DETAILED ACTION
Art Unit- Location
The Art Unit location of your application in the USPTO has changed. To aid in correlating any papers for this application, all further correspondence regarding this application should be directed to Art Unit 2642.
Response to Amendment
This Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 10/02/2025. Claims 1-40 are still pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-12, 16, 18-21, 23, 25-36 and 38-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ghimire Wo Patent Application No. :(WO 2022/084401 A1) hereinafter referred as Ghimire.
For claim 1, Ghimire teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a network node, comprising:
receiving first perception information (perception information includes information obtained from radar, lidar, camera, and/or motion sensors.) from at least one user equipment (UE) (page 14, lines 5-10 and 28-37); and
transmitting first perception-assistance information (wherein perception assistance information is physically separate from the base station) to the at least one UE (page 4, lines 23-28), the first perception-assistance information determined based at least in part on the first perception information (page 16, lines 25-35).
For claim 2, Ghimire teaches the method, wherein the network node is a perception-assistance node (page 4, lines 23-28).
For claim 3, Ghimire teaches the method, wherein the perception-assistance node: is physically separate from a base station, or a logical entity within a base station (page 4, lines 23-28).
For claim 4, Ghimire teaches the method, further comprising: receiving second perception information from a base station serving the at least one UE (page 31, lines 4-9).
For claim 5, Ghimire teaches the method, wherein the first perception-assistance information is further determined based on the second perception information (page 31, lines 9-19).
For claim 7, Ghimire teaches the method, wherein the first perception information is received from the at least one UE via: radio resource control (RRC) signaling, medium access control elements (MAC-CEs) signaling, or uplink control information (UCI) (page 35, lines 11-14).
For claim 8, Ghimire teaches the method, wherein the first perception-assistance information is transmitted to the at least one UE via: radio resource control (RRC) signaling, medium access control elements (MAC-CEs) signaling, or downlink control information (DCI) (page 44, lines 31-36).
For claim 9, Ghimire teaches the method, wherein the network node is a location server (page 11, lines 28-29).
For claim 10, Ghimire teaches the method, further comprising: receiving second perception information from a perception-assistance node in communication with the at least one UE and a base station serving the at least one UE (page 30, lines 31-37 and page 31, lines 4-8).
For claim 11, Ghimire teaches the method, wherein the first perception-assistance information is further determined based on the second perception information (page 31, lines 9-19).
For claim 12, Ghimire teaches the method, 12. The method of claim 9, further comprising: receiving third perception information from a base station serving the at least one UE (page 16, lines 9-19).
For claim 16, Ghimire teaches the method, 16. The method of claim 1, wherein the first perception information comprises: motion sensor information of the at least one UE, radar-based sensing information of the at least one UE, lidar-based sensing information of the at least one UE, beamforming information of the at least one UE, an orientation of the at least one UE, a periodicity of movement of the at least one UE, or any combination thereof (page 8, lines 28-30) and (page 14, lines 28-37).
For claim 18, Ghimire teaches the method, wherein the at least one UE comprises: an extended reality device, a virtual reality device, an augmented reality device, a gaming device, an Internet of Things (IoT) device, or a vehicle (page 1, lines 19-24) and (page 1, lines 34-37).
For claim 19, Ghimire teaches the method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: transmitting first perception information (perception information includes information obtained from radar, lidar, camera, and/or motion sensors.) to a perception-assistance node in communication with a base station serving the UE (page 14, lines 5-10 and 28-37); and
receiving first perception-assistance information (wherein perception assistance information is physically separate from the base station) from the perception-assistance node (page 4, lines 23-28), the first perception-assistance information determined based at least in part on the first perception information (page 16, lines 25-35).
For claim 20, Ghimire teaches the method, further comprising: transmitting second perception information to a location server (page 31, lines 4-9).
For claim 21, Ghimire teaches the method, further comprising: receiving second perception-assistance information from the location server (page 31, lines 9-19).
For claim 23, Ghimire teaches the method, wherein the first perception information comprises: motion sensor information of the UE, radar-based sensing information of the UE, lidar-based sensing information of the UE, beamforming information of the UE, an orientation of the UE, a periodicity of movement of the UE, or any combination thereof (page 8, lines 28-30) and (page 14, lines 28-37).
For claim 25, Ghimire teaches the method, wherein the perception-assistance node: is physically separate from the base station, or a logical entity within the base station (page 4, lines 23-28).
For claim 26, Ghimire teaches the method, wherein the UE comprises: an extended reality device, a virtual reality device, an augmented reality device, a gaming device, an Internet of Things (IoT) device, or a vehicle (page 1, lines 19-24) and (page 1, lines 34-37).
For claim 27, Ghimire teaches the method, wherein the first perception information is transmitted to the perception-assistance node via: radio resource control (RRC) signaling, medium access control elements (MAC-CEs) signaling, or uplink control information (UCI) (page 35, lines 11-14).
For claim 28, Ghimire teaches the method, wherein the first perception-assistance information is received from the perception-assistance node via: radio resource control (RRC) signaling, medium access control elements (MAC-CEs) signaling, or downlink control information (DCI) (page 44, lines 31-36).
For claim 29, Ghimire teaches a network node, comprising:
one or more memories (506 fig 16);
one or more transceivers (510 fig. 16); and
one or more processors (502 fig 16) communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to:
receive, via the one or more transceivers, first perception information (perception information includes information obtained from radar, lidar, camera, and/or motion sensors.) from at least one user equipment (UE) (page 14, lines 5-10 and 28-37); and
transmit, via the one or more transceivers, first perception-assistance information (wherein perception assistance information is physically separate from the base station) to the at least one UE, the first perception-assistance information determined based at least in part on the first perception information (page 16, lines 25-35).
For claim 30, Ghimire teaches the network node, wherein the network node is a perception-assistance node (page 4, lines 23-28).
For claim 31, Ghimire teaches the network node, wherein the one or more processors either alone or in combination, are further configured to: receive, via the one or more transceivers, second perception information from a base station serving the at least one UE (page 31, lines 4-9).
For claim 32, Ghimire teaches the network node, wherein the one or more processors either alone or in combination, are further configured to: transmit, via the one or more transceivers, second perception-assistance information to the base station, the second perception-assistance information determined based at least in part on the first perception information, the second perception information, or both (page 31, lines 9-19).
For claim 33, Ghimire teaches the network node, wherein the network node is a location server (page 11, lines 28-29).
For claim 34, Ghimire teaches the network node, wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to: receive, via the at least one transceiver, second perception information from a perception-assistance node in communication with the at least one UE and a base station serving the at least one UE (page 30, lines 31-37 and page 31, lines 4-8). .
For claim 35, Ghimire teaches the network node, wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to: receive, via the at least one transceiver, third perception information from a base station serving the at least one UE (page 16, lines 9-19).
For claim 36, Ghimire teaches the network node, wherein the first perception information comprises: motion sensor information of the at least one UE, radar-based sensing information of the at least one UE, lidar-based sensing information of the at least one UE, beamforming information of the at least one UE, an orientation of the at least one UE, a periodicity of movement of the at least one UE, or any combination thereof (page 8, lines 28-30) and (page 14, lines 28-37).
For claim 38, Ghimire teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising:
one or more memories (506 fig 16);
one or more transceivers (510 fig. 16); and
one or more processors (502 fig 16) communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to:
transmit, via the one or more transceiver, first perception information (perception information includes information obtained from radar, lidar, camera, and/or motion sensors.) to a perception-assistance node in communication with a base station serving the UE (page 14, lines 5-10 and 28-37); and
receive, via the t one or more transceivers, first perception-assistance information (wherein perception assistance information is physically separate from the base station) from the perception-assistance node (page 4, lines 23-28), the first perception-assistance information determined based at least in part on the first perception information (page 16, lines 25-35).
For claim 39, Ghimire teaches the user equipment, wherein the one or more processors either alone or in combination, are further configured to: transmit, via the one or more transceiver, second perception information to a location server (page 29, lines 7-13).
For claim 40, Ghimire teaches the user equipment, wherein the or more processors either alone or in combination, are further configured to: receive, via the one or more transceiver, second perception-assistance information from the location server (page 31, lines 9-19).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable over Ghimire Wo Patent Application No. :(WO 2022/084401 A1) hereinafter referred as Ghimire, in view of Ghimire et al US Patent Application No.:( US 203/0258815 A1) hereinafter referred as Ghimire.
For claim 15, Ghimire disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the first perception information is received from the UE via Long-Term Evolution (LTE) positioning protocol (LPP) signaling, and the first perception-assistance information is transmitted to the UE via LPP signaling as recited in claim 15.
Ghimire from the same or analogous art teaches the first perception information is received from the UE via Long-Term Evolution (LTE) positioning protocol (LPP) signaling, and the first perception-assistance information is transmitted to the UE via LPP signaling (Paragraph [0235], lines 5-19). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the first perception information is received from the UE via Long-Term Evolution (LTE) positioning protocol (LPP) signaling, and the first perception-assistance information is transmitted to the UE via LPP signaling as taught by Ghimire into the positioning integrity in wireless networks of Ghimire.
The first perception information is received from the UE via Long-Term Evolution (LTE) positioning protocol (LPP) signaling, and the first perception-assistance information is transmitted to the UE via LPP signaling can be modify/implemented by combining the first perception information is received from the UE via Long-Term Evolution (LTE) positioning protocol (LPP) signaling, and the first perception-assistance information is transmitted to the UE via LPP signaling with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Ghimire into the positioning integrity in wireless networks of Ghimire. As disclosed in Ghimire, the motivation for the combination would be to use the perception information via Long-Term Evolution (LTE) positioning protocol (LPP) signaling allowing the position data exchange between the LTE network and UE becoming the method where the LPP is used to position the device and also point-to-point protocol for communication between an LCS server and an LCS target device becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 22, Ghimire disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the second perception information is transmitted to the location server via Long-Term Evolution (LTE) positioning protocol (LPP) signaling, and the second perception-assistance information is received from the location server via LPP signaling as recited in claim 22.
Ghimire from the same or analogous art teaches the second perception information is transmitted to the location server via Long-Term Evolution (LTE) positioning protocol (LPP) signaling, and the second perception-assistance information is received from the location server via LPP signaling (Paragraph [0235], lines 5-19). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the second perception information is transmitted to the location server via Long-Term Evolution (LTE) positioning protocol (LPP) signaling, and the second perception-assistance information is received from the location server via LPP signaling as taught by Ghimire into the positioning integrity in wireless networks of Ghimire.
The second perception information is transmitted to the location server via Long-Term Evolution (LTE) positioning protocol (LPP) signaling, and the second perception-assistance information is received from the location server via LPP signaling can be modify/implemented by combining the second perception information is transmitted to the location server via Long-Term Evolution (LTE) positioning protocol (LPP) signaling, and the second perception-assistance information is received from the location server via LPP signaling with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Ghimire into the positioning integrity in wireless networks of Ghimire. As disclosed in Ghimire, the motivation for the combination would be to use the perception information via Long-Term Evolution (LTE) positioning protocol (LPP) signaling allowing the position data exchange between the LTE network and UE becoming the method where the LPP is used to position the device and also point-to-point protocol for communication between an LCS server and an LCS target device becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 13-14, 17, 24, 37 are objected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 10/02/2025, with respect to claims 1, 19, 29 and 38 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that Ghimire does not teach in claims 1, 19, 29 and 38, "receiving first perception information from at least one user equipment (UE)". However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees with such assertion. (See below for further clarification).
According to the current Application-specification on paragraph [0121] discloses “ the specific reference to XR systems and pose prediction, perception information (e.g., information from camera(s), gyroscope(s), and/or accelerometer(s)) can assist with pose prediction and corresponding beam management tasks.”
Applicant admits on page 12-13 on the remarks about the apparatus that is configured to determine at least one parameter from the gyroscope(s), and/or accelerometer(s)).
In response to the preceding argument examiner respectfully submits that Ghimire teaches "receiving first perception information from at least one user equipment (UE)". Ghimire teaches the receiver receiving a measurement after being sensed from the perception information ( gyroscope(s), and/or accelerometer(s))) obtaining measurements of the user equipment disclosed on pages 14-15 of Ghimire.
Applicant asserts that Ghimire does not teach in claims 1, 19, 29 and 38, "transmitting first perception-assistance information to the at least one UE,". However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees with such assertion. (See below for further clarification).
According to the current Application-specification on paragraph [0119] discloses “the amount of signaling between a UE and the RAN in perception-based scenarios, it would be beneficial to have an explicit “perception-assistance node” in the perception-based system, especially when there are large numbers of UEs, to avoid overloading the serving base station (gNB). “
In response to the preceding argument examiner respectfully submits that Ghimire teaches "transmitting first perception-assistance information to the at least one UE,". The transmission of the perception-assistance information coming from the node to the UE is based on the obtained measurements from gyroscope, and/or accelerometer, adjusting the motion, orientation data gaming and health tracking.
The prior art should be considered as a whole. See also MPEP § 2141.02 [R-5] Paragraph VI. Claims must be given the broadest reasonable interpretation during examination and limitations appearing in the specification but not recited in the claim are not read into the claim (See M.P.E.P. 2111 [R-l]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH AREVALO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642