DETAILED ACTION
This is the initial Office action based on application number 18/063244 filed on 12/08/2022. Claims 1-14 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, directed to a fuel cell system as recited in claims 1-5 and 11-14, without traverse in the reply filed on 12/10/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 6-10 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 11, 14 objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding to claim 1: In lines 6-7 “a recycling conduit that fluidly connects the fuel exhaust to [[the]] a fuel inlet conduit”.
Regarding to claim 11: In lines 7-8 “wherein the recycling conduit that fluidly connects the fuel exhaust to [[the]] a fuel inlet conduit”
Regarding to claim 14: in lines 8-9 “an anode exhaust cooler bypass fluidly connecting the splitter to the least one hydrogen pump separator”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Weingaertner et al. (WO 2020210167 A1).
Regarding to claim 1: Weingaertner et al. disclose a fuel cell system (abstract) comprising:
a hotbox (302) (par. 78, fig. 4);
a fuel cell stack (101) disposed in the hotbox (par. 78, fig. 4);
a fuel exhaust conduit (412) that receives fuel exhaust output by the fuel cell stack (101) (par. 83, fig. 4);
a fuel exhaust separator (462) that separates liquid from the fuel exhaust (par. 85, fig. 4); and
a recycling conduit (414) that fluidly connects the fuel exhaust to a fuel inlet conduit (410) (par. 84, fig. 4).
Regarding to claim 2: Weingaertner et al. disclose a fuel exhaust condenser (460) that reduces liquid content of the fuel exhaust (par. 83, fig. 4).
Regarding to claim 3: Weingaertner et al. disclose the liquid is returned to the fuel exhaust condenser (460) through a water conduit (464) that fluidly connects the fuel exhaust separator (462) and the fuel exhaust condenser (460) (par. 85, fig. 4).
Regarding to claim 4: Weingaertner et al. disclose a bleed valve (417) that removes impurities from the fuel exhaust (par. 87, fig. 4).
Regarding to claim 5: Weingaertner et al. disclose a mixer (422) to fluidly connect the recycling conduit (414) and the fuel inlet conduit (410) (par. 84, fig. 4).
Regarding to claim 11: Weingaertner et al. disclose a fuel cell system (abstract) comprising:
a hotbox (302) (par. 78, fig. 5A);
a fuel cell stack (101) disposed in the hotbox (par. 78, fig. 5A);
a fuel exhaust conduit (412) that receives fuel exhaust output by the fuel cell stack (101) (par. 83, fig. 5A);
a fuel exhaust splitter (558) that fluidly separates fuel exhaust to a recycling conduit (414) and a processing conduit (516) (par. 96, fig. 5A);
wherein the recycling conduit (414) fluidly connects the fuel exhaust to a fuel inlet conduit (410) (par. 96, fig. 5A ), and the processing conduit (516) is fluidly connected to a gas separator (570) (par. 94, fig. 5A).
Regarding to claim 12: Weingaertner et al. disclose the gas separator (570) separates streams of water, carbon dioxide, and a mixture of hydrogen and carbon monoxide (par. 97).
Regarding to claim 13: Weingaertner et al. disclose carbon dioxide is stored in a carbon dioxide storage device (340) (par. 61, 62, fig. 5A).
Regarding to claim 14: Weingaertner et al. disclose a fuel cell system (abstract), comprising:
a fuel cell stack (101) (par. 46, fig. 3);
an anode recuperator heat exchanger (121) (par. 74, fig. 3);
an anode exhaust cooler heat cooler (125) (equivalent to am anode exhaust cooler heat exchanger) (par. 81, fig. 3);
a splitter (332) located between the anode recuperator heat exchanger (121) and the anode exhaust cooler (125) (par. 19, 46, 78, fig. 3);
first and second hydrogen pump separators (350A, 350B) (par. 46, fig. 3); and
a first separation conduit (316) (equivalent to an anode exhaust cooler bypass) fluidly connecting the splitter (332) to the first hydrogen pump separator (350A) (par. 51, fig. 3).
Conclusion
/PIN JAN WANG/Examiner, Art Unit 1717
/Dah-Wei D. Yuan/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1717