DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 10-11, 15, 29, 31 and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al., US 2023/0254862 A1 (using foreign application priority date of February 9, 2022 corresponding to KR 17977869; referred to as Park hereinafter), in view of previously cited prior art (e.g., see Notice of Reference Cited of 08/29/2025) Hu et al., US 2025/0175972 A1 (using PCT application filing date of February 13, 2022 corresponding to PCT/CN2022/076125; referred to as Hu hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a first user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (Park, paragraph [0026], FIG. 15 shows another example of a wireless device, based on an embodiment of the present disclosure), comprising:
a memory (Park, paragraph [0214], For example, each of the wireless devices 100 and 200 may include a communication unit 110, a control unit 120, a memory unit 130, and additional components 140); and
one or more processors, coupled to the memory (Park, paragraph [0214], The communication unit may include a communication circuit 112 and transceiver(s) 114. For example, the communication circuit 112 may include the one or more processors 102 and 202 and/or the one or more memories 104 and 204 of FIG. 13), configured to:
transmit, to a second UE, an inter-UE coordination (IUC) request (Park, paragraph [0146], In step S820, the transmitting UE may transmit an IUC information request (i.e., IUC request) to the receiving UE) associated with a latency bound for IUC (Park, paragraph [0010], wherein the IUC information report may be triggered based on the IUC request, wherein the IUC report timer may be started based on the triggered IUC information report, wherein a timer value of the IUC report timer may be the same as the latency bound (i.e., transmitted/received IUC request is associated with a latency bound for IUC));
start an IUC timer after transmitting the IUC request (Park, paragraph [0146], In step S830, the receiving UE may trigger an IUC information reporting procedure based on a reception of the IUC information request (or the fulfillment of a condition related to the IUC information reporting procedure). In step S840, the receiving UE may start a timer for reporting the IUC information based on the triggered IUC information reporting procedure), wherein a duration of the IUC timer is based at least in part on a latency bound for the IUC (Park, paragraph [0005], starting an IUC report timer related to a transmission of IUC information, based on the triggered IUC information report, wherein a timer value (i.e., the duration of the timer) of the IUC report timer may be the same as the latency bound (i.e., a timer value based on the latency bound));
Regarding claim 10, Park discloses a first user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (Park, paragraph [0026], FIG. 15 shows another example of a wireless device, based on an embodiment of the present disclosure), comprising:
a memory (Park, paragraph [0214], For example, each of the wireless devices 100 and 200 may include a communication unit 110, a control unit 120, a memory unit 130, and additional components 140); and
one or more processors, coupled to the memory (Park, paragraph [0214], The communication unit may include a communication circuit 112 and transceiver(s) 114. For example, the communication circuit 112 may include the one or more processors 102 and 202 and/or the one or more memories 104 and 204 of FIG. 13), configured to: … start an IUC timer in response to receiving the IUC request (Park, paragraph [0146], In step S830, the receiving UE may trigger an IUC information reporting procedure based on a reception of the IUC information request (or the fulfillment of a condition related to the IUC information reporting procedure). In step S840, the receiving UE may start a timer for reporting the IUC information based on the triggered IUC information reporting procedure);
based on a determination that the IUC timer has expired, cancel transmission of an IUC response (Park, paragraph [0148], Also, for example, when a UE stops the timer for reporting (i.e., the IUC timer has expired) IUC information as described above, the UE may cancel the triggered reporting operation of the IUC information. Or, for example, the reporting operation of the triggered IUC information may be canceled when a timer for reporting the IUC information expires (i.e., cancel transmission of an IUC response when the IUC timer has expired);
Regarding claim 31, Park discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a first user equipment (UE) (Park, paragraph [0026], FIG. 15 shows another example of a wireless device, based on an embodiment of the present disclosure), comprising:
transmitting, to a second UE, an inter-UE coordination (IUC) request (Park, paragraph [0146], In step S820, the transmitting UE may transmit an IUC information request (i.e., IUC request) to the receiving UE) associated with a latency bound for IUC (Park, paragraph [0010], wherein the IUC information report may be triggered based on the IUC request, wherein the IUC report timer may be started based on the triggered IUC information report, wherein a timer value of the IUC report timer may be the same as the latency bound (i.e., transmitted/received IUC request is associated with a latency bound for IUC));
starting an IUC timer after transmitting the IUC request (Park, paragraph [0146], In step S830, the receiving UE may trigger an IUC information reporting procedure based on a reception of the IUC information request (or the fulfillment of a condition related to the IUC information reporting procedure). In step S840, the receiving UE may start a timer for reporting the IUC information based on the triggered IUC information reporting procedure), wherein a duration of the IUC timer is based at least in part on the latency bound for the IUC (Park, paragraph [0005], starting an IUC report timer related to a transmission of IUC information, based on the triggered IUC information report, wherein a timer value (i.e., the duration of the timer) of the IUC report timer may be the same as the latency bound (i.e., a timer value based on the latency bound));
Regarding claim 35, Park discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a first user equipment (UE) (Park, paragraph [0026], FIG. 15 shows another example of a wireless device, based on an embodiment of the present disclosure), comprising: … starting an IUC timer in response to receiving the IUC request (Park, paragraph [0146], In step S830, the receiving UE may trigger an IUC information reporting procedure based on a reception of the IUC information request (or the fulfillment of a condition related to the IUC information reporting procedure). In step S840, the receiving UE may start a timer for reporting the IUC information based on the triggered IUC information reporting procedure);
based on a determination that the IUC timer has expired, canceling transmission of an IUC response (Park, paragraph [0148], Also, for example, when a UE stops the timer for reporting (i.e., the IUC timer has expired) IUC information as described above, the UE may cancel the triggered reporting operation of the IUC information. Or, for example, the reporting operation of the triggered IUC information may be canceled when a timer for reporting the IUC information expires (i.e., cancel transmission of an IUC response when the IUC timer has expired));
Park does not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 1, transmit, to the second UE, the IUC request based at least in part on a resource selection window requirement.
Regarding claim 10, receive, from a second UE, an inter-UE coordination (IUC) request; … and
transmit the IUC response based on a determination that a latency corresponding to the IUC response transmission is less than the latency bound for IUC.
Regarding claim 31, transmitting the IUC request based at least in part on a resource selection window requirement.
Regarding claim 35, receiving, from a second UE, an inter-UE coordination (IUC) request; … and
transmitting the IUC response based on a determination that a latency corresponding to the IUC response transmission is less than the latency bound for IUC.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Hu discloses a method related to enabling communications between device that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 1, transmit, to the second UE, the IUC request based at least in part on a resource selection window requirement (Hu, paragraph [0026], the first UE may send multiple IUC requests to the second UE, and the second UE may respond to the requests collectively using a single MAC CE that includes multiple IUC information messages, a single MAC packet data unit (PDU) or a single transport block (TB) with multiple MAC CEs, or one MAC CE and IUC information message per request. The first UE may also implement a latency bound during which the second UE is to respond with the IUC information the latency bound may be configured based on signal latency and/or a processing gap, relative to a resource availability (e.g., a resource selection window), to ensure the IUC information message arrives at the first UE within time (i.e., first UE sends/transmit to the second UE IUC request based on a resource selection window). Also see paragraph [0111], the IUC information message is communicated to the other UE within a latency bound during which the other UE is configured to receive the IUC information message, the latency bound comprising a time requirement to respond to an IUC request message that comprises a resource selection window from the other UE).
Regarding claim 10, receive, from a second UE, an inter-UE coordination (IUC) request (Hu, paragraph [0020], In some implementations, UE 110-2 may send a MAC CE that includes a request (e.g., an IUC request) to UE 110-1 (at 120)) indicating a latency bound for IUC (Hu, paragraph [0024], when UE 110-2 communicates an IUC request to UE 110-1, the request may be sent in accordance with an onDuration of UE 110-1 in accordance with DRC. However, the IUC request may have a time or latency bound during which the IUC information may be received, which may not coincide with the onDuration of UE 110-2); … and
transmit the IUC response based on a determination that a latency corresponding to the IUC response transmission is less than the latency bound for IUC (Hu, paragraph [0057], As described herein, an IUC request message and an IUC response message (referred to herein at times as an "IUC information message") may be bound or dependent on one another, such that for example, an IUC information message, responding to an IUC request message, is to be transmitted and received within a specified duration of time. IUC information messages received after that specified duration are invalid (i.e., the transmitted IUC response is less than the latency bound and after the specified duration it becomes invalid)).
Regarding claim 31, transmitting the IUC request based at least in part on a resource selection window requirement (Hu, paragraph [0026], the first UE may send multiple IUC requests to the second UE, and the second UE may respond to the requests collectively using a single MAC CE that includes multiple IUC information messages, a single MAC packet data unit (PDU) or a single transport block (TB) with multiple MAC CEs, or one MAC CE and IUC information message per request. The first UE may also implement a latency bound during which the second UE is to respond with the IUC information the latency bound may be configured based on signal latency and/or a processing gap, relative to a resource availability (e.g., a resource selection window), to ensure the IUC information message arrives at the first UE within time (i.e., first UE sends/transmit to the second UE IUC request based on a resource selection window). Also see paragraph [0111], the IUC information message is communicated to the other UE within a latency bound during which the other UE is configured to receive the IUC information message, the latency bound comprising a time requirement to respond to an IUC request message that comprises a resource selection window from the other UE).
Regarding claim 35, receiving, from a second UE, an inter-UE coordination (IUC) request (Hu, paragraph [0020], In some implementations, UE 110-2 may send a MAC CE that includes a request (e.g., an IUC request) to UE 110-1 (at 120)) indicating a latency bound for IUC (Hu, paragraph [0024], when UE 110-2 communicates an IUC request to UE 110-1, the request may be sent in accordance with an onDuration of UE 110-1 in accordance with DRC. However, the IUC request may have a time or latency bound during which the IUC information may be received, which may not coincide with the onDuration of UE 110-2); … and
transmitting the IUC response based on a determination that a latency corresponding to the IUC response transmission is less than the latency bound for IUC (Hu, paragraph [0057], As described herein, an IUC request message and an IUC response message (referred to herein at times as an "IUC information message") may be bound or dependent on one another, such that for example, an IUC information message, responding to an IUC request message, is to be transmitted and received within a specified duration of time. IUC information messages received after that specified duration are invalid (i.e., the transmitted IUC response is less than the latency bound and after the specified duration it becomes invalid)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Park by using the features, as taught by Hu, in order to meet increasing demand for mobile data traffic using wireless communication networks 5G or new radio (NR), sixth generation (6G) technology and beyond (see Hu, paragraphs [0001]-[0002]).
Regarding claim 11, Park discloses wherein the IUC request indicates at least one of:
one or more preferred sidelink resource, one or more non-preferred sidelink resources, a priority, a resource selection window, or a periodicity (Park, paragraph [0097], in the case of request-based IUC, information on a selection window for resource set determination may be provided through a request message transmitted from UE B to UE A).
Regarding claim 15, Park discloses wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the IUC response, are configured to: transmit the IUC response in a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) (Park, paragraph [0103], Request-based IUC MAC CE: It may mean an IUC MAC CE that UE A transmits to UE B in response when UE A receives an IUC request MAC CE from UE B).
Regarding claim 29, Park discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: monitor, based at least in part on transmitting the IUC response prior to expiration of the IUC request timer (Park, paragraph [0110], UE A may operate a timer set to a latency bound (restriction of latency that must transmit IUC information within time), may have to transmit the IUC information MAC CE to UE B before the timer expires, that is, in a state in which transmission is triggered and has not yet been transmitted), for at least one of:
a unicast sidelink transmission from the second UE, a multicast sidelink transmission from the second UE, or a broadcast sidelink transmission from the second UE (Park, paragraph [0116], According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, a method is proposed in which a timer-based mechanism for transmitting IUC information of UE A is applied only when UE A meets a specific condition and the transmission cast type is unicast in a condition-based IUC operation (i.e. condition-based and unicast transmission)).
Claim(s) 2-9, 12-14 and 32-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al., US 2023/0254862 A1 (using foreign application priority date of February 9, 2022 corresponding to KR 17977869; referred to as Park hereinafter), in view of previously cited prior art (e.g., see Notice of Reference Cited of 08/29/2025) Hu et al., US 2025/0175972 A1 (using PCT application filing date of February 13, 2022 corresponding to PCT/CN2022/076125; referred to as Hu hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of Hui et al., US 2022/0330267 A1 (using US provisional application filing date of April 5, 2021 related to provisional application 63/170,612; referred to as Hui hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claims 2-9, 12-14 and 32-34, Park and Hu disclose the first UE of claim 1, the first UE of claim 11 and the method of claim 31.
Regarding claim 6, Park discloses wherein the one or more processors, to receive the IUC response, are configured to:
receive the IUC response in a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) (Park, paragraph [0103], Request-based IUC MAC CE: It may mean an IUC MAC CE that UE A transmits to UE B in response when UE A receives an IUC request MAC CE from UE B).
Park and Hu do not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 2, wherein one the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, from the second UE, an IUC response,
wherein the IUC request indicates at least one of:
one or more sidelink carriers,
one or more sidelink bandwidth parts (BWPs), or
one or more sidelink resource pools; and
wherein the IUC response indicates at least one of:
one or more sidelink time domain resources associated with at least one of the one or more sidelink carriers, the one or more sidelink BWPs, or the one or more sidelink resource pools, or one or more sidelink frequency domain resources associated with at least one of the one or more sidelink carriers, the one or more sidelink BWPs, or the one or more sidelink resource pools.
Regarding claim 3, wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the IUC request, are configured to:
transmit the IUC request in a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE); wherein the IUC request indicates the one or more sidelink carriers; and
wherein the one or more sidelink carriers are indicated in the MAC-CE in one or more sidelink carrier index fields in the MAC-CE.
Regarding claim 4, wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the IUC request, are configured to:
transmit the IUC request in a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE);
wherein the IUC request indicates the one or more sidelink BWPs; and
wherein the one or more sidelink BWPs are indicated in the MAC-CE in one or more sidelink BWP identifier fields in the MAC-CE.
Regarding claim 5, wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the IUC request, are configured to:
transmit the IUC request in a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE);
wherein the IUC request indicates the one or more sidelink resource pools; and
wherein the one or more sidelink resource pools are indicated in the MAC-CE in one or more sidelink resource pools identifier fields in the MAC-CE.
Regarding claim 7, wherein the IUC request indicates the one or more sidelink carriers;
wherein the IUC response is received in a MAC-CE; and
wherein at least one of:
a sidelink BWP identifier field in the MAC-CE indicates a sidelink BWP in which at least one of the one or more sidelink time domain resources are included or the one or more sidelink frequency domain resources are included, or a sidelink resource pool identifier field in the MAC-CE indicates a sidelink resource pool in which at least one of the one or more sidelink time domain resources are included or the one or more sidelink frequency domain resources are included.
Regarding claim 8, wherein the IUC request indicates the one or more sidelink BWPs;
wherein the IUC response is received in a MAC-CE: and
wherein at least one of:
a sidelink carrier index field in the MAC-CE indicates a sidelink carrier in which at least one of the one or more sidelink time domain resources are included or the one or more sidelink frequency domain resources are included, or a sidelink resource pool identifier field in the MAC-CE indicates a sidelink resource pool in which at least one of the one or more sidelink time domain resources are included or the one or more sidelink frequency domain resources are included.
Regarding claim 9, wherein the IUC request indicates the one or more sidelink resource pools;
wherein the IUC response is received in a MAC-CE; and
wherein at least one of:
a sidelink carrier index field in the MAC-CE indicates a sidelink carrier in which at least one of the one or more sidelink time domain resources are included or the one or more sidelink frequency domain resources are included, or a sidelink BWP identifier field in the MAC-CE indicates a sidelink BWP in which at least one of the one or more sidelink time domain resources are included or the one or more sidelink frequency domain resources are included.
Regarding claim 12, wherein the one or more processors, to receive the IUC request, are configured to:
receive the IUC request in a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE);
wherein the IUC request indicates the one or more sidelink carriers; and
wherein the one or more sidelink carriers are indicated in the MAC-CE in one or more sidelink carrier index fields in the MAC-CE.
Regarding claim 13, wherein the one or more processors, to receive the IUC request, are configured to:
receive the IUC request in a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE);
wherein the IUC request indicates the one or more sidelink BWPs; and
wherein the one or more sidelink BWPs are indicated in the MAC-CE in one or more sidelink BWP identifier fields in the MAC-CE.
Regarding claim 14, wherein the one or more processors, to receive the IUC request, are configured to:
receive the IUC request in a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE);
wherein the IUC request indicates the one or more sidelink resource pools; and
wherein the one or more sidelink resource pools are indicated in the MAC-CE in one or more sidelink resource pools identifier fields in the MAC-CE.
Regarding claim 32, further comprising: receiving, from the second UE, an IUC response, wherein the IUC request indicates at least one of:
one or more sidelink carriers, one or more sidelink bandwidth parts (BWPs), or one or more sidelink resource pools; and
wherein the IUC response indicates at least one of:
one or more sidelink time domain resources associated with at least one of the one or more sidelink carriers, the one or more sidelink BWPs, or the one or more sidelink resource pools, or one or more sidelink frequency domain resources associated with at least one of the one or more sidelink carriers, the one or more sidelink BWPs, or the one or more sidelink resource pools.
Regarding claim 33, wherein transmitting the IUC request further comprises:
transmitting the IUC request in a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE);
wherein the IUC request indicates the one or more sidelink carriers; and
wherein the one or more sidelink carriers are indicated in the MAC-CE in one or more sidelink carrier index fields in the MAC-CE.
Regarding claim 34, wherein transmitting the IUC request comprises:
transmitting the IUC request in a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE);
wherein the IUC request indicates the one or more sidelink BWPs; and
wherein the one or more sidelink BWPs are indicated in the MAC-CE in one or more sidelink BWP identifier fields in the MAC-CE.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Hui discloses a method related to inter-UE coordination (IUC) that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 2, wherein one the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, from the second UE, an IUC response (Hui, paragraph [0323], the first wireless device may send, to the second wireless device, a request message for the inter-UE coordination … the first wireless device may send, to the second wireless device, a request message for the inter-UE coordination. In an example, the second wireless device may trigger the inter-UE coordination based on a triggering condition … The second wireless device may send, to the first wireless device, a first coordination/ assistance information comprising the second set of resources), wherein the IUC request indicates (Hui, paragraph [0323], the first wireless device may send, to the second wireless device, a request message for the inter-UE coordination) at least one of:
one or more sidelink carriers,
one or more sidelink bandwidth parts (BWPs), or
one or more sidelink resource pools (Hui, paragraph [0323], the first wireless device may send, to the second wireless device, a request message for the inter-UE coordination. In an example, the second wireless device may trigger the inter-UE coordination based on a triggering condition. The second wireless device may perform, based on the request message and/or the triggering condition, a second resource selection procedure for selecting a second set of resources (i.e., one or more sidelink carriers/BWPs) for the one or more first sidelink transmissions by the first wireless device. Also see paragraph [0121], NR defines bandwidth parts (BWPs) to support UEs not capable of receiving the full carrier bandwidth and to support bandwidth adaptation. In an example, a BWP may be defined by a subset of contiguous RBs on a carrier); and
wherein the IUC response indicates at least one of:
one or more sidelink time domain resources associated with at least one of the one or more sidelink carriers, the one or more sidelink BWPs, or the one or more sidelink resource pools, or one or more sidelink frequency domain resources associated with at least one of the one or more sidelink carriers, the one or more sidelink BWPs, or the one or more sidelink resource pools (Hui, paragraph [0323], the first wireless device may send, to the second wireless device, a request message for the inter-UE coordination. In an example, the second wireless device may trigger the inter-UE coordination based on a triggering condition. The second wireless device may perform, based on the request message and/or the triggering condition, a second resource selection procedure for selecting a second set of resources (i.e., one or more sidelink carriers) for the one or more first sidelink transmissions by the first wireless device. Also see paragraph [0230]-[0231], The resource pool may be continuous or non-continuous in the frequency domain and/or the time domain (for example, comprising contiguous resource units or non-contiguous resource units) … Sidelink resource pools may be arranged in any suitable manner. In the figure, the example resource pool is non-contiguous in the time domain and confined to a single sidelink BWP).
Regarding claim 3, wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the IUC request (Hui, paragraph [0323], the first wireless device may send, to the second wireless device, a request message for the inter-UE coordination), are configured to:
transmit the IUC request in a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) (Hui, paragraph [0376], FIG. 32 illustrates an example of information indicated in a coordination/assistance information for an inter-UE coordination. A coordination/assistance information for an inter-UE coordination may be conveyed by an RRC, MAC CE, and/or SCI); wherein the IUC request indicates the one or more sidelink carriers (Hui, paragraph [0323], the first wireless device may send, to the second wireless device, a request message for the inter-UE coordination. In an example, the second wireless device may trigger the inter-UE coordination based on a triggering condition. The second wireless device may perform, based on the request message and/or the triggering condition, a second resource selection procedure for selecting a second set of resources (i.e., one or more sidelink carriers) for the one or more first sidelink transmissions by the first wireless device); and
wherein the one or more sidelink carriers are indicated in the MAC-CE in one or more sidelink carrier index fields in the MAC-CE (Hui, paragraph [0376], the RRC, MAC CE, and/or SCI may comprise at least one field indicating a SCI format of a first stage of the SCI. The at least one field may indicate a set of resources for a requesting wireless device of the inter-UE coordination. The at least one field may indicate a flag. The flag may indicate whether the set of resources (i.e., resource/carrier index) being a set of preferred resources or a set of non-preferred resources).
Regarding claim 4, wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the IUC request (Hui, paragraph [0323], the first wireless device may send, to the second wireless device, a request message for the inter-UE coordination), are configured to:
transmit the IUC request in a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) (Hui, paragraph [0376], FIG. 32 illustrates an example of information indicated in a coordination/assistance information for an inter-UE coordination. A coordination/assistance information for an inter-UE coordination may be conveyed by an RRC, MAC CE, and/or SCI);
wherein the IUC request indicates the one or more sidelink BWPs (Hui, paragraph [0323], the first wireless device may send, to the second wireless device, a request message for the inter-UE coordination. In an example, the second wireless device may trigger the inter-UE coordination based on a triggering condition. The second wireless device may perform, based on the request message and/or the triggering condition, a second resource selection procedure for selecting a second set of resources (i.e., one or more sidelink carriers/BWPs) for the one or more first sidelink transmissions by the first wireless device. Also see paragraph [0121], NR defines bandwidth parts (BWPs) to support UEs not capable of receiving the full carrier bandwidth and to support bandwidth adaptation. In an example, a BWP may be defined by a subset of contiguous RBs on a carrier); and
wherein the one or more sidelink BWPs are indicated in the MAC-CE in one or more sidelink BWP identifier fields in the MAC-CE (Hui, paragraph [0376], the RRC, MAC CE, and/or SCI may comprise at least one field indicating a SCI format of a first stage of the SCI. The at least one field may indicate a set of resources for a requesting wireless device of the inter-UE coordination. The at least one field may indicate a flag. The flag may indicate whether the set of resources (i.e., resource/carrier index) being a set of preferred resources or a set of non-preferred resources. Also see paragraph [0121], NR defines bandwidth parts (BWPs) to support UEs not capable of receiving the full carrier bandwidth and to support bandwidth adaptation. In an example, a BWP may be defined by a subset of contiguous RBs on a carrier (i.e., resource/carrier/BWP)).
Regarding claim 5, wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the IUC request (Hui, paragraph [0323], the first wireless device may send, to the second wireless device, a request message for the inter-UE coordination), are configured to:
transmit the IUC request in a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) (Hui, paragraph [0376], FIG. 32 illustrates an example of information indicated in a coordination/assistance information for an inter-UE coordination. A coordination/assistance information for an inter-UE coordination may be conveyed by an RRC, MAC CE, and/or SCI);
wherein the IUC request indicates the one or more sidelink resource pool (Hui, paragraph [0323], the first wireless device may send, to the second wireless device, a request message for the inter-UE coordination. In an example, the second wireless device may trigger the inter-UE coordination based on a triggering condition. The second wireless device may perform, based on the request message and/or the triggering condition, a second resource selection procedure for selecting a second set of resources (i.e., one or more sidelink carriers) for the one or more first sidelink transmissions by the first wireless device. Also see paragraph [0231], Sidelink resource pools may be arranged in any suitable manner. In the figure, the example resource pool is non-contiguous in the time domain and confined to a single sidelink BWP); and
wherein the one or more sidelink resource pools are indicated in the MAC-CE in one or more sidelink resource pools identifier fields in the MAC-CE (Hui, paragraph [0376], the RRC, MAC CE, and/or SCI may comprise at least one field indicating a SCI format of a first stage of the SCI. The at least one field may indicate a set of resources for a requesting wireless device of the inter-UE coordination. The at least one field may indicate a flag. The flag may indicate whether the set of resources (i.e., resource/carrier index) being a set of preferred resources or a set of non-preferred resources. Also see paragraph [0121], NR defines bandwidth parts (BWPs) to support UEs not capable of receiving the full carrier bandwidth and to support bandwidth adaptation. In an example, a BWP may be defined by a subset of contiguous RBs on a carrier (i.e., resource/carrier/BWP) and paragraph [0231], Sidelink resource pools may be arranged in any suitable manner. In the figure, the example resource pool is non-contiguous in the time domain and confined to a single sidelink BWP).
Regarding claim 7, wherein the IUC request indicates the one or more sidelink carriers;
wherein the IUC response is received in a MAC-CE (Hui, paragraph [0342]-[0343], In response to the triggering of the first inter-UE coordination (i.e., IUC request), the second wireless device may select a second set of resources for the first inter-UE coordination … The second wireless device may transmit, to the first wireless device (i.e., IUC response), a first coordination/assistance information comprising/indicating the second set of resources. An RRC, MAC CE, and/or SCI may be a container of the first coordination/assistance information (i.e., IUC response is received in a MAC-CE)); and
wherein at least one of:
a sidelink BWP identifier field in the MAC-CE indicates a sidelink BWP in which at least one of the one or more sidelink time domain resources are included or the one or more sidelink frequency domain resources are included, or a sidelink resource pool identifier field in the MAC-CE indicates a sidelink resource pool in which at least one of the one or more sidelink time domain resources are included or the one or more sidelink frequency domain resources are included (Hui, paragraph [0323], the first wireless device may send, to the second wireless device, a request message for the inter-UE coordination. In an example, the second wireless device may trigger the inter-UE coordination based on a triggering condition. The second wireless device may perform, based on the request message and/or the triggering condition, a second resource selection procedure for selecting a second set of resources (i.e., one or more sidelink carriers) for the one or more first sidelink transmissions by the first wireless device. Also see paragraph [0230]-[0231], The resource pool may be continuous or non-continuous in the frequency domain and/or the time domain (for example, comprising contiguous resource units or non-contiguous resource units) … Sidelink resource pools may be arranged in any suitable manner. In the figure, the example resource pool is non-contiguous in the time domain and confined to a single sidelink BWP).
Regarding claim 8, wherein the IUC request indicates the one or more sidelink BWPs (Hui, paragraph [0130], FIG. 9 illustrates an example of bandwidth adaptation using three configured BWPs for an NR carrier. AUE configured with the three BWPs may switch from one BWP to another BWP at a switching point. Also see abstract, A method for inter-UE coordination is disclosed. The method includes transmitting, by a first wireless device to a second wireless device, a request message for a set of resources for a sidelink transmission by the first wireless device);
wherein the IUC response is received in a MAC-CE (Hui, paragraph [0373], In response to the receiving of the first coordination/assistance information ( e.g., the first coordination/assistance information may be conveyed by a RRC, MAC CE, and/or SCI) and/or the second SCI): and
wherein at least one of:
a sidelink carrier index field in the MAC-CE indicates a sidelink carrier in which at least one of the one or more sidelink time domain resources are included or the one or more sidelink frequency domain resources are included, or a sidelink resource pool identifier field in the MAC-CE indicates a sidelink resource pool in which at least one of the one or more sidelink time domain resources are included or the one or more sidelink frequency domain resources are included (Hui, paragraph [0323], the first wireless device may send, to the second wireless device, a request message for the inter-UE coordination. In an example, the second wireless device may trigger the inter-UE coordination based on a triggering condition. The second wireless device may perform, based on the request message and/or the triggering condition, a second resource selection procedure for selecting a second set of resources (i.e., one or more sidelink carriers) for the one or more first sidelink transmissions by the first wireless device. Also see paragraph [0230]-[0231], The resource pool may be continuous or non-continuous in the frequency domain and/or the time domain (for example, comprising contiguous resource units or non-contiguous resource units) … Sidelink resource pools may be arranged in any suitable manner. In the figure, the example resource pool is non-contiguous in the time domain and confined to a single sidelink BWP).
Regarding claim 9, wherein the IUC request indicates the one or more sidelink resource pools (Hui, paragraphs [0364] The first wireless device may be a first requesting wireless device of a first inter-UE coordination. The second wireless device may be a first coordinating wireless device of the first inter-UE coordination. Also see paragraph [0366], In response to the triggering of the first inter-UE coordination, the second wireless device may select a second set of resources for the first inter-UE coordination. The second wireless device may transmit, to the first wireless device, a first coordination/assistance information comprising/indicating the second set of resources);
wherein the IUC response is received in a MAC-CE (Hui, paragraph [0342]-[0343], In response to the triggering of the first inter-UE coordination (i.e., IUC request), the second wireless device may select a second set of resources for the first inter-UE coordination … The second wireless device may transmit, to the first wireless device (i.e., IUC response), a first coordination/assistance information comprising/indicating the second set of resources. An RRC, MAC CE, and/or SCI may be a container of the first coordination/assistance information (i.e., IUC response is received in a MAC-CE)); and
wherein at least one of:
a sidelink carrier index field in the MAC-CE indicates a sidelink carrier in which at least one of the one or more sidelink time domain resources are included or the one or more sidelink frequency domain resources are included, or a sidelink BWP identifier field in the MAC-CE indicates a sidelink BWP in which at least one of the one or more sidelink time domain resources are included or the one or more sidelink frequency domain resources are included (Hui, paragraph [0323], the first wireless device may send, to the second wireless device, a request message for the inter-UE coordination. In an example, the second wireless device may trigger the inter-UE coordination based on a triggering condition. The second wireless device may perform, based on the request message and/or the triggering condition, a second resource selection procedure for selecting a second set of resources (i.e., one or more sidelink carriers) for the one or more first sidelink transmissions by the first wireless device. Also see paragraph [0230]-[0231], The resource pool may be continuous or non-continuous in the frequency domain and/or the time domain (for example, comprising contiguous resource units or non-contiguous resource units) … Sidelink resource pools may be arranged in any suitable manner. In the figure, the example resource pool is non-contiguous in the time domain and confined to a single sidelink BWP).
Regarding claim 12, wherein the one or more processors, to receive the IUC request (Hui, paragraph [0323], the first wireless device may send, to the second wireless device, a request message for the inter-UE coordination), are configured to:
receive the IUC request in a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) (Hui, paragraph [0376], FIG. 32 illustrates an example of information indicated in a coordination/assistance information for an inter-UE coordination. A coordination/assistance information for an inter-UE coordination may be conveyed by an RRC, MAC CE, and/or SCI. The RRC, MAC CE, and/or SCI may comprise at least one field indicating a SCI format of a first stage of the SCI. The at least one field may indicate a set of resources for a requesting wireless device of the inter-UE coordination);
wherein the IUC request indicates the one or more sidelink carriers (Hui, paragraph [0323], the first wireless device may send, to the second wireless device, a request message for the inter-UE coordination. In an example, the second wireless device may trigger the inter-UE coordination based on a triggering condition. The second wireless device may perform, based on the request message and/or the triggering condition, a second resource selection procedure for selecting a second set of resources (i.e., one or more sidelink carriers) for the one or more first sidelink transmissions by the first wireless device); and
wherein the one or more sidelink carriers are indicated in the MAC-CE in one or more sidelink carrier index fields in the MAC-CE (Hui, paragraph [0376], the RRC, MAC CE, and/or SCI may comprise at least one field indicating a SCI format of a first stage of the SCI. The at least one field may indicate a set of resources for a requesting wireless device of the inter-UE coordination. The at least one field may indicate a flag. The flag may indicate whether the set of resources (i.e., resource/carrier index) being a set of preferred resources or a set of non-preferred resources).
Regarding claim 13, wherein the one or more processors, to receive the IUC request (Hui, paragraph [0323], the first wireless device may send, to the second wireless device, a request message for the inter-UE coordination), are configured to:
receive the IUC request in a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) (Hui, paragraph [0376], FIG. 32 illustrates an example of information indicated in a coordination/assistance information for an inter-UE coordination. A coordination/assistance information for an inter-UE coordination may be conveyed by an RRC, MAC CE, and/or SCI. The RRC, MAC CE, and/or SCI may comprise at least one field indicating a SCI format of a first stage of the SCI. The at least one field may indicate a set of resources for a requesting wireless device of the inter-UE coordination);
wherein the IUC request indicates the one or more sidelink BWPs (Hui, paragraph [0323], the first wireless device may send, to the second wireless device, a request message for the inter-UE coordination. In an example, the second wireless device may trigger the inter-UE coordination based on a triggering condition. The second wireless device may perform, based on the request message and/or the triggering condition, a second resource selection procedure for selecting a second set of resources (i.e., one or more sidelink carriers/BWPs) for the one or more first sidelink transmissions by the first wireless device. Also see paragraph [0121], NR defines bandwidth parts (BWPs) to support UEs not capable of receiving the full carrier bandwidth and to support bandwidth adaptation. In an example, a BWP may be defined by a subset of contiguous RBs on a carrier); and
wherein the one or more sidelink BWPs are indicated in the MAC-CE in one or more sidelink BWP identifier fields in the MAC-CE (Hui, paragraph [0376], the RRC, MAC CE, and/or SCI may comprise at least one field indicating a SCI format of a first stage of the SCI. The at least one field may indicate a set of resources for a requesting wireless device of the inter-UE coordination. The at least one field may indicate a flag. The flag may indicate whether the set of resources (i.e., resource/carrier index) being a set of preferred resources or a set of non-preferred resources. Also see paragraph [0121], NR defines bandwidth parts (BWPs) to support UEs not capable of receiving the full carrier bandwidth and to support bandwidth adaptation. In an example, a BWP may be defined by a subset of contiguous RBs on a carrier (i.e., resource/carrier/BWP)).
Regarding claim 14, wherein the one or more processors, to receive the IUC request (Hui, paragraph [0323], the first wireless device may send, to the second wireless device, a request message for the inter-UE coordination), are configured to:
receive the IUC request in a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) (Hui, paragraph [0376], FIG. 32 illustrates an example of information indicated in a coordination/assistance information for an inter-UE coordination. A coordination/assistance information for an inter-UE coordination may be conveyed by an RRC, MAC CE, and/or SCI. The RRC, MAC CE, and/or SCI may comprise at least one field indicating a SCI format of a first stage of the SCI. The at least one field may indicate a set of resources for a requesting wireless device of the inter-UE coordination);
wherein the IUC request indicates the one or more sidelink resource pools (Hui, paragraph [0323], the first wireless device may send, to the second wireless device, a request message for the inter-UE coordination. In an example, the second wireless device may trigger the inter-UE coordination based on a triggering condition. The second wireless device may perform, based on the request message and/or the triggering condition, a second resource selection procedure for selecting a second set of resources (i.e., one or more sidelink carriers) for the one or more first sidelink transmissions by the first wireless device. Also see paragraph [0231], Sidelink resource pools may be arranged in any suitable manner. In the figure, the example resource pool is non-contiguous in the time domain and confined to a single sidelink BWP); and
wherein the one or more sidelink resource pools are indicated in the MAC-CE in one or more sidelink resource pools identifier fields in the MAC-CE (Hui, paragraph [0376], the RRC, MAC CE, and/or SCI may comprise at least one field indicating a SCI format of a first stage of the SCI. The at least one field may indicate a set of resources for a requesting wireless device of the inter-UE coordination. The at least one field may indicate a flag. The flag may indicate whether the set of resources (i.e., resource/carrier index) being a set of preferred resources or a set of non-preferred resources. Also see paragraph [0121], NR defines bandwidth parts (BWPs) to support UEs not capable of receiving the full carrier bandwidth and to support bandwidth adaptation. In an example, a BWP may be defined by a subset of contiguous RBs on a carrier (i.e., resource/carrier/BWP) and paragraph [0231], Sidelink resource pools may be arranged in any suitable manner. In the figure, the example resource pool is non-contiguous in the time domain and confined to a single sidelink BWP).
Regarding claim 32, further comprising: receiving, from the second UE, an IUC response (Hui, paragraph [0323], the first wireless device may send, to the second wireless device, a request message for the inter-UE coordination … the first wireless device may send, to the second wireless device, a request message for the inter-UE coordination. In an example, the second wireless device may trigger the inter-UE coordination based on a triggering condition … The second wireless device may send, to the first wireless device, a first coordination/ assistance information comprising the second set of resources), wherein the IUC request indicates (Hui, paragraph [0323], the first wireless device may send, to the second wireless device, a request message for the inter-UE coordination) at least one of:
one or more sidelink carriers, one or more sidelink bandwidth parts (BWPs), or one or more sidelink resource pools (Hui, paragraph [0323], the first wireless device may send, to the second wireless device, a request message for the inter-UE coordination. In an example, the second wireless device may trigger the inter-UE coordination based on a triggering condition. The second wireless device may perform, based on the request message and/or the triggering condition, a second resource selection procedure for selecting a second set of resources (i.e., one or more sidelink carriers/BWPs) for the one or more first sidelink transmissions by the first wireless device. Also see paragraph [0121], NR defines bandwidth parts (BWPs) to support UEs not capable of receiving the full carrier bandwidth and to support bandwidth adaptation. In an example, a BWP may be defined by a subset of contiguous RBs on a carrier); and
wherein the IUC response indicates at least one of:
one or more sidelink time domain resources associated with at least one of the one or more sidelink carriers, the one or more sidelink BWPs, or the one or more sidelink resource pools, or one or more sidelink frequency domain resources associated with at least one of the one or more sidelink carriers, the one or more sidelink BWPs, or the one or more sidelink resource pools (Hui, paragraph [0325], Embodiments of the present disclosure enables the third wireless device not to select resources in the second set of resources. In an example embodiment, in response to receiving a first set of resources for inter-UE coordination (i.e., IUC response), a wireless device may exclude the first set of resources from a candidate resource set. The wireless device may select a second set of resource from the candidate resource set after the excluding of the first set of resources … The wireless device may determine the RSRP threshold based on a priority associated with the first set of resources. In an example embodiment, a RRC, MAC CE, and/or SCI may comprise/indicate a set of resources for inter-UE coordination).
Regarding claim 33, wherein transmitting the IUC request (Hui, paragraph [0323], the first wireless device may send, to the second wireless device, a request message for the inter-UE coordination) further comprises:
transmitting the IUC request in a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) (Hui, paragraph [0376], FIG. 32 illustrates an example of information indicated in a coordination/assistance information for an inter-UE coordination. A coordination/assistance information for an inter-UE coordination may be conveyed by an RRC, MAC CE, and/or SCI. The RRC, MAC CE, and/or SCI may comprise at least one field indicating a SCI format of a first stage of the SCI. The at least one field may indicate a set of resources for a requesting wireless device of the inter-UE coordination);
wherein the IUC request indicates the one or more sidelink carriers (Hui, paragraph [0323], the first wireless device may send, to the second wireless device, a request message for the inter-UE coordination. In an example, the second wireless device may trigger the inter-UE coordination based on a triggering condition. The second wireless device may perform, based on the request message and/or the triggering condition, a second resource selection procedure for selecting a second set of resources (i.e., one or more sidelink carriers) for the one or more first sidelink transmissions by the first wireless device); and
wherein the one or more sidelink carriers are indicated in the MAC-CE in one or more sidelink carrier index fields in the MAC-CE (Hui, paragraph [0376], the RRC, MAC CE, and/or SCI may comprise at least one field indicating a SCI format of a first stage of the SCI. The at least one field may indicate a set of resources for a requesting wireless device of the inter-UE coordination. The at least one field may indicate a flag. The flag may indicate whether the set of resources (i.e., resource/carrier index) being a set of preferred resources or a set of non-preferred resources).
Regarding claim 34, wherein transmitting the IUC request comprises:
transmitting the IUC request in a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) (Hui, paragraph [0376], FIG. 32 illustrates an example of information indicated in a coordination/assistance information for an inter-UE coordination. A coordination/assistance information for an inter-UE coordination may be conveyed by an RRC, MAC CE, and/or SCI. The RRC, MAC CE, and/or SCI may comprise at least one field indicating a SCI format of a first stage of the SCI. The at least one field may indicate a set of resources for a requesting wireless device of the inter-UE coordination);
wherein the IUC request indicates the one or more sidelink BWPs (Hui, paragraph [0323], the first wireless device may send, to the second wireless device, a request message for the inter-UE coordination. In an example, the second wireless device may trigger the inter-UE coordination based on a triggering condition. The second wireless device may perform, based on the request message and/or the triggering condition, a second resource selection procedure for selecting a second set of resources (i.e., one or more sidelink carriers/BWPs) for the one or more first sidelink transmissions by the first wireless device. Also see paragraph [0121], NR defines bandwidth parts (BWPs) to support UEs not capable of receiving the full carrier bandwidth and to support bandwidth adaptation. In an example, a BWP may be defined by a subset of contiguous RBs on a carrier); and
wherein the one or more sidelink BWPs are indicated in the MAC-CE in one or more sidelink BWP identifier fields in the MAC-CE (Hui, paragraph [0376], the RRC, MAC CE, and/or SCI may comprise at least one field indicating a SCI format of a first stage of the SCI. The at least one field may indicate a set of resources for a requesting wireless device of the inter-UE coordination. The at least one field may indicate a flag. The flag may indicate whether the set of resources (i.e., resource/carrier index) being a set of preferred resources or a set of non-preferred resources. Also see paragraph [0121], NR defines bandwidth parts (BWPs) to support UEs not capable of receiving the full carrier bandwidth and to support bandwidth adaptation. In an example, a BWP may be defined by a subset of contiguous RBs on a carrier (i.e., resource/carrier/BWP)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Park and Hu by using the features, as taught by Hui, in order to support improve network efficiency and efficiently solve the hidden node problem at a desired receiver (see Hui, paragraph [0326]).
Claim(s) 17-19, 23 28 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al., US 2023/0254862 A1 (using foreign application priority date of February 9, 2022 corresponding to KR 17977869; referred to as Park hereinafter), in view of previously cited prior art (e.g., see Notice of Reference Cited of 08/29/2025) Hu et al., US 2025/0175972 A1 (using PCT application filing date of February 13, 2022 corresponding to PCT/CN2022/076125; referred to as Hu hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of Du et al., US 2023/0180215 A1 (using continuation of PCT application filing date of May 10, 2021 corresponding to PCT/CN21/92616; referred to as Du hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claims 17-19, 23, 28 and 30, Park and Hu disclose the first UE of claim 1, the first UE of claim 10. Park and Hu do not explicitly disclose the following features.
Park and Hu do not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 17, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
selectively transmit, to the second UE, a second IUC request based at least in part on whether the IUC timer expires prior to the first UE receiving an IUC response from the second UE for the IUC request.
Regarding claim 18, wherein the one or more processors, to selectively transmit the second IUC request, are configured to:
transmit the second IUC request based at least in part on the IUC timer expiring prior to receiving an IUC response from the second UE for the IUC request.
Regarding claim 19, wherein the IUC request further indicates at least one of:
a priority,
a resource selection window, or
a periodicity.
Regarding claim 23, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
transmit, to the second UE, a sidelink configuration that indicates one or more parameters associated with the IUC timer.
Regarding claim 28, wherein the IUC response indicates at least one of:
one or more preferred sidelink resources, or one or more non-preferred sidelink resources.
Regarding claim 30, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, from the second UE, a sidelink configuration that indicates one or more parameters associated with the IUC request timer.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Du discloses a method related to sidelink communication that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 17, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
selectively transmit, to the second UE, a second IUC request based at least in part on whether the IUC timer expires prior to the first UE receiving an IUC response from the second UE for the IUC request (Du, paragraph [0031], The UE-B may request assistance information for transmission resource selection from a UE-A via an inter-UE coordination process. Specifically, the UE-B may send an inter-UE coordination request to the UE-A when certain conditions are met, for example, when a periodical timer expires, or when the assistance information is considered to be stale).
Regarding claim 18, wherein the one or more processors, to selectively transmit the second IUC request, are configured to:
transmit the second IUC request based at least in part on the IUC timer expiring prior to receiving an IUC response from the second UE for the IUC request (Du, paragraph [0082], If the TX UE receives no reply for an inter-UE coordination request. For example, the TX UE may start another timer once an inter-UE coordination request is transmitted to a UE-A. Once the timer expires, TX UE retransmits the inter-UE coordination request, and the TX UE stops the timer once TX UE receives the assistance information from UE-A).
Regarding claim 19, wherein the IUC request further indicates at least one of:
a priority,
a resource selection window, or
a periodicity (Du, paragraph [0009], Performed by a first UE, the method may include comprising initiating an inter-UE coordination to a second UE in response to at least one of following conditions being satisfied: a priority or a reliability requirement of a sidelink data to be transmitted being higher than a pre-configured threshold. Also see paragraph [0031], Specifically, the UE-B may send an inter-UE coordination request to the UE-A when certain conditions are met, for example, when a periodical timer expires, or when the assistance information is considered to be stale).
Regarding claim 23, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
transmit, to the second UE, a sidelink configuration that indicates one or more parameters associated with the IUC timer (Du, paragraph [0031], The UE-B may request assistance information for transmission resource selection from a UE-A via an inter-UE coordination process. Specifically, the UE-B may send an inter-UE coordination request to the UE-A when certain conditions are met (i.e., parameters associated with inter-UE request timer), for example, when a periodical timer expires, or when the assistance information is considered to be stale).
Regarding claim 28, wherein the IUC response indicates at least one of:
one or more preferred sidelink resources, or one or more non-preferred sidelink resources (Du, paragraph [0010], the method may include at least one of: in response to the transmission resource being in a set of preferred resources provided by the second UE … in response to the transmission resource being not in a set of non-preferred resources provided by the second UE).
Regarding claim 30, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, from the second UE, a sidelink configuration that indicates one or more parameters associated with the IUC request timer (Du, paragraph [0031], The UE-B may request assistance information for transmission resource selection from a UE-A via an inter-UE coordination process. Specifically, the UE-B may send an inter-UE coordination request to the UE-A when certain conditions are met (i.e., parameters associated with inter-UE request timer), for example, when a periodical timer expires, or when the assistance information is considered to be stale).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Park and Hu by using the features, as taught by Du, in order to support method for reducing power consumption and increasing battery life in mobile devices using sidelink communication (see Du, paragraph [0003]).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al., US 2023/0254862 A1 (using foreign application priority date of February 9, 2022 corresponding to KR 17977869; referred to as Park hereinafter), in view of previously cited prior art (e.g., see Notice of Reference Cited of 08/29/2025) Hu et al., US 2025/0175972 A1 (using PCT application filing date of February 13, 2022 corresponding to PCT/CN2022/076125; referred to as Hu hereinafter), in view of Du et al., US 2023/0180215 A1 (using continuation of PCT application filing date of May 10, 2021 corresponding to PCT/CN21/92616; referred to as Du hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of Hui et al., US 2022/0330267 A1 (using US provisional application filing date of April 5, 2021 related to provisional application 63/170,612; referred to as Hui hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claim 20, Park, Hu and Du disclose the first UE of claim 17. Park, Hu and Du do not explicitly disclose wherein the second IUC request indicates at least one of:
a different sidelink carrier than a sidelink carrier indicated in the IUC request, a different sidelink bandwidth part (BWP) than a sidelink BWP indicated in the IUC request, or a different resource pool than a resource pool indicated in the IUC request.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Hui discloses a method related to inter-UE coordination (IUC) that comprises the following features wherein the second IUC request indicates at least one of:
a different sidelink carrier than a sidelink carrier indicated in the IUC request, a different sidelink bandwidth part (BWP) than a sidelink BWP indicated in the IUC request, or a different resource pool than a resource pool indicated in the IUC request (Hui, paragraph [0323], the first wireless device may send, to the second wireless device, a request message for the inter-UE coordination. In an example, the second wireless device may trigger the inter-UE coordination based on a triggering condition. The second wireless device may perform, based on the request message and/or the triggering condition, a second resource selection procedure for selecting a second set of resources (i.e., resource pool) for the one or more first sidelink transmissions by the first wireless device. The second set of resources may comprise preferred resources and/or non-preferred resources of the desired receiver).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Park, Hu and Du by using the features, as taught by Hui, in order to support improve network efficiency and efficiently solve the hidden node problem at a desired receiver (see Hui, paragraph [0326]).
Claim(s) 21 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al., US 2023/0254862 A1 (using foreign application priority date of February 9, 2022 corresponding to KR 17977869; referred to as Park hereinafter), in view of previously cited prior art (e.g., see Notice of Reference Cited of 08/29/2025) Hu et al., US 2025/0175972 A1 (using PCT application filing date of February 13, 2022 corresponding to PCT/CN2022/076125; referred to as Hu hereinafter), in view of Hui et al., US 2022/0330267 A1 (using US provisional application filing date of April 5, 2021 related to provisional application 63/170,612; referred to as Hui hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of Du et al., US 2023/0180215 A1 (using continuation of PCT application filing date of May 10, 2021 corresponding to PCT/CN21/92616; referred to as Du hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claims 21 and 22, Park, Hu and Hui disclose the first UE of claim 2.
Regarding claim 22, Park further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
transmit, based at least in part on receiving the IUC response prior to expiration of the IUC timer (Park, paragraph [0110], UE A may operate a timer set to a latency bound (restriction of latency that must transmit IUC information within time), may have to transmit the IUC information MAC CE to UE B before the timer expires, that is, in a state in which transmission is triggered and has not yet been transmitted), at least one of:
a unicast sidelink transmission to the second UE,
a multicast sidelink transmission to the second UE and one or more third UEs, or
a broadcast sidelink transmission to the second UE and the one or more third UEs (Park, paragraph [0116], According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, a method is proposed in which a timer-based mechanism for transmitting IUC information of UE A is applied only when UE A meets a specific condition and the transmission cast type is unicast in a condition-based IUC operation (i.e. condition-based and unicast transmission)).
Regarding claim 21, Park, Hu and Hui do not explicitly disclose wherein the wherein the IUC response indicates at least one of:
one or more preferred sidelink resources, or one or more non-preferred sidelink resources. In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Du discloses a method related to sidelink communication that comprises wherein the wherein the IUC response indicates at least one of:
one or more preferred sidelink resources, or one or more non-preferred sidelink resources (Du, paragraph [0010], the method may include at least one of: in response to the transmission resource being in a set of preferred resources provided by the second UE … in response to the transmission resource being not in a set of non-preferred resources provided by the second UE).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Park, Hu and Hui by using the features, as taught by Du, in order to support method for reducing power consumption and increasing battery life in mobile devices using sidelink communication (see Du, paragraph [0003]).
Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to applicant’s amendment and remarks received on 07/10/2026. Claims 1-15, 17-23 and 28-34 are currently pending.
Allowability of claims 10-15, 28-30 and 35 are withdrawn since the scope of the amended independent claims 10 and 35 have been changed. Thus, claims 1-15, 17-23 and 28-34 stands rejected as set forth in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ argument, filed on 07/10/2026, with respect to the claims 1-15, 17-23 and 28-34 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new ground (s) of rejection.
Conclusion
/OBAIDUL HUQ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473 Dated: 08/27/2026