Status of Claims
In the communication filed on 12/23/2025, claims 1-2, 4-6, and 8-19 are pending. Claims 1, 4, 8-11, and 13-15 are amended. Claims 16-19 are new. Claims 3 and 7 are presently cancelled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) was submitted on 02/12/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 12/23/2025 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of copending application number 18/062,490 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Arguments
The prior objections to the Drawings and Claims are withdrawn due to the amendments.
The prior rejections under U.S.C. 112(b) are withdrawn due to the amendments.
The double patenting rejections are withdrawn due to the terminal disclaimer.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended independent claim 1 and its dependent claims 2, 4-6, and 8 have been considered but are not persuasive.
The applicant specifically argues (page 13, 2nd para.) “Agathocleous does not teach or suggest the liquid phase being added to the liquid cooling fluid between the cooling reservoir and/or the cooling fluid source and the cooling element cooling fluid”. The examiner respectfully disagrees due to a broad, but reasonable, interpretation of the claim language. The examiner appreciates the applicant’s explanation of the Fig. 4 drawing and the associated “liquid phase drain line 41 extending from the phase separator 33 to the cooling fluid line 42, such that the liquid phase bypasses the fluid reservoir 16”.
The examiner finds that the word “between” can be interpreted such that the claimed range “between the cooling reservoir and/or the cooling fluid source and the cooling element” includes the first endpoint “the cooling reservoir and/or the cooling fluid source”, the second endpoint “the cooling element”, as well as the cooling circuit connecting between these endpoints. This interpretation of “between” is supported as being reasonable based on evidence from the cited English Language & Usage forum posting. This forum posting explores the differences in “exclusive” and “inclusive” interpretations of the word “between”. Specifically, the forum includes the quote “… generally considered inclusive unless otherwise specified”. The examiner also reviewed dictionary definitions of “between”, which were ambiguous regarding the “exclusive” and “inclusive” interpretations discussed in the cited forum posting.
To overcome the present rejection herein of claim 1, it is suggested that a more detailed limitation for the location where “supplying the liquid phase to the liquid cooling fluid” occurs would be effective. This could be claimed in such a way that “the cooling fluid reservoir and/or the cooling fluid source” is not the location where the liquid phase is supplied to the liquid cooling fluid. Such an amendment may be written “supplying the liquid phase to the liquid cooling fluid between the cooling fluid reservoir and/or the cooling fluid source and the cooling element, wherein the liquid phase is supplied to the liquid cooling fluid in a location separate from each of the cooling fluid reservoir and/or the cooling fluid source and the cooling element”. Alternatively, a more limiting amendment may be written to require “a liquid phase drain line” (Fig. 4, item 41 of instant application) and associated connections from the phase separator to the cooling fluid line such that the liquid phase bypasses the fluid reservoir. Either approach could incorporate a limitation to avoid the interpretation that the liquid phase may be supplied to the liquid cooling fluid within the cooling fluid reservoir or cooling fluid source.
Thus, the applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claim 1 and its dependent claims 2, 4-6, and 8 are respectfully refuted.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended independent claim 9 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection.
It is noted the amendments to claim 9 (line 12: “and
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended independent claim 13 and its dependent claims 14-15 have been considered but are not persuasive.
The applicant specifically argues (page 16, 2nd para.) “the cited references fail to singly, or in any motivated combination, teach or suggest a charging station for charging an electric energy accumulator of a motor vehicle in which the liquid phase is added to the liquid cooling fluid between the cooling reservoir and/or the cooling fluid source and the cooling element cooling fluid.” The examiner respectfully disagrees, with the same rationale as described supra for the similar claim 1.
Thus, the applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claim 13 and its dependents are respectfully refuted.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 5, 9-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1, 5, 9, and 13 inconsistently use the terms “electric energy accumulator” and “energy accumulator”. Revise to use a consistent term for the same feature.
Claim 1, line 21, and claim 13, line 24 each recite “between the cooling reservoir”, which should be revised to “between the cooling fluid reservoir” to be consistent with prior language.
Claim 9, line 5 recites “accumulator, and a cooling fluid interface”. Because “a cooling fluid interface” appears to be the start of a new limitation, the examiner believes the comma should be a semicolon and “a cooling interface” should start on a new line. Further, it appears line 5’s term “and” should be removed because there are additional limitations following.
Claim 10, lines 1-2 recite “further comprising the gas delivery device,”. This language is redundant to claim 9 and thus recommended to be removed.
Claim 11, lines 1-2 recite “having the phase separator,”. This language is redundant to claim 9 and thus recommended to be removed.
Claim 12 should be revised to incorporate a comma after the preamble “The motor vehicle according to claim 9”.
Claim 14, lines 1-2 recite “comprising the gas delivering device,”. This language is redundant to claim 13 and thus recommended to be removed.
Claim 15, lines 1-2 recite “having the phase separator,”. This language is redundant to claim 13 and thus recommended to be removed.
Claim 15, lines 3-4 recite “leading from the phase separator to to a cooling fluid line”, which should be revised to “leading from the phase separator to [[to]] a cooling fluid line”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites “The method according to claim 7”. This is indefinite because claim 7 is presently cancelled. For examination purposes, this language is interpreted as “The method according to claim [[7]] 1”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dyer et al. (US 2012/0043935 A1) in view of Cheng (US 2020/0220240 A1) and Agathocleous (US 2020/0343610 A1; hereinafter “Aga”), and as evidenced by the English Language & Usage forum posting ("Between A and B" or "from A to B", English Language & Usage, english.stackexchange.com, last edited 11/01/2013, accessed 03/02/2026).
As of the current date, the English Language & Usage forum posting can be accessed at the following link:
https://english.stackexchange.com/questions/7871/between-a-and-b-or-from-a-to-b
Regarding Claim 1, Dyer discloses a method (¶ [1]: “method for charging electric vehicle batteries”) for charging an electric energy accumulator (“battery 30”; Figs. 1b, 2) of a motor vehicle (“electric vehicle 20'”; Fig.1b; ¶ [35]: “configured to operate in the same manner” as “20” of Fig. 1a), comprising the following features.
Dyer further discloses transferring electric energy (¶ [32]: “60 provides current from high power charging source 62 … to battery 30”) from a charging station (“rapid charging station 60'”; Fig. 1b; ¶ [35]: “configured to operate in the same manner” as “60” of Fig. 1a) external to the motor vehicle (20') via a detachable electrical connection (“electrical supply section 82” within “connector 42'”; Fig. 1b; 42' incorporates all functionalities of “connector 42”, which is removable per ¶ [32]) to the energy accumulator (30).
Dyer further discloses transferring a cooling fluid (“coolant” supplied by “coolant source 64”; Fig. 1b; ¶ [50]: may be “oil” or “air”; ¶ [59]: may be other “flowable liquid or gaseous materials”) from the charging station (60') via a detachable cooling fluid connection (“coolant supply section 84” within “connector 42'”; Fig. 1b; 42' incorporates all functionalities of “connector 42”, which is removable per ¶ [32]) to a cooling element (“coolant supply conduit 26”; Fig. 1b; ¶ [32]: “supplies coolant to battery 30”) of the motor vehicle (20').
Dyer further discloses that thermal energy (¶ [57]: “thermal energy removed from battery 30 by the coolant passing through battery 30”; ¶ [35, 49]) from the energy accumulator (30) is transferred via the cooling element (26) to the cooling fluid (“coolant”) and taken away by the cooling fluid (¶ [35]: “heated coolant then is pumped out of a coolant outflow section 96 in receptacle 50”).
NOTE 1-1: The claim 1, line 8 limitation “the charging station comprising a cooling fluid reservoir” is interpreted as optional due to the term “and/or” in claim 1, line 9.
Dyer further discloses the charging station (60') being connected to a cooling fluid source (“coolant source 64”; Fig. 1b).
Dyer further discloses the cooling fluid (“coolant”) transferred by a cooling fluid delivery device (“coolant pump 74”; Fig. 1b; ¶ [43]: “74 to begin pumping coolant from coolant source 64 to battery 30”) from the cooling fluid source (64) to the cooling element (26, within 30).
NOTE 1-2: The claim 1, line 10 limitation “from the cooling fluid reservoir” is interpreted as optional due to the term “or” in claim 1, line 10.
Dyer does not disclose “mixing a liquid cooling fluid with a gas before and/or during transfer of the liquid cooling fluid to the cooling element, so that a cooling fluid/gas mixture is formed, wherein at least a portion of the cooling fluid is evaporated into gas during the transfer of the thermal energy from the energy accumulator to the cooling fluid; partially or entirely transferring the cooling fluid/gas mixture to a phase separator of the motor vehicle or the charging station after the transfer of the thermal energy, wherein a liquid phase of the cooling fluid/gas mixture, consisting of the liquid cooling fluid, and a gaseous phase of the cooling fluid/gas mixture, consisting of the evaporated cooling fluid and the gas, are separated from each other at the phase separator; and supplying the liquid phase to the liquid cooling fluid between the cooling reservoir and/or the cooling fluid source and the cooling element.”
Cheng teaches mixing a liquid cooling fluid (“water”; ¶ [34, 79, 106, 111]) with a gas (“water vapor”; ¶ [34, 79, 106, 111]) before and during transfer (“water” and “water vapor” are mixed as a “gas-liquid two-phase fluid” prior to transfer to cool the battery; ¶ [34, 79, 106]) of the liquid cooling fluid (“water”) to the cooling element (“heat exchange pipe” within “battery device 10” per ¶ [80]), so that a cooling fluid/gas mixture (¶ [34]: “gas-liquid two-phase fluid may be water and water vapor) is formed.
Cheng further teaches at least a portion of the cooling fluid (“water” and “water vapor”) is evaporated into gas (¶ [36]: “through the … liquid-to-gas transitions … the two-phase system fluid is able to … receive heat”; ¶ [68]) during the transfer of the thermal energy from the energy accumulator (“battery device 10” with “battery module 11”) to the cooling fluid (“water” and “water vapor”).
Cheng further teaches to mix the cooling fluid with a gas and for some of the cooling fluid to be evaporated into gas while cooling the energy accumulator to greatly improve the heat conduction and transmission rate (¶ [36]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method disclosed by Dyer to mix the cooling fluid with a gas and for some of the cooling fluid to be evaporated into gas while cooling the energy accumulator, as taught by Cheng, to improve the rate of the transfer of the thermal energy.
Aga teaches partially or entirely transferring the cooling fluid/gas mixture (combo of “air” and “waste charging coolant” passing through “outlet side 78 of the vacuum flow path 70”; ¶ [40]) to a phase separator (combo of “waste reservoir 71” and “vacuum device 75”; Fig. 1) of the charging station (“charging station 2”; Fig. 1) after the transfer of the thermal energy (“78” is on the outlet side of “charging heat exchanger 32”; thus, occurs after the transfer of thermal energy).
Aga further teaches a liquid phase of the cooling fluid/gas mixture, consisting of the liquid cooling fluid (“waste charging coolant”; “water” per ¶ [50]), and a gaseous phase (“air”) of the cooling fluid/gas mixture, consisting of the evaporated cooling fluid and the gas, are separated from each other (“air” is “expelled to the ambient environment” by “vacuum device 75” and “waste charging coolant” is “disposed within the waste reservoir 71”; ¶ [40]; see note1-3, included infra) at the phase separator (71 + 75).
NOTE 1-3: Aga does not explicitly teach the gaseous phase consists of “the evaporated cooling fluid and the gas”. Instead, Aga teaches the gaseous phase consists of the gas (“air”). However, if water is used as the cooling fluid (as taught by Aga ¶ [50]), it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the gaseous phase would also consist of some water vapor (i.e., “evaporated cooling fluid”), as well as the air. Official notice is taken (reference can be provided upon request) that it is widely-known in the art that water, in the presence of air and heat, is known to partially evaporate into water vapor and form a gaseous phase consisting of the evaporated cooling fluid (water vapor) and the gas (air).
Aga further teaches supplying (¶ [40]: “the waste charging coolant to be reintroduced to the charging coolant reservoir 61”) the liquid phase (“waste charging coolant”, located within phase separator “71”; Fig. 1) to the liquid cooling fluid (located within cooling fluid reservoir “61”; Fig. 1) between (interpreted per note 1-3, included infra) the cooling fluid reservoir (“charging coolant reservoir 61”; Fig. 1; see note 1-4, included infra) and the cooling element (“charging heat exchanger 32”; Fig. 1).
NOTE 1-3: The word “between” is interpreted such that the range includes the endpoints. In other words, the range “between A and Z” includes each of the endpoints “A” and “Z”. This is considered a reasonable “inclusive” interpretation of the word “between” based on the evidence of the cited English Language & Usage forum posting. This forum posting explores the differences in “exclusive” and “inclusive” interpretations of the word “between”. Specifically, the forum includes the quote “… generally considered inclusive unless otherwise specified”. Thus, the claimed range “between the cooling reservoir and/or the cooling fluid source and the cooling element” is interpreted to include the first endpoint “the cooling reservoir and/or the cooling fluid source”, the second endpoint “the cooling element”, as well as the cooling circuit connecting these endpoints.
NOTE 1-4: Though Aga’s charging station uses a cooling fluid reservoir and the base reference Dyer’s charging station connects to a cooling fluid source, one of ordinary skill in the art understands the cooling fluid reservoir and cooling fluid source are analogous components in the system and method of each reference. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art understands that Aga’s teachings are applicable as modifications to the system and method disclosed by Dyer.
Aga further teaches separating the phases to enable the expelling of the gaseous phase and the reuse of the liquid phase (¶ [40]), which simplifies and reduces the physical size of the charging station.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method disclosed by the combination of Dyer and Cheng to separate the liquid phase and the gaseous phase with a phase separator, expel the gaseous phase, and reuse the liquid phase, as taught by Aga, to simplify and reduce the physical size of the charging station.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Dyer, Cheng, and Aga teaches the method according to claim 1.
Dyer does not disclose “water is used as the cooling fluid and/or ambient air is used as the gas”.
Cheng further teaches water is used as the cooling fluid (¶ [34]: “gas-liquid two-phase fluid may be water and water vapor).
Cheng further teaches the use of water because it is non-reactive with the components of the energy accumulator (¶ [34]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method and cooling fluid disclosed by the combination of Dyer, Cheng, and Aga to incorporate water as the cooling fluid, as further taught by Cheng, to avoid the risk of chemical reactions between the cooling fluid and the energy accumulator.
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Dyer, Cheng, and Aga teaches the method according to claim 1.
Dyer does not disclose “the gas is supplied to the cooling fluid by a gas delivery device, the gas delivery device being a component of the motor vehicle or the charging station.”
Aga further teaches the gas (“air”) is supplied to the cooling fluid (“charging coolant”) by a gas delivery device (“air source 72”; Fig. 1).
Aga further teaches the gas delivery device (72) being a component of the charging station (“charging station 2”; Fig. 1).
Aga further teaches the gas being supplied by the gas delivery device for the advantage of cleaning the coolant out of the motor vehicle between charging sessions (¶ [39]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method and charging station disclosed by the combination of Dyer, Cheng, and Aga to supply the gas to the cooling fluid by a gas delivery device, as further taught by Aga, to clean the coolant out of the motor vehicle between charging sessions.
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Dyer, Cheng, and Aga teaches the method according to claim 1.
Dyer does not disclose “the cooling fluid/gas mixture is partially or entirely discharged into the surroundings after the transfer of the thermal energy.”
Aga further teaches the cooling fluid/gas mixture (combo of “air” and “waste charging coolant” passing through “outlet side 78 of the vacuum flow path 70”; ¶ [40]) is partially discharged into the surroundings (¶ [40]: “air … to be expelled to the ambient environment”; ¶ [50]: “water is once again able to be drained from the charging coolant circuit 60 after passing through the charging coolant flow path 50”) after the transfer of the thermal energy (“78” is on the outlet side of “charging heat exchanger 32”; thus, occurs after the transfer of thermal energy).
Aga further teaches discharging the cooling fluid/gas mixture to eliminate the need for storing the charging coolant after the transfer of thermal energy (¶ [50]), which simplifies and reduces the physical size of the charging station.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method and charging station disclosed by the combination of Dyer, Cheng, and Aga to partially discharge the cooling fluid/gas mixture into the surroundings after the energy transfer, as further taught by Aga, to simplify and reduce the physical size of the charging station.
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Dyer, Cheng, and Aga teaches the method according to claim [[7]] 1.
Dyer does not disclose “the gaseous phase is discharged into the surroundings.”
Aga further teaches the gaseous phase is discharged into the surroundings (¶ [40]: “air … to be expelled to the ambient environment”).
Aga further teaches this to enable the expelling of the gaseous phase and the reuse of the liquid phase (¶ [40]), which simplifies and reduces the physical size of the charging station.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method and charging station disclosed by the combination of Dyer, Cheng, and Aga to discharge the gaseous phase into the surroundings, as further taught by Aga, to simplify and reduce the physical size of the charging station.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dyer et al. (US 2012/0043935 A1) in view of Cheng (US 2020/0220240 A1), Agathocleous (US 2020/0343610 A1; hereinafter “Aga”), and Mardall et al. (US 2015/0306974 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Dyer, Cheng, and Aga teaches the method according to claim 1.
Dyer does not disclose “wherein the cooling element is a cooling plate standing in thermal contact with the energy accumulator or a heat exchanger by which thermal energy is transferred from a coolant circulating in a cooling circuit for the cooling of the energy accumulator to the cooling fluid”.
Mardall teaches the cooling element is a heat exchanger (“heat exchanger 206”; Fig. 2) by which thermal energy is transferred from a coolant (¶ [36]: “coolant of the internal system”) circulating in a cooling circuit (“internal cooling system 202”; Fig. 2; circulates within the motor vehicle “204”) for the cooling of the energy accumulator (“battery pack 208”; Fig. 2) to the cooling fluid (¶ [36]: “coolant from the external system”; ¶ [23]: “extract thermal energy from the system”; thermal energy transfers from coolant in internal system “202” to cooling fluid in external system “200” via “heat exchanger 206”).
Mardall further teaches the heat exchanger to avoid opening the motor vehicle’s internal cooling circuit to the outside while being externally cooled (¶ [47]), which protects the motor vehicle’s coolant and the charging station’s cooling fluid from contamination.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method and cooling element disclosed by the combination of Dyer, Cheng, and Aga to incorporate a heat exchanger, as taught by Mardall, to protect the coolant and cooling fluid from contamination by avoiding opening the motor vehicle’s internal cooling circuit to the outside while being externally cooled.
Claims 9-11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dyer et al. (US 2012/0043935 A1) in view of Agathocleous (US 2020/0343610 A1; hereinafter “Aga”) and Kimishima et al. (US 2002/0043413 A1; hereinafter “Kimi”).
Regarding Claim 9, Dyer discloses a motor vehicle (“electric vehicle 20'”; Fig.1b; ¶ [35]: “configured to operate in the same manner” as “20” of Fig. 1a), comprising an electric energy accumulator (“battery 30”; Figs. 1b, 2).
Dyer further discloses an electric interface (“electrical inflow section 92” within “receptacle 50'”; Fig. 1b), configured to form a detachable electric connection (interfacing 42' incorporates all functionalities of “connector 42”, which is removable per ¶ [32]), by which electric energy can be transferred from a charging station (“rapid charging station 60'”; Fig. 1b; ¶ [35]: “configured to operate in the same manner” as “60” of Fig. 1a) external to the motor vehicle (20') to the energy accumulator (“30”).
Dyer further discloses a cooling fluid interface (“coolant inflow section 94” within “receptacle 50'”; Fig. 1b) configured to form a detachable cooling fluid connection (interfacing 42' incorporates all functionalities of “connector 42”, which is removable per ¶ [32]), by which a cooling fluid (“coolant” supplied by “coolant source 64”; Fig. 1b; ¶ [50]: may be “oil” or “air”; ¶ [59]: may be other “flowable liquid or gaseous materials”) can be taken from the charging station (60') to a cooling element (“coolant supply conduit 26”; Fig. 1b; ¶ [32]: “supplies coolant to battery 30”) of the motor vehicle (20').
Dyer further discloses that thermal energy (¶ [57]: “thermal energy removed from battery 30 by the coolant passing through battery 30”; ¶ [35, 49]) can be transferred from the energy accumulator (30) via the cooling element (26) to the cooling fluid (“coolant”) and taken away by the cooling fluid (¶ [35]: “heated coolant then is pumped out of a coolant outflow section 96 in receptacle 50”).
Dyer does not disclose “a gas delivery device configured to bring a liquid cooling fluid together with a gas before and/or during the feeding to the cooling element; and a phase separator, to which a cooling fluid/gas mixture can be taken partially or entirely and which is configured to separate a liquid phase of the cooling fluid/gas mixture, consisting of the liquid cooling fluid, from a gaseous phase of the cooling fluid/gas mixture, consisting of evaporated cooling fluid and the gas.”
Aga teaches (see annotated Fig. 1, included supra in the 103 rejection of claim 1) a gas delivery device (“air source 72”; Fig. 1) configured to bring a liquid cooling fluid (“charging coolant”) together with a gas (“air”) before and/or during the feeding to the cooling element (“charging heat exchanger 32”; Fig. 1).
Aga further teaches a phase separator (combo of “waste reservoir 71” and “vacuum device 75”; Fig. 1), to which a cooling fluid/gas mixture (combo of “air” and “waste charging coolant” passing through “outlet side 78 of the vacuum flow path 70”; ¶ [40]) can be taken entirely.
Aga further teaches the phase separator (71 + 75) is configured to separate (“air” is “expelled to the ambient environment” by “vacuum device 75” and “waste charging coolant” is “disposed within the waste reservoir 71”; ¶ [40]) a liquid phase of the cooling fluid/gas mixture, consisting of the liquid cooling fluid (“waste charging coolant”; “water” per ¶ [50]), from a gaseous phase (“air”) of the cooling fluid/gas mixture.
NOTE 9-1: Aga does not explicitly teach the gaseous phase consists of “evaporated cooling fluid and the gas”. Instead, Aga teaches the gaseous phase consists of the gas (“air”). However, if water is used as the cooling fluid (as taught by Aga ¶ [50]), it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the gaseous phase would also consist of some water vapor (i.e., “evaporated cooling fluid”), as well as the air. Official notice is taken (reference can be provided upon request) that it is widely-known in the art that water, in the presence of air and heat, is known to partially evaporate into water vapor and form a gaseous phase consisting of the evaporated cooling fluid (water vapor) and the gas (air).
Aga further teaches the gas being supplied by the gas delivery device for the advantage of cleaning the coolant out of the motor vehicle between charging sessions (¶ [39]). Aga further teaches the phase separator to enable the expelling of the gaseous phase and the reuse of the liquid phase (¶ [40]), which simplifies and reduces the physical size of the cooling circuit.
However, Aga’s teachings are for the gas delivery device and the phase separator to be in a charging station external to the motor vehicle, rather than part of the motor vehicle as claimed. However, there are well-known advantages to incorporating these cooling circuit components to be internal to the motor vehicle.
Though not in the same circuit arrangement as that of Aga, Kimi also teaches a gas delivery device (combo of “compressor 24” and “heat exchanger 28”; Figs. 1, 4; per ¶ [68] “gas refrigerant” is supplied by “24” to “28”; per ¶ [69], “28” produces a “gas-liquid-mixture”) and a phase separator (“receiver 26”; Figs. 1 & 4 depict separation of gas and liquid phases within “26”) that are on-board the motor vehicle (¶ [26]: “an electric vehicle which incorporates a vehicle battery cooling apparatus”),
Kimi further teaches the cooling circuit components to be on-board the motor vehicle, rather than the off-board arrangement taught by Aga. Kimi teaches the cooling circuit components being internal to the motor vehicle enables the cooling element to cool the electric energy accumulator either when discharging or being charged (¶ [4]), without being dependent on any external components (all components of Fig. 1 are on-board). Thus, the battery can be cooled either while driving the vehicle or while being fast-charged by an external charger, which improves efficiency and health of the battery (¶ [2, 4, 11]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the motor vehicle disclosed by Dyer to incorporate a gas delivery device and a phase separator of Aga’s cooling circuit taught by Aga in locations on the motor vehicle, as taught by Kimi, to clean the coolant out of the motor vehicle between charging sessions (per Aga), to simplify and reduce the physical size of the cooling circuit (per Aga), and to enable the motor vehicle to perform cooling functions of the electric energy accumulator while either charging or driving the motor vehicle (per Kimi), thus improving efficiency and health of the electric energy accumulator. Further, incorporating the control circuit features on the motor vehicle would also reduce the size, cost, and complexity of the charging station.
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Dyer, Aga, and Kimi teaches the motor vehicle (Dyer: 20', modified per Aga and Kimi) according to claim 9, further comprising the gas delivery device (incorporated from Aga: 72).
Dyer does not disclose “the gas delivery device can draw in ambient air as the gas via an intake opening of the motor vehicle and then supply the ambient air to the liquid cooling fluid via an air duct, which leads from the intake opening to the cooling element and/or to a cooling fluid line leading to the cooling element, at the motor vehicle.”
Aga further teaches the gas delivery device (71) can draw in ambient air (¶ [49]: “air source 72 may be open to the ambient air”; also see ¶ [39]) as the gas (“air”) via an intake opening (an intake opening is part of or connected to the “air source 72” because “72” is “in fluid communication with the ambient air” per ¶ [39]).
Aga further teaches the gas delivery device (71) can then supply the ambient air (“air”) to the liquid cooling fluid (“air” and “charging coolant” combined in “63” and output to “57”, which is part of “charging coolant flow path 50”; Fig. 1) via an air duct (connection from “72” to “63” labeled as “70, 77” in Fig. 1; “ambient air” is output from “72” to the “inlet side 77”; thus, “70, 77” carries air and is an air duct), which leads from the intake opening (part of and/or connected to “72”) to a cooling fluid line (“inlet flow path 51”, including “inlet conduit 57”; Fig. 1) leading to the cooling element (32), at the motor vehicle (1).
Aga further teaches the intake opening of the gas delivery device and the air duct to enable the use of ambient air as the gas in the cooling circuit (¶ [39]), which simplifies and reduces the physical size of the cooling circuit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the gas delivery device disclosed by the combination of Dyer, Aga, and Kimi to incorporate an intake opening and air duct, as further taught by Aga, to simplify and reduce the physical size of the cooling circuit. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that the intake opening and air duct would be on the motor vehicle, along with the other cooling circuit components (gas delivery device, phase separator), per the prior teachings of Kimi, because it is most logical to be physically close to the gas delivery device (already incorporated on the motor vehicle per the teachings of Aga and Kimi).
Thus, the combination of Dyer, Aga, and Kimi teaches the gas delivery device can draw in ambient air as the gas via an intake opening of the motor vehicle and then supply the ambient air to the liquid cooling fluid via an air duct, which leads from the intake opening to a cooling fluid line leading to the cooling element, at the motor vehicle.
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Dyer, Aga, and Kimi teaches the motor vehicle (Dyer: 20', modified per Aga and Kimi) according to claim 9, having the phase separator (incorporated from Aga: 71 + 75).
Dyer does not disclose “the motor vehicle further comprises a liquid phase drain line, leading from the phase separator to the cooling element and/or to a cooling fluid line or a cooling fluid line leading to the cooling element, wherein the liquid phase can be supplied by the liquid phase drain line to the liquid cooling fluid at the motor vehicle and prior to the transfer of the thermal energy, and/or the motor vehicle further comprises a return connection interface by which a detachable return connection can be formed, which connects the phase separator to the charging station, wherein the liquid phase can be taken by the detachable return connection to the liquid cooling fluid at the charging station and/or the motor vehicle further comprises a gas phase drain line, leading from the phase separator to a gas phase drain opening of the motor vehicle, wherein the gaseous phase can be discharged via the gas phase drain line into the surroundings.”
Aga further teaches a gas phase drain line (gas line from “71” to “75”; Fig. 1), leading from the phase separator (71) to a gas phase drain opening (output of “vacuum device 75”; Fig. 1), wherein the gaseous phase (“air”) can be discharged via the gas phase drain line into the surroundings (¶ [40]: “air … to be expelled to the ambient environment”).
Aga further teaches the discharging the gaseous phase into the surroundings so the gaseous phase doesn’t have to be stored in the phase separator (¶ [40]), which simplifies and reduces the physical size of the cooling circuit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the motor vehicle’s cooling circuit disclosed by the combination of Dyer, Aga, and Kimi to incorporate the gas phase drain line, as further taught by Aga, to simplify and reduce the physical size of the cooling circuit. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that the gas phase drain line and gas phase drain opening would be on the motor vehicle, along with the other cooling circuit components (gas delivery device, phase separator), per the prior teachings of Kimi, because it is most logical to be physically close to the phase separator (already incorporated on the motor vehicle per the teachings of Aga and Kimi).
Thus, the combination of Dyer, Aga, and Kimi teaches the motor vehicle further comprises a gas phase drain line, leading from the phase separator to a gas phase drain opening of the motor vehicle, wherein the gaseous phase can be discharged via the gas phase drain line into the surroundings.
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Dyer, Aga, and Kimi teaches the motor vehicle of claim 9.
Dyer discloses the electric interface (“electrical inflow section 92” within “receptacle 50'”; Fig. 1b) is a charging socket (Fig. 1b shows 50' is a socket into which the plug connector 42' is inserted).
Claims 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dyer et al. (US 2012/0043935 A1) in view of Agathocleous (US 2020/0343610 A1; hereinafter “Aga”), Kimishima et al. (US 2002/0043413 A1; hereinafter “Kimi”), and Messmer (US 2009/0158739 A1).
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Dyer, Aga, and Kimi teaches the motor vehicle according to claim 9.
Dyer discloses the electric interface (“electrical inflow section 92” within “receptacle 50'”; Fig. 1b) is a charging socket (Fig. 1b shows 50' is a socket into which the plug connector 42' is inserted).
Dyer does not disclose “the cooling fluid interface is a connection nozzle”.
Messmer teaches the cooling fluid interface is a connection nozzle (¶ [135]: “injection nozzles 112”) for the advantage of enabling the ability to throttle the cooling fluid (¶ [135]), or in other words, control the flow rate of the cooling fluid to only use the required amount, which uses less cooling fluid.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the cooling fluid interface disclosed by Dyer to be a nozzle, as taught by Messmer, to control the flow rate of the cooling fluid and thus use less cooling fluid.
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Dyer, Aga, and Kimi teaches the motor vehicle of claim 9.
Dyer does not disclose “the cooling fluid interface is a connection nozzle”.
Messmer teaches the cooling fluid interface is a connection nozzle (¶ [135]: “injection nozzles 112”) for the advantage of enabling the ability to throttle the cooling fluid (¶ [135]), or in other words, control the flow rate of the cooling fluid to only use the required amount, which uses less cooling fluid.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the cooling fluid interface disclosed by Dyer to be a nozzle, as taught by Messmer, to control the flow rate of the cooling fluid and thus use less cooling fluid.
Claims 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dyer et al. (US 2012/0043935 A1) in view of Agathocleous (US 2020/0343610 A1; hereinafter “Aga”) and as evidenced by the English Language & Usage forum posting ("Between A and B" or "from A to B", English Language & Usage, english.stackexchange.com, last edited 11/01/2013, accessed 03/02/2026).
Regarding Claim 13, Dyer discloses a charging station (“rapid charging station 60'”; Fig. 1b; ¶ [35]: “configured to operate in the same manner” as “60” of Fig. 1a) for charging an electric energy accumulator (“battery 30”; Figs. 1b, 2) of a motor vehicle (“electric vehicle 20'”; Fig.1b; ¶ [35]: “configured to operate in the same manner” as “20” of Fig. 1a), wherein the charging station (60') comprises the following features.
Dyer further discloses an electric interface (“electrical supply section 82” within “connector 42'”; Fig. 1b) configured to form a detachable electrical connection (42' incorporates all functionalities of “connector 42”, which is removable per ¶ [32]), by which electric energy can be transferred from the charging station (60') external to the motor vehicle (20') to the energy accumulator (30).
Dyer further discloses the charging station (60') is connected to a cooling fluid source (“coolant source 64”; Fig. 1b).
Dyer further discloses a cooling fluid interface (“coolant supply section 84” within “connector 42'”; Fig. 1b) configured to form a detachable cooling fluid connection (42' incorporates all functionalities of “connector 42”, which is removable per ¶ [32]), by which a cooling fluid (“coolant” supplied by “coolant source 64”; Fig. 1b; ¶ [50]: may be “oil” or “air”; ¶ [59]: may be other “flowable liquid or gaseous materials”) can be taken from the charging station (60') to a cooling element (“coolant supply conduit 26”; Fig. 1b; ¶ [32]: “supplies coolant to battery 30”) of the motor vehicle (20').
Dyer further discloses that thermal energy (¶ [57]: “thermal energy removed from battery 30 by the coolant passing through battery 30”; ¶ [35, 49]) can be transferred from the energy accumulator (30) via the cooling element (26) to the cooling fluid (“coolant”) and taken away by the cooling fluid (¶ [35]: “heated coolant then is pumped out of a coolant outflow section 96 in receptacle 50”).
Dyer further discloses a cooling fluid delivery device (“coolant pump 74”; Fig. 1b; ¶ [43]: “74 to begin pumping coolant from coolant source 64 to battery 30”) configured to deliver fooling fluid (“coolant”) from the cooling fluid source (64) to the cooling element (26, within 30).
Dyer does not disclose “a gas delivery device, by which a liquid cooling fluid can be brought together with a gas before and/or during the feeding to the cooling element; and a phase separator, to which a cooling fluid/gas mixture can be taken partially or entirely and by which a liquid phase of the cooling fluid/gas mixture, consisting of the liquid cooling fluid, and a gaseous phase of the cooling fluid/gas mixture, consisting of evaporated cooling fluid and the gas, can be separated from each other, wherein the charging station is configured such that the liquid phase is supplied to the liquid cooling fluid between the cooling reservoir and/or the cooling fluid source and the cooling element.”
Aga teaches (see annotated Fig. 1, included supra in the 103 rejection of claim 1) the charging station (“charging station 2”; Fig. 1) comprises a gas delivery device (“air source 72”; Fig. 1), by which a liquid cooling fluid (“charging coolant”) can be brought together with a gas (“air”) before and/or during the feeding to the cooling element (“charging heat exchanger 32”; Fig. 1).
Aga further teaches a phase separator (combo of “waste reservoir 71” and “vacuum device 75”; Fig. 1), to which a cooling fluid/gas mixture (combo of “air” and “waste charging coolant” passing through “outlet side 78 of the vacuum flow path 70”; ¶ [40]) can be taken entirely.
Aga further teaches the phase separator (71 + 75), by which a liquid phase of the cooling fluid/gas mixture, consisting of the liquid cooling fluid (“waste charging coolant”; “water” per ¶ [50]), and a gaseous phase (“air”) of the cooling fluid/gas mixture, can be separated from each other (“air” is “expelled to the ambient environment” by “vacuum device 75” and “waste charging coolant” is “disposed within the waste reservoir 71”; ¶ [40]).
NOTE 13-1: Aga does not explicitly teach the gaseous phase consists of “evaporated cooling fluid and the gas”. Instead, Aga teaches the gaseous phase consists of the gas (“air”). However, if water is used as the cooling fluid (as taught by Aga ¶ [50]), it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the gaseous phase would also consist of some water vapor (i.e., “evaporated cooling fluid”), as well as the air. Official notice is taken (reference can be provided upon request) that it is widely-known in the art that water, in the presence of air and heat, is known to partially evaporate into water vapor and form a gaseous phase consisting of the evaporated cooling fluid (water vapor) and the gas (air).
Aga further teaches the charging station (2) is configured such that the liquid phase is supplied (¶ [40]: “the waste charging coolant to be reintroduced to the charging coolant reservoir 61”) to the liquid cooling fluid (located within cooling fluid reservoir “61”; Fig. 1) between (interpreted per note 13-2, included infra) the cooling fluid reservoir (“charging coolant reservoir 61”; Fig. 1; see note 13-3, included infra) and the cooling element (“charging heat exchanger 32”; Fig. 1).
NOTE 13-2: The word “between” is interpreted such that the range includes the endpoints. In other words, the range “between A and Z” includes each of the endpoints “A” and “Z”. This is considered a reasonable “inclusive” interpretation of the word “between” based on the evidence of the cited English Language & Usage forum posting. This forum posting explores the differences in “exclusive” and “inclusive” interpretations of the word “between”. Specifically, the forum includes the quote “… generally considered inclusive unless otherwise specified”. Thus, the claimed range “between the cooling reservoir and/or the cooling fluid source and the cooling element” is interpreted to include the first endpoint “the cooling reservoir and/or the cooling fluid source”, the second endpoint “the cooling element”, as well as the cooling circuit connecting these endpoints.
NOTE 13-3: Though Aga’s charging station uses a cooling fluid reservoir and the base reference Dyer’s charging station connects to a cooling fluid source, one of ordinary skill in the art understands the cooling fluid reservoir and cooling fluid source are analogous components in the charging station of each reference. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art understands that Aga’s teachings are applicable as modifications to the charging station disclosed by Dyer.
Aga further teaches the gas being supplied by the gas delivery device for the advantage of cleaning the coolant out of the motor vehicle between charging sessions (¶ [39]). Aga further teaches the phase separator to enable the expelling of the gaseous phase and the reuse of the liquid phase (¶ [40]), which simplifies and reduces the physical size of the charging station.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the charging station disclosed by Dyer to incorporate a gas delivery device and a phase separator, as taught by Aga, to clean the coolant out of the motor vehicle between charging sessions, as well as to simplify and reduce the physical size of the charging station.
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Dyer and Aga teaches the charging station (Dyer: 60', modified per Aga’s 2) according to claim 13, comprising the gas delivery device (incorporated from Aga: 72).
Dyer does not disclose “the gas delivery device can draw in ambient air as the gas via an intake opening of the charging station, wherein the gas can be supplied to the liquid cooling fluid via an air duct, which connects the intake opening to the cooling fluid line leading to the cooling fluid interface at the charging station; and/or the charging station further comprises a gas connection interface, by which a detachable gas connection can be formed, which connects the intake opening to the cooling element and/or to a cooling fluid line of the motor vehicle leading to the cooling element, wherein the gas can be supplied by the gas connection to the liquid cooling fluid at the motor vehicle.”
Aga further teaches the gas delivery device (71) can draw in ambient air (¶ [49]: “air source 72 may be open to the ambient air”; also see ¶ [39]) as the gas (“air”) via an intake opening (an intake opening is part of or connected to the “air source 72” because “72” is “in fluid communication with the ambient air” per ¶ [39]) of the charging station (2).
Aga further teaches the gas (“air”) can be supplied to the liquid cooling fluid (“air” and “charging coolant” combined in “63” and output to “57”, which is part of “charging coolant flow path 50”; Fig. 1) via an air duct (connection from “72” to “63” labeled as “70, 77” in Fig. 1; “ambient air” is output from “72” to the “inlet side 77”; thus, “70, 77” carries air and is an air duct), which connects the intake opening (part of and/or connected to “72”) to the cooling fluid line (“inlet flow path 51”, including “inlet conduit 57”; Fig. 1) leading to the cooling fluid interface (combo of “53”, “55”, “57” and connection of “57” to “2”; Fig. 1) at the charging station (2).
Aga further teaches the intake opening of the gas delivery device and the air duct to enable the use of ambient air as the gas in the cooling circuit (¶ [39]), which simplifies and reduces the physical size of the cooling circuit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the gas delivery device disclosed by the combination of Dyer and Aga to incorporate an intake opening and air duct, as further taught by Aga, to simplify and reduce the physical size of the charging station.
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Dyer and Aga teaches the charging station (Dyer: 60', modified per Aga’s 2) according to claim 13, having the phase separator (incorporated from Aga: 71 + 75).
Dyer does not disclose “the charging station further comprises a liquid phase drain line, leading from the phase separator to to a cooling fluid line leading to the cooling fluid interface, wherein the liquid phase can be supplied by the liquid phase drain line to the liquid cooling fluid at the charging station side and prior to the transfer of the thermal energy; and/or the charging station further comprises a gas phase drain line, which leads from the phase separator to a gas phase drain opening of the charging station, wherein the gaseous phase can be discharged by the gas phase drain line into the surroundings.”
Aga further teaches the charging station (2) further comprises a gas phase drain line (gas line from “71” to “75”; Fig. 1), which leads from the phase separator (71) to a gas phase drain opening (output of “vacuum device 75”; Fig. 1) of the charging station (2), wherein the gaseous phase (“air”) can be discharged by the gas phase drain line into the surroundings (¶ [40]: “air … to be expelled to the ambient environment”).
Aga further teaches the discharging the gaseous phase into the surroundings so the gaseous phase doesn’t have to be stored in the phase separator (¶ [40]), which simplifies and reduces the physical size of the charging station.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the charging station disclosed by the combination of Dyer and Aga to incorporate the gas phase drain line, as further taught by Aga, to simplify and reduce the physical size of the charging station.
NOTE 15-1: The claim 15 limitation “the charging station further comprises a liquid phase drain line, leading from the phase separator to to a cooling fluid line leading to the cooling fluid interface, wherein the liquid phase can be supplied by the liquid phase drain line to the liquid cooling fluid at the charging station side and prior to the transfer of the thermal energy;” is interpreted as not required due to the language “and/or” in line 7.
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Dyer and Aga teaches the charging station according to claim 13.
Dyer further discloses the electric interface (“electrical supply section 82” within “connector 42'”; Fig. 1b) is a charging cable (“electrical supply line 68a”) having a plug (42').
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Dyer and Aga teaches the charging station according to claim 13.
Dyer further discloses the cooling fluid interface (“coolant supply section 84” within “connector 42'”; Fig. 1b) is a hose (¶ [28]: “coolant supply line 68b, which may be a hose”) having a connector plug (42').
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL P MCFARLAND/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859