DETAILED ACTION
Notice relating to Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new reference(s) and/or citations being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 7, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCoy et al., US 2021/0031115 in view of Yang et al., US 2019/0275429 and further in view of Olsen et al., US 10,970,843.
Regarding claim 1, McCoy discloses a virtual object control method, performed by an electronic device of a viewer user (with at least client device; Fig. 1A, element 100, and page 3, paragraph 30), comprising:
displaying a first live streaming resource of a live game play, the first live streaming resource (displaying live game play of an event/video game; page 1, paragraph 7, and page 2, paragraph 23, and page 6, paragraphs 58-59, and pages 8-9, paragraph 78, and page 9, paragraph 82, and wherein with streaming; pages 7, paragraph 69, and page 8, paragraphs 70-72) comprising at least one selectable virtual object and at least one virtual object controlled by an anchor user (can include at least a selectable character, i.e. virtual game object, wherein various characters can being played by another player, i.e. anchor; page 11, paragraphs 105-106), the first live streaming resource being a live streaming resource corresponding to the virtual object controlled by the anchor user in the live game play (can include at least a selectable character, i.e. virtual game object, wherein various characters can be played by another player, i.e. anchor; page 11, paragraphs 105-106, and again with live game play of the video game; page 1, paragraph 7, and page 2, paragraph 23, and pages 8-9, paragraph 78, and page 9, paragraph 82, and with streaming; pages 7, paragraph 69, and page 8, paragraphs 70-72, and streaming the live game play to the device of a particular user/player; page 9, paragraph 78);
transmitting a control request in response to receiving a selection instruction for a target virtual object in the at least one selectable virtual object, the control request being for requesting to control the target virtual object (again, based on selectable/selected character; page 11, paragraphs 105-106, and wherein based on input commands that are used to drive the gameplay, i.e. such as player control; page 7, paragraph 61, and inputs for controlling the character; page 11, paragraph 105, and wherein inputs communicated, i.e. requests, to cloud gaming server; page 15, paragraph 143); and
controlling, in response to a control instruction for the target virtual object, the target virtual object to perform a target operation (taking over control; page 9, paragraphs 82 and 87, and wherein for performing actions/operations; page 11, paragraphs 105-106).
While McCoy does again disclose the viewer user (with at least client device; Fig. 1A, element 100, and page 3, paragraph 30), a live streaming resource (with live game play of the video game; page 1, paragraph 7, and page 2, paragraph 23, and pages 8-9, paragraph 78, and page 9, paragraph 82, and with streaming; pages 7, paragraph 69, and page 8, paragraphs 70-72, and streaming the live game play to the device of the particular user/player; page 9, paragraph 78), as well as the target virtual object (can include at least a selectable character, i.e. virtual game object, wherein various characters can be played by another player, i.e. anchor; page 11, paragraphs 105-106), the target virtual object controlled by the viewer user (based on viewer/spectator selectable/selected character; page 11, paragraphs 105-106, and wherein based on input commands that are used to drive the gameplay, i.e. such as player control; page 7, paragraph 61, and inputs for controlling the character; page 11, paragraph 105, and taking over control; page 9, paragraphs 82 and 87, and wherein for performing actions/operations; page 11, paragraphs 105-106), transmitting to a server (selectable character for control; page 11, paragraphs 105-106, and with communications to game server; page 15, paragraph 142), and information being forwarded to a client by the server (with game server providing, i.e. forwarded, such instructions/interactions/communications to other components/logic; page 7, paragraphs 64-65 and 67, for performing actions/operations; page 11, paragraphs 105-106), McCoy does not explicitly disclose controlling comprises transmitting a control instruction in response to the control instruction for a virtual object, the control instruction being forwarded to a game client by a server and being for instructing the game client to control the virtual object to perform a target operation; and
displaying a second resource of a live game play, the second resource being a resource corresponding to a particular interaction/control by a viewer user in the live game play.
In a related art, Yang does disclose controlling comprises transmitting a control instruction to a server in response to the control instruction for a virtual object, the control instruction being forwarded to a game client by a server and being for instructing the game client to control the virtual object to perform a target operation (client control operation for a specific, i.e. target, virtual object; pages 2-3, paragraph 44, and page 5, paragraph 83, and wherein the control is sent to a game server, which will then provide the action/control to specific game clients of users for performing the operation(s); pages 5-6, paragraphs 84-85).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the prior art of McCoy and Yang by allowing communications between game client(s) and game server(s) for performing certain game related operations, in order to provide an improved system and method for information processing that reduces an amount of information delivered by a server to a client and reduces information processing of the client (Yang; page 1, paragraph 9).
McCoy in view of Yang does not explicitly disclose displaying a second resource of a live game play, the second resource being a resource corresponding to a particular interaction/control by a viewer user in the live game play.
In a related art, Olsen does disclose a first resource of a live game (can send at least first digital media; Fig. 7, element 1100, and Fig. 8, element 1200, and col. 37, lines 8-10 and 26-31, and wherein with games/gaming; col. 4, lines 24-32, and col. 8, lines 37-65, and with streaming; col. 5, lines 40-51, and col. 20, lines 22-32, and col. 36, lines 29-34, and col. 39, lines 18-22, and col. 43, lines 56-64, and with real-time, i.e. live; col. 5, lines 40-44, and col. 20, lines 22-32 and 39-43, and col. 35, lines 17-28, and col. 55, lines 12-23); and
displaying a second resource of a live game play, the second resource being a resource corresponding to a particular interaction/control by a viewer user in the live game play (based on selections/interactions, system can generate and send second digital media for display; col. 5, lines 52-57, and col. 6, lines 1-7, and col. 37, lines 10-20 and 28-44, and col. 46, lines 21-29, and Fig. 7, elements 1102, 1106, and 1108, and Fig. 8, elements 1202, 1206, and 1208, and wherein interactions can include at least interacting with and/or taking control of a character; col. 35, lines 1-16, and col. 41, lines 42-57, and col. 42, lines 4-30, and again with games/gaming; col. 4, lines 24-32, and col. 8, lines 37-65, and with streaming; col. 5, lines 40-51, and col. 20, lines 22-32, and col. 36, lines 29-34, and col. 39, lines 18-22, and col. 43, lines 56-64, and with real-time, i.e. live; col. 5, lines 40-44, and col. 20, lines 22-32 and 39-43, and col. 35, lines 17-28, and col. 55, lines 12-23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the prior art of McCoy, Yang, and Olsen by allowing additional streams of content to be communicated between the client/servers with the already present clients/servers of McCoy and Yang, in order to provide improved system and method for managing and sharing digital assets within a media universe and provide interactive experiences to customers of the media universe (Olsen; col. 3, lines 49-53).
Regarding claim 3, McCoy in view of Yang and Olsen discloses the first live streaming resource is for a cloud gaming (McCoy; cloud gaming network; pages 2-3, paragraphs 27-29, and pages 7-8, paragraphs 69-71), and a server renders a game scene of the cloud gaming into a video and audio stream and transmit the video and audio stream to the electronic device (McCoy; based on processing of gameplay, i.e. scenes, at the cloud game server, system can then provide images/audio for delivery/transmission to client/user; page 3, paragraph 32, and page 8, paragraph 70).
Regarding claim 7, McCoy in view of Yang and Olsen discloses the selectable virtual object is a virtual object controlled by artificial intelligence before being controlled by a viewer (McCoy; can be a character that is an NPC, i.e. non-player controlled character that is normally AI controlled; page 9, paragraphs 82 and 85, and page 11, paragraph 106, and page 12, paragraph 109).
Regarding claim 9, McCoy in view of Yang and Olsen discloses obtaining preference information of a viewer user based on user information of the viewer user, the viewer user comprising a user controlling the target virtual object or a user viewing the first live streaming resource (McCoy; system can include/obtain preference/profile information about a viewing/controlling user; page 10, paragraph 93, and/or profile information for adapting to a player; page 5, paragraph 46, and page 11, paragraph 106); and
obtaining a target rendering form based on the preference information of the viewer user (McCoy; system can make determinations about what content and or actions are presented during display to a user, i.e. target rendering; page 10, paragraph 93, and page 5, paragraph 46, and page 11, paragraph 106); and
the displaying the first live streaming resource comprises: displaying the first live streaming resource in the target rendering form (McCoy; can display based on the target rendering that is based on the preference(s)/profile(s); page 10, paragraph 93, and page 5, paragraph 46, and page 11, paragraph 106).
Regarding claim 11, McCoy in view of Yang and Olsen discloses the selectable virtual object is uncontrollable by the anchor user (McCoy; can be a character that is an NPC, i.e. non-player controlled character; page 9, paragraphs 82 and 85, and page 11, paragraph 106, and page 12, paragraph 109).
Claims 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCoy et al., US 2021/0031115 in view of Yang et al., US 2019/0275429 and Olsen et al., US 10,970,843, and further in view of Willette et al., US 2017/0001111.
Regarding claim 2, McCoy in view of Yang and Olsen discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 1, as well as transmitting the control request to a server in response to receiving a confirmation instruction for the target virtual object (McCoy; selection and actively "switching" to participation considered confirmation of such operations; page 11, paragraphs 105-106, and page 10, paragraph 95, and page 12, paragraph 110, and again after selection and switching, can communicate requests/inputs with at least gaming server; page 11, paragraph 105, and page 15, paragraph 143).
While McCoy in view of Yang and Olsen does also disclose the control request (McCoy; based on input commands that are used to drive the gameplay, i.e. such as player control; page 7, paragraph 61, and inputs for controlling the character; page 11, paragraph 105, and wherein inputs communicated, i.e. requests, to cloud gaming server; page 15, paragraph 143), McCoy in view of Yang and Olsen does not explicitly disclose displaying object information of a target virtual object in response to receiving a selection instruction for the target virtual object in the at least one selectable virtual object; and
a request to a server in response to receiving instructions for the object information of the target virtual object, the request carrying an object identifier of the target virtual object.
In a related art, Willette does disclose displaying object information of a target virtual object in response to receiving a selection instruction for the target virtual object in the at least one selectable virtual object (based on user selection of a particular character, i.e. object, information associated with that character can be displayed; page 23, paragraph 206, and Fig. 7B, element 738B); and
a request to a server in response to receiving instructions for the object information of the target virtual object (based on interactions with the content, i.e. including the characters, can send particular requests to sources; page 10, paragraph 101, and wherein including server(s); page 10, paragraph 102, and page 23, paragraph 205), the request carrying an object identifier of the target virtual object (the request(s) can include identification information relating to a player/character; page 10, paragraph 101, and requests can be related to specifically identified/identification information about players/characters; page 21, paragraph 192, and wherein for controlling particular player/character; page 27, paragraph 235).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the prior art of McCoy, Yang, Olsen, and Willette by allowing specific information to be provided and to be included with the communications/requests already present in McCoy in view of Yang and Olsen, in order to provide an improved system and method for integrating game systems with a game spectating system in a game spectating environment (Willette; page 2, paragraph 52).
Regarding claim 5, McCoy in view of Yang and Olsen discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 1, as well as transmitting a live streaming resource acquisition request to a server (McCoy; client requesting access to game via communication with server; page 3, paragraph 30, and again for live game play of an event; page 6, paragraphs 58-59, and wherein with streaming; pages 7, paragraph 69, and page 8, paragraphs 70-72), the live streaming resource acquisition request of a target live streaming (McCoy; requesting access to game, i.e. target, via communication with server; page 3, paragraph 30, and again for live game play of an event; page 6, paragraphs 58-59, and wherein with streaming; pages 7, paragraph 69, and page 8, paragraphs 70-72);
receiving the first live streaming resource returned by the server, the first live streaming resource representing a game being played by the anchor user of the target live streaming using a game client (McCoy; again based on requesting access to game, i.e. target, via communication with server; page 3, paragraph 30, and again for live game play of an event; page 6, paragraphs 58-59, and wherein with streaming; pages 7, paragraph 69, and page 8, paragraphs 70-72, and wherein for user, i.e. anchor, playing a live game; page 4, paragraph 39, and page 6, paragraphs 58 and 60, and with gaming logic and game engine; page 2, paragraph 27, and page 4, paragraph 39), and the server obtaining the first live streaming resource from the game client based on the live streaming (McCoy; at least server obtaining gaming inputs/data from the client(s), i.e. game client input(s)/data; page 15, paragraphs 142-143, and page 7, paragraphs 64-65); and
displaying the first live streaming resource (McCoy; for display; page 3, paragraphs 30 and 32, and page 6, paragraph 59, and page 8, paragraph 71).
McCoy in view of Yang and Olsen does not explicitly disclose a request carrying a live streaming studio identifier of a target live streaming studio,
the target live streaming studio, and
based on the live streaming studio identifier of the target live streaming studio.
In a related art, Willette does disclose a request carrying a live streaming studio identifier of a target live streaming studio (requests based on the interaction with gaming metadata which includes various identification information; page 10, paragraph 101, and pages 20-21, paragraph 192, and page 29, paragraph 252, and page 31, paragraph 267, and wherein including information identifying broadcasters, i.e., target live streaming studio; page 14, paragraph 140, and with broadcast ID; page 14, paragraphs 146 and 149, and page 19, paragraph 185, and Fig. 6A, element 660, and with specific selected broadcaster, i.e. target live streaming studio; page 20, paragraph 186, and for live streaming from the broadcasters; pages 7-8, paragraph 84, and page 8, paragraph 87),
the target live streaming studio (with specific selected broadcaster, i.e. target live streaming studio; page 20, paragraph 186, and for live streaming from the broadcasters; pages 7-8, paragraph 84, and page 8, paragraph 87), and
based on the live streaming studio identifier of the target live streaming studio (request and provision based on particular identification information, including at least the broadcast/broadcaster identification/ID, i.e. target live streaming studio; page 10, paragraph 101, and page 14, paragraph 140, and with broadcast ID; page 14, paragraphs 146 and 149, and page 19, paragraph 185, and Fig. 6A, element 660, and with specific selected broadcaster, i.e. target live streaming studio; page 20, paragraph 186, and for live streaming from the broadcasters; pages 7-8, paragraph 84, and page 8, paragraph 87).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the prior art of McCoy, Yang, Olsen, and Willette by allowing specific information to be included with the communications/requests already present in McCoy in view of Yang and Olsen, in order to provide an improved system and method for integrating game systems with a game spectating system in a game spectating environment (Willette; page 2, paragraph 52).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCoy et al., US 2021/0031115 in view of Yang et al., US 2019/0275429 and Olsen et al., US 10,970,843, and further in view of Zimring et al., US 2019/0321732.
Regarding claim 6, McCoy in view of Yang and Olsen discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 1, as well as receiving an audio and video data of the target virtual object returned by a server (McCoy; can receive and display audio/video relating to characters/players from server(s); page 8, paragraph 70, and based on the processing at the server(s); page 7, paragraphs 64-65 and 67, and where in relation to a target, i.e. selected; page 11, paragraphs 105-106); and
the displaying the second live streaming resource comprises: displaying a second live streaming resource based on the audio and video data of the target virtual object, the second live streaming resource being an audio and video corresponding to the target virtual object (McCoy; again receive and display audio/video relating to characters/players from server(s); page 8, paragraph 70, and based on the processing at the server(s); page 7, paragraphs 64-65 and 67, and where in relation to a target, i.e. selected; page 11, paragraphs 105-106, and wherein considered in relation to a second resource of the spectator taking control of the character/player; Fig. 3B, element 340B, and page 10, paragraphs 90-92, and from server; page 10, paragraph 95, and again with live game play of an event; page 6, paragraphs 58-59, and wherein with streaming; pages 7, paragraph 69, and page 8, paragraphs 70-72, and Olsen; based on selections/interactions, system can generate and send second digital media for display; col. 5, lines 52-57, and col. 6, lines 1-7, and col. 37, lines 10-20 and 28-44, and col. 46, lines 21-29, and Fig. 7, elements 1102, 1106, and 1108, and Fig. 8, elements 1202, 1206, and 1208, and wherein interactions can include at least interacting with and/or taking control of a character; col. 35, lines 1-16, and col. 41, lines 42-57, and col. 42, lines 4-30, and again with games/gaming; col. 4, lines 24-32, and col. 8, lines 37-65, and with streaming; col. 5, lines 40-51, and col. 20, lines 22-32, and col. 36, lines 29-34, and col. 39, lines 18-22, and col. 43, lines 56-64, and with real-time, i.e. live; col. 5, lines 40-44, and col. 20, lines 22-32 and 39-43, and col. 35, lines 17-28, and col. 55, lines 12-23).
McCoy in view of Yang and Olsen does not explicitly disclose a stream address.
In a related art, Zimring does disclose a stream address (with use of URL address for gaming session; page 8, paragraph 90, and can also include game server address; page 10, paragraph 117, and page 13, paragraph 180).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the prior art of McCoy, Yang, Olsen, and Zimring by allowing specific source addresses to be used for obtaining and communicating content, in order to provide an improved system and method for a gaming application platform that enables efficient and portable gaming experiences (Zimring; page 1, paragraph 5).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCoy et al., US 2021/0031115 in view of Yang et al., US 2019/0275429 and Olsen et al., US 10,970,843, and further in view of Wallace et al., US 2008/0155019.
Regarding claim 8, McCoy in view of Yang and Olsen discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 1, as well as in response to receiving from a server first prompt information (McCoy; can receive data/information from server(s) relating to overlays/inserts, i.e. prompts, in relation to game state data; page 3, paragraph 35, and page 7, paragraphs 65 and 67, and page 8, paragraph 75, and page 10, paragraph 98) indicating that the target virtual object is a virtual object being controlled by another viewer user (McCoy; overlays/inserts, i.e. prompts, can be displayed, in relation to received game state data; page 3, paragraph 35, and page 7, paragraphs 65 and 67, and page 8, paragraph 75, and page 10, paragraph 98, and wherein game state data can be related to gameplay at a particular point, i.e. updated to reflect current state of play/player/character/object; page 7, paragraph 65, and game state data includes states of characters/objects, etc., such that it is interpreted that if a character is in a controlled state, i.e. controlled by another player/user/viewer, the game state data and accompanying overlays/prompts can reflect that for that particular point in time; page 3, paragraph 35, and page 7, paragraph 65, and page 10, paragraph 98, thereby allowing for the selection and processing in relation to that character/player/object; page 11, paragraphs 105-106, and page 9, paragraph 82); and
displaying the first prompt information (McCoy; displaying as overlaid data; page 3, paragraph 35, and page 7, paragraphs 65 and 67, and page 8, paragraph 75, and page 10, paragraph 98).
While McCoy in view of Yang and Olsen also discloses the viewer user (McCoy; with at least client device; Fig. 1A, element 100, and page 3, paragraph 30), as well as the target virtual object (McCoy; can include at least a selectable character, i.e. virtual game object, wherein various characters can being played by another player, i.e. anchor; page 11, paragraphs 105-106), McCoy in view of Yang and Olsen does not explicitly disclose in response to received data, determining that a user cannot control a target object.
In a related art, Wallace does disclose in response to received data, determining that a user cannot control a target object (after receiving information for a selected character/object, system can determine that the character/object is currently used/claimed by another person, i.e. determination that character/object cannot currently be controlled/used, and can then perform other steps, which can ultimately end in the user not being able to use/control the character object if the challenge is not successful; page 16, paragraphs 199-201, and Fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the prior art of McCoy, Yang, Olsen, and Wallace by allowing the received information of McCoy in view of Yang and Olsen to be used with the determination processes occurring in Wallace, in order to provide an improved system and method for commerce, communications, and other types of interactions between participants in proprietary environments such as those found in on-line games, simulations and virtual communities, and more specifically, to an identity and reputation management system to facilitate such interactions while maintaining anonymity and other desirable characteristics of participants' experience in a proprietary environment (Wallace; page 1, paragraph 2).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCoy et al., US 2021/0031115 in view of Yang et al., US 2019/0275429 and Olsen et al., US 10,970,843, and further in view of Fisher et al., US 2020/0228610.
Regarding claim 10, McCoy in view of Yang and Olsen discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 1, as well as receiving second prompt information transmitted by a server, the second prompt indicating information (McCoy; can receive various data/information, i.e. interpreted as included multiple and/or at least second, from server(s) relating to overlays/inserts, i.e. prompts, in relation to game state data, i.e. information; page 3, paragraph 35, and page 7, paragraphs 65 and 67, and page 8, paragraph 75, and page 10, paragraph 98); and
displaying the second prompt information (McCoy; displaying as overlaid data; page 3, paragraph 35, and page 7, paragraphs 65 and 67, and page 8, paragraph 75, and page 10, paragraph 98).
While McCoy in view of Yang and Olsen also discloses a control duration of the target virtual object, the control duration being a duration for which the target virtual object has been controlled (McCoy; user plays/controls for a specific period of time; Fig. 3B, element 340B, and page 9, paragraph 84, and for particular selected player/character; page 9, paragraphs 82 and 87, and page 11, paragraphs 105-106), and a use duration of the target virtual object, the use duration being a duration for which the target virtual object is allowed to be controlled (McCoy; system can allow for play/use for a particular predefined boundary/period; page 10, paragraph 91, and again for particular selected player/character; page 9, paragraphs 82 and 87, and page 11, paragraphs 105-106), McCoy in view of Yang and Olsen does not explicitly disclose information indicating that a difference between a certain duration and a use duration is less than or equal to a duration threshold; and
displaying the information.
In a related art, Fisher does disclose information indicating that a difference between a certain duration and a use duration is less than or equal to a duration threshold (system can determine when play duration and a limited playing time, i.e. use duration with a duration limit/threshold, and wherein can display remaining time, i.e. play duration less than the use duration/threshold; page 5, paragraph 35; and
displaying the information (can display the information, including at least the remaining time; page 5, paragraph 35).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the prior art of McCoy, Yang, Olsen, and Fisher by allowing certain play information to be displayed to a user, in order to provide an improved system and method for coordinating multiplayer games or parties, which overcomes inconveniences by providing a way that enables a user to invite others directly into a multi-user application, such as a game or party (Fisher; page 1, paragraphs 19-20).
Claims 12-13, 15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCoy et al., US 2021/0031115 in view of Yang et al., US 2019/0275429, Olsen et al., US 10,970,843, and Willette et al., US 2017/0001111, and further in view of Zimring et al., US 2019/0321732.
Regarding claim 12, McCoy in view of Yang, Olsen, Willette, and Zimring discloses transmitting a first live streaming resource of a live game play to an electronic device of a viewer user, the first live streaming resource comprising at least one selectable virtual object and at least one virtual object controlled by an anchor user, the first live streaming resource being a live streaming resource corresponding to the virtual object controlled by the anchor user in the live game play; receiving a control request transmitted by the electronic device, the control request carrying an object identifier of a target virtual object, the control request being for requesting to control the target virtual object, and the target virtual object being a selectable virtual object comprised in the first live streaming resource; obtaining an audio and video data stream address of the target virtual object based on the object identifier of the target virtual object; and transmitting the audio and video data stream address of the target virtual object to the electronic device, the audio and video data stream address being an address of a second live streaming resource, the second live streaming resource being a live streaming resource corresponding to the target virtual object controlled by the viewer user in the live game play, as detailed by the citations and/or rationales previously provided in the rejections of similar claims 1, 2, and 6.
Regarding claim 13, McCoy in view of Yang, Olsen, Willette, and Zimring discloses determining an object state of the target virtual object based on the object identifier of the target virtual object (McCoy; can determine states of objects/characters/players based on metadata that includes game state data; page 3, paragraph 35, and page 7, paragraph 65, and page 10, paragraph 98 and Willette; identification information relating to a player/character; page 10, paragraph 101, and specific identified/identification information about players/characters; page 21, paragraph 192); and
obtaining the audio and video data stream address of the target virtual object in response to the object state of the target virtual object being an uncontrolled state (Zimring; obtaining based on URL address for gaming session; page 8, paragraph 90, and can also include game server address; page 10, paragraph 117, and page 13, paragraph 180, and McCoy; processing based on, i.e. in response, to the game state data, wherein the game state data is based on gameplay at a particular point, i.e. updated to reflect current state of play/player/character/object; page 7, paragraph 65, and again game state data includes states of characters/objects, etc., such that it is interpreted that if a character is in an uncontrolled/NPC state, the game state data would reflect that for that particular point in time; page 3, paragraph 35, and page 7, paragraph 65, and page 10, paragraph 98, thereby allowing for the selection and processing in relation to that character/player/object; page 11, paragraphs 105-106, and page 7, paragraphs 64-65 and 67, and for obtaining audio/video; page 8, paragraph 70).
Claim 15, which discloses a method, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claim 5. The following additional limitations are also disclosed:
parsing information (Zimring; system can utilize parsing and extraction of information in order to obtain certain data; page 9, paragraph 100, and Willette; can parse information; page 17, paragraph 172).
Claim 17, which discloses a method, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claim 3.
Regarding claim 18, McCoy in view of Yang, Olsen, Willette, and Zimring discloses adjusting an object state of the target virtual object to a controlled state (McCoy; processing based on, i.e. in response, to the game state data, wherein the game state data is based on gameplay at a particular point, i.e. updated to reflect current state of play/player/character/object; page 7, paragraph 65, and again game state data includes states of characters/objects, etc., such that it is interpreted that if a character becomes in a controlled state, the game state data would reflect that for that particular point in time, i.e. updated/adjusted; page 3, paragraph 35, and page 7, paragraph 65, and page 10, paragraph 98).
Regarding claim 19, McCoy in view of Yang, Olsen, Willette, and Zimring discloses object information of the target virtual object comprises a use duration and an object task (Willette; parameters relating to gameplay/players, i.e. object information, can include specifications on tasks and achievements in relation to timing/period of time; page 34, paragraph 306, and McCoy; for particular selected player/character; page 9, paragraphs 82 and 87, and page 11, paragraphs 105-106, and for a particular play boundary/period; page 10, paragraph 91), the use duration being a duration for which the target virtual object is allowed to be controlled (McCoy; period of time a user can play, i.e. control particular player/character, before gameplay for the user ends; Fig. 3B, elements 331 and 332, and page 9, paragraph 84, and page 10, paragraph 91, and again for particular selected player/character; page 9, paragraphs 82 and 87, and page 11, paragraphs 105-106, and Willette; in relation to time parameter and/or within a specified period of time; page 34, paragraph 306), and the method further comprises:
obtaining a reward resource corresponding to the target virtual object in response to the object task of the target virtual object being completed within the use duration of the target virtual object (Willette; system can determine that particular accomplishment/goal has been attained by a player/user, and can then determine rewards in relation to that accomplishment/goal; page 34, paragraph 306, and again in relation to time parameter and/or within a specified period of time; page 34, paragraph 306, and McCoy; for particular selected player/character; page 9, paragraphs 82 and 87, and page 11, paragraphs 105-106, and in relation to timing/period of time; page 34, paragraph 306); and
transmitting the reward resource corresponding to the target virtual object to the electronic device (Willette; provision of the reward; page 34, paragraph 306).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCoy et al., US 2021/0031115 in view of Yang et al., US 2019/0275429, Olsen et al., US 10,970,843, Willette et al., US 2017/0001111, and Zimring et al., US 2019/0321732, and further in view of Fisher et al., US 2020/0228610.
Regarding claim 20, McCoy in view of Yang, Olsen, Willette, Zimring, and Fisher discloses transmitting second prompt information to the electronic device in response to a difference between a control duration of the target virtual object and a use duration of the target virtual object being less than or equal to a duration threshold, the second prompt information indicating that the difference between the control duration of the target virtual object and the use duration of the target virtual object is less than or equal to the duration threshold, the control duration being a duration for which the target virtual object has been controlled, and the use duration being a duration for which the target virtual object is allowed to be controlled, as detailed by the citations and/or rationales previously provided in the rejection of similar claims 10 and 12. The following additional limitations are also disclosed:
adjusting an object state of the target virtual object to an uncontrolled state (McCoy; processing based on, i.e. in response, to the game state data, wherein the game state data is based on gameplay at a particular point, i.e. updated to reflect current state of play/player/character/object; page 7, paragraph 65, and again game state data includes states of characters/objects, etc., such that it is interpreted that if a character becomes in an uncontrolled state, the game state data would reflect that for that particular point in time, i.e. updated/adjusted; page 3, paragraph 35, and page 7, paragraph 65, and page 10, paragraph 98).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RANDY A FLYNN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424