DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5, 7-15, and 17-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the cooling gas" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 is rejected based on its dependency from claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10-12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Breese Jr. (US 1,629,253).
With respect to claim 10 Breese discloses a process for reducing production of NOx gases at a burner, the process comprising: injecting a fuel gas into a combustion zone [via fuel injector G]; injecting a combustion air into the combustion zone [via fan B2], wherein the combustion air and the fuel gas react and produce a flame and a flue gas in the combustion zone; recovering a portion of the flue gas from a radiant section of the combustion chamber [via “a duct”, see annotated Fig. below] comprising a combustion zone with the flame, as a recycled flue gas to be mixed with the fuel gas [see Fig. 1] to form a mixture injected into the burner; and cooling, in a heat exchanger1 [see annotated Fig. below], the recycled flue gas with the combustion air.
With respect to claim 11 Breese discloses mixing the recycled flue gas with a cooling gas [via E and E1 in Fig. 1] before the recycled flue gas is mixed with the fuel gas.
With respect to claim 12 Breese discloses that the cooling gas comprises air [see Fig. 1].
With respect to claim 14 Breese discloses adjusting a flow rate of the cooling gas [pp. 1 lines 92-109].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breese Jr. (US 1,629,253) in view of Rampley et. al (US 4,995,807).
With respect to claim 1 Breese discloses a burner configured to receive a fuel gas and a combustion air which react and produce a flame and a flue gas in a combustion zone, the burner comprising: a duct [see annotated Fig. below] configured to remove a portion of the flue gas from a radiant section of the combustion chamber, comprising a combustion zone with the flame, as a recycled flue gas, and a heat exchanger [see annotated Fig. below], wherein the heat exchanger receives the combustion air and the recycled flue gas and is configured to transfer heat from the recycled flue gas to the combustion air2. Breese discloses that that the fuel is mixed with the recycled flue gas upstream of the combustion zone [see annotated Fig. below].
Breese does not disclose that the fuel and flue gas are admixed with combustion air upstream of the combustion zone.
Rampley discloses a furnace having a burner [reference character 118] where flue gas [via reference character 134] is premixed with fuel [in reference character 142] and combustion air [see annotated Fig. below] prior to being injected into the burner.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to modify the burner taught by Breese by premixing the fuel and flue gas with air prior to admission to the burner assembly, as taught by Rampley, in order to improve mixture homogeneity in the burner [column 2 lines 20-24 of Rampley].
With respect to claim 2 Breese discloses an inlet [see E and E1 in Fig. 1] configured to provide a cooling gas to the recycled flue gas, wherein the cooling gas is provided to the recycled flue gas upstream of the mixing of the recycled flue gas with the fuel gas and the combustion air.
With respect to claim 3 Breese discloses that the cooling gas comprises air [see Fig. 1 of Breese].
With respect to claim 4 Breese discloses that the inlet is formed as an end of a conduit [see Fig. 1 of Breese].
With respect to claim 7 Breese discloses that a portion of the recycled flue gas is mixed with at least a portion of the combustion air upstream of the heat exchanger [via E and E1].
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breese Jr. (US 1,629,253) in view Rampley et. al (US 4,995,807) and further in view of Carson et. al (US 3,854,455).
With respect to claim 8 Breese and Rampley do not disclose at least one sensor configured to measure a condition of a mixture of the recycled flue gas.
Carson discloses a heating system that includes a flue gas recirculation pathway [reference character 27 that includes a damper [reference character 33] connected to a temperature controller [reference character 30] and temperature sensor [reference character 29], control of the damper via temperature controller 30 and sensor 29 allows for control over the flame temperature.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Breese and Rampley by including a temperature sensor in the flue, a temperature controller, and a damper for the recirculated flue gas, as taught by Carson, in order to allow for control over the flame temperature.
Claim(s) 15 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breese Jr. (US 1,629,253) in view of Carson et. al (US 3,854,455).
With respect to claim 15 Breese does not disclose the flow rate is adjusted based on a condition of a mixture of the recycled flue gas and the cooling gas.
Carson discloses a heating system that includes a flue gas recirculation pathway [reference character 27 that includes a damper [reference character 33] connected to a temperature controller [reference character 30] and temperature sensor [reference character 29], control of the damper via temperature controller 30 and sensor 29 allows for control over the flame temperature.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Breese and Rampley by including a temperature sensor in the flue, a temperature controller, and a damper in recirculation line 13 of Hardison for the recirculated flue gas, as taught by Carson, in order to allow for control over the flame temperature.
With respect to claim 19 Breese discloses adjusting a flow rate of the recycled flue gas [pp. 1 lines 92-109].
With respect to claim 20 the combination of Breese and Carson disclose the flow rate is adjusted based on a condition of a mixture of the recycled flue gas and the cooling gas [see rejection for claim 15, where, in combination, the damper is placed in recirculation line 13].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 9, and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/VIVEK K SHIRSAT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762
1 The co-axial arrangement between the central flue gas and annular air is interpreted to be a co-flow or co-current heat exchanger.
2 The co-axial arrangement between the central flue gas and annular air is interpreted to be a co-flow or co-current heat exchanger.