DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 03/20/2026, with respect to the previous rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of claims 14, 15 and 17 has been withdrawn. However, a new ground of rejection is made below in view of WO2020/193213
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-13 and 16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 06/06/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lord et al. (WO 2020/193213 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Lord teaches a display device comprising:
multiple display elements arranged in a row (a plurality of light-emitting diodes (LEDs) 211 arranged linearly along the longitudinal axis of device 201 and on an outer surface of body 209) ¶ [0109];
configured to display a state of an apparatus during operation of the apparatus (controller 208 controls LEDs 211 in response to a detected condition of device 201, including to indicate whether device 201 is in an on state or an off state) ¶ [0137];
a controller configured to receive signals from the apparatus (controller 208 receives a signal from a sensor that detects movement of cap 210 away from body 209 of device 201) ¶ [0126];
wherein, when an error has occurred in the apparatus (the detected condition that cap 210 has been lifted or removed from body 209 while device 201 is operating) ¶ [0020], ¶ [0126], the controller executes control to display occurrence of the error with the multiple display elements (controller 208 sends a signal causing a selected LED 211 of the plurality of LEDs 211 to illuminate in response to detecting movement of cap 210 away from body 209) ¶ [0126]; and
wherein the error is that a member for protecting the apparatus is detached from the apparatus (cap 210, which covers and provides access to internal components of device 201, including a heater, is lifted or removed from device 201 during operation) ¶ [0020].
Applicant’s Specification expressly defines removal of a member protecting the inhaler device as a “panel error.” Specification ¶ [0061]. Lord teaches the same condition by detecting that cap 210 has been lifted or removed from device 201 during operation and displaying that condition using LED 211. Lord ¶ [0020], ¶ [0126]. Accordingly, Lord teaches the claimed error.
Regarding claim 15, Lord further teaches wherein the controller executes control to display the occurrence of the error with the multiple display elements in a display mode corresponding to a type of the error (controller 208 causes LED 211 to illuminate in a particular color different from the color ordinarily used to indicate other device functions upon detecting movement of cap 210) ¶ [0126].
Lord also teaches distinct display modes corresponding to different detected event types, including a steady LED alert for a user-misuse event and a flashing LED alert for a device-error event. ¶ [0136].
Regarding claim 17, Lord further teaches wherein the controller executes control to display the occurrence of the error with the multiple display elements when a manipulation for shifting to an inhibited state is performed when the error has occurred (upon detecting that cap 210 has been lifted away from body 209 during operation, controller 208 causes a selected LED 211 to illuminate and deactivates heater 204 by preventing power from being supplied thereto, thereby shifting device 201 to an inhibited operating state) ¶ [0126].
Conclusion
/JENNIFER A KESSIE/Examiner, Art Unit 1747
/Michael H. Wilson/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1747