DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after May 19, 2022, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed 10/28/25 (hereinafter Response) including claim amendments have been entered. Examiner notes that claim 15 has been amended. In view of amendment, all the claim objections, and double patenting rejections have been withdrawn. In view of amendment, a new ground(s) of rejections is made under 35 USC § 103 as being unpatentable over Shoge, in view of Wang (details below) and claims 1-17 remain pending in the application.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 11/12/2025 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of any patent granted on application No. 15/122207 and US PAT. 11, 535, 337 B2 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see ‘Remarks’, filed 11/12/2025 (pages 7-12), regarding all claim rejections under 35 USC § 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. In view of the argument, and upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection under 35 USC § 103 is made over Shoge in view of Wang (details below).
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, filed 11/12/2025, with respect to claims 1-2, 4, 6, 10 and 12-13 interpretations under U.S.C. 112(f) have been fully considered, but are not persuasive. The Examiner disagrees. The recited terms “actuation means” and “current generating means” separately does not constitute structure itself. The use of “actuation means” and “current generating means” etc. do not, by themselves, identify any definite physical structure. Likewise, the use of functional language “Configured to convert motion energy to electric current” fails to impart concrete structural limitations. As shown in figs. 2 and 5-8, the specification discloses multiple possible components – e.g., connectors, actuators, switches and other alternatives- without specifying which structure corresponds to the claimed “means”. Because the claim language encompasses numerous disparate possibilities without clearly defining the required structure, the scope of the claim remains unclear. that leaves the claim languages unclear. Therefore, claim interpretations 112(f) for claims 1-2, 4, 6, 10 and 12-13 are maintained as previously presented on the office action mailed 06/12/2025.
On page 10 of the remarks, regarding claims 1 and 12, applicant submits that “according to the teaching of Shoge, the electric motor at the crank shaft is not housed within the hub shell or driver body”. In fact, Shoge teaches away from housing the electric motor within the hub shell or driver body”. The applicant further asserts that “citations do not meet the claimed features. First, it is not disclosed, nor suggested, in Shoge that such motor or other actuator could be housed within the hub shell or driver body. Second, it is not disclosed, nor suggested in Shoge that the movable member 63 could drive the motor or other actuator mentioned in paragraph [0105]”.The examiner agrees ; however, based on the teachings of Wang (details below) and/or that which is known in the art, this limitation does not distinguish the claim from the current art of record as discussed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4.Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-5, 7 and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shoge et al. (US 20110009231 A1; hereinafter, “Shoge”) in view of Wang (CN 203416066 U).
Regarding claim 1, Shoge discloses: A bicycle (101, fig. 1-16, [0038]), comprising:
a frame (102) with each of a front fork (102b), a rear fork (fig. 1, [0042]), and an axle housing (drive section 105, fig. 1and [0038]));
a front wheel (106) and a rear wheel (107) fitted respectively to the front and rear forks [0038];
a drive axle bearing-mounted (22c, [0039]) in the axle housing (105),
a front sprocket (crank 11, [0038]); and
a rear axle assembly (fig. 1 and 2), including:
a wheel hub (10, [0039]),
a rear sprocket (33, [0045])) for driving a driver body (16) in rotation,
the driver body (16) being connected to the wheel hub (10) via a transmission (18), for driving the wheel hub (10) in rotation [ see para. 0045 and 0046],
the transmission including at least two drives (32a, 32b, [0046]) between the driver body (16) and the wheel hub (10), said transmission (18) provided with an electric actuator [0105] of the transmission (18) for switching between the at least two drives [ para. 0105 discloses: “geared hub configured and arranged to be driven by a motor or other actuator controlled with an electric gear shifter”], the wheel hub (10) and the transmission (18) being positioned on a wheel axle (hub axle, claim 1) of the rear wheel (107) [ para. 0005 discloses that a rear drive sprocket mounted to a rear hub that is mounted to a rear portion of a frame of a bicycle with a rear hub that includes an internal gearing mechanism, thus positioned on the wheel axle of the rear wheel], and
a generator or current generating means configured to convert motion energy to electric current [para. 0007 discloses: “the electric motor as an electric generator for regenerative charging.”] and connected to the electric actuator to provide electric energy for the switching [ para. 0105 discloses: “geared hub configured and arranged to be driven by a motor or other actuator controlled with an electric gear shifter having an electric switch or other electric control mechanism.”],
a chain threaded around the front and rear sprockets (see fig. 1 and [para. 0005]).
Shoge does not appear to explicitly disclose that both the electric actuator and the generator or current generating means being housed within the hub shell and/or the driver body; however,
Wang in another ‘generating motor of electric bicycle’ similar to Shoge teaches that the electric actuator (“filter circuit” and “amplifying circuit”, [0008]) and the generator (8, fig. 2; [0023]) or current generating means (motor 7, fig. 2) being housed [0012 and fig. 2 housing] within the hub shell (2) and/or the driver body (fig. 2).
the computer unit 30.”.]
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shoge to integrate the teaching of Wang and configure the hub shell in such a way that the electric actuator, generator or current generating means being housed within the hub shell and/or the driver body in order to advantageously integrate all the components to form an integrally geared hub for motorized bicycle where the power flows directly from the motor to the gear and wheel with minimal friction. This improves efficiency and responsiveness, especially at low speed. Accordingly, the claimed configuration amounts to no more than the predictable optimization of known bicycle hub motor system, and therefore the claim as a whole would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art.
Regarding claim 2, Shoge as modified above further teaches that a storage element (rechargeable battery 105b, [0038]; note that: storage element as discussed in 112(f) interpretation above is being interpretated as ‘battery’ component]) for storing electrical energy is connected to the wheel axle [para. 0038 discloses: “the rear wheel 107 of the bicycle 101 is provided with the internally geared hub 10. The drive section 105 has an electric motor assist mechanism 105a that includes an electric motor (not shown) and a detachable rechargeable battery 105b serving as an electric power source for the electric motor assist mechanism 105a”; note that: crank axle is also a wheel axle; also see drawing objection above].
Regarding claim 12, Shoge teaches a rear axle assembly including: a wheel hub (10, [0039]), a rear sprocket (33, [0045])) for driving a driver body (16) in rotation, the driver body (16) being connected to the wheel hub (10) via a transmission (18), for driving the wheel hub (10) in rotation [ see para. 0045 and 0046], the transmission including at least two drives (32a, 32b, [0046]) between the driver body (16) and the wheel hub (10), said transmission (18) provided with an electric actuator [0105] of the transmission (18) for switching between the at least two drives [ para. 0105 discloses: “geared hub configured and arranged to be driven by a motor or other actuator controlled with an electric gear shifter”], the wheel hub (10) and the transmission (18) being positioned on a wheel axle (hub axle, claim 1) of the rear wheel (107) [ para. 0005 discloses that a rear drive sprocket mounted to a rear hub that is mounted to a rear portion of a frame of a bicycle with a rear hub that includes an internal gearing mechanism, thus positioned on the wheel axle of the rear wheel], and a generator or current generating means configured to convert motion energy to electric current [para. 0007 discloses: “the electric motor as an electric generator for regenerative charging.”] and connected to the electric actuator to provide electric energy for the switching [ para. 0105 discloses: “geared hub configured and arranged to be driven by a motor or other actuator controlled with an electric gear shifter having an electric switch or other electric control mechanism.”],
a chain threaded around the front and rear sprockets (see fig. 1 and [para. 0005]).
Shoge does not appear to explicitly disclose that both the electric actuator and the generator or current generating means being housed within the hub shell and/or the driver body; however,
Wang in another “generating motor of electric bicycle’ similar to Shoge teaches that the electric actuator (“filter circuit” and “amplifying circuit”, [0008]) and the generator (8, fig. 2; [0023]) or current generating means (motor 7, fig. 2) being housed [0012 and fig. 2 housing] within the hub shell (2) and/or the driver body (fig. 2).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shoge to integrate the teaching of Wang and configure the hub shell in such a way that the electric actuator, generator or current generating means being housed within the hub shell and/or the driver body in order to advantageously integrate all the components to form an integrally geared hub for motorized bicycle where the power flows directly from the motor to the gear and wheel with minimal friction. This improves efficiency and responsiveness, especially at low speed. Accordingly, the claimed configuration amounts to no more than the predictable optimization of known bicycle hub motor system, and therefore the claim as a whole would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art.
Regarding claim 3 and 14, (similar limitations, but different dependency), Shoge as modified above further teaches the bicycle and the rear axle assembly, wherein seen in axial direction of the wheel axle (hub axle, claim 1), the transmission (18) is positioned outside rear wheel (107) spoke flanges (30a, 30b) [para. 0102 discloses: “an internally geared hub having a bell crank, and a push rod configured and arranged to be moved in an axial direction of the hub by the bell crank”; also, para 0043 discloses: “the hub flanges 30a and 30b are configured for spokes of the rear wheel 107 to connect thereto and are attached such that they can rotate integrally with the hub shell 14”, thus the transmission is positioned outside rear wheel spoke flanges; also, see para. 0045.]
Regarding claim 4, Shoge as modified above further discloses the bicycle comprising: operating means (Shoge’s “electric switch as outlined on para. 0105 or other electric control mechanism” is understood to be equivalent to the recited operating means, see 112f discussion above) configured for operating the electric actuator. Para 0105 discloses: “a motor or other actuator controlled with an electric gear shifter having an electric switch or other electric control mechanism”, thus actuator is controlled by operating means which is equivalent to switch.
Regarding claim 5, Shoge as modified above further discloses the operating means include operating buttons and/or operating levers [para. 0105 discloses: “other actuator controlled with an electric gear shifter”; note that: “an electric gear shifter” is being interpretated as operating buttons or operating levers that controls the actuator; also, para. 0062 discloses that a gear shifter mounted to handlebar 104.]
Regarding claim 7, Shoge as modified above further teaches that the wheel axle (hub axle) comprises two separate axle parts (clutch pawl 60 and member 63; fig. 2-3), where the wheel hub (10) is positioned on a first one of the two axle parts (63 [fig. 2 shows wheel hub is positioned at 63]); and the transmission is positioned on a second one of the two axle parts (60, para. 0053 discloses that the second clutch pawls 60 are mounted in the second mounting recesses 58d such that they can pivot freely between an upright state and a prone state. The second ratchet teeth 61 are formed on an internal circumferential surface of the first sun gear 42.”, thus the transmission is positioned on a second one of the two axle part], and where an axle shaft (12) is inserted [fig. 7 shows 12 is inserted through 60 and 63] only through the first axle part (63) and the second axle part (60) and is connected to the rear fork (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Shoge as modified above further teaches that a storage element (rechargeable battery 105b, [0038]; note that: storage element as discussed in 112(f) above is being interpretated as ‘battery’ component]) for storing electrical energy is connected within the hub shell and/or the driver body. [para. 0038 discloses: “the rear wheel 107 of the bicycle 101 is provided with the internally geared hub 10. The drive section 105 has an electric motor assist mechanism 105a that includes an electric motor (not shown) and a detachable rechargeable battery 105b serving as an electric power source”; note that: serving as an electric power source through motor assist mechanism, thus electrical energy is connected the driver body within the hub shell”.]
Regarding claim 15, Shoge as modified above further teaches that the wheel axle (hub axle) comprises two separate axle parts (clutch pawl 60 and member 63; fig. 2-3), where the wheel hub (10) is positioned on a first one of the two axle parts (63 [fig. 2 shows wheel hub is positioned at 63]); and the transmission is positioned on a second one of the two axle parts (60, para. 0053 discloses that the second clutch pawls 60 are mounted in the second mounting recesses 58d such that they can pivot freely between an upright state and a prone state. The second ratchet teeth 61 are formed on an internal circumferential surface of the first sun gear 42.”, thus the transmission is positioned on a second one of the two axle part.]
Regarding claim 16, Shoge as modified above further teaches that an axle shaft (12) is inserted [fig. 7 shows 12 is inserted through 60 and 63] only through the first axle part (63) and the second axle part (60) and is connected to the rear fork (fig. 1) of a bicycle (101).
Claims 6, 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shoge in view of Wang and further in view of Kitamura at al. (US 20130145885 A1; hereinafter, “Kitamura”).
Regarding claim 6, Shoge as modified above further teaches the operating means (electric control mechanism, [0105]) coupled to the actuation means (other actuator, [0105]), but fails to disclose ‘wirelessly’; however,
Kitamura, in another bicycle device, similar to Shoge teaches the operating means are wirelessly coupled to the actuation means [para. 0031 discloses: “as seen in fig. 3, the input device 34 can wirelessly communicates directly with the internally geared hub 12 and directly with the computer unit 30.”.]
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shoge to integrate the teaching of Kitamura and provide the operating means, such as electric control mechanism of Shoge that is wirelessly coupled to the actuation means in order to advantageously integrate the wireless actuation features, enhancing faster and more precise gear shifting which reduces and allow efficient switching between a manual shifting mode and an automatic shifting mode [para. 0031 of Kitamura].
Regarding claim 8, Shoge as modified above further teaches that the bicycle comprises a front sprocket, but fails to disclose “only a single front sprocket”; however,
Kitamura, in another bicycle device, similar to Shoge teaches that the bicycle comprises only a single front sprocket (chain ring 26, fig. 1).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shoge to integrate the teaching of Kitamura and provide the single front sprocket to the bicycle drive in order to advantageously incorporate the improved chain retention that eliminates the extra chainrings, and shifter reduces overall weight, making the bicycle lighter, more efficient shifting unit that engages a part of a bicycle hub transmission device [ Abstract of Kitamura].
Regarding claim 11, Shoge as modified above further teaches that the operating means comprise an operating button which is fitted to the handlebars of the bicycle but fails to disclose that the operating means also comprise a display or indicator that shows the gear selected by the transmission.
Kitamura, in another bicycle device, similar to Shoge teaches that the operating means (30) also comprise a display or indicator that shows the gear selected by the transmission [para. 0028 teaches: “the bicycle 10 further includes a computer unit 30 that is mounted to a handlebar 32 of the bicycle 10. The computer unit 30 is preferably a bicycle computer that measures, calculates and displays various riding parameters such as bicycle speed, distance traveled, pedaling speed, pedaling cadence etc.”.]
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shoge to integrate the teaching of Kitamura and provide a display or indicator that shows the gear selected by the transmission in order to advantageously integrate smart connectivity and real-time data monitoring so that the display can provide various riding parameters such as bicycle speed, distance traveled, pedaling speed etc. [ para. 0028 of Kitamura].
Claims 9-10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shoge in view of Wang and further in view of Yamaguchi et al. (US 20130090195 A1; hereinafter, “Yamaguchi”).
Regarding claims 9 and 17, (similar limitations, but different dependency), Shoge as modified above further teaches the rear axle assembly, but fails to disclose that a plurality of rear sprockets, however,
Yamaguchi, in another bicycle device, similar to Shoge teaches that the rear axle assembly (76) comprises a plurality of rear sprockets (68) [para. 0015].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shoge to integrate the teaching of Yamaguchi and provide a plurality of rear sprockets to the rear axle assembly in order to advantageously optimize the gear selection, such as automated shifting systems to move chain guide from one sprocket to another and improve riding comfort [para. 0016 of Yamaguchi].
Regarding claim 10, depending on claim 4, Shoge as modified above further teaches the bicycle operating means and the actuation means, but fails to disclose that the bicycle further comprises an electrically actuated rear derailleur, and the operating means are further electrically coupled to further actuation means of the rear derailleur; however,
Yamaguchi, in another bicycle device, similar to Shoge teaches the bicycle further comprises an electrically actuated rear derailleur (80, [0015]), and the operating means (sensor 82, fig. 3 and [0016, line 5-10]) are further electrically coupled [0015 and 0016] to further actuation means (rotation resistance changing device 83, [0016]) of the rear derailleur [ para. 0015 teaches: “an electrically controlled rear derailleur transmission 80 for engaging chain 72 with selective ones of the plurality of rear sprockets 68”.]
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shoge to integrate the teaching of Yamaguchi and provide an electrically actuated rear derailleur, and the operating means, such as a sensor which are further electrically coupled to further actuation means, such as rotation resistance changing device of the rear derailleur in order to advantageously integrate the electronic shifting device, ensuring accurate gear changes with minimal effort, reducing the chances if misalignment and move change guide from one sprocket to another [para. 0016 of Yamaguchi], enabling automatic adjustments based on terrain or riding style.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CN 202435192 U to Qing discloses: the utility model claims a hub generator motor, comprising a main shaft, through a bearing assembly on the spindle of the hub shell, a hub shell in the motor, gear reduction mechanism, the clutch and the hub shell is fixing of the hub end cover; wherein the hub housing is further provided with a small generator, the small generator includes a generator stator and a generator rotor, the generator stator fixed on the main shaft, the generator rotor fixed on the hub end cover.
EP 2272744 A2 to Akihiko discloses: an internally geared hub is provided with a hub axle (12), a hub shell (14), a driver (16), a planetary gear mechanism (32) and a gear changing mechanism (20). The hub shell (14) rotates freely about the hub axle (12). The driver (16) rotates freely relative to both the hub axle (12) and the hub shell (14). The planetary gear mechanism (32) is operatively connected between the hub shell (14) and the driver (16).
CN 201435649 Y to Yuan discloses: the utility model claims a new-type electric motor, comprising a hub; a core shaft running through said hub; a stator, fixed on said core shaft; a rotor, cooperative with said stator; a sun gear, driven by said rotor; a de-accelerating mechanism of planetary gear, cooperative with said sun gear; and an inner gear ring, wherein said inner gear ring is mounted on said core shaft, said de-accelerating mechanism of planetary gear comprises a planetary gear disc and a planetary gear mounted on the planetary gear disc, said planetary gear is meshed with said inner gear ring, and said planetary gear disc is fixedly connected to said hub to drive said hub to rotate.
/NABIN KUMAR SHARMA/
Examiner, Art Unit 3611
/VALENTIN NEACSU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611