DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-6 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 discloses “a cleaner device”. However, claim 5 depends on claim 1 which already discloses a cleaner device. As such, this is considered double inclusion, which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if there are one or more than one cleaner device being claimed. For examination purposes, the cleaner device of claim 5 will be interpreted as the same as claim 1.
Claim 6 is indefinite for depending on claim 5.
Claim 14 discloses “a cleaner device”. However, claim 14 depends on claim 7 which already discloses a cleaner device. As such, this is considered double inclusion, which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if there are one or more than one cleaner device being claimed. For examination purposes, the cleaner device of claim 14 will be interpreted as the same as claim 7.
Claim 15 is indefinite for depending on claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sato et al (U.S. 2006/0113404).
Regarding claim 1, Sato teaches a check valve (4, best seen in Fig 10 and 11) incorporated in a cleaner device (cleaner device 1 seen in at least in Figs 3-6), comprising:
a main unit (defined by case body 41) provided with an inflow channel (412, which serves as a cleaning liquid influx portion – Par 0052) and at least one outflow channel (413, which serves as a cleaning liquid efflux portion – Par 0052);
a sealing member (valve body 43) that allows a flow of cleaning fluid from the inflow channel to the outflow channel when the cleaner device is in operation (as seen in Fig 13 and Par 0077) and that is formed to seal a backflow (shown below) of the cleaning fluid from the outflow channel to the inflow channel when the cleaner device is not in operation (as seen in Fig 12 and Par 0081); and
a lid member (cover body 42) that is combined with the main unit so as to form a housing chamber (defined by recess 411b, which is a chamber delimited by walls 422, as seen -in Figs 11-13) for the sealing member (as seen in Fig 12 and 13), wherein
the lid member has a communication hole (421) that allows the housing chamber to communicate with an outside of the housing chamber (as seen in Fig 12 and 13), and
the lid member or the main unit is provided with a water receiving recess (shown below) arranged around the communication hole (as show below) (Note: Examiner is interpreting the “water receiving recess” in view of Applicant’s specification, Par 0009, which describes it as a recess that is capable of receiving water that accumulates around the housing chamber due to condensation).
Regarding claim 2, Sato teaches the check valve according to claim 1, wherein the water receiving recess extends in a groove shape around the communication hole (as seen below, the recess extends in a groove shape around the hole 421).
Regarding claim 3, Sato teaches the check valve according to claim 1, wherein the lid member (42) forms a bottom surface (shown below) of the check valve having a central part (shown below) and an outer circumferential part (shown below) while the communication hole extends through the lid member from the housing chamber to the central part of the bottom surface (as seen below), and the bottom surface has a shape in which the central part is recessed upward with respect to the outer circumferential part (recessed part shown below; Note: “upward” is relative depending on which wat the check valve is positioned, as such, this is a broad term).
Regarding claim 4, Sato teaches the check valve according to claim 1, wherein the main unit is provided with a plurality of outflow channels (the outlet channel 413 splits into two outflow channels 413b), and the sealing member is formed to seal the backflow of the cleaning fluid from the plurality of outflow channels to the inflow channel and to seal the flow of the cleaning fluid between the plurality of outflow channels when the cleaner device is not in operation (as seen in the closed position seen in Fig 12, the seal member 43 is formed to seal the backflow form passage 413a, which communicates to both outflow channels 413b).
Regarding claim 5, Sato teaches a cleaner device (cleaner device 1 seen in at least in Figs 3-6) comprising: the check valve (4) according to claim 1; and a cleaning nozzle (51) that is arranged to spray the cleaning fluid onto a cleaning object (headlamp 8) and is connected to the outflow channel of the check valve (Fig 6 shows the nozzle 51 connected to the outflow channel 413 of the check valve 4).
Regarding claim 6, Sato teaches the cleaner device according to claim 5, wherein the cleaner device is mounted on a vehicle (cleaner device 1 is mounted on a bumper 9 of a vehicle, as seen in Fig 1 and Par 0073), and the cleaning object is in-vehicle equipment (headlamp 8 is part of the vehicle).
Annotated Figure of Sato for claims 1-6:
Regarding claim 7, Sato teaches a check valve-equipped branching tool (tool seen in Figs 10 and 11, which include branching section 413 and check valve 4) incorporated in a cleaner device (cleaner device 1 seen in at least in Figs 3-6), comprising:
a main unit (defined by case body 41) that includes an inflow channel (412, which serves as a cleaning liquid influx portion – Par 0052), a first outflow channel (413b, shown below) having a first open end (shown below), and a second outflow channel (other 413b, shown below) having a second open end (shown below), in which cleaning fluid from the inflow channel flows into the first outflow channel from the first open end and flows into the second outflow channel from the second open end (412 serves as a cleaning liquid influx portion – Par 0052; and 413b serves as a cleaning liquid efflux portion – Par 0052); and
a sealing member (valve body 43) that is attached to the main unit (as seen in Fig 11) and formed to allow the flow of the cleaning fluid from the inflow channel to the first outflow channel and the second outflow channel when the cleaner device is in operation (as seen in Fig 13 and Par 0077, when the seal member is in its open position fluid flows into 413a, which directs to flow to both first and second outflow channels 413b), wherein
the sealing member is formed to come into contact with the first open end and the second open end when the cleaner device is not in operation such that the sealing member seals the backflow of the cleaning fluid from the first outflow channel and the second outflow channel to the inflow channel and seals the flow of the cleaning fluid between the first outflow channel and the second outflow channel (as seen in Fig 12 and Par 0081, when the seal member is in its closed position seal member 43 comes in contact with the two open ends, which seals flows of both first and second outflow channels 413b).
Regarding claim 8, Sato teaches the check valve-equipped branching tool according to claim 7, wherein the second open end is arranged inward with respect to the first open end (as seen the annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 9, Sato teaches the check valve-equipped branching tool according to claim 7, wherein a tapered surface (shown below) whose inner diameter decreases toward an inside of the second outflow channel (as can be seen in Fig 13) is formed on the second open end (as seen below), and the sealing member comes into contact with the tapered surface (as seen in Fig 12, seal member 43 comes in contact with the tapered surface).
Regarding claim 10, Sato teaches the check valve-equipped branching tool according to claim 9, wherein the sealing member has a convex curved surface (shown below) toward the second outflow channel (as seen below), and the convex curved surface comes into contact with the tapered surface (as seen in Fig 12).
Regarding claim 11, Sato teaches the check valve-equipped branching tool according to claim 7, wherein the inflow channel is arranged outward with respect to the first open end and the second open end (as seen below).
Regarding claim 13, Sato teaches the check valve-equipped branching tool according to claim 7, further comprising: a lid member (cover body 42) that is combined with the main unit so as to form a housing chamber (defined by recess 411b, which is a chamber delimited by walls 422, as seen -in Figs 11-13) for the sealing member (as seen in Fig 12 and 13), wherein the lid member has a communication hole (421) that allows the housing chamber to communicate with an outside of the housing chamber (as seen in Fig 12 and 13), and the lid member or the main unit is provided with a water receiving recess (shown below) arranged around the communication hole (as show below) (Note: Examiner is interpreting the “water receiving recess” in view of Applicant’s specification, Par 0009, which describes it as a recess that is capable of receiving water that accumulates around the housing chamber due to condensation).
Regarding claim 14, Sato teaches a cleaner device comprising: the check valve-equipped branching tool according to claim 7; and at least one cleaning nozzle (51) that is arranged to spray the cleaning fluid onto a cleaning object (headlamp 8) and is connected to at least one of the first outflow channel and the second outflow channel of the check valve-equipped branching tool (Fig 6 shows the nozzle 51 connected to both first and second outflow channels 413b of the tool).
Regarding claim 15, Sato teaches the cleaner device according to claim 14, wherein the cleaner device is mounted on a vehicle (cleaner device 1 is mounted on a bumper 9 of a vehicle, as seen in Fig 1 and Par 0073), and the cleaning object is in-vehicle equipment (headlamp 8 is part of the vehicle).
Annotated Figures of Sato for claims 7-11 and 13-15:
Claims 7-12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Danker (EP 0014838 A1). Note: references made in parenthesis are referencing the translation provided by Examiner.
Regarding claim 7, Danker teaches a check valve-equipped branching tool (seen in Fig 3) incorporated in a cleaner device (tool is used in a washer system, as disclosed in Par 0001), comprising:
a main unit (1) that includes an inflow channel (9), a first outflow channel (6) having a first open end (shown below), and a second outflow channel (5) having a second open end (shown below), in which cleaning fluid from the inflow channel flows into the first outflow channel from the first open end and flows into the second outflow channel from the second open end (as shown by flow arrows depicted in Fig 3); and
a sealing member (7) that is attached to the main unit (as seen in Fig 3) and formed to allow the flow of the cleaning fluid from the inflow channel to the first outflow channel and the second outflow channel when the cleaner device is in operation (when the device is in operation, the sealing member moves up due to pressure and allows the flow from the inflow channel 9 to both outlet channels 6 and 5), wherein
the sealing member is formed to come into contact with the first open end and the second open end when the cleaner device is not in operation (as seen in Fig 3) such that the sealing member seals the backflow of the cleaning fluid from the first outflow channel and the second outflow channel to the inflow channel and seals the flow of the cleaning fluid between the first outflow channel and the second outflow channel (as seen in Fig 3, when the device is not in operation the sealing member 7 contacts both first and second open ends to block from to both the first and second outflow channels 6 and 5).
Regarding claim 8, Danker teaches the check valve-equipped branching tool according to claim 7, wherein the second open end is arranged inward with respect to the first open end (as annotated below, the second open end is inward with respect to the first open end).
Regarding claim 9, Danker teaches the check valve-equipped branching tool according to claim 7, wherein a tapered surface (shown below) whose inner diameter decreases toward an inside of the second outflow channel is formed on the second open end (as shown below), and the sealing member comes into contact with the tapered surface (as seen below, the sealing member 7 comes into contact with the upstream-most edge of the tapered surface).
Regarding claim 10, Danker teaches the check valve-equipped branching tool according to claim 9, wherein the sealing member has a convex curved surface (shown below) toward the second outflow channel, and the convex curved surface comes into contact with the tapered surface (as seen below).
Regarding claim 11, Danker teaches the check valve-equipped branching tool according to claim 7, wherein the inflow channel (9) is arranged outward with respect to the first open end and the second open end (as seen below).
Regarding claim 12, Danker teaches the check valve-equipped branching tool according to claim 7, wherein the inflow channel (9), the first outflow channel (6), and the second outflow channel are arranged concentrically (5) (as seen in Fig 3, all three channels are arranged concentrically around the housing 1).
Regarding claim 14, Danker teaches a cleaner device (washer system, as disclosed in Par 0001) comprising: the check valve-equipped branching tool (Fig 3) according to claim 7; and at least one cleaning nozzle (two nozzles disclosed in Par 0002) that is arranged to spray the cleaning fluid onto a cleaning object (windshield disclosed in Par 0002) and is connected to at least one of the first outflow channel and the second outflow channel of the check valve-equipped branching tool (the two nozzles disclosed in Par 0002 are connected to the tool seen in Fig 3).
Regarding claim 15, Danker teaches the cleaner device according to claim 14, wherein the cleaner device is mounted on a vehicle, and the cleaning object is in-vehicle equipment (as disclosed in Par 0001).
Conclusion
If there are any inquiries that are not being addressed by first contacting the Examiner or the Supervisor, you may send an email inquiry to TC3700_Workgroup_D_Inquiries@uspto.gov.
/JUAN C BARRERA/
Examiner, Art Unit 3752
/TUONGMINH N PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752