CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: unit configured to in claims 14, 15, according to the applicant specification paragraph 0100, The computer may comprise one or more processors (e.g., central processing unit (CPU), micro processing unit (MPU)) and may include a network of separate computers or separate processors to read out and execute the computer executable instructions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 14-16, 18, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Kawaura (U.S. Pub No. 2018/0332634 A1) in view of Beninato et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2006/0098650 A1)
1, Kawaura teaches a control method of an information processing apparatus that communicates with a communication apparatus [par 0002, There is a technology enabling a plurality of information processing apparatuses (hereinafter, referred to as PCs) to share an apparatus such as a printer serving as a communication apparatus through a local area network (LAN) connected to the internet. In some cases, the LAN is constructed by a wireless network, which provides convenience that an installation place of the apparatus is not limited as compared with a wired network],
comprising: establishing, between the information processing apparatus and the communication apparatus that has started a wireless connection setting mode [par 0025, 0036, The PC 100 performs processing to connect the printer 101 to the access point 102 through wireless LAN connection. Therefore, the PC 100 transmits network setting information to the printer 101 through the wireless Ad-hoc connection. The PC 100 performs wireless network setting processing on the printer 101 to connect the printer 101 to a predetermined access point. This enables, for example, a user unfamiliar with the operation on the printer 101 to easily connect the printer 1017 to the desired access point],
temporary first connection without intervention of an external access point of the communication apparatus and the information processing apparatus [par 0024, There is also a wireless Ad-hoc connection in which communication is performable only between two devices. The PC 100 and the printer 101 can establish Peer-to-Peer connection (hereinafter, referred to as P2P connection) through the wireless Ad-hoc connection. The PC 100 and the printer 101, however, cannot communicate with other devices during the wireless Ad-hoc connection because a wireless LAN dongle is used in the wireless Ad-hoc connection. Accordingly, the wireless Ad-hoc connection is often used as temporary connection];
transmitting, using the first connection, to the communication apparatus, identification information for identifying the external access point [fig 3, par 0040, 0043, More specifically, the PC 100 searches an access point corresponding to the above-described unique SSID, and determines whether the searching is successful. In a case where it is determined in step S303 that the printer in the wireless setting mode has been detected (access point having unique SSID has been detected) (Yes in step S303), the processing proceeds to step S304. In step S304, the PC performs the wireless Ad-hoc connection with the printer 101. More specifically, the PC 100 connects the wireless LAN I/F 210 to the access point with the unique SSID. In a case where it is determined in step S308 to connect the printer 101 to the predetermined access point (Yes in step S308), then in step S309, the PC 100 transmits information instructing the wireless setting to the printer 101. More specifically, in step S309, the PC 100 transmits, to the printer 101, the wireless profile (including SSID and password) of the access point 102. Next, in step S310, the PC 100 disconnects the wireless Ad-hoc connection with the printer 101, and re-establishes connection with the access point 102],
before trying to establish, between the communication apparatus and the information processing apparatus, a second connection via the external access point identified by the identification information provided to the communication apparatus,
transmitting, using the first connection, to the communication apparatus, a re-entry command that causes the communication apparatus to re-enter the wireless connection setting mode[par 0062, 0063, As a result, the printer 101 fails in the connection with the access point, and the printer 101 displays connection failure error (step S360). In addition, display of failed setting (step S316) is performed by the PC 100. In this case, since the processing such as connection processing by the printer 101 and the printer searching by the PC 100 are performed before the display, it takes a long time until the user recognizes the connection failure. In addition, to retry the wireless setting of the printer 101, it is necessary for the user to release the error of the printer 101 and to perform operation of shifting the mode to the wireless setting mode again. The PC 100 is connected to the access point 122 (SSID1) through the wireless LAN I/F 210, and the printer 101 is connected to the access point 123 (SSID2) through the wireless LAN I/F 246. The PC 100 and the printer 101 are mutually communicable through the access point 122 and the access point 123. To connect the printer 101 to the access point 123 for construction of such an infrastructure NW environment, the PC 100 transmits the wireless setting to the printer 101 through the wireless Ad-hoc communication. For example, in a case where the PC 100 and the printer 101 are not sufficiently close to each other to perform wireless Ad-hoc communication, it is supposed that the user temporarily brings the PC 100 close to the printer 101 to perform the wireless setting of the printer 101.The examiner interprets the transmitting information instructing the wireless setting as the re-entry command based upon applicant’s specification paragraph 0054 the instruction to transition to the wireless setting mode again upon failure in the wireless setting is referred to as a mode re-entry instruction],
the re-entry command being stored in the communication apparatus [par 0026, The ROM 202 holds, for example, a program 203 for executing various kinds of processing, and a wireless profile 204 described below. The program 203 includes a program of wireless network setting processing to instruct setting of the wireless network to the printer. Details of the above- described wireless network setting processing is described below. The CPU 201 reads the program 203 from the ROM 202, loads the read program 203 into the RAM 206, and executes the program 203 to perform various kinds of processing including the above-described instruction processing];
and trying to establish, between the communication apparatus and the information processing apparatus second connection [par 0038, 0039, when the PC 100 connects the printer 101 to the predetermined access point, the PC determines whether the printer 101 is connectable to the predetermined access point in advance. The PC performs the wireless network setting processing to connect the printer 101 to the predetermined access point after the PC 100 determines that the printer 101 is connectable. The detail thereof is described below. The processing by the PC 100 is realized when the CPU 201 executes the program 203. Likewise, the processing by the printer 101 is realized when the CPU 242 executes the program 244. There is a method to instruct the wireless setting of the printer 101 from the PC 100, and FIG. 3 is a diagram to explain a process flow of the method. In this example, it is assumed that the PC 100 previously connected to the external access point 102, and the SSID and the password of the access point 102 are included in the wireless profile)],
Kawaura fail to show wherein the communication apparatus automatically re-enters, in response to a failure in establishment of the second connection, without any user operation on the communication apparatus, the wireless connection setting mode based on the stored re-entry command.
In an analogous art Beninato show wherein the communication apparatus automatically re-enters, in response to a failure in establishment of the second connection, without any user operation on the communication apparatus[par 0051, Alternatively, the printer 15 can attempt to reconnect to the service 20 after a predetermined amount of time and continue trying until a connection is made. In addition, if the printer 15 fails to connect with the service 20 during a scheduled connection time or after a "connect now" command is entered, the printer 15 would preferably try again to make a connection. The caregiver can set the number of retry attempts made by the printer 15],
the wireless connection setting mode based on the stored re-entry command [par 0043, The printer 15 can be configured with several different settings and preferences, such as for connection times and frequency, format of printed messages, alert scheduling, audio and visual displays, and type of content that is delivered to the senior's printer].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kawaura and Beninato because , the present system allows a person having moderate technological skills, such as an adult child caregiver, to control the operation of a device used by the senior. [Beninato, par 0006]
2, Kawaura and Beninato disclose the method according to claim 1, further comprising continuing, as a result of the trying to establish the second connection upon failure in establishment of the second connection, a process of establishing the second connection in accordance with a cause of failure in the second connection [Kawaura, par 0047, 0062, The wireless setting mode can be started based on the user performing an instruction for transition to the wireless setting mode as the above- described predetermined instruction, or on other conditions. For example, the printer 101 can temporarily transition to the wireless setting mode based on the printer 101 not connecting wirelessly when the printer 101 is turned on or the printer 101 is turned on for the first time after purchase. As a result, the printer 101 fails in the connection with the access point, and the printer 101 displays connection failure error (step S360). In addition, display of failed setting (step S316) is performed by the PC 100. In this case, since the processing such as connection processing by the printer 101 and the printer searching by the PC 100 are performed before the display, it takes a long time until the user recognizes the connection failure. In addition, to retry the wireless setting of the printer 101, it is necessary for the user to release the error of the printer 101 and to perform operation of shifting the mode to the wireless setting mode again. Accordingly, applying the prior confirmation processing 2 illustrated in FIG. 4 to step S307 of FIG. 3 enables the user to know the input mistake of the password before a connection failure error occurs on the printer 107];
3, Kawaura and Beninato displays the method according to claim 1, further comprising: searching for an apparatus with which the first connection can be established [par 0040, More specifically, the PC 100 searches an access point corresponding to the above-described unique SSID, and determines whether the searching is successful. In a case where it is determined in step S303 that the printer in the wireless setting mode has been detected (access point having unique SSID has been detected) (Yes in step S303), the processing proceeds to step S304. In step S304, the PC performs the wireless Ad-hoc connection with the printer 101. More specifically, the PC 100 connects the wireless LAN I/F 210 to the access point with the unique SSID];
and determining that the establishment of the second connection to the communication apparatus has failed if the communication apparatus cannot be detected by the searching, and displaying, on a display unit of the information processing apparatus, error information indicating that the establishment of the second connection to the communication apparatus has failed [fig 7, par 0072, In a case where it is determined in step S702 that the SSID2 of the access point 132 has not been detected (No in step S702), the processing proceeds to step S704. In step S704, the PC 100 displays, as error display, an SSID non-detection alert screen 670 of FIG. 6H. As a result, non-detection of the SSID2 is notified from the PC 100].
4, Kawaura and Beninato discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein, the first connection to the communication apparatus is established if the communication apparatus is detected by the searching [Kawaura, par 0040, More specifically, the PC 100 searches an access point corresponding to the above-described unique SSID, and determines whether the searching is successful. In a case where it is determined in step S303 that the printer in the wireless setting mode has been detected (access point having unique SSID has been detected) (Yes in step S303), the processing proceeds to step S304. In step S304, the PC performs the wireless Ad-hoc connection with the printer 101. More specifically, the PC 100 connects the wireless LAN I/F 210 to the access point with the unique SSID],
and the method further comprises: acquiring, from the communication apparatus using the first connection, a list including identification information of an access point to which the communication apparatus can connect [par 0041, the PC 100 performs information acquisition request to the printer 101, and receives a response from the printer 101 to receive an SSID list. The SSID list indicates access points searched by the printer 101. The detail thereof is described below. In addition, in step S305, the PC 100 receives identification information (e.9g., media access control (MAC) address) of the printer 101 from the printer];
and changing, if identification information of a first access point serving as the external access point is not included in the list acquired by the acquiring [par 0085, the processing proceeds to step S907. In step 907, the PC 100 displays a non-supported
authentication system/encryption system error screen (650) illustrated in FIG. 6F. The PC 100 performs notification to prompt the user to select a different SSID or to change the setting of the SSID2 of the access point 132 through the display},
the external access point to be connected to the information processing apparatus to a second access point different from the first access point [par 0053, 0087, 0088, Therefore, in the case where the user re-inouts the various kinds of information or reselects an access point, the user can re-input the information for the appropriate items, and reselect the appropriate access point. In the case where the screen is displayed again in step S403 after step S411, the letters and the numbers input by the user and the selected contents before the display of the error screen illustrated in FIG. 6C are displayed. In the processing illustrated in FIG. 4, the connection test to the access point in step S407 is performed after the SSID presence confirmation processing in step S404]
5, Kawaura and Beninato defines the method according to claim 4, further comprising accepting a selection as to whether to change, by the changing, the external access point to be connected to the information processing apparatus [Kawaura, par 0064, FIG. 4 enables the user to select the SSID2 in the access point selection screen 500, thereby connecting the printer 101 to the access point 123. The prior connection confirmation is performed by the PC 100 in step S407].
6, Kawaura and Beninato demonstrates the method according to claim 5, further comprising displaying, on the display unit of the information processing apparatus, information if it is accepted, by the accepting, that the external access point to be connected to the information processing apparatus is not changed [Kawaura par 0040, More specifically, the PC 100 searches an access point corresponding to the above-described unique SSID, and determines whether the searching is successful. In a case where it is determined in step S303 that the printer in the wireless setting mode has been detected (access point having unique SSID has been detected) (Yes in step S303), the processing proceeds to step S304. In step S304, the PC performs the wireless Ad-hoc connection with the printer 101. More specifically, the PC 100 connects the wireless LAN I/F 210 to the access point with the unique SSID].
14, Kawaura provide an information processing apparatus that communicates with a communication apparatus[par 0002, There is a technology enabling a plurality of information processing apparatuses (hereinafter, referred to as PCs) to share an apparatus such as a printer serving as a communication apparatus through a local area network (LAN) connected to the internet. In some cases, the LAN is constructed by a wireless network, which provides convenience that an installation place of the apparatus is not limited as compared with a wired network],
comprising: a first establishment unit configured to establish, between the information processing apparatus and the communication apparatus that has started a wireless connection setting mode[fig 2, par 0025, 0036, The PC 100 performs processing to connect the printer 101 to the access point 102 through wireless LAN connection. Therefore, the PC 100 transmits network setting information to the printer 101 through the wireless Ad-hoc connection. The PC 100 performs wireless network setting processing on the printer 101 to connect the printer 101 to a predetermined access point. This enables, for example, a user unfamiliar with the operation on the printer 101 to easily connect the printer 101 to the desired access point],
temporary first connection without intervention of an external access point of the communication apparatus and the information processing apparatus[par 0024, There is also a wireless Ad-hoc connection in which communication is performable only between two devices. The PC 100 and the printer 101 can establish Peer-to-Peer connection (hereinafter, referred to as P2P connection) through the wireless Ad-hoc connection. The PC 100 and the printer 101, however, cannot communicate with other devices during the wireless Ad-hoc connection because a wireless LAN dongle is used in the wireless Ad-hoc connection. Accordingly, the wireless Ad-hoc connection is often used as temporary connection];
a first transmitting unit configured to transmit, using the first connection, to the communication apparatus, identification information for identifying the external access point [par 0026, 0043, 0047, It is sufficient for the PC 100 to include one or more of the USB I/F 205, the wired LAN I/F 209, and the wireless LAN I/F 210. More specifically, in step S309, the PC 100 transmits, to the printer 101, the wireless profile (including SSID and password) of the access point 102. Next, in step S310, the PC 100 disconnects the wireless Ad-hoc connection with the printer 101, and re-establishes connection with the access point 102. Since the wireless profile 204 of the access point 102 is saved in the ROM 202 in the PC 100, the PC 100 can re-establish connection with the access point 102 in step S310 without the user needing to re-input the password, etc. The examiner interprets the PC having multiple the wired LAN I/F, and the wireless LAN I/F as having one transmission unit ],
a second transmitting unit configured to, before trying to establish, between the communication apparatus and the information processing apparatus, a second connection via the external access point identified by the identification information provided to the communication apparatus[fig 2, par 0026, 0062, 0063, It is sufficient for the PC 100 to include one or more of the USB I/F 205, the wired LAN I/F 209, and the wireless LAN I/F 210. As a result, the printer 101 fails in the connection with the access point, and the printer 101 displays connection failure error (step S360). In addition, display of failed setting (step S316) is performed by the PC 100. In this case, since the processing such as connection processing by the printer 101 and the printer searching by the PC 100 are performed before the display, it takes a long time until the user recognizes the connection failure. In addition, to retry the wireless setting of the printer 101, it is necessary for the user to release the error of the printer 101 and to perform operation of shifting the mode to the wireless setting mode again. The PC 100 is connected to the access point 122 (SSID1) through the wireless LAN I/F 210, and the printer 101 is connected to the access point 123 (SSID2) through the wireless LAN I/F 246. The PC 100 and the printer 101 are mutually communicable through the access point 122 and the access point 123. To connect the printer 101 to the access point 123 for construction of such an infrastructure NW environment, the PC 100 transmits the wireless setting to the printer 101 through the wireless Ad-hoc communication. For example, in a case where the PC 100 and the printer 101 are not sufficiently close to each other to perform wireless Ad-hoc communication, it is supposed that the user temporarily brings the PC 100 close to the printer 101 to perform the wireless setting of the printer 101. The examiner interprets the transmitting information instructing the wireless setting as the re-entry command based upon applicant’s specification paragraph 0054 the instruction to transition to the wireless setting mode again upon failure in the wireless setting is referred to as a mode re-entry instruction. The examiner interprets the PC having multiple the wired LAN I/F, and the wireless LAN I/F as having a second transmission unit],
transmit, using the first connection, to the communication apparatus, a re-entry command that causes the communication apparatus to re-enter the wireless connection setting mode[par 0063, the PC 100 transmits the wireless setting to the printer 101 through the wireless Ad-hoc communication. For example, in a case where the PC 100 and the printer 101 are not sufficiently close to each other to perform wireless Ad-hoc communication, it is supposed that the user temporarily brings the PC 100 close to the printer 101 to perform the wireless setting of the printer 101],
the re-entry command being stored in the communication apparatus [par 0026, The ROM 202 holds, for example, a program 203 for executing various kinds of processing, and a wireless profile 204 described below. The program 203 includes a program of wireless network setting processing to instruct setting of the wireless network to the printer. Details of the above- described wireless network setting processing is described below. The CPU 201 reads the program 203 from the ROM 202, loads the read program 203 into the RAM 206, and executes the program 203 to perform various kinds of processing including the above-described instruction processing];
a second establishment unit configured to try to establish, between the communication apparatus and the information processing apparatus, the second connection [fig 2, par 0026, 0066, It is sufficient for the PC 100 to include one or more of the USB I/F 205, the wired LAN I/F 209, and the wireless LAN I/F 210. In this case, the PC 100 performs the connection instruction (S309) on the printer 101, which enables the printer 101 to be connected to the access point 132. In addition, since the process in step S408 is performed before the connection instruction is performed (S309), it is possible to prevent the wrong password from being transmitted to the printer 101].
Kawaura wherein the communication apparatus automatically re-enters, in response to a failure in establishment of the second connection, without any user operation on the communication apparatus, the wireless connection setting mode based on the stored re-entry command.
In an analogous art Beninato show wherein the communication apparatus automatically re-enters, in response to a failure in establishment of the second connection, without any user operation on the communication apparatus[par 0051, Alternatively, the printer 15 can attempt to reconnect to the service 20 after a predetermined amount of time and continue trying until a connection is made. In addition, if the printer 15 fails to connect with the service 20 during a scheduled connection time or after a "connect now" command is entered, the printer 15 would preferably try again to make a connection. The caregiver can set the number of retry attempts made by the printer 15],
the wireless connection setting mode based on the stored re-entry command [par 0043, The printer 15 can be configured with several different settings and preferences, such as for connection times and frequency, format of printed messages, alert scheduling, audio and visual displays, and type of content that is delivered to the senior's printer].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kawaura and Beninato because , the present system allows a person having moderate technological skills, such as an adult child caregiver, to control the operation of a device used by the senior. [Beninato, par 0006]
15, Kawaura teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program configured to cause a computer of an information processing apparatus that communicates with a communication apparatus to function as[par 0002, 0090, a system or apparatus that reads out and executes computer executable instructions (e.g., one or more programs) recorded on a storage medium (which may also be referred to more fully as a ‘non-transitory computer-readable storage medium’). There is a technology enabling a plurality of information processing apparatuses (hereinafter, referred to as PCs) to share an apparatus such as a printer serving as a communication apparatus through a local area network (LAN) connected to the internet. In some cases, the LAN is constructed by a wireless network, which provides convenience that an installation place of the apparatus is not limited as compared with a wired network],
a first establishment unit configured to establish, between the information processing apparatus and the communication apparatus that has started a wireless connection setting mode [Fig 2 par 0025, 0036, The PC 100 performs processing to connect the printer 101 to the access point 102 through wireless LAN connection. Therefore, the PC 100 transmits network setting information to the printer 101 through the wireless Ad-hoc connection. The PC 100 performs wireless network setting processing on the printer 101 to connect the printer 101 to a predetermined access point. This enables, for example, a user unfamiliar with the operation on the printer 101 to easily connect the printer 1017 to the desired access point, The figure disclose the PC containing multiple unit to establish a connect with a printer],
a temporary first connection without intervention of an external access point of the communication apparatus and the information processing apparatus[par 0024, There is also a wireless Ad-hoc connection in which communication is performable only between two devices. The PC 100 and the printer 101 can establish Peer-to-Peer connection (hereinafter, referred to as P2P connection) through the wireless Ad-hoc connection. The PC 100 and the printer 101, however, cannot communicate with other devices during the wireless Ad-hoc connection because a wireless LAN dongle is used in the wireless Ad-hoc connection. Accordingly, the wireless Ad-hoc connection is often used as temporary connection];
a first transmitting unit configured to transmit, using the first connection, to the communication apparatus, identification information for identifying the external access point[par 0026, 0043, 0047, It is sufficient for the PC 100 to include one or more of the USB I/F 205, the wired LAN I/F 209, and the wireless LAN I/F 210. More specifically, in step S309, the PC 100 transmits, to the printer 101, the wireless profile (including SSID and password) of the access point 102. Next, in step S310, the PC 100 disconnects the wireless Ad-hoc connection with the printer 101, and re-establishes connection with the access point 102. Since the wireless profile 204 of the access point 102 is saved in the ROM 202 in the PC 100, the PC 100 can re-establish connection with the access point 102 in step S310 without the user needing to re-input the password, etc. The examiner interprets the PC having multiple the wired LAN I/F, and the wireless LAN I/F as having one transmission unit ];
a second transmitting unit configured to, before trying to establish, between the communication apparatus and the information processing apparatus, a second connection via the external access point identified by the identification information provided to the communication apparatus[fig 2, par 0026, 0062, 0063, It is sufficient for the PC 100 to include one or more of the USB I/F 205, the wired LAN I/F 209, and the wireless LAN I/F 210. As a result, the printer 101 fails in the connection with the access point, and the printer 101 displays connection failure error (step S360). In addition, display of failed setting (step S316) is performed by the PC 100. In this case, since the processing such as connection processing by the printer 101 and the printer searching by the PC 100 are performed before the display, it takes a long time until the user recognizes the connection failure. In addition, to retry the wireless setting of the printer 101, it is necessary for the user to release the error of the printer 101 and to perform operation of shifting the mode to the wireless setting mode again. The PC 100 is connected to the access point 122 (SSID1) through the wireless LAN I/F 210, and the printer 101 is connected to the access point 123 (SSID2) through the wireless LAN I/F 246. The PC 100 and the printer 101 are mutually communicable through the access point 122 and the access point 123. To connect the printer 101 to the access point 123 for construction of such an infrastructure NW environment, the PC 100 transmits the wireless setting to the printer 101 through the wireless Ad-hoc communication. For example, in a case where the PC 100 and the printer 101 are not sufficiently close to each other to perform wireless Ad-hoc communication, it is supposed that the user temporarily brings the PC 100 close to the printer 101 to perform the wireless setting of the printer 101. The examiner interprets the transmitting information instructing the wireless setting as the re-entry command based upon applicant’s specification paragraph 0054 the instruction to transition to the wireless setting mode again upon failure in the wireless setting is referred to as a mode re-entry instruction. The examiner interprets the PC having multiple the wired LAN I/F, and the wireless LAN I/F as having a second transmission unit],
transmit, using the first connection, to the communication apparatus, a re-entry command that causes the communication apparatus to re-enter the wireless connection setting mode[par 0063, the PC 100 transmits the wireless setting to the printer 101 through the wireless Ad-hoc communication. For example, in a case where the PC 100 and the printer 101 are not sufficiently close to each other to perform wireless Ad-hoc communication, it is supposed that the user temporarily brings the PC 100 close to the printer 101 to perform the wireless setting of the printer 101],
the re-entry command being stored in the communication apparatus[par 0026, The ROM 202 holds, for example, a program 203 for executing various kinds of processing, and a wireless profile 204 described below. The program 203 includes a program of wireless network setting processing to instruct setting of the wireless network to the printer. Details of the above- described wireless network setting processing is described below. The CPU 201 reads the program 203 from the ROM 202, loads the read program 203 into the RAM 206, and executes the program 203 to perform various kinds of processing including the above-described instruction processing];
and a second establishment unit configured to try to establish, between the communication apparatus and the information processing apparatus, the second connection[fig 2, par 0026, 0066, It is sufficient for the PC 100 to include one or more of the USB I/F 205, the wired LAN I/F 209, and the wireless LAN I/F 210. In this case, the PC 100 performs the connection instruction (S309) on the printer 101, which enables the printer 101 to be connected to the access point 132. In addition, since the process in step S408 is performed before the connection instruction is performed (S309), it is possible to prevent the wrong password from being transmitted to the printer 101],
Kawaura fail to show wherein the communication apparatus automatically re-enters, in response to a failure in establishment of the second connection, without any user operation on the communication apparatus, the wireless connection setting mode based on the stored re-entry command.
In an analogous art Beninato show wherein the communication apparatus automatically re-enters, in response to a failure in establishment of the second connection, without any user operation on the communication apparatus[par 0051, Alternatively, the printer 15 can attempt to reconnect to the service 20 after a predetermined amount of time and continue trying until a connection is made. In addition, if the printer 15 fails to connect with the service 20 during a scheduled connection time or after a "connect now" command is entered, the printer 15 would preferably try again to make a connection. The caregiver can set the number of retry attempts made by the printer 15],
the wireless connection setting mode based on the stored re-entry command [par 0043, The printer 15 can be configured with several different settings and preferences, such as for connection times and frequency, format of printed messages, alert scheduling, audio and visual displays, and type of content that is delivered to the senior's printer].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kawaura and Beninato because , the present system allows a person having moderate technological skills, such as an adult child caregiver, to control the operation of a device used by the senior. [Beninato, par 0006]
16, Kawaura and Beninato discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein transmitting the re-entry command comprises transmitting, using the first connection, identification information of the information processing apparatus to the communication apparatus together with the re-entry command [par 0063, 0071, the PC 100 transmits the wireless setting to the printer 101 through the wireless Ad-hoc communication. In the case where the SSID2 has been detected in step S702, the wireless setting information of the access point with the SSID2 acquired in searching in step S701 is stored in the ROM 202. The wireless setting information is used in the process in step S405 (processing illustrated in FIG. 8) and the process in step S406 (processing illustrated in FIG. 9) both described below],
and wherein the communication apparatus, upon successfully establishing the second connection, determines success of establishment of the second connection based on a match between identification information of a peer device detected via the external access point and the identification information of the information processing apparatus [par 0066, 0078, However, the PC 100 may not store the wireless profile of the SSID2. Accordingly, the access point selection screen 500 is displayed in step S403, and the user can select SSID2 that supports the frequency band of 2.4 GHz to which the printer 101 is connectable. In this case, the PC 100 performs the connection instruction (S309) on the printer 101, which enables the printer 101 to be connected to the access point 132. In addition, since the process in step S408 is performed before the connection instruction is performed (S309), it is possible to prevent the wrong password from being transmitted to the printer 101. Then, in step S802, the PC 100 compares the authentication system and the encryption system set in the access point manual addition screen 520 with the authentication system and the encryption system included in the wireless setting information acquired in step S801. The PC 100 then determines whether both of the authentication systems and the encryption systems match (step S803)].
18, Kawaura and Beninato creates the method according to claim 1, wherein the communication apparatus, in response to the failure in establishment of the second connection, determines whether the re-entry command is stored [Kawaura, par 0051, The wireless setting processing illustrated in FIG. 3, however, can fail (step S316) in some cases as a result of the determination (step S308) in the prior confirmation processing 1 (step S307). For example, the PC 100 may not hold the wireless profile of the access point to which the printer 101 is connected. In this case, in the prior confirmation processing 1, it is not determined that the SSID of the access point 112 is included in the SSID list]
and displays failure information on a display unit of the communication apparatus when the re-entry command is not stored [Kawaura par 0046, S313 that the wireless setting in the printer 101 has failed (No in step S303, S308, or S313), the processing proceeds to step S316. In step S316, the PC 100 displays, as an error display, a failed setting screen 610 as illustrated in FIG. 6B. When the user presses a “next” button 611 in the failed setting screen 610, the PC 100 terminates the wireless setting instruction processing in step S315].
7. Claim(s) 7-11, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Kawaura (U.S. Pub No. 2018/0332634 A1) in view of Beninato et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2006/0098650 A1) in further view of Ilsar et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2015/0023183 A1).
7, Kawaura and Beninato reveals the method according to claim 1, further comprising causing, as a result of trying to establish the second connection upon failure in establishment of the second connection[Kawaura 0047, The wireless setting mode can be started based on the user performing an instruction for transition to the wireless setting mode as the above- described predetermined instruction, or on other conditions. For example, the printer 101 can temporarily transition to the wireless setting mode based on the printer 101 not connecting wirelessly when the printer 101 is turned on or the printer 101 is turned on for the first time after purchase];
Kawaura and Beninato fail to show storing failure information associating the identification information of the external access point and identification information of the communication apparatus in a storage unit of the information processing apparatus
In an analogous art Llsar show storing failure information associating the identification information of the external access point and identification information of the communication apparatus in a storage unit of the information processing apparatus [par 0103, the onboardee device may generate and store information about its failed attempt to connect to the personal AP, and if the onboarding device is able to connect with the onboardee device (operating in onboarding mode) at blocks 1015 and 1020, the onboarding device may interrogate (before attempting to configured to onboardee device again at block 1025) the onboardee device to obtain the information about the onboardee device's failed attempt to connect to the personal AP. The information that the onboardee device may retain about its failed attempt to connect with the personal AP may include an indication that the personal AP was not reachable (e.g., because the personal AP to was too far away); an indication that the personal AP was reachable, but the onboardee device failed to authenticate; an indication that a local hardware/firmware issue (e.g., failed driver) prevented connection; and an indication that a cause of the failed attempt was unknown].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kawaura, Beninato and Llsar because this provides using discoverable peer-to-peer services to allow remote onboarding of headless devices over a Wi-Fi network.{llsar par 0008]
8, Kawaura, Beninato and Llsar reveals the method according to claim 7, Kawaura and Beninato fail to show wherein in the trying to establish the second connection, upon failure in establishment of the second connection, if the failure information is already stored in the storage unit, establishment of the second connection is tried using a second method different from a first method used in the case of failure.
In an analogous art Llsar show wherein in the trying to establish the second connection, upon failure in establishment of the second connection, if the failure information is already stored in the storage unit, establishment of the second connection is tried using a second method different from a first method used in the case of failure [par 0105, For example, in one embodiment, the Sofa may be available when the onboardee device has a configuration state in which the personal AP is not configured, the personal AP is configured but not validated, the personal AP is configured but an error has occurred, and/or the personal AP is configured and the onboardee device is retrying to connect to the personal AP. For example, if the onboardee device has been configured and been validated to the personal AP but fails to connect after a configurable number of delayed attempts, the onboardee device may transition to the retry state in which the Sofa is enabled to allow the onboardee device to be reconfigured via the onboarding-Wi-Fi network (utilizing the distributed bus 828 of the P2P platform), and the onboardee device may then return to the configured and validated state and retry to connect with the personal AP after a timer expires].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kawaura, Beninato and Llsar because this provides using discoverable peer-to-peer services to allow remote onboarding of headless devices over a Wi-Fi network.{llsar par 0008]
9, Kawaura, Beninato and Llsar discloses the method according to claim 8, further comprising accepting a selection as to whether to try to establish the second connection using the second method [Kawaura, par 0048, In step S351, before transition to the wireless setting mode, the printer 101 first searches (passively scans) surrounding SSIDs, and creates the SSID list including the detected SSIDs. Then, in step S352, the printer 101 transitions to the wireless setting mode, and completes preparation for the wireless Ad-hoc connection. When the processes in steps S302 to S304 are performed by the PC 100 in this state, the printer 101 starts the P2P communication in response to connection request from the PC 100. The printer 101 confirms whether the information acquisition has been requested by the PC 100 in step S353. In a case where it is determined that the information acquisition has been requested (Yes in step S354), the processing proceeds to step S355].
10, Kawaura, Beninato and Llsar provide the method according to claim 9, wherein in the trying to establish the second connection, if it is accepted that establishing the second connection using the second method is not tried, the external access point to be connected to the information processing apparatus is changed, and then establishment of the second connection is tried using the first method [Kawaura, par 0040, More specifically, the PC 100 searches an access point corresponding to the above-described unique SSID, and determines whether the searching is successful. In a case where it is determined in step S303 that the printer in the wireless setting mode has been detected (access point having unique SSID has been detected) (Yes in step S303), the processing proceeds to step S304. In step S304, the PC performs the wireless Ad-hoc connection with the printer 101. More specifically, the PC 100 connects the wireless LAN I/F 210 to the access point with the unique SSID].
11. Kawaura, Beninato and Llsar describe the method according to claim 9, further comprising displaying, if itis accepted that establishing the second connection using the second method is tried, and as a result of the trying to establish the second connection using the second method [Kawaura, par 0040, More specifically, the PC 100 searches an access point corresponding to the above-described unique SSID, and determines whether the searching is successful. In a case where it is determined in step S303 that the printer in the wireless setting mode has been detected (access point having unique SSID has been detected) (Yes in step S303), the processing proceeds to step S304. In step S304, the PC performs the wireless Ad-hoc connection with the printer 101. More specifically, the PC 100 connects the wireless LAN I/F 210 to the access point with the unique SSID]
upon failure in establishment of the second connection using the second method, information indicating that establishment of the second connection has failed on a display unit of the information processing apparatus [par 0062, As a result, the printer 101 fails in the connection with the access point, and the printer 101 displays connection failure error (step S360). In addition, display of failed setting (step S316) is performed by the PC 100. In this case, since the processing such as connection processing by the printer 101 and the printer searching by the PC 100 are performed before the display, it takes a long time until the user recognizes the connection failure. In addition, to retry the wireless setting of the printer 101, it is necessary for the user to release the error of the printer 101 and to perform operation of shifting the mode to the wireless setting mode again. Accordingly, applying the prior confirmation processing 2 illustrated in FIG. 4 to step S307 of FIG. 3 enables the user to know the input mistake of the password before a connection failure error occurs on the printer 107]..
20, Kawaura, Beninato, and lllsar reveal the method according to claim 7, wherein the failure information associates a predetermined service set identifier of the communication apparatus used for the first connection with the identification information of the external access point [Kawaura, par 0037, 0043, The printer 101, however, is not connectable to the access point in some cases even when the PC 100 performs the wireless network setting processing. For example, in a case where the SSID of the predetermined access point uses a frequency band of 5 GHz, but the printer 101 supports only a frequency band of 2.4 GHz, the printer 101 may not be connectable to the predetermined access point. In step S308, the PC 100 determines whether to connect the printer 101 to the predetermined access point as a result of the prior confirmation processing 1 in step S307. In a case where it is determined in step S307 that the SSID of the access point 102 is included in the SSID list]
8. Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Kawaura (U.S. Pub No. 2018/0332634 A1) in view of Beninato et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2006/0098650 A1) in further view of GOTO et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2016/0360349 A1).
17, Kawaura and Beninato describes the method according to claim 16, Kawaura and Beninato fail to show wherein the communication apparatus, after establishing the second connection to the external access point, attempts communication with the information processing apparatus for a predetermined period of time,
In an analogous art GOTO show wherein the communication apparatus, after establishing the second connection to the external access point, attempts communication with the information processing apparatus for a predetermined period of time[par 0049, 0050, Note that the printer 101 may determine whether the self apparatus can perform the AP function and the STA function of the wireless LAN concurrently before disconnecting from the access point 103 (after step S503). That is, the printer 101 creates a new wireless LAN by the AP function and determines whether it can communicate with the mobile phone 102 in the created network while joining the wireless LAN created by the access point 103 with the STA function. When the mobile phone 102 does not enable the wireless LAN function, it cannot recognize, even if the printer 101 transmits the search request packet to the wireless LAN (F406 and step S505), the search request packet and cannot return the search response. If the response is not returned from the mobile phone 102 within a predetermined time (NO in step S505), timeout occurs (F407) and the printer 101 terminates search processing. As a result, the printer 101 cannot establish the communication with the mobile phone 102 by the wireless LAN].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kawaura, Beninato, and GOTO because if the printer or phone cannot perform the communication by the wireless LAN, the phone or printer need not perform even the setting of the wireless LAN for searching for the printer. Therefore, the processing becomes simpler and convenience can be improved. [GOTO , par 0053, 0059]
Kawaura and GOTO fail to show wherein the communication apparatus automatically re-enters the wireless connection setting mode based on the stored re-entry command upon expiration of the predetermined period of time without successful communication with the information processing apparatus.
In an analogous art Beninato show wherein the communication apparatus automatically re-enters the wireless connection setting mode based on the stored re-entry command upon expiration of the predetermined period of time without successful communication with the information processing apparatus[par 0043, 0051, The senior could then choose to wait until the next scheduled connection time, or utilize a manual connection feature of the printer 15, if available, to create an automatic connection with the network 30. Alternatively, the printer 15 can attempt to reconnect to the service 20 after a predetermined amount of time and continue trying until a connection is made. In addition, if the printer 15 fails to connect with the service 20 during a scheduled connection time or after a "connect now" command is entered, the printer 15 would preferably try again to make a connection. The caregiver can set the number of retry attempts made by the printer 15].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kawaura, GOTO, and Beninato because , the present system allows a person having moderate technological skills, such as an adult child caregiver, to control the operation of a device used by the senior. [Beninato, par 0006]
9. Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Kawaura (U.S. Pub No. 2018/0332634 A1) in view of Beninato et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2006/0098650 A1) in further view of Scofield et al. (U.S. Pat No. 8,621,071, B1).
19, Kawaura and Beninato provide the method according to claim 1, Kawaura and Beninato fail show wherein establishing the temporary first connection comprises operating, by the communication apparatus, as an access point that broadcasts a predetermined service set identifier, and connecting, by the information processing apparatus, to the access point of the communication apparatus.
In an analogous art Scofield show wherein establishing the temporary first connection comprises operating, by the communication apparatus, as an access point that broadcasts a predetermined service set identifier, and connecting, by the information processing apparatus, to the access point of the communication apparatus[col 8, ln 8-20, At 350, the first device retrieves attributes of the network connection from the packet header. In one example, the attributes of the network connection include an identifier for the access point that is a Broadcast Service Set Identifier (BSSID). The BSSID is a network address for the access point. The attributes may also include configuration information for the access point that is used when establishing a connection. In one embodiment, the first device retrieves the attributes by checking one or more fields in the packet header for values that may be associated with the access point].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kawaura, Beninato, and Scofield because provides tis provides automatic selection of a network access point and automatic configuration of a secure connection to a wireless network.[Scofield, col 2 ln 38-45]
10. Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Kawaura (U.S. Pub No. 2018/0332634 A1) in view of Beninato et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2006/0098650 A1), Ilsar et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2015/0023183 A1) in further view of YASUMA (U.S. Pub No. 8,621,071, B1).
21, Kawaura, Beninato, and lllsar demonstrate the method according to claim 8, Kawaura, Beninato, and lllsar fail to show wherein the second method comprises establishing the second connection according to a Wi-Fi Protected Setup, push button configuration procedure, and wherein the method further comprises accepting a user selection as to whether to execute the Wi-Fi Protected Setup, push button configuration procedure.
In an analogous art YASUMA show wherein the second method comprises establishing the second connection according to a Wi-Fi Protected Setup, push button configuration procedure [par 0004, a printer, connection settings of an infrastructure network or an ad hoc network are performed by operating one among the camera and the printer, or alternatively by operating both communication apparatuses. In WPS (Wi-Fi Protected Setup), which is a system of performing wireless simple settings, a connection is realized by simultaneously pushing a button of each communication apparatus],
and wherein the method further comprises accepting a user selection as to whether to execute the Wi-Fi Protected Setup, push button configuration procedure [par 0052, The communication instruction unit 205 transmits a connection instruction to the first other communication apparatus and the second other communication apparatus (Step S417). The connection instruction includes wireless connection content and application execution content. For example, in the case of a wireless connection, an instruction to press a WPS button is transmitted to the first other communication apparatus and the second other communication apparatus, and a connection is directly established].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kawaura, Beninato, lllsar, and YASUMA because starting communication can be improved by displaying a window or the like for selecting whether or not to accept the instruction. [Yasuma, para 0036]
Response to Arguments
Applicant's representative further explained that the cited art fails to disclose or suggest at least these features of Claim 1. Kawaura merely describes (for example, in paragraph [0043]) that when it is determined to connect the printer 101 to a predetermined access point (S308), the PC 100 transmits to the printer 101 the wireless profile (including SSID and password) of the access point 102 (S309). Then, the PC 100 disconnects the wireless Ad-hoc connection with the printer 101 and re-establishes connection with the access point 102 (S310). However, Kawaura does not disclose or suggest at least the above-mentioned features recited in Claim 1.
The examiner respectfully disagrees after further search and consideration the applicant specification paragraph 0054 discloses, “the instruction to transition to the wireless setting mode again upon failure in the wireless setting is referred to as a mode re-entry instruction”, the examiner interprets the wireless setting mode instruction as the re-entry instruction as the re-entry command, because the specification does not specifically disclose a re-entry command.
In regards to the amended limitation before trying to establish, between the communication apparatus and the information processing apparatus, a second connection via the external access point identified by the identification information provided to the communication apparatus, transmitting, using the first connection, to the communication apparatus, a re-entry command that causes the communication apparatus to re-enter the wireless connection setting mode[par 0062, 0063, As a result, the printer 101 fails in the connection with the access point, and the printer 101 displays connection failure error (step S360). In addition, display of failed setting (step S316) is performed by the PC 100. In this case, since the processing such as connection processing by the printer 101 and the printer searching by the PC 100 are performed before the display, it takes a long time until the user recognizes the connection failure. In addition, to retry the wireless setting of the printer 101, it is necessary for the user to release the error of the printer 101 and to perform operation of shifting the mode to the wireless setting mode again. The PC 100 is connected to the access point 122 (SSID1) through the wireless LAN I/F 210, and the printer 101 is connected to the access point 123 (SSID2) through the wireless LAN I/F 246. The PC 100 and the printer 101 are mutually communicable through the access point 122 and the access point 123. To connect the printer 101 to the access point 123 for construction of such an infrastructure NW environment, the PC 100 transmits the wireless setting to the printer 101 through the wireless Ad-hoc communication. For example, in a case where the PC 100 and the printer 101 are not sufficiently close to each other to perform wireless Ad-hoc communication, it is supposed that the user temporarily brings the PC 100 close to the printer 101 to perform the wireless setting of the printer 101.The examiner interprets the transmitting information instructing the wireless setting as the re-entry command based upon applicant’s specification paragraph 0054 the instruction to transition to the wireless setting mode again upon failure in the wireless setting is referred to as a mode re-entry instruction],
The paragraphs show a fail attempt to a printer and access point, the PC perform operation of shifting the mode to the wireless setting mode and the PC transmits the wireless setting to the printer via ad hoc temporary connection. The examiner interprets the ad hoc connection the first connection and the wireless setting transmitted by the PC is consider the entry command by the examiner.
The remaining amendment in regards to wherein the communication apparatus automatically re-enters, in response to a failure in establishment of the second connection, without any user operation on the communication apparatus, the wireless connection setting mode based on the stored re-entry command. The applicant’s argument are moot in view of newly rejected claims in which new art is applied.
Applicant also notes that the Interview Summary issued by the USPTO includes the comment "Wherein before establishing a second connection if there is failure a re-entry command is sent to causes [sic] the communication to re-enter the wireless connection mode." This could be inaccurately construed to suggest that the re-entry command is sent after a failure to establish a second connection. To ensure a clear record, Applicant notes that Claim 1 recites that the re-entry command is transmitted to the communication apparatus "before trying to establish, between the communication apparatus and the information processing apparatus, a second connection."
The examiner response the examiner believes the applicant has made the record clear.
Applicant respectfully traverses these rejections for the reasons discussed during the interview and summarized above. In particular, whether considered individually or in combination, the prior art fails to disclose or suggest at least the features of Claim 1 of (i) before trying to establish, between the communication apparatus and the information processing apparatus, a second connection via the external access point identified by the identification information provided to the communication apparatus, transmitting, using the first connection, to the communication apparatus, a re-entry command that causes the communication apparatus to re-enter the wireless connection setting mode, the re-entry command being stored in the communication apparatus, and (ii) wherein the communication apparatus automatically re-enters, in response to a failure in establishment of the second connection, without any user operation on the communication apparatus, the wireless connection setting mode based on the stored re-entry command.
The other independent claims recite features similar to those of Claim 1 and are patentable for similar reasons. The dependent claims are patentable for at least the same reasons as the independent claims from which they respectively depend, as well as for the additional features they recite.
The examiner response the applicant’s argument is moot in view of the newly rejected claims and in above response to the applicant’s argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON A HARLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2468