Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 12-14, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawaura (U.S. Pub No. 2018/0332634 A1)
1, Kawaura teaches a control method of an information processing apparatus that communicates with a communication apparatus [par 0002, There is a technology enabling a plurality of information processing apparatuses (hereinafter, referred to as PCs) to share an apparatus such as a printer serving as a communication apparatus through a local area network (LAN) connected to the internet. In some cases, the LAN is constructed by a wireless network, which provides convenience that an installation place of the apparatus is not limited as compared with a wired network],
comprising: establishing, between the information processing apparatus and a communication apparatus that has started a wireless connection setting mode [par 0025, 0036, The PC 100 performs processing to connect the printer 101 to the access point 102 through wireless LAN connection. Therefore, the PC 100 transmits network setting information to the printer 101 through the wireless Ad-hoc connection. The PC 100 performs wireless network setting processing on the printer 101 to connect the printer 101 to a predetermined access point. This enables, for example, a user unfamiliar with the operation on the printer 101 to easily connect the printer 1017 to the desired access point],
temporary first connection without intervention of an external access point of the communication apparatus and the information processing apparatus [par 0024, There is also a wireless Ad-hoc connection in which communication is performable only between two devices. The PC 100 and the printer 101 can establish Peer-to-Peer connection (hereinafter, referred to as P2P connection) through the wireless Ad-hoc connection. The PC 100 and the printer 101, however, cannot communicate with other devices during the wireless Ad-hoc connection because a wireless LAN dongle is used in the wireless Ad-hoc connection. Accordingly, the wireless Ad-hoc connection is often used as temporary connection];
transmitting, using the first connection, to the communication apparatus, identification information for identifying the external access point and a control command for causing the communication apparatus to shift to the wireless connection setting mode again [fig 3, par 0040, 0043, More specifically, the PC 100 searches an access point corresponding to the above-described unique SSID, and determines whether the searching is successful. In a case where it is determined in step S303 that the printer in the wireless setting mode has been detected (access point having unique SSID has been detected) (Yes in step S303), the processing proceeds to step S304. In step S304, the PC performs the wireless Ad-hoc connection with the printer 101. More specifically, the PC 100 connects the wireless LAN I/F 210 to the access point with the unique SSID. In a case where it is determined in step S308 to connect the printer 101 to the predetermined access point (Yes in step S308), then in step S309, the PC 100 transmits information instructing the wireless setting to the printer 101. More specifically, in step S309, the PC 100 transmits, to the printer 101, the wireless profile (including SSID and password) of the access point 102. Next, in step S310, the PC 100 disconnects the wireless Ad-hoc connection with the printer 101, and re-establishes connection with the access point 102].
without any user operation on the communication apparatus in a case where the communication apparatus fails to establish a connection to the external access point using the identification information transmitted in associated with the control command [par 0043, 0047, More specifically, in step S309, the PC 100 transmits, to the printer 101, the wireless profile (including SSID and password) of the access point 102. Next, in step S310, the PC 100 disconnects the wireless Ad-hoc connection with the printer 101, and re-establishes connection with the access point 102. Since the wireless profile 204 of the access point 102 is saved in the ROM 202 in the PC 100, the PC 100 can re-establish connection with the access point 102 in step S310 without the user needing to re-input the password, etc. The wireless setting mode can be started based on the user performing an instruction for transition to the wireless setting mode as the above- described predetermined instruction, or on other conditions. For example, the printer 101 can temporarily transition to the wireless setting mode based on the printer 101 not connecting wirelessly when the printer 101 is turned on or the printer 101 is turned on for the first time after purchase],
and trying to establish, between the communication apparatus and the information processing apparatus second connection via the external access point identified by the identification information provided to the communication apparatus [par 0038, 0039, when the PC 100 connects the printer 101 to the predetermined access point, the PC determines whether the printer 101 is connectable to the predetermined access point in advance. The PC performs the wireless network setting processing to connect the printer 101 to the predetermined access point after the PC 100 determines that the printer 101 is connectable. The detail thereof is described below. The processing by the PC 100 is realized when the CPU 201 executes the program 203. Likewise, the processing by the printer 101 is realized when the CPU 242 executes the program 244. There is a method to instruct the wireless setting of the printer 101 from the PC 100, and FIG. 3 is a diagram to explain a process flow of the method. In this example, it is assumed that the PC 100 previously connected to the external access point 102, and the SSID and the password of the access point 102 are included in the wireless profile)],
2, Kawaura disclose the method according to claim 1, further comprising continuing, as a result of the trying to establish the second connection upon failure in establishment of the second connection, a process of establishing the second connection in accordance with a cause of failure in the second connection [par 0047, 0062, The wireless setting mode can be started based on the user performing an instruction for transition to the wireless setting mode as the above- described predetermined instruction, or on other conditions. For example, the printer 101 can temporarily transition to the wireless setting mode based on the printer 101 not connecting wirelessly when the printer 101 is turned on or the printer 101 is turned on for the first time after purchase. As a result, the printer 101 fails in the connection with the access point, and the printer 101 displays connection failure error (step S360). In addition, display of failed setting (step S316) is performed by the PC 100. In this case, since the processing such as connection processing by the printer 101 and the printer searching by the PC 100 are performed before the display, it takes a long time until the user recognizes the connection failure. In addition, to retry the wireless setting of the printer 101, it is necessary for the user to release the error of the printer 101 and to perform operation of shifting the mode to the wireless setting mode again. Accordingly, applying the prior confirmation processing 2 illustrated in FIG. 4 to step S307 of FIG. 3 enables the user to know the input mistake of the password before a connection failure error occurs on the printer 107];
3, Kawaura displays the method according to claim 1, further comprising: searching for an apparatus with which the first connection can be established [par 0040, More specifically, the PC 100 searches an access point corresponding to the above-described unique SSID, and determines whether the searching is successful. In a case where it is determined in step S303 that the printer in the wireless setting mode has been detected (access point having unique SSID has been detected) (Yes in step S303), the processing proceeds to step S304. In step S304, the PC performs the wireless Ad-hoc connection with the printer 101. More specifically, the PC 100 connects the wireless LAN I/F 210 to the access point with the unique SSID];
and determining that the establishment of the second connection to the communication apparatus has failed if the communication apparatus cannot be detected by the searching, and displaying, on a display unit of the information processing apparatus, error information indicating that the establishment of the second connection to the communication apparatus has failed [fig 7, par 0072, In a case where it is determined in step S702 that the SSID2 of the access point 132 has not been detected (No in step S702), the processing proceeds to step S704. In step S704, the PC 100 displays, as error display, an SSID non-detection alert screen 670 of FIG. 6H. As a result, non-detection of the SSID2 is notified from the PC 100].
4, Kawaura discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein, the first connection to the communication apparatus is established if the communication apparatus is detected by the searching [par 0040, More specifically, the PC 100 searches an access point corresponding to the above-described unique SSID, and determines whether the searching is successful. In a case where it is determined in step S303 that the printer in the wireless setting mode has been detected (access point having unique SSID has been detected) (Yes in step S303), the processing proceeds to step S304. In step S304, the PC performs the wireless Ad-hoc connection with the printer 101. More specifically, the PC 100 connects the wireless LAN I/F 210 to the access point with the unique SSID],
and the method further comprises: acquiring, from the communication apparatus using the first connection, a list including identification information of an access point to which the communication apparatus can connect [par 0041, the PC 100 performs information acquisition request to the printer 101, and receives a response from the printer 101 to receive an SSID list. The SSID list indicates access points searched by the printer 101. The detail thereof is described below. In addition, in step S305, the PC 100 receives identification information (e.9g., media access control (MAC) address) of the printer 101 from the printer];
and changing, if identification information of a first access point serving as the external access point is not included in the list acquired by the acquiring [par 0085, the processing proceeds to step S907. In step 907, the PC 100 displays a non-supported
authentication system/encryption system error screen (650) illustrated in FIG. 6F. The PC 100 performs notification to prompt the user to select a different SSID or to change the setting of the SSID2 of the access point 132 through the display},
the external access point to be connected to the information processing apparatus to a second access point different from the first access point [par 0053, 0087, 0088, Therefore, in the case where the user re-inouts the various kinds of information or reselects an access point, the user can re-input the information for the appropriate items, and reselect the appropriate access point. In the case where the screen is displayed again in step S403 after step S411, the letters and the numbers input by the user and the selected contents before the display of the error screen illustrated in FIG. 6C are displayed. In the processing illustrated in FIG. 4, the connection test to the access point in step S407 is performed after the SSID presence confirmation processing in step S404]
5, Kawaura defines the method according to claim 4, further comprising accepting a selection as to whether to change, by the changing, the external access point to be connected to the information processing apparatus [par 0064, FIG. 4 enables the user to select the SSID2 in the access point selection screen 500, thereby connecting the printer 101 to the access point 123. The prior connection confirmation is performed by the PC 100 in step S407].
6, Kawaura demonstrates the method according to claim 5, further comprising displaying, on the display unit of the information processing apparatus, information if it is accepted, by the accepting, that the external access point to be connected to the information processing apparatus is not changed [par 0040, More specifically, the PC 100 searches an access point corresponding to the above-described unique SSID, and determines whether the searching is successful. In a case where it is determined in step S303 that the printer in the wireless setting mode has been detected (access point having unique SSID has been detected) (Yes in step S303), the processing proceeds to step S304. In step S304, the PC performs the wireless Ad-hoc connection with the printer 101. More specifically, the PC 100 connects the wireless LAN I/F 210 to the access point with the unique SSID].
12, Kamaura illustrates a communication apparatus that communicates with an
a first establishment unit configured to establish[par 0002, There is a technology enabling a plurality of information processing apparatuses (hereinafter, referred to as PCs) to share an apparatus such as a printer serving as a communication apparatus through a local area network (LAN) connected to the internet. In some cases, the LAN is constructed by a wireless network, which provides convenience that an installation place of the apparatus is not limited as compared with a wired network],
between the information processing apparatus and a communication apparatus that has started a wireless connection setting mode[par 0025, 0036, The PC 100 performs processing to connect the printer 101 to the access point 102 through wireless LAN connection. Therefore, the PC 100 transmits network setting information to the printer 101 through the wireless Ad-hoc connection. The PC 100 performs wireless network setting processing on the printer 101 to connect the printer 101 toa predetermined access point. This enables, for example, a user unfamiliar with the operation on the printer 101 to easily connect the printer 101 to the desired access point]
temporary first connection without intervention of an external access point of the communication apparatus and the information processing apparatus[par 0024, There is also a wireless Ad-hoc connection in which communication is performable only between two devices. The PC 100 and the printer 101 can establish Peer-to-Peer connection (hereinafter, referred to as P2P connection) through the wireless Ad-hoc connection. The PC 100 and the printer 101, however, cannot communicate with other devices during the wireless Ad-hoc connection because a wireless LAN dongle is used in the wireless Ad-hoc connection. Accordingly, the wireless Ad-hoc connection is often used as temporary connection];
transmitting, using the first connection, to the communication apparatus, identification information for identifying the external access point and a control command for causing the communication apparatus to shift to the wireless connection setting mode again [fig 3, par 0040, 0043, More specifically, the PC 100 searches an access point corresponding to the above-described unique SSID, and determines whether the searching is successful. In a case where it is determined in step S303 that the printer in the wireless setting mode has been detected (access point having unique SSID has been detected) (Yes in step S303), the processing proceeds to step S304. In step S304, the PC performs the wireless Ad-hoc connection with the printer 101. More specifically, the PC 100 connects the wireless LAN I/F 210 to the access point with the unique SSID. In a case where it is determined in step S308 to connect the printer 101 to the predetermined access point (Yes in step S308), then in step S309, the PC 100 transmits information instructing the wireless setting to the printer 101. More specifically, in step S309, the PC 100 transmits, to the printer 101, the wireless profile (including SSID and password) of the access point 102. Next, in step S310, the PC 100 disconnects the wireless Ad-hoc connection with the printer 101, and re-establishes connection with the access point 102].
without any user operation on the communication apparatus in a case where the communication apparatus fails to establish a connection to the external access point using the identification information transmitted in associated with the control command [par 0043, 0047, More specifically, in step S309, the PC 100 transmits, to the printer 101, the wireless profile (including SSID and password) of the access point 102. Next, in step S310, the PC 100 disconnects the wireless Ad-hoc connection with the printer 101, and re-establishes connection with the access point 102. Since the wireless profile 204 of the access point 102 is saved in the ROM 202 in the PC 100, the PC 100 can re-establish connection with the access point 102 in step S310 without the user needing to re-input the password, etc. The wireless setting mode can be started based on the user performing an instruction for transition to the wireless setting mode as the above- described predetermined instruction, or on other conditions. For example, the printer 101 can temporarily transition to the wireless setting mode based on the printer 101 not connecting wirelessly when the printer 101 is turned on or the printer 101 is turned on for the first time after purchase],
a second establishment unit configured to try to establish, between the communication apparatus and the information processing apparatus, second connection via the external access point identified by the identification information provided to the communication apparatus[par 0038, 0039,when the PC 100 connects the printer 101 to the predetermined access point, the PC determines whether the printer 101 is connectable to the predetermined access point in advance. The PC performs the wireless network setting processing to connect the printer 101 to the predetermined access point after the PC 100 determines that the printer 101 is connectable. The detail thereof is described below. The processing by the PC 100 is realized when the CPU 201 executes the program 203. Likewise, the processing by the printer 101 is realized when the CPU 242 executes the program 244. There is a method to instruct the wireless setting of the printer 101 from the PC 100, and FIG. 3is a diagram to explain a process flow of the method. In this example, it is assumed that the PC 100 previously connected to the external access point 102, and the SSID and the password of the access point 102 are included in the wireless profile];;
and the communication apparatus comprising: a confirmation unit configured to confirm, upon failure in establishment of the second connection to the information processing apparatus, whether the control command has been received from the information processing apparatus; and a transition unit configured to transition to the setting mode without any user operation on the communication apparatus if it is confirmed by the confirmation unit that the instruction is received [par 0047, For example, the printer 101 can temporarily transition to the wireless setting mode based on the printer 101 not connecting wirelessly when the printer 101 is turned on or the printer 101 is turned on for the first time after purchase].
13, Kawaura display the communication apparatus according to claim 12, further comprising a fourth display control unit configured to display, on a display unit of the communication apparatus [fig 2], information indicating that establishment of the second connection to the information processing apparatus has failed, if establishment of the second connection to the information processing apparatus has failed and it is not confirmed by the confirmation unit that the instruction is received [par 0085, the system, or the wireless standard, the PC 100 displays various kinds of error screens. In the case where it is determined the frequency band is not supported in step S902 (No in step S902), the processing proceeds to step S906. In step S906, the PC 100 displays, as error display, anon-supported frequency band error screen (640) illustrated in FIG. 6E. As a result, notification to prompt the user to select another SSID is performed. In a case where it is determined that the authentication system/encryption system is not supported in step S903 (No in step S903), the processing proceeds to step S907. In step 907, the PC 100 displays a non-supported authentication system/encryption system error screen (650) illustrated in FIG. 6F. The PC 100 performs notification to prompt the user to select a different SSID or to change the setting of the SS!ID2 of the access point 132 through the display in step S907. In a case where it is determined that the wireless standard is not supported|
14, Kawaura provide an information processing apparatus that communicates with a communication apparatus[par 0002, There is a technology enabling a plurality of information processing apparatuses (hereinafter, referred to as PCs) to share an apparatus such as a printer serving as a communication apparatus through a local area network (LAN) connected to the internet. In some cases, the LAN is constructed by a wireless network, which provides convenience that an installation place of the apparatus is not limited as compared with a wired network],
comprising: a first establishment unit configured to establish, between the information processing apparatus and a communication apparatus that has started a wireless connection setting mode[par 0025, 0036, The PC 100 performs processing to connect the printer 101 to the access point 102 through wireless LAN connection. Therefore, the PC 100 transmits network setting information to the printer 101 through the wireless Ad-hoc connection. The PC 100 performs wireless network setting processing on the printer 101 to connect the printer 101 to a predetermined access point. This enables, for example, a user unfamiliar with the operation on the printer 101 to easily connect the printer 101 to the desired access point],
temporary first connection without intervention of an external access point of the communication apparatus and the information processing apparatus[par 0024, There is also a wireless Ad-hoc connection in which communication is performable only between two devices. The PC 100 and the printer 101 can establish Peer-to-Peer connection (hereinafter, referred to as P2P connection) through the wireless Ad-hoc connection. The PC 100 and the printer 101, however, cannot communicate with other devices during the wireless Ad-hoc connection because a wireless LAN dongle is used in the wireless Ad-hoc connection. Accordingly, the wireless Ad-hoc connection is often used as temporary connection];
transmitting, using the first connection, to the communication apparatus, identification information for identifying the external access point and a control command for causing the communication apparatus to shift to the wireless connection setting mode again [fig 3, par 0040, 0043, More specifically, the PC 100 searches an access point corresponding to the above-described unique SSID, and determines whether the searching is successful. In a case where it is determined in step S303 that the printer in the wireless setting mode has been detected (access point having unique SSID has been detected) (Yes in step S303), the processing proceeds to step S304. In step S304, the PC performs the wireless Ad-hoc connection with the printer 101. More specifically, the PC 100 connects the wireless LAN I/F 210 to the access point with the unique SSID. In a case where it is determined in step S308 to connect the printer 101 to the predetermined access point (Yes in step S308), then in step S309, the PC 100 transmits information instructing the wireless setting to the printer 101. More specifically, in step S309, the PC 100 transmits, to the printer 101, the wireless profile (including SSID and password) of the access point 102. Next, in step S310, the PC 100 disconnects the wireless Ad-hoc connection with the printer 101, and re-establishes connection with the access point 102].
without any user operation on the communication apparatus in a case where the communication apparatus fails to establish a connection to the external access point using the identification information transmitted in associated with the control command [par 0043, 0047, More specifically, in step S309, the PC 100 transmits, to the printer 101, the wireless profile (including SSID and password) of the access point 102. Next, in step S310, the PC 100 disconnects the wireless Ad-hoc connection with the printer 101, and re-establishes connection with the access point 102. Since the wireless profile 204 of the access point 102 is saved in the ROM 202 in the PC 100, the PC 100 can re-establish connection with the access point 102 in step S310 without the user needing to re-input the password, etc. The wireless setting mode can be started based on the user performing an instruction for transition to the wireless setting mode as the above- described predetermined instruction, or on other conditions. For example, the printer 101 can temporarily transition to the wireless setting mode based on the printer 101 not connecting wirelessly when the printer 101 is turned on or the printer 101 is turned on for the first time after purchase],
a second establishment unit configured to try to establish, between the communication apparatus and the information processing apparatus, second connection via the external access point identified by the identification information provided to the communication apparatus[par 0038, 0039,when the PC 100 connects the printer 101 to the predetermined access point, the PC determines whether the printer 101 is connectable to the predetermined access point in advance. The PC performs the wireless network setting processing to connect the printer 101 to the predetermined access point after the PC 100 determines that the printer 101 is connectable. The detail thereof is described below. The processing by the PC 100 is realized when the CPU 201 executes the program 203. Likewise, the processing by the printer 101 is realized when the CPU 242 executes the program 244. There is a method to instruct the wireless setting of the printer 101 from the PC 100, and FIG. 3is a diagram to explain a process flow of the method. In this example, it is assumed that the PC 100 previously connected to the external access point 102, and the SSID and the password of the access point 102 are included in the wireless profile];
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawaura (U.S. Pub No. 2018/0332634 A1) in view of IIlsar et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2015/0023183 A1)
7, Kawaura reveals the method according to claim 1, Kawaura fail to show further comprising causing, as a result of trying to establish the second connection upon failure in establishment of the second connection[ 0047, The wireless setting mode can be started based on the user performing an instruction for transition to the wireless setting mode as the above- described predetermined instruction, or on other conditions. For example, the printer 101 can temporarily transition to the wireless setting mode based on the printer 101 not connecting wirelessly when the printer 101 is turned on or the printer 101 is turned on for the first time after purchase];
In an analogous art Llsar show storing failure information associating the identification information of the external access point and identification information of the communication apparatus in a storage unit of the information processing apparatus [par 0103, the onboardee device may generate and store information about its failed attempt to connect to the personal AP, and if the onboarding device is able to connect with the onboardee device (operating in onboarding mode) at blocks 1015 and 1020, the onboarding device may interrogate (before attempting to configured to onboardee device again at block 1025) the onboardee device to obtain the information about the onboardee device's failed attempt to connect to the personal AP. The information that the onboardee device may retain about its failed attempt to connect with the personal AP may include an indication that the personal AP was not reachable (e.g., because the personal AP to was too far away); an indication that the personal AP was reachable, but the onboardee device failed to authenticate; an indication that a local hardware/firmware issue (e.g., failed driver) prevented connection; and an indication that a cause of the failed attempt was unknown].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kawaura and Lisar because this provides using discoverable peer-to-peer services to allow remote onboarding of headless devices over a Wi-Fi network.
8, Kawaura and Llsar reveals the method according to claim 7, Llsar fail to show wherein in the trying to establish the second connection, upon failure in establishment of the second connection, if the failure information is already stored in the storage unit, establishment of the second connection is tried using a second method different from a first method used in the case of failure.
In an analogous art Llsar show wherein in the trying to establish the second connection, upon failure in establishment of the second connection, if the failure information is already stored in the storage unit, establishment of the second connection is tried using a second method different from a first method used in the case of failure [par 0105, For example, in one embodiment, the SoftAP may be available when the onboardee device has a configuration state in which the personal AP is not configured, the personal AP is configured but not validated, the personal AP is configured but an error has occurred, and/or the personal AP is configured and the onboardee device is retrying to connect to the personal AP. For example, if the onboardee device has been configured and been validated to the personal AP but fails to connect after a configurable number of delayed attempts, the onboardee device may transition to the retry state in which the SoftAP is enabled to allow the onboardee device to be reconfigured via the onboarding-Wi-Fi network (utilizing the distributed bus 828 of the P2P platform), and the onboardee device may then return to the configured and validated state and retry to connect with the personal AP after a timer expires].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kawaura and Llsar because this provides using discoverable peer-to-peer services to allow remote onboarding of headless devices over a Wi-Fi network.
9, Kawaura and Llsar discloses the method according to claim 8, further comprising accepting a selection as to whether to try to establish the second connection using the second method [par 0048, In step S351, before transition to the wireless setting mode, the printer 101 first searches (passively scans) surrounding SSIDs, and creates the SSID list including the detected SSIDs. Then, in step S352, the printer 101 transitions to the wireless setting mode, and completes preparation for the wireless Ad-hoc connection. When the processes in steps S302 to S304 are performed by the PC 100 in this state, the printer 101 starts the P2P communication in response to connection request from the PC 100. The printer 101 confirms whether the information acquisition has been requested by the PC 100 in step S353. In a case where it is determined that the information acquisition has been requested (Yes in step S354), the processing proceeds to step S355].
10, Kawaura and Llsar provide the method according to claim 9, wherein in the trying to establish the second connection, if it is accepted that establishing the second connection using the second method is not tried, the external access point to be connected to the information processing apparatus is changed, and then the second connection is established using the first method [par 0040, More specifically, the PC 100 searches an access point corresponding to the above-described unique SSID, and determines whether the searching is successful. In a case where it is determined in step S303 that the printer in the wireless setting mode has been detected (access point having unique SSID has been detected) (Yes in step S303), the processing proceeds to step S304. In step S304, the PC performs the wireless Ad-hoc connection with the printer 101. More specifically, the PC 100 connects the wireless LAN I/F 210 to the access point with the unique SSID].
11. Kawaura and Llsar describe the method according to claim 9, further comprising
displaying, if itis accepted that establishing the second connection using the second method is tried, and as a result of the trying to establish the second connection using the second method [par 0040, More specifically, the PC 100 searches an access point corresponding to the above-described unique SSID, and determines whether the searching is successful. In a case where it is determined in step S303 that the printer in the wireless setting mode has been detected (access point having unique SSID has been detected) (Yes in step S303), the processing proceeds to step S304. In step S304, the PC performs the wireless Ad-hoc connection with the printer 101. More specifically, the PC 100 connects the wireless LAN I/F 210 to the access point with the unique SSID]
upon failure in establishment of the second connection using the second method, information indicating that establishment of the second connection has failed on a display unit of the information processing apparatus [par 0062, As a result, the printer 101 fails in the connection with the access point, and the printer 101 displays connection failure error (step S360). In addition, display of failed setting (step S316) is performed by the PC 100. In this case, since the processing such as connection processing by the printer 101 and the printer searching by the PC 100 are performed before the display, it takes a long time until the user recognizes the connection failure. In addition, to retry the wireless setting of the printer 101, it is necessary for the user to release the error of the printer 101 and to perform operation of shifting the mode to the wireless setting mode again. Accordingly, applying the prior confirmation processing 2 illustrated in FIG. 4 to step S307 of FIG. 3 enables the user to know the input mistake of the password before a connection failure error occurs on the printer 107]..
Response to Arguments
First, Kawaura does not describe or suggest transmitting, from a PC to the printer 101, a control command for causing the communication apparatus to shift to the wireless connection setting mode again. As described in Kawaura, the printer 101 may enter the wireless setting mode when the printer fails to connect wirelessly after being turned on or when it is turned on for the first time, but neither of those situations involves a control command being transmitted to the printer to cause it to shift to the wireless setting mode under a certain condition.
The examiner respectfully disagrees applicant’s specification does not disclose using a command, but the applicant’s specification paragraphs 0024, 0043, 0044, shows PC transmits to the printer instructions to transition to the wireless setting, therefore the examiner interprets the instructions as a command.
In Kawaura par 0039, 0040, 0043, the printer 101 performs wireless setting instructed by the PC 100. The processing by the PC 100 is realized when the CPU 201 executes the program 203. Likewise, the processing by the printer 101 is realized when the CPU 242 executes the program 244. There is a method to instruct the wireless setting of the printer 101 from the PC 100.
In step S300, when the user performs, on the screen, a predetermined instruction to connect the PC 100 to the printer, the PC 100 starts the processing for a wireless setting instruction.
In a case where it is determined in step S308 to connect the printer 101 to the predetermined access point (Yes in step S308), then in step S309, the PC 100 transmits information instructing the wireless setting to the printer 101. The paragraphs shows an instruction received from the PC to the printer causing the printer to connect wirelessly.
Hence, nothing in Kawaura discloses or suggests at least the feature of Claim 1 of transmitting identification information for an external access point and a control command that causes the communication apparatus to re-enter the wireless connection setting mode if it fails to establish a connection to the external access point using the transmitted identification information.
The examiner respectfully disagrees in para 0043, In a case where it is determined in step S308 to connect the printer 101 to the predetermined access point (Yes in step S308), then in step S309, the PC 100 transmits information instructing the wireless setting to the printer 101. More specifically, in step S309, the PC 100 transmits, to the printer 101, the wireless profile (including SSID and password) of the access point 102. Next, in step S310, the PC 100 disconnects the wireless Ad-hoc connection with the printer 101, and re-establishes connection with the access point 102, the paragraph show when the PC instructs the wireless setting to the printer the transmit information 100 includes the SSID and password of the access point.
Conclusion
/JASON A HARLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2468