DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 12/7/2022 has been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-17 in the reply filed on 11/06/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (US 20200127317 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches all of the following elements:
A battery assembly device comprising: (“The present invention relates to an apparatus and a method for manufacturing an electrode assembly and an electrode assembly manufactured using the apparatus and method,” Lee [0001])
a holder unit configured to hold a structure and to transfer the structure to a target to be mounted; (“In this case, the first electrode feeding unit 30 is preferably configured such that the first electrode members E1 fed from the first electrode feeder 34 are transferred to the first electrode lamination unit 40 via the first electrode aligner 36,” Lee [0116]. In this case, the electrode feeder acts as the holder unit which transfers the electrode member to the electrode lamination unit.)
an alignment jig operatively associated with the holder unit and configured to align the target; (“As shown in FIG. 16, the first electrode feeding unit 30 includes first load trays 32a and 32b on which the first electrode members E1 are loaded, a first electrode feeder 34 for feeding the first electrode members E1 from the first load trays 32a and 32b to the first electrode lamination unit 40, and a first electrode aligner 36 for aligning the first electrode members E1 fed from the first electrode feeder 34 in a predetermined arrangement manner and transferring the first electrode members E1 to the first electrode lamination unit 40.” Lee [0115]. In this case, the electrode aligner 36 acts as the alignment jig operatively associated with the holder unit and configured to align the target.)
and a transfer unit configured to provide a moving force to the alignment jig. (“As shown in FIG. 19, the second electrode laminators 64 may include at least one fourth vacuum adsorption pad 64a capable of vacuum-adsorbing or desorbing the second electrode members E2 seated on the second alignment members 56b and a fourth conveying member 64b capable of reciprocating the fourth vacuum adsorption pads 64a so that the fourth vacuum adsorption pads 64a are brought close to or moved away from the rotation shaft 62a of the second lamination plate 62.” In this case, the conveying member acts as the transfer unit configured to provide a moving force to the alignment jig.)
Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches all of the following elements:
The battery assembly device of claim 1, wherein the holder unit comprises: an adsorption part configured to adsorb the structure; (“As shown in FIG. 17, the first electrode feeder 34 includes a pair of the first feeding arms 34a and 34b capable of gripping or releasing the first electrode members E1 loaded on the first load trays 32a and 32b,” Lee [0120] and “ Each of the first feeding arms 34a and 34b may include first vacuum adsorption pads 34d capable of vacuum-adsorbing or desorbing the first electrode members E1 to grip or release the first electrode members E1.” Lee [0123])
a grip part rotatably connected to the adsorption part and configured to grip a rotatable part of the structure; (“As shown in FIG. 17, the first electrode feeder 34 includes a pair of the first feeding arms 34a and 34b capable of gripping or releasing the first electrode members E1 loaded on the first load trays 32a and 32b, wherein one ends of each of the first feeding arms 34a and 34b are connected to each other so that the first feeding arms 34a and 34b are arranged at a predetermined angle, and the first feeding arms 34a and 34b are rotatable around the rotation shaft 34c provided at the one ends.” Lee [0120]. In this case, feeding arms 34a and 34b act as the grip parts which are rotatable around the rotation shaft 34c. If there are vacuum adsorption pads present, the grip part [the arm] is rotably connected to the adsorption part.)
and a driving part for providing a rotational force to the grip part. (“The rotation shaft 34c is axially coupled to a driving motor (not shown), so that the first feeding arms 34a and 34b may be rotated around the rotation shaft 34c.” Lee [0121]. In this case, the driving motor function as the driving part.)
Regarding claim 4, Lee teaches all of the following elements:
The battery assembly device of claim 2, wherein the grip part comprises grip rods for holding the structure. (Lee figure 17 depicts the adsorption parts, which are used for gripping, being in the form of rods analogous to those shown in instant figure 6. See below for comparison)
Regarding claim 6, Lee teaches all of the following elements:
The battery assembly device of claim 1, wherein the transfer unit comprises: a horizontal transfer part movably connecting the alignment jig along a horizontal direction; (“In addition, the fourth conveying member 64b may include any one of various driving members capable of translational movement instead of the above-described cylinder 64c.” Lee [0157])
and a vertical transfer part connecting the horizontal transfer part to be movable along a vertical direction. (“The fifth conveying member 84 is coupled to the conveying jig 82 through a connection bar 82b so that the conveying jig 82 may be reciprocally conveyed in the vertical and horizontal directions, respectively.” Lee [0175])
Regarding claim 7, Lee teaches all of the following elements:
The battery assembly device of claim 6, wherein the transfer unit further comprises a rotating part for rotating the alignment jig. (“As shown in FIG. 19, the fourth conveying member 64b may include a cylinder 64c capable of reciprocating a cylinder rod 64e so that the cylinder rod 64e is brought close to or moved away from the rotation shaft 62a of the second lamination plate 62 and a guide member 64d coupled to the cylinder rod 64e so as to be reciprocated with the cylinder rod 64e. In addition, the fourth vacuum adsorption pads 64a are fixed to one end of the guide member 64d. This configuration allows the fourth conveying member 64b to reciprocate the fourth vacuum adsorption pads 64a so that the fourth vacuum adsorption pads 64a are brought close to or moved away from the rotation shaft 62a of the second lamination plate 62.” Lee [0157]. In this case, the cylinder acts as a rotation part for rotating the alignment jig in conjunction with the rotation shaft 62a)
Regarding claim 8, Lee teaches all of the following elements:
The battery assembly device of claim 7, wherein the transfer unit further comprises: a moving plate fixed to the horizontal transfer part; and a rotation shaft mounted on the moving plate such that the rotation shaft is rotated by the rotating part, (“As shown in FIG. 19, the fourth conveying member 64b may include a cylinder 64c capable of reciprocating a cylinder rod 64e so that the cylinder rod 64e is brought close to or moved away from the rotation shaft 62a of the second lamination plate 62 and a guide member 64d coupled to the cylinder rod 64e so as to be reciprocated with the cylinder rod 64e. In addition, the fourth vacuum adsorption pads 64a are fixed to one end of the guide member 64d. This configuration allows the fourth conveying member 64b to reciprocate the fourth vacuum adsorption pads 64a so that the fourth vacuum adsorption pads 64a are brought close to or moved away from the rotation shaft 62a of the second lamination plate 62.” Lee [0157]. In this case, the second lamination plate acts as the moving plate and the rotation shaft 62a functions as the rotation shaft.)
wherein the alignment jig is configured to be rotatable relative to the rotation shaft. (“As shown in FIG. 19, the second electrode laminators 64 may include at least one fourth vacuum adsorption pad 64a capable of vacuum-adsorbing or desorbing the second electrode members E2 seated on the second alignment members 56b and a fourth conveying member 64b capable of reciprocating the fourth vacuum adsorption pads 64a so that the fourth vacuum adsorption pads 64a are brought close to or moved away from the rotation shaft 62a of the second lamination plate 62.” Lee [0156]. In this case, the second alignment member 56b is capable of being rotatable relative to the rotation shaft.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20200127317 A1) in view of Yoon (KR 20200058207 A).
Regarding claim 9, Lee teaches all of the elements of claim 1, as shown above. Lee is silent on the following elements of claim 9. Specifically, Lee does not teach the structure comprising a sensing block structure. However, the battery assembly device of Lee would be fully capable of performing its holding, aligning, and transferring mechanisms to such a structure:
The battery assembly device of claim 1, wherein the structure comprises a sensing block structure body,
wherein the sensing block structure body comprises: a link;
a sensing block disposed on each of opposite end parts of the link and electrically connected to the link, the sensing block comprising a first sensing block and a second sensing block; and a cover disposed on the link such that the sensing block is rotatably coupled to the cover.
Yoon teaches all of the elements of claim 9 that are not found in Lee. Specifically, Yoon teaches a battery assembly device configured to hold a sensing member that meets the limitations of claims 9 (and 10)
The battery assembly device of claim 1, wherein the structure comprises a sensing block structure body, wherein the sensing block structure body comprises: a link; (“According to an aspect of the present invention, the front bus bar assembly, the rear bus bar assembly and a sensing member connected to them are used to mount the sensing assembly sensing the electrical connection and voltage characteristics of the battery cells to the battery cell stack.” Yoon [0014]. In this case, the link is also a sensing member. However, the claims do not state that the link is unrelated to the sensing portion of the structure, and therefore a sensing member with a block at both end and a link between them meets the limitations of claim 9.)
a sensing block disposed on each of opposite end parts of the link and electrically connected to the link, the sensing block comprising a first sensing block and a second sensing block; and a cover disposed on the link such that the sensing block is rotatably coupled to the cover. (“In this specification, the sensing assembly 20 refers to a component of a battery module used for the purpose of sensing electrical connection of battery cells and characteristics such as voltage and temperature. Here, the sensing assembly 20 includes a front bus bar assembly 21, a rear bus bar assembly 24, and a sensing member 27,” Yoon [0032] and “The jig body 11 of this embodiment may further include a plurality of perforations 17 formed through the thickness direction. When forming the perforated portion 17 in the form of a grid-like hole, the jig body 11 is easy to grip, and when the jig body 11 is seated on the top of the cell stack 30, the sensing member 27” Yoon [0046]. In this case, the front and rear bus bar assemblies function as the sensing blocks, with the sensing member acting as the link and providing the sensing capability to both ends. The jig body 11 functions as the cover, and is configured to be gripped [relevant in the following claims]. See Yoon figure 3 compared to instant figure 5A for how the two structures are analogous.)
Yoon is considered to be analogous to Lee because they are both within the same field of battery assembly devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery assembly device of Lee to be configured to hold and transfer the structure of Yoon, a sensing block, in order to increase energy density via the detection of electrical connections and characteristics (“The present invention relates to a method for assembling a jig for mounting a sensing assembly and a battery module, and more specifically, a jig and a battery module that can be mounted on a cell stack efficiently for detecting electrical connections and characteristics of battery cells. It relates to a battery module assembly method that can increase the energy density.” Yoon [0001])
By modifying Lee to be configured to hold the structure of Yoon, the limitations of claim 10 would be met as well, without requiring any further modification or motivation.
Regarding claim 10, modified Lee teaches all of the elements of claim 9, as shown above. Lee is silent on the following elements of claim 10:
The battery assembly device of claim 9, wherein the cover comprises a plurality of grooves passing through at least a portion of the cover such that the cover is held by the holder unit.
However, Yoon teaches all of the elements of claim 10 that are not found in Lee:
The battery assembly device of claim 9, wherein the cover comprises a plurality of grooves passing through at least a portion of the cover such that the cover is held by the holder unit. (“The jig body 11 of this embodiment may further include a plurality of perforations 17 formed through the thickness direction. When forming the perforated portion 17 in the form of a grid-like hole, the jig body 11 is easy to grip, and when the jig body 11 is seated on the top of the cell stack 30, the sensing member 27” Yoon [0046])
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (KR 20200058207 A) in view of Lee (US 20200127317 A1)
Regarding claim 12, Yoon teaches the following elements:
A battery assembly device comprising: (“The present invention relates to a method for assembling a jig for mounting a sensing assembly and a battery module, and more specifically, a jig and a battery module that can be mounted on a cell stack efficiently for detecting electrical connections and characteristics of battery cells. It relates to a battery module assembly method that can increase the energy density.” Yoon [0001])
a holder unit configured to grip at least one sensing block of two sensing blocks connected to each other such that the at least one sensing block is rotatable relative to a pivot shaft; (“The jig 10 for mounting a sensing assembly described below may be used for the purpose of easily mounting the sensing assembly 20 as described above to the cell stack 30.” Yoon [0036] and “ When the jig body 11 and the front and rear busbar assemblies 20 and 24 are connected in a hinged manner, the front busbar assembly 21 and the rear busbar assembly 24 are connected as shown in FIG. 3. It can be rotated outward to open, making it easy to assemble the electrode leads of the battery cells.” Yoon [0042]. In this case, the jig 10 acts as the holder unit gripping the sensing blocks, which are rotable via the hinges, which act as the pivot shaft “ As a detachable method of the jig body 11 and the front and rear busbar assemblies 24, a hinge coupling method may be employed. For example, a plurality of hinge shafts 12a are provided at both ends 12 and 13 of the jig body 11,” Yoon [0041])
an alignment jig configured to align leads of a cell stack in which a plurality of battery cells is stacked; (“Accordingly, in the present embodiment, the front frame 23 and the rear frame 26 are arranged to rotate the front bus bar assembly 21 and the rear bus bar assembly 24 to secure space and to easily insert the electrode leads 32.” In this case, the front and rear frame acts as an alignment jig which aligns the leads of the cell stack.)
Yoon is silent on the following elements of claim 12:
a transfer unit to which the alignment jig is movably mounted;
and a controller configured to control operations of the holder unit and the transfer unit, wherein the controller is configured to control the holder unit and the transfer unit such that the alignment jig aligns the leads while the leads are inserted into the sensing block.
However, Lee teaches all of the elements of claim 12 that are not found in Yoon:
a transfer unit to which the alignment jig is movably mounted; (“As shown in FIG. 19, the second electrode laminators 64 may include at least one fourth vacuum adsorption pad 64a capable of vacuum-adsorbing or desorbing the second electrode members E2 seated on the second alignment members 56b and a fourth conveying member 64b capable of reciprocating the fourth vacuum adsorption pads 64a so that the fourth vacuum adsorption pads 64a are brought close to or moved away from the rotation shaft 62a of the second lamination plate 62.” In this case, the conveying member acts as the transfer unit configured to provide a moving force to the alignment jig.)
and a controller configured to control operations of the holder unit and the transfer unit, wherein the controller is configured to control the holder unit and the transfer unit such that the alignment jig aligns the leads while the leads are inserted into the sensing block. (“To solve this problem, as shown in FIGS. 17 and 18, the first electrode feeding unit 30 may further include a first electrode sensor 38 that is installed between the first electrode feeder 34 and the first electrode lamination unit 40 so as to be spaced apart from each of the first electrode feeder 34 and the first electrode lamination unit 40 by an integer multiple of the rotation angle spacing of the first alignment plate 36a with respect to the rotation shaft 36j of the first alignment plate 36a, and that is capable of detecting whether the two or more first electrode members E1 are seated on the first alignment members 36b.” Lee [0131]. In this case, the sensor 38 of Lee functions as a controller which is used to make sure that the alignment members/plate correctly place the different parts of the structure in their required places.)
Yoon and Lee are considered to be analogous for the reasons provided above, regarding claims 9 and 10. It would have additionally been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery manufacturing device of Yoon to include the transfer unit and controller of Lee in order to provide additional freedom of movement to the alignment jig and to provide a sensing mechanism for the alignment jig, respectively. It would additionally have been obvious to modify the grip portion/jig of Yoon to include the driving part of Lee in order to provide rotational force for the grip part as this would additionally offer more freedom of movement within the manufacturing assembly.
By modifying Yoon with the transfer unit and holder unit of Lee, the additional limitations of claims 13 and 14 would be met without requiring any further modification or motivation.
Regarding claim 13, modified Yoon meets all of the limitations of claim 12, as shown above. Yoon teaches the additional limitations of claim 13:
The battery assembly device of claim 12, wherein the holder unit comprises: a grip part configured to grip the sensing block such that the grip part is rotatable relative to the pivot shaft; (“The jig 10 for mounting a sensing assembly described below may be used for the purpose of easily mounting the sensing assembly 20 as described above to the cell stack 30.” Yoon [0036] and “ When the jig body 11 and the front and rear busbar assemblies 20 and 24 are connected in a hinged manner, the front busbar assembly 21 and the rear busbar assembly 24 are connected as shown in FIG. 3. It can be rotated outward to open, making it easy to assemble the electrode leads of the battery cells.” Yoon [0042]. In this case, the jig 10 acts as the holder unit gripping the sensing blocks, which are rotable via the hinges, which act as the pivot shaft “ As a detachable method of the jig body 11 and the front and rear busbar assemblies 24, a hinge coupling method may be employed. For example, a plurality of hinge shafts 12a are provided at both ends 12 and 13 of the jig body 11,” Yoon [0041])
Yoon is silent on the following elements of claim 13:
and a driving part which provides a rotational force to the grip part.
However, Lee teaches all of the elements of claim 13 that are not found in Yoon. Specifically, Lee teaches a driving part to drive the rotational force of the grip part:
and a driving part which provides a rotational force to the grip part. (“The rotation shaft 34c is axially coupled to a driving motor (not shown), so that the first feeding arms 34a and 34b may be rotated around the rotation shaft 34c.” Lee [0121]. In this case, the driving motor function as the driving part.)
Regarding claim 14, modified Yoon meets all of the limitations of claim 13, as shown above. Yoon is silent on the following elements of claim 14:
The battery assembly device of claim 13, wherein the transfer unit comprises: a horizontal transfer part to which the alignment jig is mounted such that the alignment jig is movable along a horizontal direction;
a vertical transfer part to which the alignment jig is mounted such that the alignment jig is movable in a vertical direction;
and a rotating part to which the alignment jig is mounted such that the alignment jig is rotatable.
However, Lee teaches all of the elements of claim 14 not found in Yoon:
The battery assembly device of claim 13, wherein the transfer unit comprises: a horizontal transfer part to which the alignment jig is mounted such that the alignment jig is movable along a horizontal direction; (“In addition, the fourth conveying member 64b may include any one of various driving members capable of translational movement instead of the above-described cylinder 64c.” Lee [0157])
a vertical transfer part to which the alignment jig is mounted such that the alignment jig is movable in a vertical direction; (“The fifth conveying member 84 is coupled to the conveying jig 82 through a connection bar 82b so that the conveying jig 82 may be reciprocally conveyed in the vertical and horizontal directions, respectively.” Lee [0175])
and a rotating part to which the alignment jig is mounted such that the alignment jig is rotatable. (“As shown in FIG. 19, the fourth conveying member 64b may include a cylinder 64c capable of reciprocating a cylinder rod 64e so that the cylinder rod 64e is brought close to or moved away from the rotation shaft 62a of the second lamination plate 62 and a guide member 64d coupled to the cylinder rod 64e so as to be reciprocated with the cylinder rod 64e. In addition, the fourth vacuum adsorption pads 64a are fixed to one end of the guide member 64d. This configuration allows the fourth conveying member 64b to reciprocate the fourth vacuum adsorption pads 64a so that the fourth vacuum adsorption pads 64a are brought close to or moved away from the rotation shaft 62a of the second lamination plate 62.” Lee [0157]. In this case, the cylinder acts as a rotation part for rotating the alignment jig in conjunction with the rotation shaft 62a)
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (KR 20200058207 A) in view of Lee (US 20200127317 A1) and further in view of Cho (US 20170033384 A1)
Regarding claim 15, modified Yoon teaches all of the elements of claim 14, as shown above. Yoon and Lee are silent on the following elements of claim 15:
The battery assembly device of claim 14, wherein each of the driving part, the horizontal transfer part, the vertical transfer part, and the rotating part comprises a servomotor.
However, Cho teaches all of the elements of claim 15 that are not found in Yoon or Lee. Specifically, Cho teaches the use of a servo-motor to provide rotational/translational force in a battery manufacturing device.
The battery assembly device of claim 14, wherein each of the driving part, the horizontal transfer part, the vertical transfer part, and the rotating part comprises a servomotor. (“Here, the driver 51 operates the servo motor 53 through the controller 90, and if the lead screw 55 is rotated in the forward direction, the moving block 57 may be slide-moved along the guide block 59 in the feed direction of the electrolyte membrane 3 and the upper and lower electrode films 2 and 4, and the upper adsorbent 31 may be moved along the feed direction of the electrolyte membrane 3 and the upper and lower electrode films 2 and 4.” Cho [01001])
Cho is considered to be analogous to Yoon and Lee because it is within the same field of battery manufacturing methods and devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the driving part, horizontal transfer part, vertical transfer part, and rotating part of Lee to be powered by a servomotor, as Cho teaches that this is a known device in the art to provide rotational and translational motion. Therefore, it would only require a simple substitution of the driving motor of Lee with the servo motor of Cho to meet the claimed limitation, and the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5, 11, 16-17 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, examiner could not find any prior art that specifically taught an adsorption part that is actively separate and rotatable from a grip part. The closest prior art teaches a grip part with an adsorption pad that is rotatable as a whole, but not where the grip and adsorption parts are so clearly separate from each other. Examiner could not find an obvious motivation to make this modification to the existing prior art.
Regarding claims 5 and 11, examiner could not find prior art which teaches a grip part in a battery manufacturing apparatus which has two parts, each having a different number of grip rods, and could not find an obvious motivation to make this modification to the existing prior art.
Regarding claims 16 and 17, there is no prior art discovered which teaches a controller than actively monitors the servo load of a servomotor and uses that to make adjustments within a battery manufacturing device. There is also nothing indicating that this would be an obvious modification to make, even if there were a controller and a servo-motor, to combine them is not found in the related art. Cho teaches a servo motor which is controller via a controller, but does not mention it being related to a preset load or any sort of alarm/notification if set load is exceeded.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN ELI KASS-MULLET/Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/NICHOLAS A SMITH/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752