DETAILED ACTION
Status
In response to the amendment filed on 01/21/2026, claim 14 has been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending and under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/14/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claim 14 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,564,549 in view of U.S. Patent No. 8,151,402 and UK Patent Application No. 2,414,386.
Claims 1 and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,564,549 recite all limitations of Claim 14 of the subject application except that “a cleaning article comprising a first panel, comprising: a first fiber layer: and a first substrate attached to the first fiber layer by a first connection type: and a second panel, comprising: a second fiber layer: and a second substrate attached to the second fiber laver by the first connection type, wherein the first connection type comprises a first connection line in parallel with a second connection line, the first and second connection lines together straddling a center line of a respective panel that extends in an axial direction, and wherein the first panel is attached to the second panel by a plurality of spot connections so as to create a pocket between the first panel and the second panel”.
However, U.S. Patent No. 8,151,402 discloses a cleaning article (fig. 1, cleaning article 10), comprising: a first panel, comprising: a first fiber layer; and a first substrate attached to the first fiber layer by a first connection type (fig. 17(b), a subassembly 32A [corresponds to the recited first panel] comprises a first fiber layer 11A and a first member 31A [corresponds to the recited first substrate] attached to the first fiber layer 11A by linear seal 16A [corresponds to the recited first connection type]); and a second panel, comprising: a second fiber layer; and a second substrate attached to the second fiber layer by the first connection type (fig. 17(b), a subassembly 32B [corresponds to the recited second panel] comprises a third fiber layer 11C [corresponds to the recited second fiber layer] and a second member 31B [corresponds to the recited second substrate] attached to the third fiber layer 11C by the linear seal 16A [corresponds to the recited first connection type]), wherein the first panel is attached to the second panel by a plurality of spot connections so as to create a pocket between the first panel and the second panel (figs. 17(a) and 17(b), the subassembly 32A [corresponds to the recited first panel] is attached to the subassembly 32B [corresponds to the recited second panel] by a plurality of joints 18 [correspond to the recited spot connections]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning article of U.S. Patent No. 11,564,549 to provide the cleaning article comprising the first panel and the second panel as taught by U.S. Patent No. 8,151,402 in order to build a cleaning article having an even surface for good cleaning performance.
UK Patent Application No. 2,414,386 further discloses the first connection type comprises a first connection line in parallel with a second connection line, the first and second connection lines together straddling a center line of a respective panel that extends in an axial direction (fig. 4 and p. 4:15-19, a slit 25 [corresponds to the recited first connection type] comprises two welded portions 23 [correspond to the recited first and second connection lines] in parallel. The two welded portions 23 straddle a center line of the portions 16 [correspond to the recited panels] in axial direction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning article of U.S. Patent No. 11,564,549 to provide the connection lines as taught by UK Patent Application No. 2,414,386 in order to provide dual access for a handle to the cleaning article so that cleaning can be conducted for a long period because a user can switch cleaning position of the cleaning article.
Claim 14 of the Subject Application
Claim 1 of US Patent No. 11,564,549
a flexible skeletal element configured to be coupled with a handle assembly, the flexible skeletal element comprising:
A flexible skeletal element configured to be coupled with a handle assembly and a dusting element for dusting around objects, the flexible skeletal element comprising:
a base;
a base;
at least three elongated arms, each of the at least three elongated arms have a base end and a distal end, the base ends extending from the base and being spaced apart from one another at the base, the elongated arms being flexible and resilient;
at least three elongated arms, each of the at least three elongated arms having a base end and a distal end, the base ends extending from the base and being spaced apart from one another at the base, the elongated arms being flexible and resilient;
a plurality of cross-members extending between the elongated arms;
a plurality of cross-members extending between the elongated arms;
a plurality of living hinges disposed between the plurality of cross-members and the elongated arms,
a plurality of living hinges disposed between the plurality of cross-members and the elongated arms;
wherein a force applied to at least one of the elongated arms is transmitted to at least one of the other of the elongated arms by the plurality of cross-members and the plurality of living hinges, and wherein the cleaning article is disposed on the flexible skeletal element.
wherein a force applied to at least one of the elongated arms is transmitted to at least one of the other of the elongated arms by the plurality of cross-members and the plurality of living hinges.
Claim 13 of US Patent No. 11,564,549
A cleaning tool comprising a flexible skeleton element configured to be coupled with a handle assembly
A dusting tool including the flexible skeletal element of claim 1 and a handle assembly, the flexible skeletal element being coupled to the handle assembly.
As shown in the table above, Claim 14 of the subject application claims subject matter that is different, but not patentably distinct, from the subject matter of Claims 1 and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,564,549 in view of U.S. Patent No. 8,151,402 and UK Patent Application No. 2,414,386. Thus, Claim 14 is anticipated by Claims 1 and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,564,549 and a patent to Claim 14 would, necessarily, extend the right to exclude granted by U.S. Patent No. 11,564,549. See In re Goodman.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 9-11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takabayashi et al. (US 8151402, cited on 03/07/2024 IDS, hereinafter Takabayashi), in view of Lin et al. (GB 2414386A, cited on 03/07/2024 IDS, hereinafter Lin).
Regarding claim 1, Takabayashi discloses a cleaning article (fig. 1, cleaning article 10), comprising:
a first panel, comprising: a first fiber layer; and a first substrate attached to the first fiber layer by a first connection type (fig. 17(b), a subassembly 32A [corresponds to the recited first panel] comprises a first fiber layer 11A and a first member 31A [corresponds to the recited first substrate] attached to the first fiber layer 11A by linear seal 16A [corresponds to the recited first connection type]); and
a second panel, comprising: a second fiber layer; and a second substrate attached to the second fiber layer by the first connection type (fig. 17(b), a subassembly 32B [corresponds to the recited second panel] comprises a third fiber layer 11C [corresponds to the recited second fiber layer] and a second member 31B [corresponds to the recited second substrate] attached to the third fiber layer 11C by the linear seal 16A [corresponds to the recited first connection type]),
wherein the first panel is attached to the second panel by a plurality of spot connections so as to create a pocket between the first panel and the second panel (fig. 17(a) and annotated Takabayashi fig. 17(b) below, the subassembly 32A [corresponds to the recited first panel] is attached to the subassembly 32B [corresponds to the recited second panel] by a plurality of joints 18 [correspond to the recited spot connections]), but does not disclose the first connection type comprises a first connection line in parallel with a second connection line, the first and second connection lines together straddling a center line of a respective panel that extends in an axial direction.
Lin teaches, in an analogous cleaning article field of endeavor, the first connection type comprises a first connection line in parallel with a second connection line, the first and second connection lines together straddling a center line of a respective panel that extends in an axial direction (fig. 4 and p. 4:15-19, a slit 25 [corresponds to the recited first connection type] comprises two welded portions 23 [correspond to the recited first and second connection lines] in parallel. The two welded portions 23 straddle a center line of the portions 16 [correspond to the recited panels] in axial direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning article of Takabayashi to provide the connection lines as taught by Lin in order to form one or more pockets for attaching a handle to a cleaning article (Lin, abstract). Takabayashi’s cleaning article does not include the connection lines along the center line of the panel. The cleaning article of Takabayashi can be combined with Lin to introduce the slit to the cleaning article, and it can be used for attaching a handle to the cleaning article. Lin’s handle can be attached to cover fabric layers or base fabric layers. The slit/connection lines provide options for attaching the handle to the cleaning article so that a user can choose a suitable attachment choice for the cleaning job and the cleaning can be conducted for a long period without replacing the cleaning article.
Annotated Takabayashi Fig. 17(b)
Regarding claim 2, Takabayashi as modified by Lin teaches the cleaning article as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the first substrate and the second substrate each have a leading edge extending in a radial direction, a first lengthwise edge extending in the axial direction, the first lengthwise edge adjoining the leading edge, and a second lengthwise edge extending in the axial direction, the second lengthwise edge adjoining the first lengthwise edge (see annotated Takabayashi fig. 17(a) below for the recited edges. Examiner notes claim does not define where the first lengthwise edge and the second lengthwise edge are divided).
Annotated Takabayashi Fig. 17(a)
Regarding claim 3, Takabayashi as modified by Lin teaches the cleaning article as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein, for the respective panel, the first lengthwise edge makes a first angle with respect to the leading edge and the second lengthwise edge makes a second angle with respect to the leading edge (see annotated Takabayashi fig. 17(a) above, the first lengthwise edge and the second lengthwise edge make angles with respect to the leading edge. The both angles are the same).
Regarding claim 5, Takabayashi as modified by Lin teaches the cleaning article as in the rejection of claim 2, wherein the plurality of spot connections comprises a first set of spot connections and a second set of spot connections, wherein the first set of spot connections extends along a length of the respective panel approximately as far as the first lengthwise edges extend in the axial direction, and wherein second set of spot connections extends along the length of the respective panel approximately as far as the second lengthwise edges extend in the axial direction (see annotated Takabayashi fig. 17(a) above for the first and second sets of dot joints 18 [correspond to the recited spot connections]).
Regarding claim 9, Takabayashi as modified by Lin teaches the cleaning article as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the plurality of spot connections comprises a first set of spot connections and a second set of spot connections, wherein spot connections of the first set of spot connections are separated from one another by a first distance, and wherein spot connections of the second set of spot connections are separated from one another by a second distance (see annotated Takabayashi fig. 17(a) for the first and second distances).
Regarding claim 10, Takabayashi as modified by Lin teaches the cleaning article as in the rejection of claim 9, but does not disclose the second distance is greater than the first distance.
It appears from annotated Takabayashi fig. 17(a) above that the first distance and the second distance of the dot joints 18 [correspond to the recited spot connections] are similar. However, Takabayashi discloses the dot joints 18 can be spaced in irregular intervals (col. 6:58-60). In addition, Takabayashi discloses the spacing is preferably 5 to 40 mm so that a holder 20 is not caught in the spaces between the dot joints (col. 6:29-33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the second distance is greater than the first distance, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Regarding claim 11, Takabayashi as modified by Lin teaches the cleaning article as in the rejection of claim 10, wherein the cleaning article has a tip end and a handle end opposite the tip end, and wherein the first set of spot connections is closer to the tip end and the second set of spot connections is closer to the handle end (see annotated Takabayashi fig. 1 below and fig. 17(a) above for the tip end and the handle end).
Annotated Takabayashi Fig. 1
Regarding claim 18, Takabayashi discloses a method of making a cleaning article (col. 1:11), comprising:
creating a first panel by attaching a first fiber layer to a first substrate (fig. 17(b), a subassembly 32A [corresponds to the recited first panel] is made by attaching a first fiber layer 11A to a first member 31A [corresponds to the recited first substrate];
creating a second panel by attaching a second fiber layer to a second substrate (fig. 17(b), a subassembly 32B [corresponds to the recited second panel] is made by attaching a third fiber layer 11C [corresponds to the recited second fiber layer] to a second member 31B [corresponds to the recited second substrate]); and
attaching the first panel to the second panel using a plurality of spot connections so as to create a pocket between the first panel and the second panel (fig. 17(a) and annotated Takabayashi fig. 17(b) above, the subassembly 32A [corresponds to the recited first panel] is attached to the subassembly 32B [corresponds to the recited second panel] by a plurality of joints 18 [correspond to the recited spot connections]), but does not disclose a first connection line in parallel with a second connection line, the first and second connection lines together straddling a center line of the first panel that extends in an axial direction, and a third connection line in parallel with a fourth connection line, the third and fourth connection lines together straddling a center line of the second panel that extends in the axial direction.
Lin teaches, in the analogous cleaning article field of endeavor, a first connection line in parallel with a second connection line, the first and second connection lines together straddling a center line of the first panel that extends in an axial direction (fig. 4 and p. 4:15-19, a slit 25 [corresponds to the recited first connection type] comprises two welded portions 23 [correspond to the recited first and second connection lines] in parallel. The two welded portions 23 straddle a center line of the portions 16 [correspond to the recited panels] in axial direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of making the cleaning article of Takabayashi to provide the connection lines as taught by Lin in order to form one or more pockets for attaching a handle (Lin, abstract). Takabayashi’s cleaning article does not include the connection lines along the center line of the panel. The cleaning article of Takabayashi can be combined with Lin to introduce the slit to the cleaning article, and it can be used for attaching a handle to the cleaning article.
Takabayashi as modified by Lin does not disclose a third connection line in parallel with a fourth connection line, the third and fourth connection lines together straddling a center line of the second panel that extends in the axial direction.
Lin does not disclose the slit 25 comprising the two welded portions 23 at the other bottom side of the cleaning article 1, but it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning article of Takabayashi as modified by Lin to duplicate the straddling center line at the bottom of the cleaning article in order to increase a number of pockets for attaching the handle for greater control in handling of the handle. It has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B).
Claims 4, 6-8, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takabayashi in view of Lin, as applied to claims 3, 1, and 18 above respectively, and in further view of Suzuki et al. (CN 1192129A, hereinafter Suzuki).
Regarding claim 4, Takabayashi as modified by Lin teaches the cleaning article as in the rejection of claim 3, but does not disclose the first angle is greater than the second angle.
Suzuki teaches, in an analogous cleaning article field of endeavor, the first angle is greater than the second angle (a cleaning cloth 1 [corresponds to the recited cleaning article] comprises an engaging portion 2 [corresponds to the recited pocket] wherein a first lengthwise edge and a second lengthwise edge can be defined as shown in annotated Suzuki fig. 2 below. A first angle between the first lengthwise edge and the leading edge is greater than a second angle between the second lengthwise edge and the leading edge).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning article of Takabayashi as modified by Lin to provide the angles as recited as taught by Suzuki. The given angles make an inner side of the pocket to be narrow than an outer side of the pocket, and it allows a handle to be securely held within the pocket of the cleaning article for good control during the cleaning operation.
Annotated Suzuki Fig. 2
Regarding claim 6, Takabayashi as modified by Lin teaches the cleaning article as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the first substrate and the second substrate each have two first lengthwise edges, one on either side of the center line of the respective panel, and two second lengthwise edges, one on either side of the center line of the respective panel, all lengthwise edges generally extending in the axial direction, wherein, for the respective panel (annotated Takabayashi figs. 17(a) and 17(b) above, the first lengthwise edge and the second lengthwise edge are disposed on either side of the center line on both of the first panel and the second panel), but does not disclose the two first lengthwise edges are not parallel to one another, and wherein, for the respective panel, the two second lengthwise edges are not parallel to one another.
Suzuki teaches, in the analogous cleaning article field of endeavor, the two first lengthwise edges are not parallel to one another, and wherein, for the respective panel, the two second lengthwise edges are not parallel to one another (see annotated Suzuki fig. 28a below, in another embodiment, the first lengthwise edges and the second lengthwise edges are not parallel to one another).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning article of Takabayashi as modified by Lin to provide the non-parallel lengthwise edges as taught by Suzuki for attaching the handle into the pocket securely.
Annotated Suzuki Fig. 28a
Regarding claim 7, Takabayashi as modified by Lin and Suzuki teaches the cleaning article as in the rejection of claim 6, wherein, on either side of the center line of the respective panel, one first lengthwise edge adjoins one second lengthwise edge (see annotated Takabayashi fig. 17(a) above, the first lengthwise edge adjoins the second lengthwise edge).
Regarding claim 8, Takabayashi as modified by Lin and Suzuki teaches the cleaning article as in the rejection of claim 7, wherein the first substrate and the second substrate each have a leading edge extending in a radial direction, and wherein, for the respective panel, the leading edge adjoins each of the two first lengthwise edges (see annotated Takabayashi figs. 17(a) and 17(b) above, the each of substrate has the leading edge which adjoins the each of the first lengthwise edge).
Regarding claim 19, Takabayashi as modified by Lin teaches the method as in the rejection of claim 18, wherein the first substrate and the second substrate each have two first lengthwise edges, one on either side of the center line of the respective panel, and two second lengthwise edges, one on either side of the center line of the respective panel, all lengthwise edges generally extending in the axial direction, wherein, for the respective panel (annotated Takabayashi figs. 17(a) and 17(b) above, as discussed in the rejection of claim 6 above, the first lengthwise edge and the second lengthwise edge are disposed on either side of the center line on both of the first panel and the second panel), but does not disclose the two first lengthwise edges are not parallel to one another, and wherein, for the respective panel, the two second lengthwise edges are not parallel to one another.
Suzuki teaches, in the analogous cleaning article field of endeavor, the two first lengthwise edges are not parallel to one another, and wherein, for the respective panel, the two second lengthwise edges are not parallel to one another (see annotated Suzuki fig. 28a below, in another embodiment, the first lengthwise edges and the second lengthwise edges are not parallel to one another).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning article of Takabayashi as modified by Lin to provide the non-parallel lengthwise edges as taught by Suzuki for attaching the handle into the pocket securely.
Regarding claim 20, Takabayashi as modified by Lin and Suzuki teaches the method as in the rejection of claim 19, wherein, on either side of the center line of the respective panel, one first lengthwise edge adjoins one second lengthwise edge (see annotated Takabayashi fig. 17(a) above, as discussed in the rejection of claim 7 above, the first lengthwise edge adjoins the second lengthwise edge),
wherein the first substrate and the second substrate each have a leading edge extending in a radial direction, and wherein, in the respective panel, the leading edge adjoins each of the two first lengthwise edges (see annotated Takabayashi figs. 17(a) and 17(b) above, as discussed in the rejection of claim 8 above, the each of substrate has the leading edge which adjoins the each of the first lengthwise edge).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takabayashi in view of Lin, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Fukuzawa et al. (WO 2011096474A1, hereinafter Fukuzawa).
Regarding claim 12, Takabayashi as modified by Lin teaches the cleaning article as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose the first and second connection lines each have a zigzag shape.
Fukuzawa teaches, in an analogous cleaning article field of endeavor, the first and second connection lines each have a zigzag shape (fig. 13, a third joint 123 [corresponds to the recited center line] is formed by joining connection lines of cleaning body on each side of the third joint. The connection lines are in a zigzag shape).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning article of Takabayashi as modified by Lin to provide the connection lines in the zigzag shape as taught by Fukuzawa. It may help each side of cleaning article to join at the centerline securely.
Regarding claim 13, Takabayashi as modified by Lin teaches the cleaning article as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose the first and second connection lines each have a wave shape.
Fukuzawa teaches, in an analogous cleaning article field of endeavor, the first and second connection lines each have a wave shape (fig. 9, a third joint 123 [corresponds to the recited center line] is formed by joining connection lines of cleaning body on each side of the third joint. The connection lines are in a wave shape).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning article of Takabayashi as modified by Lin to provide the connection lines in the wave shape as taught by Fukuzawa. It may help each side of cleaning article to join at the centerline securely.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is rejected with double patenting and Claims 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon rejected base claim, but would be allowable if a terminal disclaimer is filed to overcome the double patenting rejection.
Regarding claim 14, Takabayashi discloses a cleaning tool, comprising a cleaning article (fig. 1, cleaning article 10), comprising:
a first panel, comprising: a first fiber layer; and a first substrate attached to the first fiber layer by a first connection type (fig. 17(b), a subassembly 32A [corresponds to the recited first panel] comprises a first fiber layer 11A and a first member 31A [corresponds to the recited first substrate] attached to the first fiber layer 11A by linear seal 16A [corresponds to the recited first connection type]); and
a second panel, comprising: a second fiber layer; and a second substrate attached to the second fiber layer by the first connection type (fig. 17(b), a subassembly 32B [corresponds to the recited second panel] comprises a third fiber layer 11C [corresponds to the recited second fiber layer] and a second member 31B [corresponds to the recited second substrate] attached to the third fiber layer 11C by the linear seal 16A [corresponds to the recited first connection type]),
wherein the first panel is attached to the second panel by a plurality of spot connections so as to create a pocket between the first panel and the second panel (fig. 17(a) and annotated Takabayashi fig. 17(b) above, the subassembly 32A [corresponds to the recited first panel] is attached to the subassembly 32B [corresponds to the recited second panel] by a plurality of joints 18 [correspond to the recited spot connections]).
Lin teaches the first connection type comprises a first connection line in parallel with a second connection line, the first and second connection lines together straddling a center line of a respective panel that extends in an axial direction (fig. 4 and p. 4:15-19, a slit 25 [corresponds to the recited first connection type] comprises two welded portions 23 [correspond to the recited first and second connection lines] in parallel. The two welded portions 23 straddle a center line of the portions 16 [correspond to the recited panels] in axial direction).
Further, Dingert (US 8,136,196) teaches, in fig. 1, it was known in the art to have a flexible skeletal element (dusting tool 1) comprising a base (distal end of handle 2 where it is connected to the end of bars 3, 4), two flexible and resilient elongated arms (bars 3, 4), a plurality of cross-members (spacers 7), and a plurality of living hinges (film hinges 8). However, the above reference does not teach at least three elongated arms and not in combination of the other recited structural claim limitations.
Knopow et al. (US 2006/0200929) teaches, in fig. 7, it was known in the art to have a flexible skeletal element (wire spine 261) comprising a base (support head 253), and a plurality of living hinges (support members 226).
Tanaka et al. (US 8,438,690) teaches, in fig. 1, it was known in the art to have a flexible skeletal element (cleaning element holder 120) comprising a base (holder body-side connection 131), two flexible and resilient elongated arms (a pair of holding plates 132).
However, the above references do not teach at least three elongated arms, a plurality of cross-members, and a plurality of living hinges, in combination of the other recited structural claim limitations.
Claims 15-17 are allowable as being dependent from an allowed claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Takabayashi and Lin do not teach or suggest the recited claim limitations that the first connection type comprises a first connection line in parallel with a second connection line, the first and second connection lines together straddling a center line of a respective panel that extends in an axial direction.
Applicant further argues there is no motivation to combine Takabayashi with Lin in order to form one or more pickets for attaching a handle because Takabayashi’s cleaning article already includes pockets for attaching a handle. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Takabayashi discloses a first panel comprising a first fiber layer and a first substrate attached to the first fiber layer by a first connection type and a second panel comprising a second fiber layer and a second substrate attached to the second fiber layer by the first connection type, wherein the first panel is attached to the second panel by a plurality of spot connections (see figs. 17(a) and 17(b)). However, Takabayashi does not disclose the first connection type comprising a first connection line in parallel with a second connection line, the first and second connection lines together straddling a center line of a respective panel that extends in an axial direction.
Therefore, Lin is cited to teach the claim limitations not taught by Takabayashi. The cleaning cloth of Lin comprises a slit as the recited first connection type comprising two welded portions as the recited first and second connection lines. By combining Takabayashi and Lin, therefore, the cleaning article of Takabayashi can include the first and second connection lines together straddling the center line of the panel as taught by Lin.
Regarding the motivation to combine, Lin teaches that the cleaning device comprises base fabric layers and cover fabric layers, and the slit allows forming a pocket to attach a handle to the cover fabric layers. The handle can be attached to either the base fabric layers or the cover fabric layers (Lin, abstract). Attaching the handle to the base fabric layers would be equivalent to attaching a handle to the existing pocket of the Takabayashi’s cleaning article. The Lin’s slit allows an additional access to the pocket for attaching the handle to the cover fabric layers so that a user can conduct the cleaning job for a long period without replacing the cleaning article.
Therefore, Takabayashi and Lin teach the recited claim limitations and there is motivation to combine Takabayashi with Lin.
Regarding double patenting rejection, the rejection is made because claim limitations of amended independent claim 14 of the instant application is identical with claim 1 of the Applicant’s U.S. patent No. 11,564,549 in view of Takabayashi and Lin. Takabayashi and Lin teach remaining claim limitations of claim 14 to be obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, the double patenting rejection is made.
For the reasons above, the arguments are not persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723