Claim Objections
Claims 3, 6 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3, “second tong arm” should read --the second tong arm--.
Claim 6, “Claim 5 wherein” should read --Claim 5, wherein--.
Claim 8, “Claim 1 wherein” should read --Claim 1, wherein--.Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Jorgensen (US 4223936 A).
Regarding claim 1, Jorgensen teaches a food handling device (dual-purpose, convertible household utensil assembly) comprising (reproduced and annotated Figs. below): a first tong arm having a first proximal end and a first distal end; a second tong arm having a second proximal end and a second distal end; a first food handling tool (fork F) positioned on the first distal end of the first tong arm, wherein the first food handling tool includes at least one prong (two prongs) angled towards the second tong arm; a second food handling tool (spatula S) positioned on the second distal end of the second tong arm, wherein the second food handling tool includes a spatula angled away from the first tong arm (at least part of spatula S is angled away from the first tong arm); and a connecting joint (U-shaped yoke 14) joining the first and second proximal ends of the first and second tong arms, said connecting joint resiliently urging the first tong arm and the second tong arm towards a resting configuration (opened configuration) wherein the first and second tong arms are in a spaced relationship.
Regarding claim 2, Jorgensen teaches the connecting joint includes a U-shaped joint made of a resilient material.
Regarding claim 4, Jorgensen teaches the first food handling tool (fork F) includes at least two prongs (two prongs).
Regarding claim 5, Jorgensen teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the spatula has a spatula proximal end joined to the second distal end of the second tong arm and a spatula distal end extending from the spatula proximal end, wherein the spatula proximal end has a same width as the second tong arm and the spatula distal end is wider than a width of the second tong arm.
Claims 1-2, 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Wisoff (US 1538536 A).
Regarding claim 1, Wisoff teaches (reproduced and annotated Fig. below) a food handling device (gripping implement) comprising: a first tong arm (4) having a first proximal end and a first distal end; a second tong arm having a second proximal end and a second distal end; a first food handling tool (jaw 3) positioned on the first distal end of the first tong arm, wherein the first food handling tool includes at least one prong (four prongs) angled towards the second tong arm; a second food handling tool positioned on the second distal end of the second tong arm, wherein the second food handling tool includes a spatula (scoop 1) angled away from the first tong arm; and a connecting joint joining the first and second proximal ends of the first and second tong arms, said connecting joint resiliently urging the first tong arm and the second tong arm towards a resting configuration (configuration shown below) wherein the first and second tong arms are in a spaced relationship.
Regarding claim 2, Wisoff teaches (reproduced and annotated Fig. above) the connecting joint includes a U-shaped joint made of a resilient material.
Regarding claim 4, Wisoff teaches (reproduced and annotated Fig. above) the first food handling tool includes at least two prongs (four prongs).
Regarding claim 8, Wisoff teaches (reproduced and annotated Fig. above) the spatula includes a spatula distal end with an edge that is tapered (spatula 1 is tapered from proximal end to the distal end edge).
Claims 1-2, 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Law (US 0629082 A).
Claim 1 recites a device that is used for food handling. More limiting the features and relationship between the food handling and the device mount to mere components associated with the intended use of the recited device. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (anticipation rejection affirmed based on Board’s factual finding that the reference dispenser (a spout disclosed as useful for purposes such as dispensing oil from an oil can) would be capable of dispensing popcorn in the manner set forth in appellant’s claim 1 (a dispensing top for dispensing popcorn in a specified manner)) and cases cited therein. See also MPEP § 2112 - MPEP § 2112.02. Thus, the prior art only needs to teach the recited components of the device.
Law teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) a device comprising a first tong arm having a first proximal end and a first distal end; a second tong arm having a second proximal end and a second distal end; a first food handling tool (A2) positioned on the first distal end of the first tong arm, wherein the first food handling tool includes at least one prong (3 prongs) angled towards the second tong arm; a second food handling tool (B2) positioned on the second distal end of the second tong arm, wherein the second food handling tool includes a spatula angled away from the first tong arm; and a connecting joint (C) joining the first and second proximal ends of the first and second tong arms, said connecting joint resiliently urging the first tong arm and the second tong arm towards a resting configuration wherein the first and second tong arms are in a spaced relationship. Device of Law is capable of handling food by holding the food between A2 and B2).
Regarding claim 2, Law teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the connecting joint includes a U-shaped joint made of a resilient material (lines 33-35: “C is a spring of hard brass wire”).
Regarding claim 4, Law teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the first food handling tool includes at least two prongs (three prongs D).
Regarding claim 7, Law teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the first tong arm is shorter than the second tong arm.
Claims 1-3 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Riggles (US D262346 S).
Regarding claim 1, Riggles teaches a food handling device (spatula) comprising (reproduced and annotated Figs. below): a first tong arm having a first proximal end and a first distal end; a second tong arm having a second proximal end and a second distal end; a first food handling tool positioned on the first distal end of the first tong arm, wherein the first food handling tool includes at least one prong angled towards the second tong arm; a second food handling tool positioned on the second distal end of the second tong arm, wherein the second food handling tool includes a spatula angled away from the first tong arm; and a connecting joint joining the first and second proximal ends of the first and second tong arms, said connecting joint resiliently urging the first tong arm and the second tong arm towards a resting configuration wherein the first and second tong arms are in a spaced relationship.
Regarding claim 2, Riggles teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the connecting joint includes a U-shaped joint made of a resilient material.
Regarding claim 3, Riggles teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the first tong arm, the second tong arm, and the U-shaped joint are made of a continuous piece of plastic or other resilient material.
Regarding claim 5, Riggles teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the spatula has a spatula proximal end joined to the second distal end of the second tong arm and a spatula distal end extending from the spatula proximal end, wherein the spatula proximal end has a same width as the second tong arm and the spatula distal end is wider than a width of the second tong arm (compare W1 and W2).
Regarding claim 6, Riggles teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) the spatula distal end includes an edge that is tapered.
Regarding claim 7, Riggles teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the first tong arm is shorter than the second tong arm.
Regarding claim 8, Riggles teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the spatula includes a spatula distal end with an edge that is tapered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riggles in view of Henry (US D723880 S).
Regarding claim 9, Riggles teaches the claimed food handling device/tong; but does not teach the claimed tongs holder.
Henry teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) a tongs and a tongs holder configured to receive the food handling device, wherein the holder includes a base with two opposing walls extending from the base so that a recess is defined therebetween, wherein the recess is configured to receive the first and second tong arms when deflected from the resting configuration with a first one of the opposing walls engaging the first tong arm and a second one of the opposing walls engaging the second tong arm so that the food handling device is secured within the recess.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a tongs holder for storage purposes.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riggles in view of Henry and further in view of Smith (US 8381413 B2).
Regarding claim 10, Henry does not explicitly teaching magnets for the holder.
Smith teaches magnetic kitchen suspending devices with magnets (e.g. 145B in Fig. 7) for hanging the device on a metallic surfaces like “refrigerator doors and sides”.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to use magnets on the holder for installing on metallic surfaces like refrigerator doors or sides.
Conclusion
MAHDI H. NEJAD
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/MAHDI H NEJAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723