force to deform the thin film without failure as taught by Washington.
As to claim 9, Parra Pozo does not disclose, but Ivanov discloses wherein the storage system stores further instructions, which, upon execution by the processor, cause the processor to: perform a calibration process to map simulated capacitance values to actual capacitance values (p. 11, section 0137; p. 13, sections 0166-0167; models, including capacitance prediction models, are tested and predicted/simulated values are compared/mapped to actual values to determine an error). Motivation for the combination is given in the rejection to claim 8.
As to claim 18, see the rejection to claim 8.
Conclusion
Claims 5, 10, 15, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As to claims 5 and 15, Parra Pozo teaches the general concept of fitting based on loss, as discussed in the rejection to claim 3. Parra Pozo does not disclose specifically solving ψ* an argmin function with weighted eyecam, RF, audio, and loss parameters specifically as well as a regularization parameter for enforcing prior constraints, and other art combinable with Parra Pozo does not appear to teach solving such an equation along with the other limitations of claims 5 and 15 and the claims on which they depend.
As to claims 10 and 19, Ivanov discloses simulating capacitance value, which would include calculating capacitances for various components. Ivanov does not disclose where this simulation specifically includes partitioning an antenna within the set of antennas into a plurality of antenna triangles, determining a plurality of antenna-face triangle pairs by: for each antenna triangle, determining a face triangle that is closest to the antenna triangle based on a distance metric, and calculating a capacitance for each of the plurality of antenna-face triangle pairs. Further, other art combinable with Parra Pozo and Ivanov does not appear to teach such simulation steps along with the other limitations of claims 10 and 19 and the claims on which they depend.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AARON M RICHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2617