DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication dated December 26, 2025, claims 1, 4-9, 15-17, 20-21 and 24-31 are pending. Claims 1, 4, 9, and 17 are amended, claims 24-31 are newly added, claims 2-3, 10-11, 18-19 and 22-23 are presently cancelled and claims 12-14 are previously cancelled.
Response to Arguments
The applicant argues that Kim1 does not switch M1 on within a preset time period when the charging power is less than a preset power threshold to bypass the rectifier circuit so that an input current cannot enter a direct bus (see pages 14-17).
It should be noted that “so that an input current cannot enter a direct bus” is not included in the claim language.
Kim1 discloses the rectifier circuit 4 detailed in at least FIG. 5. AS illustrated, the transistors M1-M4 are adjusted to allow current to flow. When more power is needed, the impedance of the transistors is reduced effectively allowing the current to bypass rectification.
The applicant argues that obtaining the preset time period based on a difference between the charging power and the preset threshold, wherein the preset time period is directly proportional to the difference is not disclosed by Kim1 (see pages 17-19 of the applicant remarks.
However, in FIG. 7 of Kim1, impedance is reduced when the gate signal is on and FIG. 8 illustrates that when the turn on time is low (T1 is the turn on time and T being the period),the impedance is high. When the turn-on time is high, the impedance is low. Thus, when more power is needed (the difference is high), the impedance will be low and the turn-on time will be high.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-9, 15-17, 20-21 and 24-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. US20190181682A1 (hereinafter “Kim1”) in view of Kim et al. US20170155272A1 (hereinafter “Kim2”).
Regarding claim 1. Kim1 discloses a receive end for wirelessly charging a battery (FIG. 4; Rx 50 – the battery being implicit in wireless charging reception device), the receive end comprising:
a receive coil (22) configured to receive energy from a transmit end (Tx);
a matching circuit (3) comprising a first input terminal (from the receiving coil 22) and a first output terminal (the output from the matching element 3), wherein the first input terminal is connected to the receive coil (22).
a controller (gate driver 41); and
a rectifier circuit (4) comprising a second input terminal (from the matching element 3) and a first controllable switching transistor (M2),
wherein the second input terminal is connected to the first output terminal of the matching circuit (FIG. 4),
wherein the rectifier circuit is configured to rectify a current from the matching circuit (¶43);
wherein the controller (41/51/52/61/62/63) is configured to:
obtain a real-time charging power for the battery (¶51-52- The power/efficiency calculation unit 62 can obtain the output power of the active rectifier 4 using the detection voltage and the detection current – because the current/voltage is being detected in real time, the charging power is likewise)
control an on/off state of the first controllable switching transistor (¶50) when the charging power is less than a preset power threshold to reduce input impedance of the rectifier circuit (¶53 – current output power is compared with the previous output power the impedance is adjusted).
control the first controllable switching transistor (M2) to be switched on within a preset time period when the charging power is less than the preset power threshold to bypass the rectifier circuit (FIG. 7; ¶60-61).
obtain the preset time period based on a difference between the charging power and the preset power threshold (FIG. 8; ¶65-67) wherein the preset time period is directly proportional to the difference (FIG. 7 – impedance is reduced when the gate signal is on; FIG. 8 illustrates that when the turn on time is low (T1 is the turn on time and T being the period), the impedance is high – when the turn-on time is high, the impedance is low, thus, when more power is needed (the difference is high), the impedance will be low and the turn-on time will be high).
Kim1 does not explicitly teach that the receive coil is configured to output an alternating current; the matching circuit performs matching on the alternating current and supply the alternating current; the rectifier circuit is configured to receive the alternating current from the matching circuit and rectify the alternating current into a direct current and supply the direct current to a charging control circuit.
Kim2 discloses that the receive coil (FIG. 3B) is configured to output an alternating current (¶14 – resonant circuit outputs AC power);
the matching circuit (312) performs matching on the alternating current and supply the alternating current (¶14 – because the rectifier circuit 321 receives AC power it follows that the matching circuit outputs AC power);
the rectifier circuit (320/321) is configured to receive the alternating current from the matching circuit (¶14 - because the rectifier circuit 321 receives AC power) and
rectify the alternating current into a direct current (¶14) and supply the direct current to a charging control circuit (¶14 – the rectifier outputs DC power).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide an AC power, as taught by Kim2, to be converted to a DC/DC voltage by the rectifier of Kim1, as an AC current is commonly used to transmit to a receiver.
Regarding claim 4. Kim1 discloses that the rectifier circuit (4) comprises at least one bridge arm that comprises at least one diode (the FET’s M1-M4 include a diode), and wherein the first controllable switching transistor (M2) is connected in parallel to two ends of one diode of the at least one diode (FIG. 5; M2 – the switch is parallel to the diode); and wherein the controller (gate driver 41) is further configured to control the first controllable switching transistor to be switched on (¶50 - gate driver controls on/off) when the charging power is less than the preset power threshold to bypass the rectifier circuit to reduce the input impedance of the rectifier circuit (¶44/53 – parameter setting unit 63 varies the on-time of the rectifier by comparing the current output power with the previous output power and adjusting the impedance).
Regarding claim 5. Kim1 discloses that the rectifier circuit (4) is a full-bridge rectifier circuit (¶17; FIG. 5), wherein the rectifier circuit comprises a first bridge arm and a second bridge arm connected in parallel (FIG. 5 at rectifier 4), wherein a middle point of the first bridge arm (M2/M4) is connected to a positive output terminal of the matching circuit (3), wherein a middle point of the second bridge arm (M1/M3) is connected to a negative output terminal of the matching circuit (FIG. 5), and wherein the first controllable switching transistor (M2) is located in at least one of the first bridge arm and the second bridge arm (first bridge arm) (FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 6. Kim1 discloses that the controller (gate driver 41) is configured to control the first controllable switching transistor (M2) to be switched on for the preset time period when the charging power is less than the preset power threshold (¶50/53).
Regarding claim 7. Kim1 discloses that the rectifier circuit (4) further comprises a second controllable switching transistor (M1), wherein the first controllable switching transistor (M2) is located in a first lower-half bridge arm of the first bridge arm (M2/M4), wherein the second controllable switching transistor (M1) is located in a second lower-half bridge arm of the second bridge arm (M1/M3) and wherein the controller (gate driver 41) is configured to:
control the first controllable switching transistor (M2) to be switched on for the preset time period when the charging power for the battery is less than the preset power threshold (¶44/53 – parameter setting unit 63 varies the on-time of the rectifier by comparing the current output power with the previous output power and adjusting the impedance) and the current received by the rectifier circuit is positive (FIG. 5); and
control the second controllable switching transistor (M1) to be switched on for the preset time period when the charging power for the battery is less than the preset power threshold (¶44/53 – parameter setting unit 63 varies the on-time of the rectifier by comparing the current output power with the previous output power and adjusting the impedance) and the current received by the rectifier circuit is negative (FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 8. Kim1 discloses that the rectifier circuit (4) is a full-bridge rectifier circuit (FIG. 5; ¶17 – FETs connected in bridge form) and further comprises a second controllable switching transistor (M1), a third controllable switching transistor (M4), and a fourth controllable switching transistor (M3), wherein the first controllable switching transistor (M2) is located in a lower-half bridge arm of the first bridge arm (M2/M4), wherein the second controllable switching transistor (M1) is located in a lower-half bridge arm of the second bridge arm (M1/M3), wherein the third controllable switching transistor (M4) is located in an upper-half bridge arm of the first bridge arm (M2/M4), wherein the fourth controllable switching transistor (M3) is located in an upper-half bridge arm of the second bridge arm (M1/M3), and wherein the controller (gate driver 41) is further configured to:
when the charging power for the battery is less than the preset power threshold (¶44/53 – parameter setting unit 63 varies the on-time of the rectifier by comparing the current output power with the previous output power and adjusting the impedance) and the current received by the rectifier circuit is positive (FIG. 5), control the second controllable switching transistor (M2) to be switched on (¶53 - control the turn on time), control the fourth controllable switching transistor (M3) to be switched off (¶53 - control the turn on time), control the first controllable switching transistor (M2) to be switched on for the preset time period (¶53 - control the turn on time), and control the third controllable switching transistor (M4) to be switched on until the alternating current received by the rectifier circuit becomes zero (when both switches of a bridge circuit are switched on, a short circuit occurs, making the current received by the rectifier zero); and
when the charging power for the battery is less than the preset power threshold (¶44/53 – parameter setting unit 63 varies the on-time of the rectifier by comparing the current output power with the previous output power and adjusting the impedance) and the current received by the rectifier circuit is negative (FIG. 5), control the third controllable switching transistor (M4) to be switched off, control the first controllable switching transistor to be switched on (M2), control the second controllable switching transistor (M1) to be switched on for the preset time period (¶53 - control the turn on time), and control the fourth controllable switching transistor to be switched on until the alternating current received by the rectifier circuit becomes zero (when both switches of a bridge circuit are switched on, a short circuit occurs, making the current received by the rectifier zero).
Regarding claim 9. Kim1 discloses a method implemented by a receive end for wireless charging a battery (FIG. 4; Rx 50 – the battery being implicit in wireless charging reception device) the method comprising:
controlling a rectifier circuit (4) to rectify an input current from the matching circuit (¶43);
obtaining a real-time charging power for the battery (¶51-52- The power/efficiency calculation unit 62 can obtain the output power of the active rectifier 4 using the detection voltage and the detection current – because the current/voltage is being detected in real time, the charging power is likewise);
controlling an on/off state of at least one controllable switching transistor (M2) (¶40 – gate driver controls on/off) when the charging power is less than a preset power threshold to reduce an input impedance of the rectifier circuit (¶53 – current output power is compared with the previous output power the impedance is adjusted).
controlling a first controllable switching transistor (M2) to be switched on within a preset time period, to bypass the rectifier circuit (FIG. 7; ¶60-61).
the preset time period is based on a difference between the charging power and the preset power threshold (FIG. 8; ¶65-67).
wherein the preset time period is directly proportional to the difference (FIG. 7 – impedance is reduced when the gate signal is on; FIG. 8 illustrates that when the turn on time is low (T1 is the turn on time and T being the period), the impedance is high – when the turn-on time is high, the impedance is low, thus, when more power is needed (the difference is high), the impedance will be low and the turn-on time will be high).
Kim1 does not explicitly disclose that the rectifier rectifies an alternating current into a direct current and supplying the direct current to a charging control circuit.
Kim2 discloses that the rectifier (320/321) rectifies an alternating current into a direct current (¶14 - rectifier circuit 321 receives AC power) and
supplying the direct current to a charging control circuit (¶14 – the rectifier outputs DC power).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide an AC power, as taught by Kim2, to be converted to a DC/DC voltage by the rectifier of Kim1, as an AC current is commonly used to transmit to a receiver.
Regarding claim 15. Kim1 discloses that controlling the on/off state of the at least one controllable switching transistors (¶50 - gate driver controls on/off) comprises:
controlling a first controllable switching transistor (M2) to be switched on (¶50 - gate driver controls on/off) for a preset time period (¶53 - control the turn on time) when the input alternating current is positive (FIG. 5), wherein the first controllable switching transistor is located in a first lower-half bridge arm of a first bridge arm (M2/M4) of the rectifier circuit (4); and
controlling a second controllable switching transistor (M1) to be switched on for the preset time period (¶50 - gate driver controls on/off) when the input current of the rectifier circuit is negative (FIG. 5), wherein the second controllable switching transistor (M1) is located in a second lower-half bridge arm of a second bridge arm (M1/M3) of the rectifier circuit (4).
Regarding claim 16. Kim1 discloses controlling the on/off state of the at least one of controllable switching transistors (¶40 – gate driver controls on/off) to be switched on for the preset time period comprises:
when the input current of the rectifier circuit (4) is positive (FIG. 5), controlling a second controllable switching transistor (M1) to be switched on (¶53 - control the turn on time), controlling a fourth controllable switching transistor (M3) to be switched off (¶53 - control the turn on time), controlling a first controllable switching transistor (M2) to be switched on for a preset time period (¶53 - control the turn on time), and controlling a third controllable switching transistor (M4) to be switched on until the input alternating current of the rectifier circuit becomes zero (when both switches of a bridge circuit are switched on, a short circuit occurs, making the current received by the rectifier zero), and wherein the first controllable switching transistor (M2) is located in a first lower-half bridge arm of a first bridge arm (M2/M4) of the rectifier circuit (4), the second controllable switching transistor (M1) is located in a second lower- half bridge arm of a second bridge arm (M1/M3) of the rectifier circuit (4), the third controllable switching transistor (M4) is located in a first upper-half bridge arm of the first bridge arm (M2/M4), and the fourth controllable switching transistor (M3) is located in a second upper-half bridge arm of the second bridge arm (M1/M3); and
when the input current of the rectifier circuit is negative (FIG. 5), controlling the third controllable switching transistor (M4) to be switched off (¶53 - control the turn on time), controlling the first controllable switching transistor (M1) to be switched on (¶53 - control the turn on time), controlling the second controllable switching transistor (M1) to be switched on (¶53 - control the turn on time)for the preset time period, and controlling the fourth controllable switching transistor (M3) to be switched on (¶53 - control the turn on time) until the input alternating current of the rectifier circuit becomes zero (when both switches of a bridge circuit are switched on, a short circuit occurs, making the current received by the rectifier zero).
Regarding claim 17. Kim1 discloses an electronic device comprising:
A battery (FIG. 4; Rx 50 – the battery being implicit in wireless charging reception device); and
a receive end for wirelessly charging the battery (FIG. 4; Rx 50 – the battery being implicit in wireless charging reception device) wherein the receive end comprises:
a receive coil (22) configured to receive energy from a transmit end (Tx)
a matching circuit (3) comprising a first input terminal (from the receiving coil 22) and a first output terminal (the output from the matching element 3), wherein the first input terminal is connected to the receive coil (22),
a controller (gate driver 41); and
a rectifier circuit (4) comprising a second input terminal (from the matching element 3) and a first controllable switching transistor (M2),
wherein the second input terminal connected to the first output terminal of the matching circuit (FIG. 4)
wherein the rectifier circuit is configured to rectify a current from the matching circuit (¶43) (gate driver 41 controls the switches of the rectifier 4);
wherein the controller (41) is configured to:
obtain a real-time charging power for the battery (¶51-52- The power/efficiency calculation unit 62 can obtain the output power of the active rectifier 4 using the detection voltage and the detection current – because the current/voltage is being detected in real time, the charging power is likewise)
control an on/off state of the first controllable switching transistor (¶50) when the charging power is less than a preset power threshold to reduce input impedance of the rectifier circuit (¶53 – current output power is compared with the previous output power the impedance is adjusted).
control the first controllable switching transistor (M2) to be switched on within a preset time period when the charging power is less than the preset power threshold to bypass the rectifier circuit (FIG. 7; ¶60-61).
obtain the preset time period based on a difference between the charging power and the preset power threshold (FIG. 8; ¶65-67), and wherein the preset time period is directly proportional to the difference (FIG. 7 – impedance is reduced when the gate signal is on; FIG. 8 illustrates that when the turn on time is low (T1 is the turn on time and T being the period), the impedance is high – when the turn-on time is high, the impedance is low, thus, when more power is needed (the difference is high), the impedance will be low and the turn-on time will be high).
Kim1 does not explicitly teach that the receive coil is configured to output an alternating current; the matching circuit performs matching on the alternating current and supply the alternating current; the rectifier circuit is configured to receive the alternating current from the matching circuit and rectify the alternating current into a direct current and supply the direct current to a charging control circuit.
Kim2 discloses that the receive coil (FIG. 3B) is configured to output an alternating current (¶14 – resonant circuit outputs AC power);
the matching circuit (312) performs matching on the alternating current and supply the alternating current (¶14 – because the rectifier circuit 321 receives AC power it follows that the matching circuit outputs AC power);
the rectifier circuit (320/321) is configured to receive the alternating current from the matching circuit (¶14 - because the rectifier circuit 321 receives AC power) and
rectify the alternating current into a direct current (¶14) and supply the direct current to a charging control circuit (¶14 – the rectifier outputs DC power).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide an AC power, as taught by Kim2, to be converted to a DC/DC voltage by the rectifier of Kim1, as an AC current is commonly used to transmit to a receiver.
Regarding claim 20. Kim1 discloses that the rectifier circuit (4) comprises at least one bridge arm that comprises at least one diode (the FET’s M1-M4 include a diode), and wherein the first controllable switching transistor (M2) is connected in parallel to two ends of one diode of the at least one diode (FIG. 5; M2 – the switch is parallel to the diode); and wherein the controller (gate driver 41) is further configured to control the first controllable switching transistor to be switched on (¶50 - gate driver controls on/off) when the charging power is less than the preset power threshold to bypass the rectifier circuit to reduce the input impedance of the rectifier circuit (¶44/53 – parameter setting unit 63 varies the on-time of the rectifier by comparing the current output power with the previous output power and adjusting the impedance).
Regarding claim 21. Kim1 discloses that the rectifier circuit (4) is a full-bridge rectifier circuit (¶17; FIG. 5), wherein the rectifier circuit comprises a first bridge arm and a second bridge arm connected in parallel (FIG. 5 at rectifier 4), wherein a middle point of the first bridge arm (M2/M4) is connected to a positive output terminal of the matching circuit (3), wherein a middle point of the second bridge arm (M1/M3) is connected to a negative output terminal of the matching circuit (FIG. 5), and wherein the first controllable switching transistor (M2) is located in at least one of the first bridge arm and the second bridge arm (first bridge arm) (FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 24. Kim1 discloses that the controller is further configured to control the first controllable switching transistor to be switched on for the preset time period when the charging power is less than the preset power threshold (FIG. 7 – impedance is reduced when the gate signal is on; FIG. 8 illustrates that when the turn on time is low (T1 is the turn on time and T being the period), the impedance is high – when the turn-on time is high, the impedance is low, thus, when more power is needed (the difference is high), the impedance will be low and the turn-on time will be high).
Regarding claim 25. Kim1 discloses that the rectifier circuit (4) further comprises a second controllable switching transistor (M1), wherein the first controllable switching transistor (M2) is located in a first lower-half bridge arm of the first bridge arm (M2/M4), wherein the second controllable switching transistor is located in a second lower-half bridge arm of the second bridge arm (M1/M3), and wherein the controller (41) is further configured to:
control the first controllable switching transistor (M2) to be switched on for the preset time period when the charging power for the battery is less than the preset power threshold (FIG. 7; ¶60-61) and the alternating current received by the rectifier circuit is positive (FIG. 5 – connected to the positive output of the external matching element 3) (¶55- M1 and M2 are the active elements); and
control the second controllable switching transistor (M1) to be switched on for the preset time period when the charging power for the battery is less than the preset power threshold (FIG. 7; ¶60-61) and the alternating current received by the rectifier circuit is negative (FIG. 5 – connected to the negative output of the external matching element 3) (¶55- M1 and M2 are the active elements).
NOTE: the claim language includes conditional language (“when”) thus the device may be greater than the present power threshold and, thus, because the condition required in the claim does not occur, the claim limitations are met.
Regarding claim 26. Kim1 discloses that the rectifier circuit (4) is a full-bridge rectifier circuit (4) (¶79 – FETs connected in the form of a bridge) and further comprises a second controllable switching transistor (M1), a third controllable switching transistor (M4), and a fourth controllable switching transistor (M3), wherein the first controllable switching transistor (M2) is located in a lower-half bridge arm of the first bridge arm (M2/M4), wherein the second controllable switching transistor (M1) is located in a lower-half bridge arm of the second bridge arm (M1/M3), wherein the third controllable switching transistor (M4) is located in an upper-half bridge arm of the first bridge arm (M2/M4), wherein the fourth controllable switching transistor (M3) is located in an upper-half bridge arm of the second bridge arm (M1/M3), and wherein the controller is further configured to:
when the charging power for the battery is less than the preset power threshold (FIG. 7; ¶60-61) and the alternating current received by the rectifier circuit is positive (FIG. 5 – connected to the positive output of the external matching element 3), control the second controllable switching transistor (M1) to be switched on (¶49-50 – gate driver controls on/off of the switch resistance), control the fourth controllable switching transistor (M3) to be switched off (¶49-50 – gate driver controls on/off of the switch resistance), control the first controllable switching transistor (M2) to be switched on for the preset time period (¶49-50 – gate driver controls on/off of the switch resistance), and control the third controllable switching transistor (M4) to be switched on until the alternating current received by the rectifier circuit becomes zero (to make the current received zero, if the switch is turned off then the impedance is raised such that the current becomes zero ¶53 – “The parameter setting unit 63 may vary the input impedance of the active rectifier 4 by adjusting the turn-on time, gate voltage and/or switch resistance of each of the FET switches included in the active rectifier 4.”); and
when the charging power for the battery is less than the preset power threshold (FIG. 7; ¶60-61) and the alternating current received by the rectifier circuit is negative (FIG. 5 – connected to the negative output of the external matching element 3), control the third controllable switching transistor (M4) to be switched off (¶49-50 – gate driver controls on/off of the switch resistance), control the first controllable switching transistor (m2) to be switched on (¶49-50 – gate driver controls on/off of the switch resistance), control the second controllable switching transistor (M1) to be switched on for the preset time period (¶49-50 – gate driver controls on/off of the switch resistance), and control the fourth controllable switching transistor (m3) to be switched on until the alternating current received by the rectifier circuit becomes zero (to make the current received zero, if the switch is turned off then the impedance is raised such that the current becomes zero ¶53 – “The parameter setting unit 63 may vary the input impedance of the active rectifier 4 by adjusting the turn-on time, gate voltage and/or switch resistance of each of the FET switches included in the active rectifier 4.”).
NOTE: the claim language includes conditional language (“when”) thus the device may be greater than the present power threshold and, thus, because the condition required in the claim does not occur, the claim limitations are met.
Regarding claim 27. Kim1 discloses to the controller is further configured to obtain the charging power by obtaining a voltage and a charging current output by the rectifier circuit (204) calculate the charging power based on the direct-current bus voltage and the charging current (¶14 – “The output value may include an output voltage and an output current of the rectifier” - because the general equation for determining power is power = current x voltage, a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the charging power is determined using the voltage and current from the rectifier).
Because Kim1 does not specify the type of voltage, Kim1 does not explicitly teach that the voltage is a direct-current bus voltage.
Kim2 discloses that the output of the rectifier is a DC voltage as the output is sent to a DC/DC converter (FIG. 3a).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a DC voltage, as taught by Kim2 to calculate the charging power, as taught by Kim1, to provide batteries with a compatible charging voltage as batteries are commonly charged with a DC voltage.
Regarding claim 28. Kim1 does not explicitly teach that the controller is further configured to obtain the charging power directly from a charging control chip.
Kim2 teaches that the controller (360) is further configured to obtain the charging power directly from a charging control chip (¶89 – controller includes a multi-chip package and the controller detects changes to provide adjustments).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the controller details of Kim2 to the controller of Kim1 to illustrate details of a controller that control the charging power of the system.
Regarding claim 29. Kim1 discloses that the preset power threshold corresponds to a charging power at which the matching circuit operates at a rated power (¶53 – the rectifier is operated at a maximum power, thus, the amount of power received from the matching circuit 3 is the maximum power that can safely be delivered to the rectifier 4).
Regarding claim 30. Kim1 discloses that the preset time period increases as the charging power decreases (when the charging power decreases, the difference between the charging power and the power threshold increases, thus decreasing the resistance – as illustrated by FIG. 8B – when the resistance is decreased T1 increases).
Regarding claim 31. Kim1 discloses repeatedly obtaining the charging power and repeatedly adjusting the preset time period in real time during the wirelessly charging the battery (¶53 – the current output power is compared with the previous output power thus obtaining the charging power is repeated; the input impedance is varied by adjusting the turn on time).
Related Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Motoki et al. US5479336A discloses using a DC power-supply unit.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAMELA J JEPPSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859