DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/14/2023, 11/08/2023, and 03/07/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on 12/07/2022 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 9-11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takabayashi et al. (US 8151402, cited on 03/07/2024 IDS, hereinafter Takabayashi), in view of Lin et al. (GB 2414386A, cited on 03/07/2024 IDS, hereinafter Lin).
Regarding claim 1, Takabayashi discloses a cleaning article (fig. 1, cleaning article 10), comprising:
a first panel, comprising: a first fiber layer; and a first substrate attached to the first fiber layer by a first connection type (fig. 17(b), a subassembly 32A [corresponds to the recited first panel] comprises a first fiber layer 11A and a first member 31A [corresponds to the recited first substrate] attached to the first fiber layer 11A by linear seal 16A [corresponds to the recited first connection type]); and
a second panel, comprising: a second fiber layer; and a second substrate attached to the second fiber layer by the first connection type (fig. 17(b), a subassembly 32B [corresponds to the recited second panel] comprises a third fiber layer 11C [corresponds to the recited second fiber layer] and a second member 31B [corresponds to the recited second substrate] attached to the third fiber layer 11C by the linear seal 16A [corresponds to the recited first connection type]),
wherein the first panel is attached to the second panel by a plurality of spot connections so as to create a pocket between the first panel and the second panel (fig. 17(a) and annotated Takabayashi fig. 17(b) below, the subassembly 32A [corresponds to the recited first panel] is attached to the subassembly 32B [corresponds to the recited second panel] by a plurality of joints 18 [correspond to the recited spot connections]), but does not disclose the first connection type comprises a first connection line in parallel with a second connection line, the first and second connection lines together straddling a center line of a respective panel that extends in an axial direction.
Lin teaches, in an analogous cleaning article field of endeavor, the first connection type comprises a first connection line in parallel with a second connection line, the first and second connection lines together straddling a center line of a respective panel that extends in an axial direction (fig. 4 and p. 4:15-19, a slit 25 [corresponds to the recited first connection type] comprises two welded portions 23 [correspond to the recited first and second connection lines] in parallel. The two welded portions 23 straddle a center line of the portions 16 [correspond to the recited panels] in axial direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning article of Takabayashi to provide the connection lines as taught by Lin in order to form one or more pockets for attaching a handle (Lin, abstract).
Annotated Takabayashi Fig. 17(b)
Regarding claim 2, Takabayashi as modified by Lin teaches the cleaning article as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the first substrate and the second substrate each have a leading edge extending in a radial direction, a first lengthwise edge extending in the axial direction, the first lengthwise edge adjoining the leading edge, and a second lengthwise edge extending in the axial direction, the second lengthwise edge adjoining the first lengthwise edge (see annotated Takabayashi fig. 17(a) below for the recited edges. Examiner notes claim does not define where the first lengthwise edge and the second lengthwise edge are divided).
Annotated Takabayashi Fig. 17(a)
Regarding claim 3, Takabayashi as modified by Lin teaches the cleaning article as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein, for the respective panel, the first lengthwise edge makes a first angle with respect to the leading edge and the second lengthwise edge makes a second angle with respect to the leading edge (see annotated Takabayashi fig. 17(a) above, the first lengthwise edge and the second lengthwise edge make angles with respect to the leading edge. The both angles are the same).
Regarding claim 5, Takabayashi as modified by Lin teaches the cleaning article as in the rejection of claim 2, wherein the plurality of spot connections comprises a first set of spot connections and a second set of spot connections, wherein the first set of spot connections extends along a length of the respective panel approximately as far as the first lengthwise edges extend in the axial direction, and wherein second set of spot connections extends along the length of the respective panel approximately as far as the second lengthwise edges extend in the axial direction (see annotated Takabayashi fig. 17(a) above for the first and second sets of dot joints 18 [correspond to the recited spot connections]).
Regarding claim 9, Takabayashi as modified by Lin teaches the cleaning article as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the plurality of spot connections comprises a first set of spot connections and a second set of spot connections, wherein spot connections of the first set of spot connections are separated from one another by a first distance, and wherein spot connections of the second set of spot connections are separated from one another by a second distance (see annotated Takabayashi fig. 17(a) for the first and second distances).
Regarding claim 10, Takabayashi as modified by Lin teaches the cleaning article as in the rejection of claim 9, but does not disclose the second distance is greater than the first distance.
It appears from annotated Takabayashi fig. 17(a) above that the first distance and the second distance of the dot joints 18 [correspond to the recited spot connections] are similar. However, Takabayashi discloses the dot joints 18 can be spaced in irregular intervals (col. 6:58-60). In addition, Takabayashi discloses the spacing is preferably 5 to 40 mm so that a holder 20 is not caught in the spaces between the dot joints (col. 6:29-33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the second distance is greater than the first distance, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Regarding claim 11, Takabayashi as modified by Lin teaches the cleaning article as in the rejection of claim 10, wherein the cleaning article has a tip end and a handle end opposite the tip end, and wherein the first set of spot connections is closer to the tip end and the second set of spot connections is closer to the handle end (see annotated Takabayashi fig. 1 below and fig. 17(a) above for the tip end and the handle end).
Annotated Takabayashi Fig. 1
Regarding claim 18, Takabayashi discloses a method of making a cleaning article (col. 1:11), comprising:
creating a first panel by attaching a first fiber layer to a first substrate (fig. 17(b), a subassembly 32A [corresponds to the recited first panel] is made by attaching a first fiber layer 11A to a first member 31A [corresponds to the recited first substrate];
creating a second panel by attaching a second fiber layer to a second substrate (fig. 17(b), a subassembly 32B [corresponds to the recited second panel] is made by attaching a third fiber layer 11C [corresponds to the recited second fiber layer] to a second member 31B [corresponds to the recited second substrate]); and
attaching the first panel to the second panel using a plurality of spot connections so as to create a pocket between the first panel and the second panel (fig. 17(a) and annotated Takabayashi fig. 17(b) above, the subassembly 32A [corresponds to the recited first panel] is attached to the subassembly 32B [corresponds to the recited second panel] by a plurality of joints 18 [correspond to the recited spot connections]), but does not disclose a first connection line in parallel with a second connection line, the first and second connection lines together straddling a center line of the first panel that extends in an axial direction, and a third connection line in parallel with a fourth connection line, the third and fourth connection lines together straddling a center line of the second panel that extends in the axial direction.
Lin teaches, in the analogous cleaning article field of endeavor, a first connection line in parallel with a second connection line, the first and second connection lines together straddling a center line of the first panel that extends in an axial direction (fig. 4 and p. 4:15-19, a slit 25 [corresponds to the recited first connection type] comprises two welded portions 23 [correspond to the recited first and second connection lines] in parallel. The two welded portions 23 straddle a center line of the portions 16 [correspond to the recited panels] in axial direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of making the cleaning article of Takabayashi to provide the connection lines as taught by Lin in order to form one or more pockets for attaching a handle (Lin, abstract).
Takabayashi as modified by Lin does not disclose a third connection line in parallel with a fourth connection line, the third and fourth connection lines together straddling a center line of the second panel that extends in the axial direction.
Lin does not disclose the slit 25 comprising the two welded portions 23 at the other bottom side of the cleaning article 1, but it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning article of Takabayashi as modified by Lin to duplicate the straddling center line at the bottom of the cleaning article in order to increase a number of pockets for attaching the handle for greater control in handling of the handle. It has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B).
Claims 4, 6-8, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takabayashi in view of Lin, as applied to claims 3, 1, and 18 above respectively, and in further view of Suzuki et al. (CN 1192129A, hereinafter Suzuki).
Regarding claim 4, Takabayashi as modified by Lin teaches the cleaning article as in the rejection of claim 3, but does not disclose the first angle is greater than the second angle.
Suzuki teaches, in an analogous cleaning article field of endeavor, the first angle is greater than the second angle (a cleaning cloth 1 [corresponds to the recited cleaning article] comprises an engaging portion 2 [corresponds to the recited pocket] wherein a first lengthwise edge and a second lengthwise edge can be defined as shown in annotated Suzuki fig. 2 below. A first angle between the first lengthwise edge and the leading edge is greater than a second angle between the second lengthwise edge and the leading edge).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning article of Takabayashi as modified by Lin to provide the angles as recited as taught by Suzuki. The given angles make an inner side of the pocket to be narrow than an outer side of the pocket, and it allows a handle to be securely held within the pocket of the cleaning article for good control during the cleaning operation.
Annotated Suzuki Fig. 2
Regarding claim 6, Takabayashi as modified by Lin teaches the cleaning article as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the first substrate and the second substrate each have two first lengthwise edges, one on either side of the center line of the respective panel, and two second lengthwise edges, one on either side of the center line of the respective panel, all lengthwise edges generally extending in the axial direction, wherein, for the respective panel (annotated Takabayashi figs. 17(a) and 17(b) above, the first lengthwise edge and the second lengthwise edge are disposed on either side of the center line on both of the first panel and the second panel), but does not disclose the two first lengthwise edges are not parallel to one another, and wherein, for the respective panel, the two second lengthwise edges are not parallel to one another.
Suzuki teaches, in the analogous cleaning article field of endeavor, the two first lengthwise edges are not parallel to one another, and wherein, for the respective panel, the two second lengthwise edges are not parallel to one another (see annotated Suzuki fig. 28a below, in another embodiment, the first lengthwise edges and the second lengthwise edges are not parallel to one another).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning article of Takabayashi as modified by Lin to provide the non-parallel lengthwise edges as taught by Suzuki for attaching the handle into the pocket securely.
Annotated Suzuki Fig. 28a
Regarding claim 7, Takabayashi as modified by Lin and Suzuki teaches the cleaning article as in the rejection of claim 6, wherein, on either side of the center line of the respective panel, one first lengthwise edge adjoins one second lengthwise edge (see annotated Takabayashi fig. 17(a) above, the first lengthwise edge adjoins the second lengthwise edge).
Regarding claim 8, Takabayashi as modified by Lin and Suzuki teaches the cleaning article as in the rejection of claim 7, wherein the first substrate and the second substrate each have a leading edge extending in a radial direction, and wherein, for the respective panel, the leading edge adjoins each of the two first lengthwise edges (see annotated Takabayashi figs. 17(a) and 17(b) above, the each of substrate has the leading edge which adjoins the each of the first lengthwise edge).
Regarding claim 19, Takabayashi as modified by Lin teaches the method as in the rejection of claim 18, wherein the first substrate and the second substrate each have two first lengthwise edges, one on either side of the center line of the respective panel, and two second lengthwise edges, one on either side of the center line of the respective panel, all lengthwise edges generally extending in the axial direction, wherein, for the respective panel (annotated Takabayashi figs. 17(a) and 17(b) above, as discussed in the rejection of claim 6 above, the first lengthwise edge and the second lengthwise edge are disposed on either side of the center line on both of the first panel and the second panel), but does not disclose the two first lengthwise edges are not parallel to one another, and wherein, for the respective panel, the two second lengthwise edges are not parallel to one another.
Suzuki teaches, in the analogous cleaning article field of endeavor, the two first lengthwise edges are not parallel to one another, and wherein, for the respective panel, the two second lengthwise edges are not parallel to one another (see annotated Suzuki fig. 28a below, in another embodiment, the first lengthwise edges and the second lengthwise edges are not parallel to one another).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning article of Takabayashi as modified by Lin to provide the non-parallel lengthwise edges as taught by Suzuki for attaching the handle into the pocket securely.
Regarding claim 20, Takabayashi as modified by Lin and Suzuki teaches the method as in the rejection of claim 19, wherein, on either side of the center line of the respective panel, one first lengthwise edge adjoins one second lengthwise edge (see annotated Takabayashi fig. 17(a) above, as discussed in the rejection of claim 7 above, the first lengthwise edge adjoins the second lengthwise edge),
wherein the first substrate and the second substrate each have a leading edge extending in a radial direction, and wherein, in the respective panel, the leading edge adjoins each of the two first lengthwise edges (see annotated Takabayashi figs. 17(a) and 17(b) above, as discussed in the rejection of claim 8 above, the each of substrate has the leading edge which adjoins the each of the first lengthwise edge).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takabayashi in view of Lin, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Fukuzawa et al. (WO 2011096474A1, hereinafter Fukuzawa).
Regarding claim 12, Takabayashi as modified by Lin teaches the cleaning article as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose the first and second connection lines each have a zigzag shape.
Fukuzawa teaches, in an analogous cleaning article field of endeavor, the first and second connection lines each have a zigzag shape (fig. 13, a third joint 123 [corresponds to the recited center line] is formed by joining connection lines of cleaning body on each side of the third joint. The connection lines are in a zigzag shape).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning article of Takabayashi as modified by Lin to provide the connection lines in the zigzag shape as taught by Fukuzawa. It may help each side of cleaning article to join at the centerline securely.
Regarding claim 13, Takabayashi as modified by Lin teaches the cleaning article as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose the first and second connection lines each have a wave shape.
Fukuzawa teaches, in an analogous cleaning article field of endeavor, the first and second connection lines each have a wave shape (fig. 9, a third joint 123 [corresponds to the recited center line] is formed by joining connection lines of cleaning body on each side of the third joint. The connection lines are in a wave shape).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning article of Takabayashi as modified by Lin to provide the connection lines in the wave shape as taught by Fukuzawa. It may help each side of cleaning article to join at the centerline securely.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-17 are objected to as being dependent upon rejected base claims, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
However, if the claim limitations of claim 14 is rewritten in claim 1, it may invoke nonstatutory double patenting rejection over U.S. Patent No. 11,564,549 in view of Takabayashi et al. (US 8151402) and Lin et al. (GB 2414386A).
Regarding claim 14, Takabayashi as modified by Lin teaches the cleaning tool comprising the cleaning article as in the rejection of claim 1.
Further, the closest prior art of Dingert (US 8,136,196) teaches, in fig. 1, it was known in the art to have a flexible skeletal element (dusting tool 1) comprising a base (distal end of handle 2 where it is connected to the end of bars 3, 4), two flexible and resilient elongated arms (bars 3, 4), a plurality of cross-members (spacers 7), and a plurality of living hinges (film hinges 8). However, the above reference does not teach at least three elongated arms and not in combination of the other recited structural claim limitations.
Knopow et al. (US 2006/0200929) teaches, in fig. 7, it was known in the art to have a flexible skeletal element (wire spine 261) comprising a base (support head 253), and a plurality of living hinges (support members 226). However, the above reference does not teach at least three elongated arms and a plurality of cross-members and not in combination of the other recited structural claim limitations.
Tanaka et al. (US 8,438,690) teaches, in fig. 1, it was known in the art to have a flexible skeletal element (cleaning element holder 120) comprising a base (holder body-side connection 131), two flexible and resilient elongated arms (a pair of holding plates 132). However, the above reference does not teach at least three elongated arms, a plurality of cross-members, and a plurality of living hinges and not in combination of the other recited structural claim limitations.
Claims 15-17 would be allowable as being dependent from an allowed claim.
Conclusion
/S.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/TOM RODGERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723